5 photos
Ford Transit

Ford Transit

VM, VO
2.9 from 38 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Ford? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (10)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (10)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (10)
  • Braking
    4.0 (8)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.1 (9)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (10)
  • Handling
    4.2 (10)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (9)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (7)
  • Comfort
    3.6 (9)
  • Features
    3.3 (9)
Previous
Next
Bruno F
Bruno FSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolute GARBAGE from rust to multiple sensor failure and mechanical failure just buy something else

published

Ignition switch failure
Mass airflow sensor failure
Fuel solenoid failure
Fuel filter early failure
Water cooling joint breakage just by gently wagging it to disconnect the hose

I could go forever
Shocking service
No parts available not even at Ford dealership

Go straight past it

Purchased in October 2011.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Craig
CraigSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Adaptive cruise control is dangerous

published

Just purchased a 2020.5 Ford Jumbo overall a decent van except for the adaptive cruise control have had near misses so far with the cruise control braking suddenly due to a car changing lanes in front off me with 3 to 5 car lengths distance. This on at least 2 occasions has caused the car behind me to either have to lock breaks up or swerve to avoid rear ending me all off this was on the freeway at 110km hour. I visited 3 dealerships until I found someone who could change the settings to normal cruise control. Don't waste your money paying for adaptive cruise control.
II have owned the van for 3 months and was at the point off either replacing the cruise control with a after market version or selling the van

Purchased in February 2021 for $57,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
rogfra1770
rogfra1770South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Jack of all trades, master of some

published

Use as my car and weekend escape vehicle
Wider than you think, lower than it looks, quicker than it should be with more equipment than you would expect in a van

Purchased in January 2020 at Ford Dealers for $50,990.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
kombi53
kombi53South East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 14 likes

Seat issues detract from a great ride.

published

Purchased in September 2020 for $54,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Vans

Find out how Ford Transit compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Levi
LeviSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don't buy

published

I use this car for my business and besides the ad blue being a pain just found out my rotors need to be replaced at 42,000 kms $2,500 later not worth it. Asked Ford how long the new ones will last and said about the same amount of time.

Purchased in May 2020 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5

Don't do it to yourself

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
David
DavidNorthern Territory

Non computerised pump

published

You can successfully fit a non computerised diesel pump to these vehicles using a cable and no security lock out. The system works well and uses most of the original parts apart from the actual pump.- and the experts said it could never be done.

Purchased in October 2015 for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

A great reliable and economical transportation.

published

My transit was coverted ito a camper and one a year I tour Europe for aproximately 30,000 Km.
It has 286,000 Km and had no major breackdown. The engine 2.2L Diesel 140HP is fuel efficiently 6.2 L/ 100Km. Doesn't consume any oil between changes ( 15,000 Km ). I use only 100% Synthetic oil 5W 30.
I had to replace the left hub bearring. I will replace the 4 injectors and the EGR valve to improve the emission and to stop the slight black smock on shifting gears.
It is a very reliable vehicle and drives comfortable. The turning radius is not tight due to the front wheel drive and a the long wheelbase. The passenger door fails to lock sometimes.

Purchased in June 2008 at Privet sale.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Shygirl101
Shygirl101Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Great Tradie Van

published

This is a great Van, there is room for all your tools you can pretty much customise the back with however you need to work. Gets good fuel mileage too and is super comfortable to drive.

Purchased in March 2016 at Private Sale.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Vans

Find out how Ford Transit compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kangachick
kangachickAU
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Older Ford Transits better than new ones

published

I have a Ford Transit Winnebago 2001 and its been fantastic. I'm the 3rd owner and the vehicle has performed very well. Travelling around Australia, if I do need anything incl servicing, all mechanics know Ford. And parts are easy to get.
All the bad reviews are referring to newer models.
Mine is 2001 - yes its 18 years old, but things were built differently back then, better quality = built to last.
I wanted to put this here to balance out the bad reviews. Keep in mind, people are more likely to spend time writing a bad review than a good one. It gives them a vent. I would buy an older Ford Transit chassis again, just the older models. They go forever.

Badge(No Badge)
BodyWinnebago
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017
mickey
mickeyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great van, terrible technology

published
Badge290
BodyVan
Engine Size2.0L Turbo diesel
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017

absolutely pain in the Ass

published
Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2012
Vans

Find out how Ford Transit compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Trevor S
Trevor Sbairnsdale

82000 km and needs new motor

published

Five years old, country 82000 kms, with no warning shudder shudder shudder engine gone, Ford quotes $10000.00 to fix, that's a bit of bad luck. What's the point in having something great to drive if it doesn't work.and work it is supposed to do, now it's off the road for as long as it takes, and I do my deliveries in a wheelbarrow?

Badge(No Badge)
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013

Wouldn’t buy another ford.

published
Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Tony
TonyTolga

Not Happy Ford

published

I have enjoyed the two years of owning this vehicle. But at 70,000km, the clutch has gone including gear box. Ford Customer Fleet Care has not been helpful at all. I've been without my vehicle for 5 weeks and still waiting on parts. And with this being my work vehicle which I work out of every day, it becomes Very disturbing. I know we live in North Queensland but we do have Daily Air Freight Services. I would not recommend a Ford due to lack of service from Customer Care plus the fact of it's age and such major problems at such low Km.

Badge350L
BodyVan
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2014

Questions & Answers

djwaller4
djwaller4asked
Transit

Hello. Does anyone know much about the locking system on a 2006 v j transit camper van?

2 answers
Cally
Cally

Nup. But after reading all the endless expensive repair bills on ford transit vans theres no way lm buying one now

djwaller4
djwaller4

Well after sorting out the couple of little problems known with these models. I'm now very happy to report, the ol Transhit is running sweet, and I'm pretty happy at the moment....

TONY E.
TONY E.asked
Transit VM (2006-2013)

I have installed 2 master clutch units in 6 months, do I have a problem with clutch or master clutch unit which is made of plastic?

1 answer
Cally
Cally

Its made of plastic

g dogg
g doggasked
Transit

What is the difference between a fa and a vm chassis?

1 answer
kombi53
kombi53

to be honest I do not know ! my experience is with the new Transit custom long wheel base, great looking, goes well, the drivers seat did not suit me to the point with 500kms on the clock I traded it back to Ford, not a cheap experience !!

See all Ford Transit questions

Get an answer from our members

Ford Transit

Details

Compare both Ford Transit
Ford Transit VM
  • Discontinued

Ford Transit VM (2006-2013)

3.0
(24)
CategoryVansVans
Release dateJan 2014Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2013
Compare both Ford Transit

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.