??!
5 photos
Ford Transit

Ford Transit

VM, VO
2.9 from 33 reviews

Reviews

(10)
(5)
(1)
(5)
(12)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    4.8 (4)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.0 (4)
  • Braking
    5.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (2)
  • Features
    3.3 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (4)


Don't do it to yourself

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Handling
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

David

DavidNorthern Territory

Non computerised pump

published

You can successfully fit a non computerised diesel pump to these vehicles using a cable and no security lock out. The system works well and uses most of the original parts apart from the actual pump.- and the experts said it could never be done.

Purchased in October 2015 for $12,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2005
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

A great reliable and economical transportation.

published

My transit was coverted ito a camper and one a year I tour Europe for aproximately 30,000 Km.
It has 286,000 Km and had no major breackdown. The engine 2.2L Diesel 140HP is fuel efficiently 6.2 L/ 100Km. Doesn't consume any oil between changes ( 15,000 Km ). I use only 100% Synthetic oil 5W 30.
I had to replace the left hub bearring. I will replace the 4 injectors and the EGR valve to improve the emission and to stop the slight black smock on shifting gears.
It is a very reliable vehicle and drives comfortable. The turning radius is not tight due to the front wheel drive and a the long wheelbase. The passenger door fails to lock sometimes.

Purchased in June 2008 at Privet sale.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Shygirl101

Shygirl101Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Great Tradie Van

published

This is a great Van, there is room for all your tools you can pretty much customise the back with however you need to work. Gets good fuel mileage too and is super comfortable to drive.

Purchased in March 2016 at Private Sale.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

kangachick

kangachickAU

  • 2 reviews

Older Ford Transits better than new ones

published

I have a Ford Transit Winnebago 2001 and its been fantastic. I'm the 3rd owner and the vehicle has performed very well. Travelling around Australia, if I do need anything incl servicing, all mechanics know Ford. And parts are easy to get.
All the bad reviews are referring to newer models.
Mine is 2001 - yes its 18 years old, but things were built differently back then, better quality = built to last.
I wanted to put this here to balance out the bad reviews. Keep in mind, people are more likely to spend time writing a bad review than a good one. It gives them a vent. I would buy an older Ford Transit chassis again, just the older models. They go forever.

Badge(No Badge)
BodyWinnebago
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017

mickey

mickeyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great van, terrible technology

published
Badge290
BodyVan
Engine Size2.0L Turbo diesel
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

absolutely pain in the Ass

published
Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2012

Trevor S

Trevor Sbairnsdale

82000 km and needs new motor

published

Five years old, country 82000 kms, with no warning shudder shudder shudder engine gone, Ford quotes $10000.00 to fix, that's a bit of bad luck. What's the point in having something great to drive if it doesn't work.and work it is supposed to do, now it's off the road for as long as it takes, and I do my deliveries in a wheelbarrow?

Badge(No Badge)
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013

Wouldn’t buy another ford.

published
Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Tony

TonyTolga

Not Happy Ford

published

I have enjoyed the two years of owning this vehicle. But at 70,000km, the clutch has gone including gear box. Ford Customer Fleet Care has not been helpful at all. I've been without my vehicle for 5 weeks and still waiting on parts. And with this being my work vehicle which I work out of every day, it becomes Very disturbing. I know we live in North Queensland but we do have Daily Air Freight Services. I would not recommend a Ford due to lack of service from Customer Care plus the fact of it's age and such major problems at such low Km.

Badge350L
BodyVan
Engine Size2.2L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Never again

published

Must be the worst van in the world! Everything has gone wrong - timing chain jumping- rear wheel seal leaks- water pump- vacuum pump - hydraulic clutch pump- belt tensioner- clutch- many more things. Parts are extremely expensive and ford charge 3 times more than aftermarket products. Every mechanic I've been to hates these vans.

Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2006

149000 and oil in cooling system. Not the head, but the oil cooler. Still $5000 damage

published

I had oil in cooling system at 149000. Initial thought that it was a blown head gasket. Worked out it actually was the oil cooler failing internally. Because hoses, temp meter, radiator and water reservoir were all contaminated, they had to replace the lot. To change oil cooler, the gear box had to come out. All and all a $4900 bill. Despite several flushes to get the oil out of the system, oil is still coming loose and float in the reservoir after trips. So for months I will have to clean the reservoir.

