1 photo
Epson Expression Home XP-420

Epson Expression Home XP-420

MPNs: C11CD86501 and XP-420
2.4 from 44 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Printers in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Epson? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Cons

Overpriced
Unreliable

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.6 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.4 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    1.4 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.4 (11)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    1.3 (11)
  • Reliability
    1.4 (12)
  • Printing Speed
    1.8 (10)
Previous
Next
Johanna K
Johanna KCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • Top Review

Terrible - waste of money

published

Started out great. But before long noticed the ink didn't last long. And if one ink colour was empty it wouldn't print at all. Then it started missing bits of the print out. Tried doing multiple head cleans and alignment. Didn't fix it. Then it only printed everything in pink. More cleans and it stared using black again but not blue or yellow. Now it says there is a paper jam when there isn't and I can't see anything jammed. So it just won't print at all now. Also wont stay connected to my device. Very disappointed with this product.

Purchased in August 2017.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
sjdds
sjddsGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • Top Review

Good basic printer

published

Prints quickly and clearly. Noticed colours are faint on A4 paper even after adjusting. And are extremely light on photos. As the XP 640 is more for photos, I didn't expect the 420 to be that quality, but was surprised how faint it was. So if you print a lot of photos, get the 640.
Easily installed to computer desktop and laptop, and much easier than the Canon 5675. LED screen is very easy to understand and use and it functions well for general printing. No jams so far (had it for 5 weeks) Can recommend.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
CAM
CAM
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Avoid this cheap garbage

published

The worst printer I've owned. Constantly requires head cleaning which ends up consuming all your ink and paper before it runs out and wont let you print in greyscale. Cheap garbage. Avoid

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David R.
David R.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Frustrating

published

This would without a doubt be the most frustrating printer I have ever had. This unit refuses to print in grey scale when one colour has run out, even with a new black cartage installed. Now I find I am unable to copy or scan the document. Will now have to wait until I can get into town and get to a printer, kind of makes owning this printer a waste of time and money.

Purchased at Australia Post Offices for $45.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brett T.
Brett T.South East Queensland, QLD

The most useless product ever..

published

After buying it because the other brands were not available, I took it home and spent a whole afternoon trying to get it to connect to WiFi, after running the connection checker a heap of times it worked, confusing buttons on machine and instructions lacking. Wouldnt even connect the second time I used it, so thought Id buy an A to B USB so it would work, but no hahaha ... joke was on me as it didnt work either.
This is a useless excuse for a printer and a piece of junk. DO NOT BUY.

Purchased in May 2020 for $60.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shekh Shagar
Shekh ShagarSydney, NSW
  • 9 reviews

Easy to use great value for money

published

This Printer+Scanner Does its job really good. I'm very happy with the performance.
Great value for money. I guess the price was around $80 AUD I got it for $50 with the promotion. As the ink was included with this money it was a great deal.

Purchased in October 2019 at Big W for $50.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Printers

Find out how Epson Expression Home XP-420 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Acu
AcuSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Wireless connection does not work

published

This printer comes without cables because is to be connected to Wireless automatically. However, this automatic connection does not work. After troubleshooting for 2 days, trying with the WPS button as well, connection does not happen. Then I called Epson for support and they say I have to buy a cable to do the installation. Nowadays, devices are easy to connect and cables are no longer in use. If this is the way these Epson printers are connected, the cable should be provided. As a result, I cannot even review quality of the printer as it seems I will never be able to use it.

Purchased in October 2019.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stacey
StaceyPerth, WA

This is crap, have heaps of black ink but wont print as a colour cartridge is empty

published

The printer keeps coming up error as just replaced the black ink for printing documents but now in error as magenta cartridge is low, printer wont allow to change setting to print in grayscale, will have to replace all inks just to use the black

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
chris
chrisSouthern and Hills, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Cheap and nasty

published

Cheap printer, print and build quality is average to poor.
I find it quite bizarre and wish I new prior to purchase, that you can not print black/white with any of the colour cartridges empty... you must buy new colour cartridges to be able to print black/white!!

