??!
1 photo
Ikea Besta

Ikea Besta

1.7 from 15 reviews

See the Best Living Storage in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
7
1 star
7

Worst Ikea purchase i ever made

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018

Beware!

published

Besta furniture doors and drawer-fronts are far too heavy for the carcasses! Although every instruction says attach to the wall, the back of the units are inset and if you have a tall skirting board to put the unit next to, there is a big gap to fill in! I like the quality, I like the design, just VERY disappointed that we have so many problems that have to be overcome. I used the planning department - they were very helpful, but would have thought they would have mentioned skirting boards :-(

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Terrible Product

published

Should have read the reviews before buying. Completed the cupboard, all doors not standing straight, fall to one side, unit wobbles and had to be attached to the wall. space between doors varies. Unit not square, instructions not easy to follow. Ikea did not provide the screw to attached to wall. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. Overall I think the standards at KIEA has gone down

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Sparksy

Sparksy

  • 3 reviews

Tall cabinet is the worst quality Ikea product I've ever bought

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Besta carcass not square as wobbles, so door not square

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Y1000

Y1000Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

BESTA ALL PLASTIC HARDWARE

published

Very poor quality, the unit does not last only has ours for a few months and already the draws are wobbly and broken! Will never buy from ikea again as all the parts are plastic.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Anthony

AnthonyPhoenix

Pattern forming

published

Like other reviews I have read I also own other pieces of ikea furniture and like ikea overall, but this Besta entertainment center is a complete nightmare to assemble. The biggest problem I would say is definitely the hardware such poor quality. I'm actually returning it tomorrow. Not sure if I'm going to find another entertainment center or go elsewhere with my business.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Poor design and quality. Besta.

published

I have a taller Besta cabinet and secured it to wall as instructed. It looks nice, but is not safe. The door is so heavy it pulled the screw and plug out of the wall. You MUST anchor this unit to a stud in the wall! The heavy door is not balanced out with the back of the cabinet. We have removed the door and are not using. Do not recommend purchasing.

Date PurchasedJan 2014

Plastic parts breaking

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
shanexu3

shanexu3Perth, WA

  • 115 reviews
  • 105 likes

Poor Quality

published

I spent several thousand dollars purchasing Besta modular products to make my ultimate entertainment wall unit. I invested in the glass doors, draws, slide out shelves and even purchased three $70 sets of chrome leg stands so the unit would not get damaged whilst I mop the floors in front of it. Unfortunately the actual Besta carcass is made from poor quality material. Despite being set up inside and never moved from the date of install the cheap chipboard has swollen and the wood grain laminate has started to peel off.

I am extremely disappointed in this product. It will soon end up as landfill. I will stick to hardwood in the future and stay away from the poor quality chipboard from IKEA

Date PurchasedDec 2010

Very poor quality

published

I agree with the other reviewer: great looking, but flimsy cheap. These aren't even made out of solid particle board anymore. It's primarily two thin plastic layers with cardboard support in between (I know because I had to cut a portion of one for the fit I wanted). I've strengthened mine by screwing/gluing plywood on the underside of the top piece. I think it will survive someone leaning on it now. But this product sets a new quality low for Ikea, in my opinion.


Blake S

Blake S

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

Great looking but flimsy cheap quality (can be fixed easily though)

published

slknv

slknv

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Ikea Australia refuse to sell the besta suspension mounting rail. DO NOT BUY WALL MOUNT BESTA UNITS

published

So I purchased the wall mount Besta units for my living room. Construction quality of the sides and doors is reasonable. However the rear of the unit is extremely flimsy 2mm plywood. ikea sell a Besta Suspension Rail (Article Number : 101.245.85) in the United States, but not in Australia. This rail is ESSENTIAL for the safe installation of these units into the usual Asustralian stud wall. Do NOT attempt to install these besta units without the suspension rail! And since it's not sold in Australia, it baffles me how Ikea can knowingly sell the besta wall units without the required specialised hardware to mount them.
Looks nice
The mounting hardware is specialised, and for some baffling reason not sold in Australia!


mandarin_almond

mandarin_almond

  • 12 reviews

Excellent

published

The besta's are a great depth for lots of stuff. I have games, toys, computer stuff, etc on mine. I also have a shorter besta for my LCD TV. Its really nice to have all the storage in the room the same and as the shelves are all adjustable it is easy to customise them to suit different uses. Our besta's are beautiful black/brown finish and are a feature of our living room.
So pretty, adjustable shevles, different heights and widths, range of door and drawres. They come in different colour finishes.
Nothing - I love my besta's

kuraiza

kuraizaGold Coast, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 3 likes

Bad

published
1 comment
Wood Worker1
Wood Worker1

Questions & Answers

K8

K8asked

Im confused!!! i ordered my besta cabinets online as I live four hours from the city.
Had no trouble putting them together etc
However, when we wanted to fix them to the wall (ie floating cabinet style like in the brochure) we were concerned that the fitting provided did not seem strong enough. Got a qualified maintenance guy in who said there was no way they could be wall mounted. I called IKEA to question the staff there as I had seen all the Besta gear fitted to the wall in the store - they said you have to get someone to advise you but it can be done. I have had two local cabinet makers look and say they do not advise it. Surely there must be hundreds of people who have had the same trouble...can anyone shed any light on this for me???

2 answers
katyk8
katyk8

Hi K8 - We have had the exact same problem. However we never thought there would be a problem when we put it up. The floating cabinets were put up on the wall as the instructions advised, yet 3 weeks after it was up, it came crashing down Monday morning due to the poor qulaity of screws (We actually hadnt even filled it yet so its not like the weight brought it down - only the weight of the unit._ We bought the exact same unit that was on display at IKEA - not happy at all. will be calling them this week.

mumofangel
mumofangel

We have the same issue with the Besta wall units. We have two of them and both fell down in a total of three times with different screws being tried on each time. There must be something wrong with these units as they are quite heavy and the suspension rail provided and the way it's designed to be mounted on the wall has serious safety flaws. The unit crushed onto my 5-year-old today and she got a bruise close to her right eye. Called ikea just now and the lady on the line was quite bitchy and unhelpful and insisted that it was our fault for not using proper screws. And there's no way we could return the product as we no longer have the proof of purchase with us. Lesson learned and do not put anything heavy floating on the typical Australian stud walls, especially IKEA products. A lot of their stuff do not meet safety standard, based on the recall history. But the worst is their customer service attitude, probably having a hard time answering to all unsatisfied customers all the time.


Get an answer from our members and IKEA representatives

Details

CategoryLiving Storage

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.