Badge(No Badge)
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2012

Perfect!!! Just need tow bar and back seat

published

Just need to know can I fit a back seat to my 2007 model vm ford transit, it's a work model with no windows it does have plug holes where something can go in I think. It's says TRW 19 on the plug hole area? Is that a code for a seat or anything

Badge330
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseShort
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Transit motorhome

published
Badge350L
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2013

bakingplumber

bakingplumbersydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

blown head gasket problems

published

Purchase Vm Cab Chassis new in 2010 has been a great vehicle, allways regularly serviced with lots of country driving. Just one concern about been told that they can blow a head gasket or worse around 150k t0 180k . My just hit 152k and guess what has happen, a blown head gasket or worse. Has anyone else heard of this or had this problem. deciding whether to sell once repaired ?.

Badge350
BodyCab Chassis
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2010
1 comment
bakingplumber
bakingplumber

conclusion cracked head, only 1 in Australia at that time and 5 weeks to repair and $8500

Deliberate engineering of products so they only last for the warranty period.

published
Badge350L
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual

piece of ^%&*

published

My partner has a 2008 2.4 turbo diesel and we have spent thousands on this piece of $%^$. I have come on here to see if anyone else has had their drive chain (timing chain) snap on them. We need as many people to come forward as possible. If you are one of many please message me

Badge(No Badge)
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual

Timeing chain tensioner failure.

published

Ex-rental 6-berth. Engine died after 13 months ownership and 10000klms use. Seemed like a good buy at $55000. Just spent $14000. On new engine, clutch and injectors (fitted). Expensive when they go wrong. Timing chain tensioner fault is well known. Word of warning. Have it checked and replaced. Would not buy again.

Badge290
Body6-berth motorhome.
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual

Great van

published

i owned a transit VG for 12years and replaced it with a 2011 VM with 200,000 Klms on clock, yes a lot of K's for a 2011 model, but theses were highway klm's carting eggs, this is a excellent van, looks new, motor is very powerful, storage departments all over the van which is really handy, 1st gear is a bit slow, but wynds up after that, although the turbo is noisey, i have not replaced anything yet at 230,000 Klm. i did look hard for a van like this at the right price $23,000 on the road, i would not but anything lest that 2012 model now, otherwise you may inherite other peoples problems, and have it checked out by a accredited mechanic !!! i want a sprinter but cost too much, This van was a great choice and so far so good.

Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual

Disappointed With Gearbox

published

Gear selection problems vehicle into dealer Launceston TAS 5 days ago, feedback non existent on diagnosis, had to follow and chase them continuously. 5 days no parts ordered no decision made from ford Australia on warranty claim. Disappointed as this is a front line vehicle for our company. Come on dealer and Ford Australia get your act together. Simply not good enough!

Badge350
BodyVan
Engine Size2.4L Turbo
TransmissionManual

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Warwick C.

Warwick C.asked

how to get into a 2010 transit cab chas. when key won't open central dead locked system. Key in good condition with lithium/vanadium button battery at 3.15 volts and main battery system at 12.76 volts ok. had key system checked and is putting out signal . Spare key same. When turning key to left can hear faint noise around pillar on both sides of van.

No answers

Merv G.

Merv G.asked

Hi I have a 2000 2.5 Diesel diesel Manual rear wheel drive, had a serious oil leak with the front adapter plate gasket, had the gasket replaced and stopped it leaking, since then it has the engine light on and in limp modeand blowing heaps of blue smoke when starting, codes are picking on EGR but it was running fine prior, any clues what could of happened ?

No answers

Merv G.

Merv G.asked

Hi I have a 2000 2.5 Diesel diesel Manual rear wheel drive, had a serious oil leak with the front adapter plate gasket, had the gasket replaced and stopped it leaking, since then it has the engine light on and in limp modeand blowing heaps of blue smoke when starting, codes are picking on EGR but it was running fine prior, any clues what could of happened ?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ford representatives

Other Vans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.