??!
8 photos
Ford Falcon

Ford Falcon

FG, BA, BF, etc...
4.2 from 298 reviews

Reviews

(161)
(82)
(25)
(19)
(11)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (12)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (11)
  • Handling
    4.2 (11)
  • Braking
    4.2 (11)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.4 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (11)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (10)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (10)
  • Features
    3.6 (9)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (10)
Smithy

SmithyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Cant be any better

published

Best car i have ever had by a mile. Engine and trans combo works a treat and the interior is nice too. Sync 2 is a great edition and challenges many supposedly high end luxury cars.

Purchased in February 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

Boiling and spitting water out

published

I have a Ford falcon au1 xr6 Ute. At times it seems to boil over. Temperature gauge is sitting at 1/4. The radiator and pipes are only 6 years old, I just put a new water pump in thinking that was the issue. It doesn't do it all the time but mainly when it's been driven for a couple hours straight I'm about due just to scrap it

Purchased in August 2010 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2000
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ozzesty t.

Ozzesty t.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Cheap and reliable.

published

Purchased in May 2007 for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Ford Falcon compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josh A.

Josh A.Central, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unkillable

published

Got a spare $500 then you got an AU. She will never let you down. I have owned 4 in total. Had one that o converted to manual and it was the best car i have owned to date. Nicer to drive than a manual fgx xr6 and oh did I give it 4 years of hell, not that an au cares how bad you treat it.

Purchased in August 2011 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2000
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

cruise control

published

sI have a 2001 ford falcon forte au the cruise control doesn,t work I cant find the problem my self I have tried to find the relay switch on line and cant it keeps blowing fuses for some reason anyone know why

TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
chris
chris

Anyone please

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Glen.D

Glen.DPerth

  • 2 reviews

The type of car I forgot existed

published

I bought a EL falcon sedan 96 some time ago with only 77K on it from a little old lady that bought it from new appreciating its condition. Its an additional car for our family and sits in the garage but don't I love driving it. We have a brand new transit van and Isuzu MUX but they have so many electrics that you use in them and mod cons to get from A to B but you don't appreciate the drive. In the time I have had the EL I have had to replace the head gasket thats common but if I had the chance to drive this car over the modern ones I would get rid of the new in an instant.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year1996
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Oh my goodness

published

Purchased in October 2014 at Ford Dealers for $18,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Brody J.

Brody J.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Incredible car, built too last. Still looks new, serviced 10 times in 5 years, highly reccommend.

published

Incredible car, built too last. Still looks new, serviced 10 times in 5 years, highly reccommend.

Great for commuting; with space whilst looking great. You won't spend a fortune servicing and the black leather interior/sport function is as powerful as you need for our roads. Very quick, only issue which is a known issue (tailshaft) goes at 90-110 thousand km, just had mune re-built and running a dream again. This car will sore in value and is not easy to find in 2019 already.

Purchased in February 2014 at Ford Dealers for $34,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
BeachedAz

BeachedAzSpewcastle

  • 10 reviews

Ford Falcon XR6 -> Great choice for a 2nd hand car

published

The later Ford Falcons were an underrated car when they were released. Considering the ongoing costs, Falcons are a good option if you are hunting around for a 2nd hand car in the 7 to 10 year old category.

-> Grippy : good handling
-> Cheap parts. Front wheel bearings do tend to wear out and need replacing.
-> Cheap to run for the gas option (Eco LPi)
-> Good engine performance, no issue with the gas option

Handling could still be better compared to other cars but is still superior to the older Falcons. As long as you keep them serviced I Feel this is a fairly solid bet for 2nd hand car buyers.

Purchased in July 2019 for $13,309.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Ford Falcon compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarj

SarjGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Best Fuel Efficient Car

published

I recently bought a used 2012 ford falcon ecolpi which done 200k's. Its one of the best car I owned in terms of running costs and maintenance.It only cost me around 45 to 50 dollars depending on LPG price and get around 600kms easily. It's very powerful for a LPG only car and got 200kw. The only issue I found is the diff bushes are prone to crack which I replaced with a Nolathane bush and never had issues with it. So if you own an Fg and sick of replacing diff bushes go for the Nolathane or other similar quality ones. It bit expensive compared to the normal rubber bushes but saves you money and time in the long run.
So in short if anyone looking to buy a ecolpi dont hesitate just for it. Its a shame that we don't have anymore falcons

Critically True

Critically TrueMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Great car with a few small little issues

published

The BA Ford is a very reliable vehicle, very poor fuel economy I am currently getting 14.7L/100km
The shifter has had to be replaced as well as several ignition coils, these are the only issues I have had in 2-3 years of owning this vehicle. It has a nice 182kw of power along with a high quality traction system and a nice modern interior. It is a shame there is no AUX or USB option for audio.

