?
? !
6 photos
Ford Falcon

Ford Falcon

FG, BA, BF, etc...
4.2 from 309 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (22)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (22)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (22)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (22)
  • Braking
    4.5 (20)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (20)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.7 (20)
  • Suspension
    4.4 (20)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (20)
  • Handling
    4.5 (20)
  • Interior Design
    4.1 (19)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (19)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (19)
  • Features
    3.9 (17)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Jacket3343

Jacket3343Hunter Region, NSW

One of my first cars couldnt go much better

published

I had the car for the first year and a bit on my p-plates she was a tough car that never let me down loved it dearily til the crash

Purchased in December 2019 for $9,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Need my car

published

My ex is locked up with my car key and it's registered in his name but I bought it how do I get a new key or get it back to my home address

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
nfar

nfarPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable and comfortable

published

Purchased in December 2003 for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Falcon compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MikeP

MikePPerth, WA

Awesome car

published

Had for over 7 years & aside from the odd issue still love it. Only things that have had to be replaced are drivers door handle, water pump because pulley came off, and new front shocks. Plus usual oil, brake pads & other consumables.
Bought used and put about 70k on it now approaching 160,000k.
For a tall person and family heaps of room and great on a trip.
Had both Commodore and Falcon (Aussie one) and loved them both, sadly miss the big Aussies

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Emmanuel G.

Emmanuel G.

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

The Death of a Legend

published

Falcon's are more Australian than a Hills Hoist. The BA and BF were the last cars made in Australia, designed, and built in Australia. A quarter of a century after Holden sold out and became an American company (selling the same vehicles that sell in the US for $19,000 for $160,000 here) Ford kept chugging along, unfortunately because Holden's marketing team lied and pretended they were Aussie still people never really considered Ford Australian, but FoMoCoAu was as Aussie as it gets.

Purchased in September 2006 at Car City for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Minh Pham

Minh PhamSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

After 5 years , still be strong , no sluggish

published

I bought the version 2 litre turbo in 2015. It still gives me a pleasure to drive around city or along coast without any problem. Hope the Falcon be back in the future

Purchased in September 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Callum

CallumHobart, TAS

Wouldn't rather drive anything else.

published

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Xr6 ba just stopped running

published

Xr6 ba I used fob it opened doors like normal car started and closed like normal then in arvo I tried opening door with fob it didn't work I opened up with key central locking didn't work , car windows dont work but i put key in ignition started car up then it died did it again died again I tried again there was nothing wouldn't start wouldn't turn over. Dash light and all symbols show up red hand is flashing off real fast . Got new fob and key all done and computer linked didn't do anything. Was told pcm or imoberlizer but spoke to sparky he said couldn't be pcm as there's no power to central locking or windows . So can any one help out? Thoughts plz ? Anyone had same thing or simaular . Thank you

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
myke

mykeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Great car but problems starting to surface.

published

Have owned this car for 5 years and is my daily driver. A traction control fault has developed and stays on all the time now and my cruise control won't work. I have taken it to a Ford dealership and they have checked my wheel sensors and brake light switch which were all good but the problem has not been fixed. Don't know what to do now. In the last year I've had nothing but issues with this car which is a shame as it's great otherwise.

Purchased for $28,995.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Falcon compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dom

domAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Great engine and drivetrain, let down by poor build quality and interior.

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Aussie P.

Aussie P.

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

A highly underrated car

published

Purchased in September 2011.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Smithy

SmithyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Cant be any better

published

Best car i have ever had by a mile. Engine and trans combo works a treat and the interior is nice too. Sync 2 is a great edition and challenges many supposedly high end luxury cars.

Purchased in February 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Boiling and spitting water out

published

I have a Ford falcon au1 xr6 Ute. At times it seems to boil over. Temperature gauge is sitting at 1/4. The radiator and pipes are only 6 years old, I just put a new water pump in thinking that was the issue. It doesn't do it all the time but mainly when it's been driven for a couple hours straight I'm about due just to scrap it

Purchased in August 2010 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ozzesty t.

Ozzesty t.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Cheap and reliable.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2007 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Josh A.

Josh A.Central, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unkillable

published

Got a spare $500 then you got an AU. She will never let you down. I have owned 4 in total. Had one that o converted to manual and it was the best car i have owned to date. Nicer to drive than a manual fgx xr6 and oh did I give it 4 years of hell, not that an au cares how bad you treat it.

