??!
2 photos
Epson Expression XP-420

Epson Expression XP-420

MPN: 35994051
2.4 from 43 reviews · View Statistics

Cons

  • Overpriced

  • Unreliable

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.4 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    1.4 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.4 (11)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    1.3 (11)
  • Reliability
    1.4 (12)
  • Printing Speed
    1.8 (10)
Previous
Next
David R.

David R.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Frustrating

published

This would without a doubt be the most frustrating printer I have ever had. This unit refuses to print in grey scale when one colour has run out, even with a new black cartage installed. Now I find I am unable to copy or scan the document. Will now have to wait until I can get into town and get to a printer, kind of makes owning this printer a waste of time and money.

Purchased at Australia Post Offices for A$45.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Brett T.

Brett T.South East Queensland, QLD

The most useless product ever..

published

After buying it because the other brands were not available, I took it home and spent a whole afternoon trying to get it to connect to WiFi, after running the connection checker a heap of times it worked, confusing buttons on machine and instructions lacking. Wouldnt even connect the second time I used it, so thought Id buy an A to B USB so it would work, but no hahaha ... joke was on me as it didnt work either.
This is a useless excuse for a printer and a piece of junk. DO NOT BUY.

Purchased in May 2020 for A$60.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Shekh Shagar

Shekh ShagarSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Easy to use great value for money

published

This Printer+Scanner Does its job really good. I'm very happy with the performance.
Great value for money. I guess the price was around $80 AUD I got it for $50 with the promotion. As the ink was included with this money it was a great deal.

Purchased in October 2019 at Big W for A$50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Epson Expression XP-420 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Acu

AcuSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Wireless connection does not work

published

This printer comes without cables because is to be connected to Wireless automatically. However, this automatic connection does not work. After troubleshooting for 2 days, trying with the WPS button as well, connection does not happen. Then I called Epson for support and they say I have to buy a cable to do the installation. Nowadays, devices are easy to connect and cables are no longer in use. If this is the way these Epson printers are connected, the cable should be provided. As a result, I cannot even review quality of the printer as it seems I will never be able to use it.

Purchased in October 2019.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Reliability
See all answers
Stacey

StaceyPerth, WA

This is crap, have heaps of black ink but wont print as a colour cartridge is empty

published

The printer keeps coming up error as just replaced the black ink for printing documents but now in error as magenta cartridge is low, printer wont allow to change setting to print in grayscale, will have to replace all inks just to use the black

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
chris

chrisSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Cheap and nasty

published

Cheap printer, print and build quality is average to poor.
I find it quite bizarre and wish I new prior to purchase, that you can not print black/white with any of the colour cartridges empty... you must buy new colour cartridges to be able to print black/white!!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Carl Hansen

Carl HansenNorth Queensland, QLD

Do not buy ... absolute garbage

published

Ink jets consistently block causing you to lose over half your ink which at $65 AU a set , it’s rubbish . If you like replacing ink cartridges after printing 20-30 sheets

Purchased in April 2019 for A$70.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Ron

RonMid North Coast, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish I had read this review before I Bought it.

published

Bought an XP420 some time ago and it had been good for a while.
Very heavy on the inks which I always replaced as they ran out from Epson.
As I was always replacing the inks as the warning came up, never had a problem until Friday when I needed and important print out one colour one ran out.
Low and behold and unknown to me I could not use the printer even on a new black cartridge.
What a load of crap.
Also would not stay connected to my WIFi for more than a couple of hours.
Epson is now in the Bin.
Never to buy Epson crap again.

Purchased in November 2017 for A$120.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Cait

CaitMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

RUBBISH

published

only use it only a couple time a month
every time i need to print need to clean heads , waste paper and time .
still doesnt print clearly , ready for the trash . also got sucked in to buy extra cartridges which will sell on gumtree .
summary piece of junk

Purchased in June 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Epson Expression XP-420 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Johanna K

Johanna KCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Terrible - waste of money

published

Started out great. But before long noticed the ink didn't last long. And if one ink colour was empty it wouldn't print at all. Then it started missing bits of the print out. Tried doing multiple head cleans and alignment. Didn't fix it. Then it only printed everything in pink. More cleans and it stared using black again but not blue or yellow. Now it says there is a paper jam when there isn't and I can't see anything jammed. So it just won't print at all now. Also wont stay connected to my device. Very disappointed with this product.

Purchased in August 2017.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Jen W

Jen WMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Ink Eater

published

Purchased in July 2016 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores for A$118.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
See all answers

Terrible - do not buy

published

The print quality is terrible, the paper feeds through the printer wonky despite sitting perfectly in the tray and the ink is very expensive to replace with no refillable ink cartridge option. I would recommend you stay clear of this product.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers

A Comical printer

published

The paper manual, printer lcd selection screen both omit any mention of printing, just copy, scan and lots of jolly things, the provided Epson software is laughable. Unless you like to fiddle and go barmy get any other make of printer.
There is a wifi program on my iPad and iPhone that is supposed to make printing easy, since the result is a procession of A4 size pages wit a 1cm wide printed column on the extreme rhs of the page, watching paper being wasted in quick time is not funny, at least I can make the same stripe on the other side. I cannot understand why there isn't a button marked Print. I give up.

