?
? !
11 photos
Ford Focus LZ

Ford Focus LZ (2015-2018)

Hatchback, Sedan
4.3 from 42 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (5)
  • Braking
    4.4 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.2 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (4)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (5)
  • Handling
    4.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.6 (5)
  • Boot Size
    3.2 (5)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (5)
  • Features
    3.6 (5)
Previous
Next
Craig

CraigGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Lemon broken faulty Car from new that has cost me thousands in "Attempted repairs"

published

Purchased in December 2015 for $33,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Spiro H.

Spiro H.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Well Built

published

I have just sold my 2017 LZ auto hatchback. In my 2 and a half years of ownership I found it to be well built with few discernible rattles or squeaks, the structure was very rigid. The rear view camera is large & clear. The controls are simple to use and it had a good heater and cool air conditioning. Over 18,000 km I averaged 8.8 L/100 km, with 90% of the km's being city/metro driving. It's initial acceleration was not overly brisk but once at 40 km/h and above its mid range performance was strong. At 110 km/h its revs were 2,000 rpm. The ride was a bit firm around town, dropping the tyre pressures from the recommended value helped improve the ride. Overall I was happy with the car and had no problems.

Purchased in November 2017 for $22,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
David B.

David B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

A Great Car

published

Purchased in April 2017 at Etheridge Ringwood for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus LZ compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Oranges

OrangesGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

So impressed - better than I imagined.

published

Very happy with my Focus sport, great handling especially on winding roads - sticks to the road, so easy to handle and so responsive. Great acceleration -I beat everyone off the lights even the most powerful cars.
Comfortable drivers seat. Plenty of oomph to overtake on highways.Everyone who has driven my car is impressed - a delight to drive.

Purchased in January 2019 at Ford Dealers for $25,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Rubbish from new

published

Purchased in January 2015 for $32,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
cousijack

cousijackPerth, WA

Very good overall vehicle with only reasonable economy

published

I sadly had the Trend auto model before and after 3 years traded it back in on the 2016 LZ sport. The one exceptional thing about the Trend was fantastic fuel economy and repeatedly went from Perth to Toodyay return ( 200k's ) for 11 litres of fuel. The LZ uses 17 litres for the same trip. Not particularly good. Average for outer Perth use is between 8-9 litres per 100. I was told by Ford service it's normal and no adjustment can me made. There is also an occasional smell of petrol coming from under the bonnet but again Ford service can find nothing wrong. Those things apart it's a decent car with enough power for a 72 year old like myself and in just over 2 years and 14000 km's nothing has gone wrong with it.

Purchased in January 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Year2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brett

BrettFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

I was amazed with the total package

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sarah

SarahSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it!

published

Bought this car as second owner with 73,000km and i love it! it looks great drives great couldn't ask for anything more! Never had any issues at all, its great on fuel too! it would be amazing for a first car owner the fact the base model comes with sat nav and cameras is amazing (mines an ecoboost)

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
tmulholland

tmulhollandAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Ford have really got this focus right

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus LZ compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Thomas

ThomasAtlanta

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

I love it

published

It has been with me for two and a half years, 22000+kms, still so new and has never been any problems.
Fuel consumption typically between 6.0 to 7.5 litres / 100 km.
I don't know much about cars, but this car feels good to me.
Appearance is very beautiful, I love it.

BodySedan
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geoff19

Geoff19adelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2017 LZ Focus Trend

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.5L Ecoboost
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark

MarkGold Coast Qld

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

A better drivers car!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTitanium
Engine Size1.5 Ecoboost
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jswc

jswcSydney, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ford Focus RS... just awesome

published
BodyHatch
BadgeRS
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Glydau2014

Glydau2014Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Worst car out there

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tabula Rasa

Tabula RasaFrankston North

  • 5 reviews

Great little car

published

Great little car for basic running around. Packed full of features. Lots of boot space for its size. Feels more like a larger sedan to drive but has the convenience of being a small car for city parking. Loads of tech so its full of features and feels more like a premium vehicle than a small run about

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Ford Focus LZ compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DSL

DSLPerth

  • 3 reviews

Relaxing Driving Experience

published
BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Haid G

Haid GMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Perform good if think of the price

published

Perform stable and smooth with high speed especially on highway. Engine is quiet.

But the interiors are quite rough, some plastic part come out just after two month purchasing. Air con not very good as running slow.