Purchased in August 2011 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Falcon compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

cruise control

published

sI have a 2001 ford falcon forte au the cruise control doesn,t work I cant find the problem my self I have tried to find the relay switch on line and cant it keeps blowing fuses for some reason anyone know why

TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
chris
chris

Anyone please

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Glen.D

Glen.DPerth

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

The type of car I forgot existed

published

I bought a EL falcon sedan 96 some time ago with only 77K on it from a little old lady that bought it from new appreciating its condition. Its an additional car for our family and sits in the garage but don't I love driving it. We have a brand new transit van and Isuzu MUX but they have so many electrics that you use in them and mod cons to get from A to B but you don't appreciate the drive. In the time I have had the EL I have had to replace the head gasket thats common but if I had the chance to drive this car over the modern ones I would get rid of the new in an instant.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Oh my goodness

published

Purchased in October 2014 at Ford Dealers for $18,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brody J.

Brody J.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Incredible car, built too last. Still looks new, serviced 10 times in 5 years, highly reccommend.

published

Incredible car, built too last. Still looks new, serviced 10 times in 5 years, highly reccommend.

Great for commuting; with space whilst looking great. You won't spend a fortune servicing and the black leather interior/sport function is as powerful as you need for our roads. Very quick, only issue which is a known issue (tailshaft) goes at 90-110 thousand km, just had mune re-built and running a dream again. This car will sore in value and is not easy to find in 2019 already.

Purchased in February 2014 at Ford Dealers for $34,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BeachedAz

BeachedAzSpewcastle

  • 10 reviews
  • 14 likes

Ford Falcon XR6 -> Great choice for a 2nd hand car

published

The later Ford Falcons were an underrated car when they were released. Considering the ongoing costs, Falcons are a good option if you are hunting around for a 2nd hand car in the 7 to 10 year old category.

-> Grippy : good handling
-> Cheap parts. Front wheel bearings do tend to wear out and need replacing.
-> Cheap to run for the gas option (Eco LPi)
-> Good engine performance, no issue with the gas option

Handling could still be better compared to other cars but is still superior to the older Falcons. As long as you keep them serviced I Feel this is a fairly solid bet for 2nd hand car buyers.

Purchased in July 2019 for $13,309.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 16

Questions & Answers

Nathan

Nathanasked

Falcon BA (2002-2005)

Hey all I have a 05 ba ute it won't start has all ignition lights but won't start.

I've checked all the fuses, I've jumped the starter motor and cranks over ( got wire from battery to the starter motor) I've tryed it in park and neutral.

I checked the ignition barrel all looks good

Anyone know what else I can check or do ??

No answers
Mark

Markasked

Falcon AU (1998-2002)

I’m here in the uk and bought a au111 falcon ute and all of a sudden the immobiliser will just cut in and it won’t start.. at around 100 dollars a go a bloke will come out and clear fault codes and then it will go again ..!!! Can I just get rid of immobiliser ? Anyone had this problem ? Can someone help a homesick Aussie bloke out ?? Thanks Mark

No answers
Warren L.

Warren L.asked

Falcon BF (2005-2010)

Does my2007 bf Auto sedan have a transmission cooler factory fitted? It's the mark2

No answers
See all Ford Falcon questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Falcon

Details

Compare all 6 Ford Falcon
Ford Falcon EL
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon EL (1996-1998)

4.6
(8)
Ford Falcon FG
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon FG (2008-2014)

4.3
(117)
Ford Falcon FG X
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon FG X (2014-2016)

4.6
(22)
Ford Falcon BF
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon BF (2005-2010)

4.0
(56)
CategoryCars, Wagons and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price $29,950$39,990$35,900$46,405
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrolLPG and PetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars5 Stars4 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km14.9 L/100km9 L/100km12.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 68 L93 L68 L68 L
Engine6 Cylinder 2L6 Cylinder 4L6 Cylinder 4L6 Cylinder 4L
Max Power157kW @ 4900rpm156kW @ 4750rpm195kW @ 6000rpm245kW @ 5250rpm
Max Torque357Nm @ 3000rpm371Nm @ 3750rpm353Nm @ 5500rpm480Nm @ 2000-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 1996Jan 2008Jan 2014Jan 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 1998Dec 2014Dec 2016Dec 2010
Compare all 6 Ford Falcon

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.