??!
6 photos
Holden Astra BK

Holden Astra BK

Hatchback, Wagon
4.5 from 30 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
21
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
1

R.V.

R.V.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Nice drive

published

Purchased new in April 2018 for just over 20 thou. for the R+.
Has done over 30,000 Kims now.
This car has been quite reliable and economical. Plenty of go in the 1.4 Ltd donk.
Has excellent handling and good onboard tech. Although the forward collision alert seems to come on at odd times. But very comfortable car to drive.
Well worth the purchase price.

Purchased in April 2018 at Suttons.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

ASTRA PROBLEMS

published

I have had noting but problems with my BK Astra Has only done 25,000 klms. Water level topped up at every service, Blind spot mirrors warning coming on together, Vibration on gear changes ,Irregular gear changes, Red warning light keeps coming on for no reason. Evaporative solenoid replaced.
Never will I buy another Astra/ Holden

Purchased in June 2017 for $29,000.00.

TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

David J.

David J.Sydney, NSW

Back up service under warranty is disgusting

published

Our Astra with less than 60 000kms on the clock and still under new car warranty had an orange light pop up saying ESC on the dash. So I rang Col Crawford who were great. I got the car in straight away only to be told that the car needed pistons and rings. Not a problem, I understand that, but the problem is that it took me 4 phone calls, an hour of my time each time and threatening that my solicitor said to send them the bills for a hire car to finally get a replacement car while they try and find pistons which they have no time frame on. Be wary if you plan on buying a Holden.

Purchased in July 2018 at Col Crawford for $14,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sagar

Sagar

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car but not without quality niggles

published

Have had a 2018 Astra R+ hatchback for under 2 years with 11k kms on the clock so far.

Pros- it’s a drives like a dream with excellent ride, handling with decent power and kit. Good value for money

Cons- very bad paint quality, chips very easily, almost as if they used crayons for paint.
Headlights are extremely inadequate out of the city or on dark unlit roads
The placement of the reverse camera and the resolution are causes for limited utility

Purchased in April 2018 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Stan Z

Stan ZPerth, WA

Astra La Vista Baby

published

Purchased in March 2019 for $16,985.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Ashleigh H

Ashleigh HThe Mallee, VIC

Great little run around

published

The Astra RSV is comfy, stylish and has great features. The Adaptive Cruise Control has failed numerous times and the Bendigo dealership was unable to detect the problem. The features are lacking compared to our Calais V - no front camera, no windscreen display projection and manual seat adjustments. Overall, a good car but getting faults fixed is proving to be a problem.

Purchased in December 2018 at Holden Dealers for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Excellent small car

published

We chose the Astra RSV 1.6 turbo
Terrific car for our small family and recommend it to anyone looking for a reliable performer.
It’s fuel economy around town with Aircon on is about 7L/100km and is quite easy to drive with minimal road noise.
Holden have completed the first two services so far without anything extra needing to be fixed.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Electreks P

Electreks PAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best car we've owned

published
BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Rae

Rae

  • 3 reviews

Astra must mean a Star.

published

My Astra Hatchback 2016 is one of a kind and I seriously rarely have seen another pass me. The sat nav is not great to use in a hurry. Twirling the dial back and forth and over and over for each letter is very tiresome. I end up using my Google Map app on my phone. Side vision is limited, but the electrics have not let me down more than once. Warranty covered that sad little affair. ( Whatever a broken front camera is, it stopped working)

BodyHatch
BadgeLimited Edition
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

A real surprise! Great value, comfortable and fun to drive

published
BodyHatch
BadgeRsv
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

dave

daveIllawarra, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great buy

published
BodyHatch
BadgeR+
Engine Size1.4 turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Mary	Falconer

Mary FalconerRedondo Beach

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Dream Car

published

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon. Test drive and yep, very impressed. Steering was so easy, seats comfy, spacious, all the bells and whistles except for inbuilt maps, but can get the current up-to-date maps from my mobile phone via usb cable, and that works great.