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Carl Hansen
Carl HansenNorth Queensland, QLD

Do not buy ... absolute garbage

published

Ink jets consistently block causing you to lose over half your ink which at $65 AU a set , it’s rubbish . If you like replacing ink cartridges after printing 20-30 sheets

Purchased in April 2019 for $70.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ron
RonMid North Coast, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish I had read this review before I Bought it.

published

Bought an XP420 some time ago and it had been good for a while.
Very heavy on the inks which I always replaced as they ran out from Epson.
As I was always replacing the inks as the warning came up, never had a problem until Friday when I needed and important print out one colour one ran out.
Low and behold and unknown to me I could not use the printer even on a new black cartridge.
What a load of crap.
Also would not stay connected to my WIFi for more than a couple of hours.
Epson is now in the Bin.
Never to buy Epson crap again.

Purchased in November 2017 for $120.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Printers

Find out how Epson Expression Home XP-420 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cait
CaitMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

RUBBISH

published

only use it only a couple time a month
every time i need to print need to clean heads , waste paper and time .
still doesnt print clearly , ready for the trash . also got sucked in to buy extra cartridges which will sell on gumtree .
summary piece of junk

Purchased in June 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $150.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Johanna K
Johanna KCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Terrible - waste of money

published

Started out great. But before long noticed the ink didn't last long. And if one ink colour was empty it wouldn't print at all. Then it started missing bits of the print out. Tried doing multiple head cleans and alignment. Didn't fix it. Then it only printed everything in pink. More cleans and it stared using black again but not blue or yellow. Now it says there is a paper jam when there isn't and I can't see anything jammed. So it just won't print at all now. Also wont stay connected to my device. Very disappointed with this product.

Purchased in August 2017.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jen W
Jen WMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Ink Eater

published

Purchased in July 2016 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores for $118.

Value for Money
2/5
Cleaning & Maintenance
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Printers

Find out how Epson Expression Home XP-420 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible - do not buy

published

The print quality is terrible, the paper feeds through the printer wonky despite sitting perfectly in the tray and the ink is very expensive to replace with no refillable ink cartridge option. I would recommend you stay clear of this product.

Purchased in November 2017.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

A Comical printer

published

The paper manual, printer lcd selection screen both omit any mention of printing, just copy, scan and lots of jolly things, the provided Epson software is laughable. Unless you like to fiddle and go barmy get any other make of printer.
There is a wifi program on my iPad and iPhone that is supposed to make printing easy, since the result is a procession of A4 size pages wit a 1cm wide printed column on the extreme rhs of the page, watching paper being wasted in quick time is not funny, at least I can make the same stripe on the other side. I cannot understand why there isn't a button marked Print. I give up.

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

What a waste of money.

published

Money drain. I spend so much money on the ink but it rarely lasts. The print quality is poor. Way too noisy. Slow as a turtle. Worst printer ever. I do not recommend this printer at all. Just a waste of money and nothing else. Please do not buy this printer.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Gary2608
Gary2608asked

Is it possible to scan on the Epson XP-420

1 answer
The Reviewer
The Reviewer

Check your manual for basics

Phillip C.
Phillip C.asked

my printer wont accept 6x4 photo paper it will feed if it is backwards but not with glossy side forward. has anyone else had similar issues and can it be resolved?

No answers
Uriel
Urielasked

I want to only print text doceumnts I don’t need colour but the printer won’t allow me to print in greyscale with out replacing the other cartridges.
I just want to print in black and white please help me

No answers
See all Epson Expression Home XP-420 questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • Inkjet colour printer with A4 printing
  • This printer is wireless, however, you cannot print via a mobile phone
  • Only facilitates one-sided printing, which means there may be higher running costs involved. You’ll need to buy more paper for a one-sided printer than for a double-sided printer.
  • Includes four ink cartridges (primary colours + black), a power cord, and set-up guide
  • A USB cable is available to be bought separately, which is a little disappointing, as its the standard for printers to include extras like this

What reviewers thought of this printer:

It’s immediately evident that reviewers hold this printer in low regard. Many people have expressed their frustration and disappointment with this printer, with unreliability and constant breakdowns fuelling the majority of complaints. At $299, you would expect a printer of this amount to be higher quality. There are other, cheaper, printers on ProductReview that have achieved higher ratings.

CategoryPrinters
Price (RRP) $299.00
Printer TypeInkjet
Two-sided PrintingNo
Maximum Paper SizeA4
Print from PhoneNo
Print Speed 10 ppm
Dimensions 169 x 375 x 347 mm
Weight2.7 kg
ManualDownload manual
  • MPN: C11CD86501 and XP-420

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.