??!
8 photos
Ford Falcon

Ford Falcon

AU, BA, BF, EL, FG and FG X
4.2 from 291 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
158
4 star
82
3 star
23
2 star
19
1 star
9

Brody J.

Brody J.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Incredible car, built too last. Still looks new, serviced 10 times in 5 years, highly reccommend.

published

Incredible car, built too last. Still looks new, serviced 10 times in 5 years, highly reccommend.

Great for commuting; with space whilst looking great. You won't spend a fortune servicing and the black leather interior/sport function is as powerful as you need for our roads. Very quick, only issue which is a known issue (tailshaft) goes at 90-110 thousand km, just had mune re-built and running a dream again. This car will sore in value and is not easy to find in 2019 already.

Purchased in February 2014 at Ford Dealers for $34,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

BeachedAz

BeachedAzSpewcastle

  • 10 reviews
  • 13 likes

Ford Falcon XR6 -> Great choice for a 2nd hand car

published

The later Ford Falcons were an underrated car when they were released. Considering the ongoing costs, Falcons are a good option if you are hunting around for a 2nd hand car in the 7 to 10 year old category.

-> Grippy : good handling
-> Cheap parts. Front wheel bearings do tend to wear out and need replacing.
-> Cheap to run for the gas option (Eco LPi)
-> Good engine performance, no issue with the gas option

Handling could still be better compared to other cars but is still superior to the older Falcons. As long as you keep them serviced I Feel this is a fairly solid bet for 2nd hand car buyers.

Purchased in July 2019 for $13,309.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Sarj

SarjGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Best Fuel Efficient Car

published

I recently bought a used 2012 ford falcon ecolpi which done 200k's. Its one of the best car I owned in terms of running costs and maintenance.It only cost me around 45 to 50 dollars depending on LPG price and get around 600kms easily. It's very powerful for a LPG only car and got 200kw. The only issue I found is the diff bushes are prone to crack which I replaced with a Nolathane bush and never had issues with it. So if you own an Fg and sick of replacing diff bushes go for the Nolathane or other similar quality ones. It bit expensive compared to the normal rubber bushes but saves you money and time in the long run.
So in short if anyone looking to buy a ecolpi dont hesitate just for it. Its a shame that we don't have anymore falcons

Critically True

Critically TrueMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car with a few small little issues

published

The BA Ford is a very reliable vehicle, very poor fuel economy I am currently getting 14.7L/100km
The shifter has had to be replaced as well as several ignition coils, these are the only issues I have had in 2-3 years of owning this vehicle. It has a nice 182kw of power along with a high quality traction system and a nice modern interior. It is a shame there is no AUX or USB option for audio.

Purchased in September 2016 for $3,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

James

James

  • 2 reviews

Best car

published

Reliable, affordable and has power. Use this car as my daily. Not much mechanical issues and cost is cheap to get fix. Can’t get a better Aussie vehicle than the falcon!

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Year2013
See all answers

Neil

NeilNew South Wales

Reliable and economical

published

Have had two AU Falcon wagons. The First One dual fuel I put 500000km on clock until gas computer died. Very reliable cars with beautiful interior unlike the later Falcons which seem more plastic inside. So good that I purchased a second wagon a year ago which was well looked after by a pensioner. Very economic on petrol if driven light footed I constantly get 8.7 L/100 combined running. Extremely reliable and comfortable cars that are tremendous value for money.

Purchased in January 2018 for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Zak

ZakPeel, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Seriously underrated car

published

The ford falcon was honestly such a great car. Never left my family stranded for over 100000kms. Bought new in 2011, unfortunate sold it in 2019. The engine was smooth and powerful, however pretty thirsty but acceptable for a 4 litre, always felt safe to drive. Lacked modern features but was designed to get you to A to B safely and the falcon got you to C and beyond. 100% recommend to any family on a budget or young driver wanting a good reliable safe car.

Purchased in February 2011.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Poorly built

published

Poorly built car. Constant problems with tyres wearing prematurely due to wheel alignment. I've had the wheels aligned numerous times, which hasn't fixed the problem. Warped brake discs and vibrations while driving. I've had the ICC replaced due to failure and the drive shaft repaired due to a bearing problem. I have zero confidence in the build quality of this car.
DO NOT BUY ONE!!!!

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Bren

BrenGold coast

Car has no spark

published

Use car daily and for everything work sports going out long trips service car my self all I have had to do is change oil and brakes as I said it is a evert day user helps me a work too be cause it has a tow bar which is handy

BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Col W

Col Wadelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great Car

published

Great to drive, reliable, comfortable. the MK2 has a very good tech package, easy connectivity. Good ride. Used to drive to work and for leisure, about 25,000 km per year, bought it with 58,000 km on ODO. Initial service by Jarvis but seemed to be an expensive fluids only service, will now get serviced at willaston auto body repairs. No issues as yet.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017

Stillwaiting

Stillwaiting

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great cat

published

Having just lost my vy commodore in a accident so got written off , was sad to see it go , anyway shopped a round for another came across a 2004 ba which i wasnt planning on buying but now so glad i did . Only 220 ks on it , feel like im nearlly driving around in a new car , interior is way better than the vy , absolutely love it ,, only problem is the roof lining but happy to spend $300 getting ghat done , anyway absolutely over the moon with it .

BodySedan
BadgeXT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Bob Smith

Bob Smithcentral coast nsw

  • 3 reviews

aussie transport at its finest

published

Falcons are a good car, this model had some good upgrades on the safety. Other than a bit more refined interior its pretty much your standard sedan. Nothing too fancy, reliable transport, they also have a bit of power too if you are into speeding or getting the kids to school early.