BodyCoupe
BadgeCD Classic
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Luke

LukeSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible

published

Good for nothing. 5 weeks after I bought this car it broke down. That was one sure sign of it being a lemon.
Second sign was when I took it for its first 6 monthly warranty service, and got told repairs would cost $880. ???
Apparently what needed to be replaced was not covered by the warranty. How convenient.
Somebody told me the Astra and the Holden Viva have same engine types. I will know to stay away from both in the future.
Please note: All the positive reviews you see, are written by Holden dealers. Customers will never have anything good to say about a Holden.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Ronnie D

Ronnie D

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Dream Car

published

Oh wow, I so love my new Astra. Replaced my 2004 Astra, was so happy with the old car decided to stick with Astra. Looked at a few new ones, and fell in love with this sleek black 4 door hatch back, was a demo model. Test drive and yep, very impressed. Steering was so easy, seats comfy, spacious, all the bells and whistles except for inbuilt maps, but can get the current up-to-date maps from my mobile phone via usb cable, and that works great. Sensors here there and everywhere, so many features, still learning them. My son informed me the Sport setting/button works well. Real good on fuel consumption.

BodyHatch
BadgeSRi Turbo
Engine Size2.0L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017

woodunn

woodunnHahndorf

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great low down grunt and good looking to boot

published

Good value top of the range hatch.
Plenty of power and smart traditional automatic.
Handles great around the Adelaide Hills and also on the open road.
Fantastic technology with DAB radio, Android Auto, Apple Carplay, self parking, heated seats..........
We found the seats in the R and RS too tight with the side bolsters however the RS-V with leather have a wider seat base and are very comfortable.
The lumbar support adjusts vertically and horizontally.
The only downside so far is it requires 95RON as a minimum.

BodyHatch
BadgeRS-V
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017
BP93

BP93Brisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Simplicity at its finest!

published
BodyHatch
BadgeR
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Pretty good

published

The engine is little small, but pretty economic. The interior are really good. I am very enjoy when I drive the car. Nothing have problem. It is a good first car. I guess. I would recommend this car probably. Running cost is not too high. The reliability is good. I guess I would have this car for a while.

BodySedan
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2011

Austin

Austin

  • 2 reviews

Great value

published

The driving experience is smooth and fun. Hardly can hear any noise while driving. The insulation does a fantastic job. The ergonomics is perfect for a first car buyer like me. However, lots of cheap plastic in the cabin which makes the quality a bit nasty. Overall a very good first car.

BodyHatch
BadgeTurbo
Engine Size1.6L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Dean

DeanSafety Bay, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car. Love it!

published

Nice smooth drive, really love its fuel efficiency. Yes to take it for a country trip but can’t wait to go do. Apple Car Play very handy and heaps of information comes from the onboard computer. No regrets at all about my purchase. Will buy an Astra again once my 5-year warranty runs out.

BodyHatch
BadgeR Auto
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

warytravelly

warytravellyPerth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like

Good ride for the price

published

The astra 1.4 sports hatch is comfortable to drive with an average economy which should be better. In saying this it looks good and well featured for the cost. The integrated handsfree works well and tends to fade a bit with varying noise levels. Overall with a 7 year new car warranty I can't complain

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Page 1 of 2

See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Amber C.

Amber C.asked

Wondering what experience others have had with turnaround under warranty. Under 2 yo Astra r+ has so far had confirmed blown piston and cracked piston head - currently investigating whether its damaged the bore - to which Ive been told thisll mean a full engine replacement (26k on the engine!!). Im pushing for a courtesy car because Im stuck 30ks from the service centre with 3 kids and no car. while Im giving the dealer the chance to get things done (they havent finished their warranty process yet - but Ive been told their warranty lady goes on leave tomorrow) Im worried if I dont start to push Ill be stuffed for at least another week. Would appreciate some guidance on a way to expedite the process - no doubt Holden hasnt even had anything through from the dealer as yet.

No answers

Alison R.

Alison R.asked

Hi my Astra 2016 R model central locking only unlocks the driver’s side door. I have to press the lock unlock function to let my passengers in once I’m inside the car. My model doesn’t have keyless entry. How do I get my central locking to unlock all doors?

1 answer
Shawn
Shawn

Go into the system settings and you can adjust that from your stereo


Jess m

Jess masked

What do people think of the Holden Astra R BK 16/17? Are they lemons? I've test driven one and really liked it but I've heard the Astra can be unreliable. I'm not sure if that's associated with earlier models though. I really liked the car but should I be concerned it would die on me or something?

2 answers
perry
perry

keep the car serviced, latest model good performance and fuel eficent every car maker has a lemon or two

Shawn
Shawn

I have one with 110,000km on it
Reliable so far, and no major issues
Every model has a dud but so far so good
Original rotors as well at that many km


Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.