Think about the safety, it’s quite reliable hatch car with around 20k price.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Che

CheGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my car!

published

Love the look and feel of this car. wanted something that blended in with everyone but had just enough character to stand out. also love that it doesn't have too many gadgets but just enough to be modern. It's very responsive to the pedal, not the cheapest to run but compared to my 13 year old car it does the same fuel usage.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2 years old and still happy !

published

A spritely performer with well weighted controls and great steering feel. Quiet and comfortable cruising on the highway and still responsive enough to offer this old petrolhead some fun in the twisties.
No warranty issues at all after 28000km and fuel consumption typically between 6.0 to 7.5 litres / 100 km.
Sync 2 infotainment / nav superior to many much more expensive cars.
No complaints from me and no intention of trading up any time soon ... well done Ford.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.5 Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bubblym

bubblymSydney Aust, NSW

  • 20 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great big brother car without powershift.

published

My Jan 2016 ford focus is a great little car, drives smoothly no issues so far great price at time, is the one without the trouble power shift. Good size small family car, good size boot compared to the little brother Fiesta.
Great inclusions with the trend, nav, reversing camera, but missed out on Apple car play by 6 months. But honeslty
not needed if you have nav included with blue tooth, as apple car play uses your data.

Please do passed bad reviews of powershift models scare you from non.

BodyHatch
BadgeTrend
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3
See all Ford Focus reviews

Questions & Answers

Andrew K.

Andrew K.asked

Focus LZ (2015-2018)

I have just purchased a2018 Focus sport with only 3200kms on the clock 2 days ago. Today i took it for about 1 hours drive today and every time I applied the brakes from about 70kms per hour i could hear a noise coming from either the tyres and or the brakes .Its a hard noise to explain, i suppose it sounds like the brakes are grating with no vibration felt .The noise can even be heard over the sound system. Can someone enlighten me of the problem if possible.

2 answers
Oranges
Oranges

Hi Sorry have not ever had this problem. I run my tyres on 32, don't know if that makes a difference. But it begs the question how did you get a 2018 model with only 3200kms? I run my car mostly on 70/80/100 km speed limit roads and have never experienced this in 2 yrs.

David B.
David B.

Hi Andrew. I understand your situation, as I Once bought a second hand lemon Tarago ( usually reliable) for our growing family. Anyway, my Focus sedan (not a sport hatch like yours) hasn’t displayed your problem over the city or country (up to 110km/h) roads. If you’ve taken it off sealed roads you might have grit in your brakes, but this should disappear. Perhaps extreme braking at high speeds could bind this grit to the discs or pads? If the 3,200 km was extreme driving, the discs and/or brake pads could be worn already. Did you thoroughly check the history of this car before purchase? Could it have been rebuilt from wrecks at a chop shop? Has it had a front end crash, either front on or side on? Have suspension and brake components been built up using incorrect parts? Get your car checked by your RAC in your state (the usual pre-purchase test) if you didn’t do it pre-purchase, as it’s worth the money. Find a reliable front end specialist - it costs nothing for an inspection. A good Ford dealer like my local Etheridge Ford in Ringwood has mechanics that are experts (don’t be shy of a dealer, they know their cars) and could answer the above questions. I think this is actually the place to start, and could save you heaps of money. I hope you get this solved. I’m interested to hear the result.

Glenn H.

Glenn H.asked

LZ (Hatchback) Trend (2015-2018)

Is there any issue with the Lz 2015 manual gearbox? Has there been any recalls over this gearbox?

2 answers
Belinda
Belinda

Sorry Glenn, I don't know, my Focus is an auto, it's great, quick and responsive.

Ian
Ian

I have a 2017 focus sport auto LZ
It's a standard torque converter gearbox. No issues what so ever. Previous models with the PowerShift transmission were a problem.
45000klms on the clock. No squeaks or rattles. It's just the same as I drove it off the lot.
Cheers

Brian C.

Brian C.asked

Focus LZ (2015-2018)

Using a battery charger to trickle charge a battery. Do I connect the negative clamp to the negative battery terminal or to the ground connection point on the vehicle?
The battery charger instructions say the negative terminal.

No answers
See all Ford Focus LZ (2015-2018) questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Focus LZ (2015-2018)

Details

Compare all 20 Ford Focus
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $50,990$56,990$27,490$38,990
TransmissionManualManualAutomatic and ManualManual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels19" Alloy19" Alloy17" Alloy18" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.1 L/100km8.1 L/100km6.2 L/100km7.3 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L52 L55 L62 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.3L4 Cylinder 2.3L4 Cylinder 1.5L4 Cylinder 2L
Max Power257kW @ 6000rpm257kW @ 6000rpm132kW @ 6000rpm184kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque440Nm @ 5000rpm440Nm @ 5000rpm240Nm @ 5000rpm340Nm @ 4500rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyThailandGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015Jan 2015
Discontinuation dateDec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2018
Compare all 20 Ford Focus

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.