??!
21 photos
Holden Barina TM

Holden Barina TM (2011-2018)

Hatchback, Sedan
2.9 from 96 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (10)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (10)
  • Braking
    4.2 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (9)
  • Suspension
    3.7 (10)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (10)
  • Handling
    4.3 (10)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (9)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (9)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (9)
  • Features
    4.3 (8)
Previous
Next
Lilly A.

Lilly A.Tasmania

Simple, stylish, economical and very reliable

published

With 120,000km my 2012 TM Holden Barina hatch has never missed a beat.
Parts are super cheap and the engine is very fuel efficient.
A great zippy vehicle for around town trips yet roomy enough for weekend getaways with luggage.

Purchased in October 2010 for A$7,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cindie L.

Cindie L.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Few little issues but overall a good car

published

Bought it at 44,000kms, very clean and tidy, manual transmission, after about a year I had to replace the coil pack , tried to put a new stereo system and it cost me$500 to do so as apparently the barina is the only car that needs a $350 steering wheel control when other cars cost around $30-$50.. sometimes it crunches to get in reverse though something its only just started doing recently and now i have a water sound under my bonnet like water is caught somewhere but no one can find out where or what it actually is not besides that, I can't fault it. I think any used car you're going to have some issues with it .. I'm happy.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$9,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Krissie

KrissieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don’t buy this car!!!!

published

Purchased in July 2017 for A$9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Barina TM compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Imprezive!

Imprezive!Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 31 reviews
  • 15 likes

Stay away at all cost! (Because it’ll “cost” you)

published

Purchased in March 2013 at Holden Dealers for A$16,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

A little car with lots and lots of problems

published

Bought new from dealer 5 years ago, 50 k odometer
I find the car dangerously underpowered, always had issues when accelerating, frequent misfires. Raised this issue with the Holden mechanics who fobbed me off and advised it was the electronic fuel transmission settings for low emissions and high fuel efficiency.
This was not true, the whole engine is stuffed, now costing $1,600 to fix ( had a few quotes) and all the shocks leaks.
I think the car is poorly engineered - best to sell if you have this model

Purchased in August 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
See all answers

Terrible Car

published

I purchased a December 2012 model Holden Barina CD new in March 2013.

It has been nothing but problems in the past few years. I realise that it is outside warranty period, however a quick google search easily unearths the multitude of problems that many, many, people are having with this model or similar models.

I have spent close to $2500 in the past 2 years (on top of servicing) repairing coils, engine mounts, thermostat, heater housing, houses, etc etc. (All of which I have also been found to be common problems with this model).

I am extremely unhappy with this vehicle. When these faults are so common it seems more of a manufacturers problem than a driver/servicing problem. I do know I will never buy another Holden vehicle.

Purchased in March 2013.

Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
See all answers
ljcrooks

ljcrooksIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

2018 holden barina tm update model

published

purchased brand new i test drove the top spec model which is dearer than the base model trax and astra definitely not worth the money
where as the base model is a far nicer
car to drive and to live with day to day
purchase price was $15 990 that included metallic paint and premium warranty (definitely worth money ) and a few accessories
only problems / issues are every 9 months it has to be serviced despite The kilometres and the factory fitted continental tyres only lasted 7300 kilometres

Purchased in August 2017 at Wilson's holden for A$15,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Darryl F.

Darryl F.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A good little car

published

No hassle, cheap to run.
No major problems yet, just normal servicing.
Yes the battery only lasted 4 years, I noticed people have give poor reviews and this is a complaint.
Both my Toyota and Ford have needed new battery’s at 4 years too, battery’s only last that long these days, get used to it.

Purchased in February 2012 at Thr1ve for A$21,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Tahjanna A.

Tahjanna A.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Car Make

published

Absolutely love this car make, such an easy car to drive and very affordable to keep running. Have never had any problems with it. Will definitely buy another Holden car.

Purchased in January 2018 at Holden Dealers for A$10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2014
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Barina TM compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JohnT

JohnTIllawarra, NSW

unsatifactory

published

Two years ago I bought a holden Barina I have travelled 8360 Kms the car has been housed in a garage in a mild environment (Wollongong). I have had to replace the Battery I would expect the battery to last longer than that. The car has been fully serviced

Purchased in October 2017 at Holden Dealers.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers

Problem after problem

published

"A Holden servicing department manager said this and I quote".. Car manufacturers often build lemons and I'm sorry to say this, you've bought one here! Previously was a executives car at holden

This car has been a disaster.. 150000 km full serviced history . replaced head due to over heading, this happened after a service. 2 starter coils fitted, broken support engine bracket, completely snapped. O2 sensors replaced, but still can't clear the computer codes, constant knocking from the front end ever since I bought it at 12000k, Holden can not find the problem, trust me the list goes on.

