?
? !
10 photos
Holden Commodore ZB

Holden Commodore ZB (2017-2021)

Also referred to as: Holden Commodore ZB 2020 and Holden Commodore ZB 2022. Wagon, Sedan
3.6 from 17 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (14)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (15)
  • Braking
    4.6 (15)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (15)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (15)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (15)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.7 (15)
  • Handling
    4.6 (15)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (15)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (15)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (15)
  • Features
    4.2 (15)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
dean

deanSouth East Queensland, QLD

2021 berlina

published

Purchased in February 2021 at Thr1ve for $40.50.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Luke

LukePerth, WA

Great car with great value for money!

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
audible

audiblePerth, WA

  • 29 reviews
  • 14 likes

It's a good car! Just don't tell a Commodore fan.

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Holden Dealers for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore ZB compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jimm

jimmMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent value for money

published

Bought a calais v tourer with 7 year warranty and 7 year free road service , after 2 years and 44.000kms the wagon has been great , services are capped and still on orginal tyres. Having the top of the range model helps with my opinion somewhat , if you can afford it dont go for the base model ( your missing out big time ) , the kids love the huge panoramic sunroof and the leather massage heated and cooling seats are a bonus, the only issue has been that the rain sensor dosent work but thats fairly in significant.
Also the growl from the v6 on startup is a nice touch.....

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dean M.

Dean M.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Cheap rubbish with terrible support.

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Holden Dealers for $34,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GMITCH

GMITCHAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic family car, great price, economy size and power

published

ZB wagon RS. Had the car now for about 6mths. Spent $27k with 5,000km. Fantastic car, very happy with it. Sturdy, very quick, cheap to run, tonnes of room, especially in boot. I fit three bike racks on roof (really sturdy roof-rails) which makes it even more versatile. It's relatively basic in a time when all cars beep and try to drive themselves. Oh. I turn off lane control and auto stop!
I get it serviced at my own mechanic, far more reliable.
Only cons;
-Underpowered headlights (I'm gonna replace!)
-No factory towbar
-duco scratches easily and dash material hard to dust (I'm talking really minor)

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Talia

TaliaSydney, NSW

Great Car Crap service

published

Took my car for under warranty repairs and service at Paul Wakeling Holden in Campbelltown. They had the car all day when they rang me to tell me it needs new engine and wont be able to do it for another 3 weeks. To my surprise when I went to pick it up, they charged $400 for a service and would not give me the car back unless I paid.

Why would any mechanic complete a service on an engine when it needs to be replaced. As I said, the car is amazing (minus the engine replacement) but the service from the Holden Dealer is just disgusting, even the attitude whilst talking to the staff was 0/10.

Purchased in February 2020 for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bill Leslie

Bill LeslieHobart, TAS

Fantastic All Rounder

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Motors Holden.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cosgrove

CosgroveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 18 reviews
  • 17 likes

Surprisingly Good

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Holden Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore ZB compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BargainBoy

BargainBoyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 22 reviews
  • 15 likes

Amazing value. Fun to drive. Firm Ride. Noisy Exhaust

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Holden Dealers for $35,250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
BargainBoy
BargainBoy

As a follow up. There is no switch to manually turn off the headlights. They auto off when it is light outside but you can't turn them off while the car runs. This is a design issue.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Square Onions

Square Onions

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

Beautiful Car

published

I bought this new car in April 2019 and it is the best Holden I have driven. I have owned lots & lots of Holdens starting from the HR to the HX Sandman & VF & now the ZB.
Like every one I was a little sceptical about buying the new German Import & I actully didnt even test drive this car I bought it over the phone my first drive of the car is when I signed for it.
But what a surprise the new V6 has a lot more power than any other Holden V6 that I have driven'
On the first service the car Required nothing to be fixed.
Good job Holden but you need to market this car better people are not aware how good this car is.
I will buy Holden again.

Purchased in April 2019 at Holden Dealers for $52,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dean64

Dean64Perth, WA

  • 37 reviews
  • 22 likes

The car isn't really that bad, Holden's warranty and after sales service is 1 star

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Holden Dealers for $26,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GIBBO

GIBBOWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Great Car Except For Water Trails Behind It..

published

Every time we drive the car and after doing approx 5 to 10 kms it leaves trails of water from both exhaust pipes...Holden dealer and customer service say this is normal for all zb 4 cylinder commodores....I expect some water at start up for a few moments but not after driving for over 10 or so mins in low humidity.....Any one else have this trouble...The photo attached is after the car was driven 9 kms on a fine sunny day ...

