??!
2 photos
Holden Barina TK

Holden Barina TK

Hatchback and Sedan
2.9 from 77 reviews

See the Best Cars in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
20
4 star
13
3 star
10
2 star
9
1 star
25

This car is a P.O.S light a match and put it in the tank

published

New timing belt water pump and pulleys front and rear crank and cam seals new clutch rocker seal sump seal gear box seals just to stop it from leaking worst car iv ever brought gonna get rid of it to the next poor joker

Purchased in April 2016 for $4,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Smith

SmithLaunceston, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Excellent for a used car

published

Bought my manual 2010/my11 hatch 4 years ago for $6000. With regular oil/filter services and general maintenance this car has been a great daily driver for me.
Only just about to do the timing belt and water pump and it's at 206600km.
Have never had a more reliable car, cheap on fuel $48 to fill tank ulp.
It's not huge on grunt but for it's size it can go pretty fast

Purchased in March 2015 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Corpus P.

Corpus P.Sydney, NSW

Total piece of crap!

published

garbage.. lemon.. rubbish.. run away from it.. it'll cost you thousands to fix just to keep it going! burn the crap! i bought one .. timing belt.. wheels.. electronics do crap knows what's going on.. central locking works on its own.. engine lite in.. i hate this red p.o.s!

Purchased in February 2018 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ktm9779841

Ktm9779841Tasmania

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst car in the world

published
BodyHatch
Badge$3000
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Julz

Julz

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible a lemon

published

What a piece of junk , only get 350 klm out of a full tank has oil leaks ,1st service oil was gluggy so needed 3 mthly oil changes , started smoking out of exhaust when 3 yrs old , Holden refused to honour warranty as l missed the 2nd year servicing with Them as went elsewhere , car not quiet or smooth compared to other cars now at 88000 klm on clock there oil under spark plugs and lost compression, was only serviced few mths ago just constant ongoing oil problems never buy a barina again they rubbish

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2013

crysssttt

cryssstttmoruya

  • 4 reviews

love it

published

Brought a 2012 black holden barina (sedan) i love it so much! the clutch is very easy to use have had no problems with it all. its good for everyday use easy to steer, radio is easy to use and very convienent with the Bluetooth system and a very spacious boot..

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Abby

Abby

  • 4 reviews

I love my car

published

Economical on fuel, good little zippy car. Mine is a manual. I only gave it 4 stars as I feel sometimes the car doesn’t feel like it’s on the road, a little too light and not sturdy like it’s solidly on the road. Probably because it is so small.
I love it though. Easy stereo, not too bad blind spots just the panel at your front right makes it hard to see when doing sharp right hand turns but I just sit up and look around more.
It has an excellent turning circle and it’s small so generally it should.
I will buy this same car but in a newer model. I love the Barina!

BodyHatch
Badge?
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016

gclark8

gclark8Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Vision Issues with Windscreen Glass

published

I had minor vision issues on the test drive, becoming worse over the years to the extent where I have now only done 8,700km in 6 years. Two problems, Astigmatic Windscreen and ripples, just in from the left edge and top/bottom edges of the windscreen glass. My understanding this is not a Holden issue but an assembly line issue as it occurs at random in many brands. RAC and Holdens talked about decommissioning and recycling the car. The car is now considered unsafe to drive. History: http://www.aveoforum.com/forum/f118/av3o-wa-2011-holden-barina-sedan-garage-entry-17246/

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2011
6 comments
gclark8
gclark8
gclark8
gclark8
gclark8
gclark8

Can't fault it.

published

Purchased second hand as a daily driver to work due to its fuel efficiency. It is fuel efficient and then some. I would have preferred auto but manuals are cheaper. I was told to keep up to date with services and timing belt changes and I'll never have any issues.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Tom

Tom

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Such a waste of money

published

Bought it second hand and have to pay over $3000 to get it back to managable condition. The lock actuators are bust, the suspention needs replacing and the engine always smells like burning oil. Be warey one buying 2nd hand because its going to cost you. Save yourself time and money and go for a Mazda.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Brilliant little around town car

published

I've had my second hand 2010 Barina for quite a while now and it hasn't skipped a beat. I purchased it with 139,000km and all seems well. It has been exceptional on fuel. Whilst it doesn't have the luxury of a Mercedes, it is somewhat nice to drive being quite zippy.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Bonnie

BonnieParkwood

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great first car

published
BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2011

Phoenixflame

PhoenixflameSouth Australia, 5169

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

It's a simple car. What more do you expect?

published

I remember getting myself a nice sporty red manual one a while back, then we sold it as the new wife didn't drive stick. Anyway, a bit more down the line and we bought another one second hand that was automatic.
Nothing wrong with the car yet. It runs well, is fuel efficient and gets us from A to B with little fuss.
I mean everyone wants a bigger engine so they can cruise the highways without revving so high, but it's a small car. What do you expect?
Would I get it again? Maybe a newer model, but at the price point, there's not many other comparable cars of this calibre.
Fold down back seats adds room to the boot.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Problems, problems and more problems

published
BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionAutomatic

Problematic now after many years of reliable and economical use.

published
BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionManual
1 comment
Barbara p
Barbara p
Sarah

Sarah

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing!

published

I own the 2012 Holden Barina. Honestly the best car ever!
This is my first car but I have had NO PROBLEMS with it! My friends have all bought cars and have had a lot of issues and some that have bought the new 2015 model and have had issues.
I would highly recommend the 2012 Holden Barina if you are looking for a great trouble free first car.
Uses hardly any petrol as well! Great for traveling, easy to clean inside and out. A great inexpensive car!
Handles great and is very comfortable. (I am the second owner and bought with 26,000km, had it 5 months now it's on 46,000) I love driving it.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic

Sal

SalPerth

Expensive price tag on a cheap quality parts!

published
BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionManual

austex

austexAU

  • 6 reviews

Check the brand of engine !!

published
BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic

Worst Ever

published

This car is a lie, for starters is not a Holden, it's a Daewoo. I had to put a new motor just after the warranty (3 years). The radiator does not last long, changed twice, the water reserve leaking, breaks failing all the time, very unsafe. I bought it brand new. Bad choice, not recommended, never buy Holden again.

BodyHatch
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic

SandyG

SandyGSouth Brisbane

  • 39 reviews
  • 30 likes

Another Holden Money Maker

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 4

See all Holden Barina reviews

Questions & Answers

Ricardo

Ricardoasked

I have a Holden Barina 2009 TK can the battery be changed that is in the key that unlocks and locks the car

No answers

andy weeks

andy weeksasked

changed engine in holden tk 2009 barina now I cant get it to shift up in gear unless rev the car right out

No answers

Paul O

Paul Oasked

hi i have a 2010 Barina hatch back and have oil in the spark plug chamber.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Holden representatives

Details

Holden Barina TK (Hatchback)
  • Discontinued

Holden Barina TK (Hatchback) (2005-2012)

56 reviews
Holden Barina TK (Sedan)
  • Discontinued

Holden Barina TK (Sedan) (2005-2012)

18 reviews
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and Sedans
Starting Price $18,290$18,290
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Steel15" Steel
Doors54
Seats55
Fuel Consumption7.6 L/100km7.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L45 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power76kW @ 5800rpm76kW @ 5800rpm
Max Torque145Nm @ 3600rpm145Nm @ 3600rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2005Jan 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2012Dec 2012
Compare all Holden Barina

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.