??!
7 photos
Fiat Ducato

Fiat Ducato

Series 2, Series 4
1.8 from 28 reviews

Reviews

1.8

28 reviews
5
(3)
4
(0)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(18)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (6)
  • Value for Money
    1.5 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (5)
  • Handling
    4.2 (6)
  • Braking
    3.2 (5)
  • Suspension
    3.0 (6)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.2 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (6)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (3)
  • Features
    3.4 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (4)
Previous
Next
Chez

ChezSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Trouble

published

Seems like the same problems as others ;this is why I’m reading these reviews , it keeps going into N as we drive this started with just reverse but now it’s happening at traffic lights; very upsetting,just do not know we’re to start . With only 30,000 was owned from new ;Replaced front tires, front battery. Only just retired only had a few trips was hoping to have many in this van , as it is we will not be able to Do it .Because off the expensive repairs looking at other reviews it’s not good.

Purchased in October 2015 for A$155.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Handling
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
See all answers

Fiat ducato 2019/2020 please read this before you buy.

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Hino Dealers for A$47,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
John
John

Very poor quality

published

Purchased for A$53,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Vans

Find out how Fiat Ducato compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Concentric slave cylinder fault

published

Our Fiat Ducato 2014 serie 5 130 multi jet motor home was left with NO gears available in 2017,after inspection we find the brake fluid reservoir for the CSC empty ,after a top op and driving again we parked this at our Fiat agent in Hamilton New Zealand ,with no no leak to be found we where send away with 600 ml of Dot 4 fluid to keep topping up the reservoir. 2019 we had NO GEARS again ,we find a better mechanic that looked better and replaced the Concentric slave cylinder leak and after all the filling up we needed to replace the clutch as well , Cost of $ 6000 NZ dollars

Purchased at Caravan RV Camping for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
See all answers
sue28

sue28South East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

motorhome Hire

published

hired a Fiat motorhome in New Zealand manual box lost some holidays clutch went it had done 150,000,
so I donot think I would purchase a motorhome with this setup. we all know 150,000 is nothing for these vehicles

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
White Elephant

White ElephantSouth East Queensland, QLD

Lemon

published

Owned 2 Fiat Ducato motorhome.Purchased both new.Major mechanical issues with both.Fiat unable to keep their own vehicles mechanically sound and reliable.First vehicle had 33,000 klms second 68,000 klms.Absolutely no support from Fiat or Winnebago.Great big expensive lemon.

Purchased in October 2012.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Tully

TullySouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible,so many problems and fiat won’t help us , don’t buy a fiat for God’s sake DONT

published

Did love it
Now it’s a money pit and still cannot use it, fiat won’t help us and east west fiat haven’t a clue and keep changing things for the hell of it

Purchased in June 2013 for A$125,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Have had my van at Peter Warren Warwick farm with gearbox problems bean on a tow truck twice with ge

published

Dave had my van at Peter Warren Warwick farm for two months know with gearbox problems bean on a tow truck twice with gearbox problems still waiting for them to fix it they told me the parts have to come from Italy might be here in two weeks never again an auto never again Peter Warren had two manuals both have done 350000 both had a clutch at about 320000ks can put up with that never again a fiat auto

BodyVan
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015
1 comment
Mark
Mark
Jeff T

Jeff TSouth East Queensland, QLD

Unable to get replacement parts in a reasonable time

published

Purchase new Fiat Ducato Motorhome October 2017, the vehicle has developed a suspension issue January 2018 in the front RHS strut and needs replacement parts, Fiat will supply under warranty but have no stock and have ordered parts from Italy, I was told today will no be available until April, I find this unacceptable for the vehicle to be off the road for 3 months. I am also waiting for an oil filter again no Stock in Cricks Mansfield. I think I am being reasonable to expect basic consumable parts to be in stock. Its unfortunate to have these issue because the vehicle is very well appointed and good to drive.

BodyMotorhome
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseAlco Chassis
RoofMotorhome
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Vans

Find out how Fiat Ducato compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Piece Of Junk. Transmission Failure.

published

We change our fleet of 4 Vehicles with new Fiat Ducato. Initally they went OK as soon they turned to 150000 KM. All started with transmission issue. Check transmission lights on all the time and glow plug sign on, spend so much money still one of the van sitting in Service Cente from last 3 months. Unable to diagnose the issue and still no answer when they will return my van.