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in April 2019 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark S

Mark SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $29,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

ZB commodore tourer Calais V AWD V6

published

New car had 1 day tailgate, back at dealer 1 week , still not fixed completely. Other problems with car still not fixed, Holdens attitude very bad. Don't buy this car!!!!!!

Purchased in February 2019 for $56,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Cars

Find out how Holden Commodore ZB compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ching eva

Ching evasydney

Excellent Drive

published

The interior look is also best described as elegant, with fresh shapes that flow cohesively into the door trims and centre console. There’s a general air of quality about it, but it’s let down by some cheap-feeling controls and switches, particularly the climate control knobs. The unmatchable mileage is what really excited me for the purchase.

BadgeEsteem
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zak

ZakGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Superb Sports Car.

published

I love the design and acceleration of holden commodore sv6 2018. Interior is awesome and very comfortable for long daily driving and options like apple carplay and wireless mobile charging and 360 camera provide you all quality feature and 5 year warranty will cover your all cost of damage. I recommend buying roadside assistance for it.

BadgeSV6
BodySedan
Engine Size3.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
See all Holden Commodore reviews

Questions & Answers

Gary H.

Gary H.asked

Commodore ZB (2017-2021)

I’d like to know about parts and service. Anyone having issues. Waiting times for parts and is Holden honouring their service commitment

No answers
Gary H.

Gary H.asked

Commodore ZB (2017-2021)

Im thinking of purchasing a 2018 ZB Calais 2L turbo. I’m reading a number of owners are having issues with their dealer and possibly Holden concerning parts availability. Zupps here in Brisbane have said no parts availability issues. Some parts will have to come from Melbourne. But I don’t want to wait a week for something as simple as brake pads or struts etc to come from Melbourne. After market parts seem not to be available. I check Repco and no brake pads for this vehicle listed. Any comments from owners current or previous would be appreciated.

No answers
Willem V.

Willem V.asked

Commodore ZB (2017-2021)

We have a ZB Commodore with absolutely crap headlights. My 1965 6volt VW had better headlights and they were atrocious. Have taken car back to dealership who say all is well. Rest of car performs well until first day of warm weather to find their is no air conditioning cooling. Back to dealership we go.

3 answers
Dennis b
Dennis b

Headlights are easy fix I am a shiftworker and do a lot of night driving on country roads at the back of the headlight there is a black knob that an Allen key fits into 2 1/4 turns clockwise will fix your problem my headlights are now perfect The headlights are shit to European specs 60° below centre Australian standards are 40° cheers

audible
audible

Check to see if the air con outlets at the rear of the centre console are blowing air. Could be that the centre console air tube is missing, might be a factory problem as it was missing from my car. Without the tube, the air con dumps cold air into the centre console interior giving the impression that the air con is weak.
Also agree with Dennis b on the head lights. Re aiming them made an improvement. Dealer may be checking aim to euro specs and not aust.

Rick I.
Rick I.

Dennis b you are a legend! The headlights on my wife's ZB 2019 Holden Commodore RS-V were absolutely DANGEROUS! She told me about the problem so i drove it down the road and it was definitely a major. I googled till 1:30 in the morning last night very concerned and finally came across your post. Thank you! I pointed it towards a wall, about say, 15m ish away, and marked where it was hitting the center. then found the black knob with the allen key you were talking about (it's the one that you look straight down onto and inside also could possibly use a phillips head and turned it clockwise half a turn and the light area started to move up! i did the 2 and a half turns on each side like you said, and it looks like it's raised the light hitting point at 15m by about maybe 75-100mm? So will take a drive tonight and see how it looks. I tried the adjustment knob, and turning it to 3 it lowers the light levels as per original so that works. But initially, it was lighting up only 10m?/ 2 cats eyes max? Then turning the adjustment knob just got worse.

See all Holden Commodore ZB (2017-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Commodore ZB (2017-2021)

Details

Compare all 21 Holden Commodore
CategoryCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and SedansCars and Sedans
Starting Price $40,990$43,990$51,990$51,990
TransmissionAutomaticAutomaticAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypePetrolDieselPetrolPetrol
Wheels18" Alloy18" Alloy20" Alloy20" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.6 L/100km5.8 L/100km9.1 L/100km9.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 61 L61 L61 L61 L
Engine4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L6 Cylinder 3.6L6 Cylinder 3.6L
Max Power191kW @ 5500rpm125kW @ 3750rpm235kW @ 6800rpm235kW @ 6800rpm
Max Torque350Nm @ 3000-4000rpm400Nm @ 1750-2500rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm381Nm @ 5200rpm
Country of ManufactureGermanyGermanyGermanyGermany
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017Jan 2017
Compare all 21 Holden Commodore

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.