Had problems with the windows and the airconditioning too was not the best.

BodySedan
BadgeFutura
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2005

JAY

JAYAU

Best car in LPG

published

I use my car everyday
I get my car service every 10000 kms with genuine parts and oil
I use my car everyday
I get my car service every 10000 kms with genuine parts and oil
I use my car everyday
I get my car service every 10000 kms with genuine parts and oil

BodySedan
BadgeXT EcoLPi
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Skyla

SkylaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

AU XR6 Tickford Spec

published

Hand built Engine, made in Australia for Australian conditions. This car has done over 200,000 kms and still has around 300,000 more to go, its held up extremely well, and requires almost no maintenance, the electronics in the car still work great. Has the original dash and everything. The build quality on these model and year are fantastic, if you can find one thats in reasonably well kept condition even at higher KM's you should pick it up. The only thing people dont like about the series 1 AU is the bug eye lights, which personally I love.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6 Limited Edition
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Matt

MattAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Stay away

published
BodySedan
BadgeXR8
Engine Size5.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2002
Joe

JoeMelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Perfection at it's finest

published

I love my car use it on daily and a track car, never missed a beat , strongest car I've owned )ticking strong at 600,00km, , (owned daweoos to porches) and so far this is the greatest machine , A true drivers car ,
Goods : strong
: Cheap
: Parts are free/cheap and everywhere
: Very fun to drive
: Safe car
: if dual fuel good on fuel cost
: Parts are compatible with other models
: Easy to fix
: Rarity of tickford models

BodySedan
BadgeXR6 VCT Sprint
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2002

Stoofa

StoofaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Purchased a G6E

published
BodySedan
BadgeG6E
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Bee

BeeSYDNEY

i love my car!

published

Hi I am just wondering why my car horn is going off all the time for no reason, it went off today while I was driving and people thought I was honking at them!!! and im getting honked at and sworn at, its like you've just got your hand on the horn

BodySedan
BadgeClassic Futura
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Manni

ManniSt.Albans

Good reliable car

published

I use my for my family or my self everyday. And I done every time service on time some time bet late but it's good car relable. Mechanic never mentioned any big issue.but it's old car .that's way some time sadenley problem. May next one again I will buy ford car.

BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size5.4
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015

Very smooth

published

I bought a 2009 fg xt in winter white with 160 000k for a very good price and it is a very good car and a better car than my previous VE commodore,as the car has a few kms on the clock I will tell of the associated problems with age,all that has gone wrong is the front discs were warped,roof lining was sagging and the boot light doesn't work right and when I tried to fix it,a fuse blew causing a strange "transmission not in park" warning on dash but that went away when I replaced the blown 5a fuse,but boot light still doesn't work other than that the car is great and a real bargain except it uses lots of fuel.

BodySedan
BadgeXT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2018

Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Bradley F.

Bradley F.asked

Falcon FG

I have 2010 FG G6 was driving along when the Transmission fault warning appeared curious as to see what the problem was if anyone could help me please?

No answers

taranpreet.saini_01

taranpreet.saini_01asked

Falcon FG

I was wondering if anyone knows where I can purchase a cold air intake system for a Ford Falcon G6 Ecoboost FG.
If anyone knows please send the link.
Thanks

No answers

Shane B.

Shane B.asked

Falcon AU

What should the engine and trans code on my 1998 au xr6 tickford. It's got Y/W on plate but X/K on the rejoice papers???

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Details

Ford Falcon BA
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon BA (2002-2005)

66 reviews
Ford Falcon AU
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon AU (1998-2002)

26 reviews
Ford Falcon BF
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon BF (2005-2010)

56 reviews
Ford Falcon FG X
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon FG X (2014-2016)

20 reviews
Ford Falcon FG
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon FG (2008-2014)

110 reviews
Ford Falcon EL
  • Discontinued

Ford Falcon EL (1996-1998)

7 reviews
CategoryCars, Wagons and SedansCars, Wagons and SedansCars, Wagons and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars, Wagons and Sedans
Starting Price $50,130$30,690$46,405$35,900$39,990$29,950
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomaticAutomatic and ManualAutomatic
Drive TypeRear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)Rear Wheel Drive (RWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolLPG and PetrolPetrol
Wheels17" Alloy15" Steel17" Alloy16" Alloy17" Alloy15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars5 Stars4 Stars
Doors444444
Seats555555
Fuel Consumption9 L/100km7.4 L/100km12.9 L/100km9 L/100km14.9 L/100km7.4 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 68 L68 L68 L68 L93 L68 L
Engine8 Cylinder 5.4L6 Cylinder 4L6 Cylinder 4L6 Cylinder 4L6 Cylinder 4L6 Cylinder 2L
Max Power260kW @ 5250rpm157kW @ 4900rpm245kW @ 5250rpm195kW @ 6000rpm156kW @ 4750rpm157kW @ 4900rpm
Max Torque500Nm @ 4250rpm357Nm @ 4900rpm480Nm @ 2000-4500rpm353Nm @ 5500rpm371Nm @ 3750rpm357Nm @ 3000rpm
Country of ManufactureAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustraliaAustralia
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2002Jan 1998Jan 2005Jan 2014Jan 2008Jan 1996
Discontinuation dateDec 2005Dec 2002Dec 2010Dec 2016Dec 2014Dec 1998

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.