Date PurchasedApr 2014

What a waste of money.

published

Money drain. I spend so much money on the ink but it rarely lasts. The print quality is poor. Way too noisy. Slow as a turtle. Worst printer ever. I do not recommend this printer at all. Just a waste of money and nothing else. Please do not buy this printer.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Floss

FlossMelbourne

Dead 2 weeks out of Warranty

published

Initially great quality prints and easy to install, but too many issues, noisy, thick wet ink on some pages, printing not straight - and now just 2 weeks after the warranty expires and I install an expensive new ink cartridge and it will not print black!!! Tried head cleaning and all sorts of stuff, rang Epson support, told it’s hardware failure and needs a service technician to fix at my expense. Worst and shortest lived printer I have ever owned. Shameful to throw an almost unused printer in the bin, but not wasting money getting it repaired.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Printers

Find out how Epson Expression XP-420 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
TODD

TODDdraffenville

Worst printer ever made

published

It will not stay connected to my system. The router is 1 foot away from it. You can uninstall, reinstall all day long. Not gonna happen. If by some miracle it does connect, then the driver won't be available. It doesn't print good, it's loud, it's slow, it loads the paper crooked most of the time and it is in the dumpster as i post this. Do not buy this piece of crap.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Kerryn

Kerryn

  • 2 reviews

Most annoying printer ever.

published

Printer will not print if any ink is out. If you want to print in all black, but the magenta ink is low? It will let you while the ink is just low, but when it runs out you can't print at all.
Print quality is passable at best. I have not tried printing photos, this printer is used for a small business. Lots of grainy printing and stray lines. No amount of cleaning or new cartridges has helped. Will not buy an Epson product again.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Tonez

TonezSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Okay printer but terrible value at the end

published

Basically the printer prints fast just how you like it however sometimes you get ink dripping over the paper. What's the most disappointing factor about this printer is if you have one Ink that is empty, you are unable to print at all until you replace it.
Example, i only want to print in Black and White but Cyan is empty. Despite changing the settings to Grayscale/ Black and white only it wont not let me print at all or even scan print.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
BT

BTVic, 3429

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great Value home Printer/Scanner.

published

Always bought Epson printers as they are reliable, good quality & value for money. After my NX420 finally gave up after 7 years great service, I bought similar XP 420 as replacement. Its easy to set up via cable and wi fi & works very reliably and well. Print quality very good. Like all inkjet printers it needs some occasional maintenance, but the head cleaning & jet alignment utility is very easy & soon enough has print quality as good as new. Very pleased with it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Tegan

Tegan

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst printer I've ever purchased, wouldnt recommend!

published

Have had issues from the moment I purchased this printer. Wifi connection was terrible and wouldn't connect, even with a cable - eventually got it to work but it was way harder than it needed to be. Ink is cheap but the quality print isnt the best, and the paper feeders constantly jam or dont 'grab' the paper correctly even after cleaned and aligned using its maintenance button. Constantly has an error message saying that the ink cartridges cant br recognised randomly while printing. Once this happened and I couldn't get it to work I gave up and decided I would buy another printer ... not worth the stress and constant hassle. Have only had the printer for about 6 months and it's been nothing but a hassle from the start.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Gary2608

Gary2608asked

Is it possible to scan on the Epson XP-420

No answers
Phillip C.

Phillip C.asked

my printer wont accept 6x4 photo paper it will feed if it is backwards but not with glossy side forward. has anyone else had similar issues and can it be resolved?

No answers
Uriel

Urielasked

I want to only print text doceumnts I don’t need colour but the printer won’t allow me to print in greyscale with out replacing the other cartridges.
I just want to print in black and white please help me

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • Inkjet colour printer with A4 printing
  • This printer is wireless, however, you cannot print via a mobile phone
  • Only facilitates one-sided printing, which means there may be higher running costs involved. You’ll need to buy more paper for a one-sided printer than for a double-sided printer.
  • Includes four ink cartridges (primary colours + black), a power cord, and set-up guide
  • A USB cable is available to be bought separately, which is a little disappointing, as its the standard for printers to include extras like this

What reviewers thought of this printer:

It’s immediately evident that reviewers hold this printer in low regard. Many people have expressed their frustration and disappointment with this printer, with unreliability and constant breakdowns fuelling the majority of complaints. At $299, you would expect a printer of this amount to be higher quality. There are other, cheaper, printers on ProductReview that have achieved higher ratings.

CategoryPrinters
Price (RRP) A$299.00
Printer TypeInkjet
Two-sided PrintingNo
Maximum Paper SizeA4
Print from PhoneNo
Print Speed 10 ppm
Dimensions 169 x 375 x 347 mm
Weight2.7 kg

Visit official website
  • MPN: 35994051
  • GTIN13: 9314020616563

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.