??!

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(4)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(4)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (3)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Product is used:
    • Weekly (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Safety
    3.7 (3)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    4.0 (1)


Sceptical, but impressed.

published

I used this mower on my back yard for the first time. 220 square metres of level Buffalo lawn. By the time I got to mow it it was about 40 - 50mm long. On a couple of the thicker areas I had to back up and have a second go, but still, it didn't take much longer than with my Honda mower and did a comparable job. I don't use a catcher when I mow, so I can't comment on the Greenlines catcher. Although the handle is flimsy it didn't come apart like others have reported. I think a couple of diagonal braces would help alot. At $70 what do you have to lose?

Purchased in November 2019 for $69.95.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Dennis H.
Dennis H.

I used the catcher for the first time today. With its open top it's pretty much useless. The clippings go everywhere. An enclosed bag configuration could work better.


FocusFan

FocusFanSydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 13 likes

Do not buy

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Safety
Value for Money
See all answers

kameleon872000

kameleon872000South Australia

  • 26 reviews
  • 1 like

A good solution for small lawns

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Facebook Marketplace for $49.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used: Weekly
See all answers
FELIX AGIUS

FELIX AGIUS

  • 2 reviews

Wheel issue

published

I do like the fact that it is much easier to use that a petrol mower. when my lawn was quit new it worked perfectly but as the grass grew and became much thicker the wheels started to slip and in turn does not turn the blades , due to this I have no option but to use my petrol mower even though I try and mow as often as possible, not sure if this is my unit or a common theme ?

Date PurchasedNov 2015

Handle Problems

published

The handle keeps coming off each time it is vertical, unable to use, very frustrating!!! Have other users sorted out how to keep the handle on the bolts without it coming loose. I even tried to assemble in reverse but to no avail. There must be a solution to keeping the lugs in the holes.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Terrible

published

Bought the Aldibhand mower also same problem with a he handle we did manage the put in for all of 10 mins
Resulting in it coming off in my hands I near fell because of it
I would of taken it back but tossed the docket out
In the shed in 2 pieces handle won't fit on

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Hand Push Mower Aldi

published

I bought the Hand Push Mower from Aldi. Got it home and there was no way that I could put the handle on! I rang the help line but they couldn't help, they said someone would get back to me. I'm still waiting. Waste of money. I am very disappointed.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Karen

KarenNowra

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Quiet, no petrol fumes or use if electricity

published

Used it when first got it home, went to use it again, the handle has come off, any chance of any one letting me know how it goes back on, pity it has been discontinued, the price was brilliant, I would recommend this to all who ask about it, as it is a good machine, very good for the environment

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Neb-Maat-Re

Neb-Maat-ReAU

  • 34 reviews

Fantastic - No noise, no smell, just as quick as the petrol mower AND a better cut!

published

Bought one recently and very happy so far. It even tackled parts of the lawn that had gotten a little long. The cutting action of these mowers is more like scissors and gives a better cut than a petrol mower which pulls at the grass. I understand they have plastic gears which can wear out, but it has a 12 month warranty and at $40 the week after it was in the catalogue I'll be happy to get 12 months out of it. Very heartened to see another reviewer has gotten 6 years of of theirs!

I am already finding the stink of the neighbour's petrol mower annoying!

Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Neb-Maat-Re
Neb-Maat-Re

I had hoped to get 1 year out of this mower.

It has just hit 3 years and going strong.

Grace

Grace

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Loooooove it!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

BethofAus

BethofAusBungendore

Perfect for people with small gardens

published

I took mine out of the box, put it together and it has been brilliant. Takes me about the same time to do my yard with this mower as it does with a conventional mower, as long as I mow regularly.
Cost me $50. A brilliant investment. Sits on the side of the step in my garage, ie, takes up no space.
Review number 2 talks about the air filter clogging up. Obviously this does not relate to THIS mower! We are talking about a person powered push mower here, not a fuel powered one with an air filter...
Cheap, good exercise, environmentally friendly, easy to store


Leanmaker

LeanmakerGeelong West

Wouldn't be without it

published

This has been fantastic. I've used it for about 6 years on our garden without fail. Sometimes hard in long thick grass, but with a bit of patience and effort it seems to keep going. However, yesterday the roller broke so i am desperately looking for a replacement. No point getting rid of the whole thing just for the want of a roller, anyone know where i can get one?
Light weight, easy to transport, good catcher
Some grass types cause a challenge, but with patience and effort it will cut everything

Questions & Answers

IngridB.

IngridB.asked

How to change height,lower, higher.?

1 answer
Dennis H.
Dennis H.

If you have the user manual the answer is on page 11 under VI. OPERATION. If you don't, loosen the knobs on each side of the machine, put a foot on the black roller, set the desired height with both hands on the small handles on the front of the machine. Tighten the knobs.


Cam

Camasked

The wheels move backwards but not forwards. Still in assembly stage. Is there a guard or a brake that I'm missing? The blades aren't turning because the wheels aren't turning. Thanks.

5 answers
kameleon872000
kameleon872000

Maybe you've assembled it the wrong way around ? When I use mine, the opposite happens-it doesn't work going backwards.

Dennis H.
Dennis H.

It takes more effort to push it forward than drag it backward. The forward action drives the cutter reel which takes more effort. If the wheels don't turn then, perhaps, the tension on the cutter reel needs to be backed off a touch by loosening a couple of adjustment screws underneath.

Cam
Cam

Thanks Dennis. It's not budging at all on tiles and in high blade mode. Blades aren't budging at all. Assembling for my neighbour. She's on the pension so while it was a good purchase I'd hate to brake it on her. I'll have a look at loosening a few screws underneath. Cheers


Carol A.

Carol A.asked

How do you put on the habdles

3 answers
Dennis H.
Dennis H.

If yours is the same as mine you need to hold the handle vertically, squeeze the ends of it together and align the holes in it with the lugs in the body, and release. It takes a bit of effort to squeeze and align them.

kameleon872000
kameleon872000

I agree with Dennis. I don't have the Owners Manual. The handle came off on one side at the base of the mower. It's a matter of aligning the pin into the hole. The pin is specially shaped to prevent it coming out, as is the hole. The two must be aligned. If you have an assistant to hold the handle upright that might help.

Cam
Cam

What about the handles - they fit over the bolts nicely and don't fall out but is the handle then meant to flop up and down freely or are you meant to screw them in tightly so it's at a set angle? Mine is flopping up and down because I followed the instructions.


Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Other Manual Lawn Mowers

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.