6 photos
Ford Falcon

Ford Falcon

FG, BA, BF, etc...
4.2 from 316 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Ford? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (29)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (29)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (29)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (28)
  • Braking
    4.3 (26)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.6 (27)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (26)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (26)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (27)
  • Handling
    4.5 (26)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (24)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (26)
  • Comfort
    4.4 (26)
  • Features
    3.8 (23)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Kelly M.
Kelly M.Perth, WA
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Comfy Ride!

published

My partner and take long road trips over 6 hours every couple of months in the XR6 and couldnt fault it, its a very smooth comfy ride and plenty of space to sleep in the back! Hardly had any issues apart for the left side window sticking sometimes and the broke drivers inner door handle.

Purchased in April 2020 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Middy
Middy
  • 3 reviews

Falcon great

published

Good power. Good styling. A little rough around the edges but for the price unbeatable. Fuel consumption about 3.5/5.
Great safety. Expect door handles and electric window switches to fail. Transmission 50:50.

Purchased in February 2017 for $17,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Brian
BrianFoxton, New Zealand
  • 3 reviews

Another great example from ford Australia however I think I like the BA more.

published

I don't drive this car every day, it's mostly used for long trips and towing, I understand all of the falcon range are great to drive, & yes even the LPG model.

Purchased in May 2020 for $4,995.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Marko l.
Marko l.North-West & West coast, TAS

HEAVY ON FUEL / ROOF LINING dropped at 44000klms.

published

Reliable enough motor car but need to tow a fuel bowser on a trailer behind. Even fitted with LP gas they still drink it, It's my daily use car and had every service and oil/filter change each 5000klms.

Purchased in June 2004.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Cars

Find out how Ford Falcon compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Best cheapest to run car on the road

published

Purchased in September 2014 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Mick
MickGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nice car

published

Solid reliable very quite on the road and handles fantastically nice comfy seats easy to maintain and look after definitely a sad thing for Australian motoring too lose a terrific car

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Mark Fulford
Mark FulfordSouthwest, VIC

Great Australian built car.

published

Reliable, easy and cheap to service. The cabin is roomy, the car’s handling is sensational. Performance is fantastic. It’s a crying shame Australians turned their back on these cars. Highly recommended.

Purchased in January 2014 for $32,750.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Jacket3343
Jacket3343Hunter Region, NSW

One of my first cars couldnt go much better

published

I had the car for the first year and a bit on my p-plates she was a tough car that never let me down loved it dearily til the crash

Purchased in December 2019 for $9,500.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Need my car

published

My ex is locked up with my car key and it's registered in his name but I bought it how do I get a new key or get it back to my home address

Incentivised Review No
Cars

Find out how Ford Falcon compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
nfar
nfarPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable and comfortable

published

Purchased in December 2003 for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
MikeP
MikePPerth, WA

Awesome car

published

Had for over 7 years & aside from the odd issue still love it. Only things that have had to be replaced are drivers door handle, water pump because pulley came off, and new front shocks. Plus usual oil, brake pads & other consumables.
Bought used and put about 70k on it now approaching 160,000k.
For a tall person and family heaps of room and great on a trip.
Had both Commodore and Falcon (Aussie one) and loved them both, sadly miss the big Aussies

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Emmanuel G.
Emmanuel G.
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

The Death of a Legend

published

Falcon's are more Australian than a Hills Hoist. The BA and BF were the last cars made in Australia, designed, and built in Australia. A quarter of a century after Holden sold out and became an American company (selling the same vehicles that sell in the US for $19,000 for $160,000 here) Ford kept chugging along, unfortunately because Holden's marketing team lied and pretended they were Aussie still people never really considered Ford Australian, but FoMoCoAu was as Aussie as it gets.

Purchased in September 2006 at Car City for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Cars

Find out how Ford Falcon compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Minh Pham
Minh PhamSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

After 5 years , still be strong , no sluggish

published

I bought the version 2 litre turbo in 2015. It still gives me a pleasure to drive around city or along coast without any problem. Hope the Falcon be back in the future

Purchased in September 2015.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Callum
CallumHobart, TAS

Wouldn't rather drive anything else.

published

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Xr6 ba just stopped running

published

Xr6 ba I used fob it opened doors like normal car started and closed like normal then in arvo I tried opening door with fob it didn't work I opened up with key central locking didn't work , car windows dont work but i put key in ignition started car up then it died did it again died again I tried again there was nothing wouldn't start wouldn't turn over. Dash light and all symbols show up red hand is flashing off real fast . Got new fob and key all done and computer linked didn't do anything. Was told pcm or imoberlizer but spoke to sparky he said couldn't be pcm as there's no power to central locking or windows . So can any one help out? Thoughts plz ? Anyone had same thing or simaular . Thank you

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5

Questions & Answers

Kirk B.
Kirk B.asked
Falcon BA (2002-2005)

I got a ba 2003 everything works eccept my stereo and air con

1 answer
Brian
Brian

Check fuses both under the bonnet as well as inside the vehicle. Check relay switches under the bonnet as well as inside the vehicle, fuses and relay switches together in the same places. Relays can be checked with a voltage meter or just replace them to be sure. Other than that I've no idea just keep researching and replacing until you work it out. I still have gremlins in my car..... it's an ongoing drain on finances and time so be prepared for the long haul. Good luck

Nato K.
Nato K.asked
Falcon FG (2008-2014)

Hello I have a 2010 fg ute and it's telling me there no fuel when I have half a tank also abs and traction button warning light coming up
Anyone else tryed to take out a starter motor on fg any tips

No answers
Marie G.
Marie G.asked
Falcon FG (2008-2014)

I have a Ford FG G6E 2008. I have lost dash & parking lights. Keeps blowing the 15amp fuse.
Any ideas - I have isolated the rear lights, but seem to have a short to ground, anyone else had this problem??

No answers
See all Ford Falcon questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Falcon

Details

Compare all 6 Ford Falcon
Ford Falcon EL
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon EL (1996-1998)

4.6
(8)
Ford Falcon FG
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon FG (2008-2014)

4.3
(121)
Ford Falcon FG X
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon FG X (2014-2016)

4.6
(22)
Ford Falcon BF
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon BF (2005-2010)

4.0
(57)
CategoryCars, Wagons and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price $29,950$39,990$35,900$46,405
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrolLPG and PetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars5 Stars4 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.4 L/100km14.9 L/100km9 L/100km12.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 68 L93 L68 L68 L
Engine6 Cylinder 2L6 Cylinder 4L6 Cylinder 4L6 Cylinder 4L
Max Power157kW @ 4900rpm156kW @ 4750rpm195kW @ 6000rpm245kW @ 5250rpm
Max Torque357Nm @ 3000rpm371Nm @ 3750rpm353Nm @ 5500rpm480Nm @ 2000-4500rpm
Country of ManufactureAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 1996Jan 2008Jan 2014Jan 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 1998Dec 2014Dec 2016Dec 2010
Compare all 6 Ford Falcon

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.