??!
10 photos
Holden Commodore ZB

Holden Commodore ZB (2017-2020)

Also referred to as: Holden Commodore ZB 2019 and Holden Commodore ZB 2021. Wagon, Sedan
3.3 from 13 reviews

Reviews

3.3

13 reviews
5
(6)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.5 (10)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (11)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (11)
  • Handling
    4.5 (11)
  • Braking
    4.5 (11)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (11)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (11)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (11)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (11)
  • Features
    4.1 (11)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (11)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Dean M.

Dean M.Perth, WA

Cheap rubbish with terrible support.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Holden Dealers for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
GMITCH

GMITCHAU

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic family car, great price, economy size and power

published

ZB wagon RS. Had the car now for about 6mths. Spent $27k with 5,000km. Fantastic car, very happy with it. Sturdy, very quick, cheap to run, tonnes of room, especially in boot. I fit three bike racks on roof (really sturdy roof-rails) which makes it even more versatile. It's relatively basic in a time when all cars beep and try to drive themselves. Oh. I turn off lane control and auto stop!
I get it serviced at my own mechanic, far more reliable.
Only cons;
-Underpowered headlights (I'm gonna replace!)
-No factory towbar
-duco scratches easily and dash material hard to dust (I'm talking really minor)

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Talia

TaliaSydney, NSW

Great Car Crap service

published

Took my car for under warranty repairs and service at Paul Wakeling Holden in Campbelltown. They had the car all day when they rang me to tell me it needs new engine and wont be able to do it for another 3 weeks. To my surprise when I went to pick it up, they charged $400 for a service and would not give me the car back unless I paid.

Why would any mechanic complete a service on an engine when it needs to be replaced. As I said, the car is amazing (minus the engine replacement) but the service from the Holden Dealer is just disgusting, even the attitude whilst talking to the staff was 0/10.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$21,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore ZB compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bill Leslie

Bill LeslieHobart, TAS

Fantastic All Rounder

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Motors Holden.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cosgrove

CosgroveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 14 likes

Surprisingly Good

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
BargainBoy

BargainBoyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 20 reviews
  • 15 likes

Amazing value. Fun to drive. Firm Ride. Noisy Exhaust

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Holden Dealers for A$35,250.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
BargainBoy
BargainBoy

As a follow up. There is no switch to manually turn off the headlights. They auto off when it is light outside but you can't turn them off while the car runs. This is a design issue.

Square Onions

Square Onions

  • 12 reviews
  • 15 likes

Beautiful Car

published

I bought this new car in April 2019 and it is the best Holden I have driven. I have owned lots & lots of Holdens starting from the HR to the HX Sandman & VF & now the ZB.
Like every one I was a little sceptical about buying the new German Import & I actully didnt even test drive this car I bought it over the phone my first drive of the car is when I signed for it.
But what a surprise the new V6 has a lot more power than any other Holden V6 that I have driven'
On the first service the car Required nothing to be fixed.
Good job Holden but you need to market this car better people are not aware how good this car is.
I will buy Holden again.

Purchased in April 2019 at Holden Dealers for A$52,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dean64

Dean64Perth, WA

  • 29 reviews
  • 20 likes

The car isn't really that bad, Holden's warranty and after sales service is 1 star

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Holden Dealers for A$26,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
GIBBO

GIBBOWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great Car Except For Water Trails Behind It..

published

Every time we drive the car and after doing approx 5 to 10 kms it leaves trails of water from both exhaust pipes...Holden dealer and customer service say this is normal for all zb 4 cylinder commodores....I expect some water at start up for a few moments but not after driving for over 10 or so mins in low humidity.....Any one else have this trouble...The photo attached is after the car was driven 9 kms on a fine sunny day ...

Purchased in April 2019 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore ZB compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark S

Mark SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice

published

Purchased in June 2019 for A$29,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

ZB commodore tourer Calais V AWD V6

published

New car had 1 day tailgate, back at dealer 1 week , still not fixed completely. Other problems with car still not fixed, Holdens attitude very bad. Don't buy this car!!!!!!

Purchased in February 2019 for A$56,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ching eva

Ching evasydney

Excellent Drive

published

The interior look is also best described as elegant, with fresh shapes that flow cohesively into the door trims and centre console. There’s a general air of quality about it, but it’s let down by some cheap-feeling controls and switches, particularly the climate control knobs. The unmatchable mileage is what really excited me for the purchase.

BadgeEsteem
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Zak

ZakGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Superb Sports Car.

published

I love the design and acceleration of holden commodore sv6 2018. Interior is awesome and very comfortable for long daily driving and options like apple carplay and wireless mobile charging and 360 camera provide you all quality feature and 5 year warranty will cover your all cost of damage. I recommend buying roadside assistance for it.

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
See all Holden Commodore reviews

Questions & Answers

Bill

Billasked

Commodore ZB (2017-2020)

My wife has recently purchased an LT Commodore. The car does all things as expected except for the headlights. They are dim and totally useless on an open road. If I were to travel in the country with wildlife abounding then that would be outright dangerous. Anyone else with headlight problems. This care is only 1 month old.

7 answers
Peter B.
Peter B.

clean head lights or something wrong with relay system , check fuses ,and connections

Bill
Bill

the car has only done 1,500klm and only driven once at night!

Gary H.
Gary H.

They should not be dim. First check would be the battery is being correctly charged by alternator.
Short trips around suburbia will eventually drain the battery when using lights all the time. There must be at least one long freeway/highway journey to fully charge the battery.

BargainBoy

BargainBoyasked

ZB (Sedan) Calais-V (2017-2020)

The ZB Commodore GPS does not have Traffic Sign Recognition not does it have current speed limit displayed for the road. This was available on the VF. Are there plans too have this feature made available? As the opel insignia and Buick regal both have it as does ds the Vauxhall insignia.

2 answers
Troy S
Troy S

Pre-Acadia vehicles, Holden had no Australian traffic sign database. Which is why there is no traffic sign recognition on Commodore or Astra.

BargainBoy
BargainBoy

OK. But you would think they would be able to offer it now or at least use a GPS infotainment that has it built in. The VF Calais has Speed Limit database with all the speed limits for all the roads and this is updated over the air through the GPS service. It is built into its GPS so why not the ZB? A backward step I say.

Peter S.

Peter S.asked

ZB (Wagon) (2017-2020)

Has anyone else had an issue of a large vibration at speed thru the whole car

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.