Purchased in September 2016 for $3,100.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtUsed
Year2004
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
James

James

  • 2 reviews

Best car

published

Reliable, affordable and has power. Use this car as my daily. Not much mechanical issues and cost is cheap to get fix. Can’t get a better Aussie vehicle than the falcon!

Purchased in July 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2013
See all answers
Neil

NeilNew South Wales

Reliable and economical

published

Have had two AU Falcon wagons. The First One dual fuel I put 500000km on clock until gas computer died. Very reliable cars with beautiful interior unlike the later Falcons which seem more plastic inside. So good that I purchased a second wagon a year ago which was well looked after by a pensioner. Very economic on petrol if driven light footed I constantly get 8.7 L/100 combined running. Extremely reliable and comfortable cars that are tremendous value for money.

Purchased in January 2018 for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2002
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Zak

ZakPeel, WA

  • 5 reviews

Seriously underrated car

published

The ford falcon was honestly such a great car. Never left my family stranded for over 100000kms. Bought new in 2011, unfortunate sold it in 2019. The engine was smooth and powerful, however pretty thirsty but acceptable for a 4 litre, always felt safe to drive. Lacked modern features but was designed to get you to A to B safely and the falcon got you to C and beyond. 100% recommend to any family on a budget or young driver wanting a good reliable safe car.

Purchased in February 2011.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Poorly built

published

Poorly built car. Constant problems with tyres wearing prematurely due to wheel alignment. I've had the wheels aligned numerous times, which hasn't fixed the problem. Warped brake discs and vibrations while driving. I've had the ICC replaced due to failure and the drive shaft repaired due to a bearing problem. I have zero confidence in the build quality of this car.
DO NOT BUY ONE!!!!

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Cars

Find out how Ford Falcon compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bren

BrenGold coast

Car has no spark

published

Use car daily and for everything work sports going out long trips service car my self all I have had to do is change oil and brakes as I said it is a evert day user helps me a work too be cause it has a tow bar which is handy

BodySedan
BadgeForte
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Col W

Col Wadelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great Car

published

Great to drive, reliable, comfortable. the MK2 has a very good tech package, easy connectivity. Good ride. Used to drive to work and for leisure, about 25,000 km per year, bought it with 58,000 km on ODO. Initial service by Jarvis but seemed to be an expensive fluids only service, will now get serviced at willaston auto body repairs. No issues as yet.

BodySedan
BadgeXR6
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Stillwaiting

Stillwaiting

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great cat

published

Having just lost my vy commodore in a accident so got written off , was sad to see it go , anyway shopped a round for another came across a 2004 ba which i wasnt planning on buying but now so glad i did . Only 220 ks on it , feel like im nearlly driving around in a new car , interior is way better than the vy , absolutely love it ,, only problem is the roof lining but happy to spend $300 getting ghat done , anyway absolutely over the moon with it .

BodySedan
BadgeXT
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Bob Smith

Bob Smithcentral coast nsw

  • 3 reviews

aussie transport at its finest

published

Falcons are a good car, this model had some good upgrades on the safety. Other than a bit more refined interior its pretty much your standard sedan. Nothing too fancy, reliable transport, they also have a bit of power too if you are into speeding or getting the kids to school early.

Had problems with the windows and the airconditioning too was not the best.

BodySedan
BadgeFutura
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2005
JAY

JAYAU

Best car in LPG

published

I use my car everyday
I get my car service every 10000 kms with genuine parts and oil
I use my car everyday
I get my car service every 10000 kms with genuine parts and oil
I use my car everyday
I get my car service every 10000 kms with genuine parts and oil

BodySedan
BadgeXT EcoLPi
Engine Size4.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

Errol

Errolasked

Falcon FG (2008-2014)

I need to get power when engine is running for an fan on an external gearbox radiator. Any sugestions.
Errol.

No answers
Steve

Steveasked

Falcon BA (2002-2005)

Light on my gearbox selector not working ba ford falcon 2004 xr 8

1 answer
TGF
TGF

My 2006 BF falcon has same issue with light in gear shifter not working, don't bother with it, as it is common, some wiring connection fault with them, if bash side of selector housing sometimes light comes back on, about 1 in 100 times of hitting it.

Sin

Sinasked

Falcon FG (2008-2014)

Recently my FG XR6 ute has developed an headlight fault. When I start the car there is a load beeping and the headlight and fog light icons in the dash are flashing on and off. Sometimes the ICC flashes in time also. Any ideas would be appreciated.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.