Purchased in April 2013 for A$14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Braking
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Handling
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
Features
See all answers
OLDPOP

OLDPOPIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Wonderful car, purchased in Ulladulla NSW and have had it serviced regularly at Alan May Holden Ulla

published

Our Barina auto is and has been fantastic serviced as required by Alan May Holden Ulladulla whom are lovely people also very helpful to my wife and I can’t say enough about them and the Barina is very fuel frugal 6 litres per 100 ks easy to drive and comfortable on long trips what more could you want other than a bonnet badge a Mercedes couldn’t perform better.

BodyHatch
BadgeX
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Courtney

CourtneyCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

No Issues

published

I purchased A Holden Barina TK MY11.
I use this daily to get to work 15kms each way.
Car runs smooth and reliable.
I did a trip from Canberra to Melbourne to Adelaide and back. So roughly 2400kms.
Before I left I had it serviced and it drove absolutely fantastically.
This car has no guts - so not particularly zippy.
But would recommend highly as a first car.

BodySedan
Badge(No Badge)
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Alan 22

Alan 22VIC, 3000

Tough Cookie

published

Bought car for a Family of 4 as a rain ,learners,grocery getter, everyone gets to have a go at the Barina everyone loves its reliability & frugal fuel use, zippy in traffic and holds its own on the freeway & country roads ,it has the suspension of an asian taxi & the handling of a sports car ,for service it has dealerships everywhere in our town ,

BodySedan
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Holden Berina CD

published
BodySedan
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2012
Cars

Find out how Holden Barina TM compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible - only good for 1 or 2 years

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Anna

Anna

  • 2 reviews

Terrible car

published

This car is terrible. Do not buy it. Holden had also the worst service you will get. When things go bad they do not give you a replacement cars. They refuse to care and help you. I had my car in their care for 3 months. They were unable to fix the problem and tell me when I would get my car back. The clutch is awful, the car runs badly and before you know it. You need to get rid of the car.
Think before you buy Holden. Holden also has the highest recalls out of all cars.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Its too rude

Its too rude

  • 2 reviews

Emotion vs reality BarinaÇD TM series 2013

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Mary O

Mary OSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love my Barina

published

I love my car I use it daily to go to work and weekend.Its still very new 7months old.i Ave had my 1st service and due for next one very soon .The warranty is a long one and the first few services are free.I don't have any issues with at all.It has a lot of extra features at a very good price.I shopped around at other options first but this car was great value.

BodySedan
BadgeGS
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Alan H

Alan H

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Uber

published

I’ve had my 2014 Sedan for going on 2yrs, it’s been great! I brought it from the auctions for 10 gran, pretty much brand knew and have done over 100000k Driving Uber in it and it hasn’t missed a beat. It does use a bit of fuel for a small engine but not too much. The cabin does also pick up a lot of engine noise but Barina have always had this(my grandmother had one in the 90’s). I recommend this car for sure

BodySedan
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Page 1 of 5
See all Holden Barina reviews

Questions & Answers

tricia

triciaasked

Barina TM (2011-2018)

Hi car has a code 89 with a spanner comes up just after car starts and makes a beeping sound, when i press button for odometer it turns off code 89. Some say its due a service but has had service.

No answers
Elaine

Elaineasked

Barina TM (2011-2018)

Whats the best coolant for my 2013 barina spark.

2 answers
Maureen P.
Maureen P.

50% clean fresh water 50% Dexcool antifreeze coolant
Conforming to specifications number GM6277M

Elaine
Elaine

premix for $15.99 a litre

Bill

Billasked

Barina TM (2011-2018)

I was just driving and the EST light came on and the car started running rough what does this mean?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 16 Holden Barina
CategoryCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and HatchbacksCars and Hatchbacks
Starting Price A$17,990A$17,590A$18,590A$20,090
TransmissionAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic and ManualAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolPetrolPetrol
Wheels15" Alloy15" Alloy15" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors5555
Seats5555
Fuel Consumption7.3 L/100km7.1 L/100km6.7 L/100km7 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 46 L46 L46 L46 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L4 Cylinder 1.6L
Max Power85kW @ 6000rpm85kW @ 6000rpm85kW @ 6000rpm85kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque155Nm @ 4000rpm155Nm @ 4000rpm155Nm @ 4000rpm155Nm @ 4000rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth KoreaSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011Jan 2011
Discontinuation dateDec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2018Dec 2018
Compare all 16 Holden Barina

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.