Very very bad experience. Wouldn't recommend anyone to buy.

BodyVan
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseMedium
RoofMedium Roof
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Grunt

GruntBrisbane

Clutch slave failures x8 in Ducato 2011 long wheelbase 160

published

Hey Rick what model did you have we have 2011 its had 8 clutch failures. How did you get it replaced under warranty Fiat dealership can't/won't give any answers as to why it keeps blowing the slave clutch. We are to point where it is beyond ridiculous this last one did 270km and blew out. The motor is strong and never given any trouble, the paintwork is now starting to peel in a few places and has faded badly but the major issue is the clutch. Has anyone else had this same issue and how many times.

BodyVan
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseExtra Long
RoofHigh
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2011
Rick

RickFrankston

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great van

published

Had my old Fiat Ducato van replaced under warranty with a brand new 2017 series 6 model and I am very happy with it. Great Power, fuel economy, carrying capacity and load space. Bluetooth, handsfree, voice commands, steering wheel controls. Great to drive and handles well. Very happy with this one.

BodyVan
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
RoofLow Roof
Dave

DaveBobdi

  • 3 reviews
  • 17 likes

Faulty paint work on most vans.

published
BodyVan
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseExtra Long
RoofMedium Roof
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2007

the worst van I ever drive!

published

junk,junk,junk....the engine warring lights staying on from new,,then loosing power for good 15-20min,been in dealer workshop so many time ,still not fixed ,every time they replace something, obviously not for free.cost my boss a lot of money.the dealer run of idea what caused the problem.
STAY AWAY OF FIAT DUCO!!!!!!

BodyVan
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2009
Grog

Grog

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Junk junk and junk

published

Electric issues all over the shop, Tin can for a clutch problems two many issues to list stay away from them crap box vehicle. One clutch at 110000 now looks like another at 27000 starter motor went twice whipper motor replace twice. Now looks like the glow plugs have never work in it.

BodyVan
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseExtra Long
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Vans

Find out how Fiat Ducato compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
barry

barryperth

never out of the workshop

published

have had similar probs air conditioner leaking fuel alternator failure electrical failure particulate filter failure egr failure at present the vehicle has been out of action for over one month and fiat cannot find the fault also be aware that the spare wheel will cannot be lowered (the mechanism has been replace twice to no avail)

BodyVan
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionAutomatic
Granny G

Granny GGold Coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Bought a Sunliner motorhome new in 2010 and chose to have it put on a Fiat Ducato.

published
BodyVan
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Granny G
Granny G
Betty S

Betty SHarden NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 11 likes

A wonderful vehicle

published

Excellent driving experience. The paint peeled off the roof in 3 years, I had the roof coated with Therma Shield paint which has proven to be excellent. The vehicle has gone into limp mode three times recently and I now have to turn the ignition key 3 times before it will start. I have done 150,000 km. It handles very well. I get 10km to the litre. It is now 12 years old.

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Suzinauz

SuzinauzTasmania

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Motorhome-Talvor Hayman on a 2012 Fiat Ducato 160 multi jet

published
BodyVan
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseExtra Long
RoofMedium Roof
TransmissionAutomatic
sewjanet2

sewjanet2Ballina

Fiat Ducato

published

Paint work is not satifactory does not last three years on roof and just had ringing back and forth to fiat to get it done they kept telling me it was out of warranty but is not till august 2015 . I am not the only person that has paint problems with this vehicle

BodyVan
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Adonis

Adonisasked

Ducato

I have a 2016 Fiat Ducato van. I have been told that i have a hydraulics issue. Can anyone help please?

No answers
Beverley D.

Beverley D.asked

Ducato Series 4 (2014-2020)

2018 Fiat Ducato 2.3 diesel occasionally won’t start. Battery all good from testing. Terminals all good too. Have to jump start when it happens. Then good for 2 to 3000 km.

No answers
jrd

jrdasked

Ducato

Ducato 2005 Starts ok, runs rough smokey diagnosis ?

4 answers
jrd
jrd

John

John
John

sounds like leaking turbo seals

jrd
jrd

Thanks, Will take it to the doctor tomorrow. Not symptoms I have experienced before.

Get an answer from our members

Other Vans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.