??!
1 photo
LDV V80

LDV V80

2.1 from 19 reviews

See the Best Vans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
1
4 star
3
3 star
3
2 star
2
1 star
10

Any good reviews must be salesmen

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Anthony C

Anthony CNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Rubbish

published

Purchased in December 2015 at Launceston Toyota for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
See all answers

Sree

SreeSydney, NSW

Absolute junk. Gear shift issues

published

Gear issues, when gear rod is in neutral it goes to reverse... Quite dangerous. Transmission issues lights popups up occasionally. Servicing with LDV is dead costly and they said it would cost $7000 to fix the gear issues. While it is a manufacturer defects. Sliding doors doesn't lock properly.

Purchased in October 2018.

BoughtUsed
Year2015
Paul D

Paul DSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Has been a very reliable workhorse.

published

I purchased the first LDV V80 van sold in this country. It is a 2013 model and was only available as a manual at the time. It is fitted with a factory tow bar and that does not interfere with the reverse sensors. It has never missed a beat. Very reliable. Won't be getting rid of it any time soon.

Purchased in January 2014 for $28,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers

Darren S.

Darren S.South East Queensland, QLD

Junk, cheap and nasty not fit for commercial use

published

I bought 2 LDV mid roof vans just on a year ago Clutch gone on one just over 40000klm, sliding doors come off runners, had factory tow bars fitted but trigger reverse sensors
Door lock buttons fall off, A/C moves between face height and floor without touching it
Every couple weeks engine light comes on and gives code of glow plug faults
All doors don’t unlock with key have to push button on and off 3-4 times

Certainly not fit for commercial use

Cheap junk that won’t last the lease period

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers

Rcw

RcwMid North Coast, NSW

LDV V80 Clutch Issue

published

We have 2 2018 LDV V80 used as courier vans, Van 1 48000km clutch is gone Van is off the road van 2 51000km clutch is on its way out! LDV warranty only covers clutch up to 20000km. Here’s the kicker no LDV V80 clutches in Australia to repair it for another 2 weeks (mid to late May 2019) for van 1 and mid June 2019 for van 2! Every day it’s off the road costs us money and LDV does not offer replacement van on the V80, so our small family owned business is stuffed!!!

Do your research, I suggest quality not low price, they are cheap but crap and I haven’t mentioned all the other minor issues. Steer clear if you own a small business!!!!!!!

Purchased in March 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Jen

JenGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Auto gearbox

published

We have a LDV V80 2016 only done 9000 km. When you are driving auto goes to natural. Lose all gears have to stop and turn off the engine and restart again.
Very dangerous when on freeway. Anyone now why

Purchased in December 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

  • Verified purchase

First person in Australia to turn the LDV80 into a refrigerated van!

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

love mine

published

ive had my v80 for a year and so far its been fine ,turning circle is bad but its a workmhorse and being that much cheaoer than other brands i can live with the less qaulity of finnish and ride ,power is great and my radio is fine .steve new zealand

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Gordo Gold Coast

Gordo Gold Coastgold coast, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Gear shift problems

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Is it just me!

published
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Drives ok

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

brownboy

brownboynewcastle

ldv van at present very good

published

have the van now for over 4 months its my maintenance van everything pretty good, excellent handling, high ride position , all buttons work, only real concern the fog lights don't work, will get sorted at first service at 5000, having the engine out front rather than up yer butt plus plus, so far so good give them a go

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2018

2 V 80s breakdown seriously!

published

These things are rubbish. We use vans in our business and we have decided to go back to the Hiace . Seriously think twice about these!
Our 2 V80 s always have recurring faults!
Dealer is not in a hurry to get you back on the road either! This is a genuine statement

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Issue after Issue and pathetic after service

published

I bought 3 of these vehicles as I thought it was more financial viable rather than buying Mercedes sprinters.
I then decided to get them turned into refrigerated vehicles. LDV assured me that the bracket was suitable for the refrigerated kit. Oh how wrong was i to invest in this company. Terrible after service always making excuses. I have had the brakes fail on my drivers several times, the gears sometimes go in to reverse when its supposed to be in A1. Things fall off the seats. ( please be mindful all 3 vehicles were brand new ) I will shortly be contacting the Australian Consumer Law and try to get these vehicles returned. They have spent many days off the road and LDV couldn't care less that I was a fleet buyer.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
KT85

KT85Amamoor

Poor After Service

published
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

So many issues

published
Transmissionautmatic manual transmission
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Electrical Failure

published

I am very happy with the mechanics of the vehicle however I have had numerous electrical faults
1. Radio has been replaced twice
2. Interior lights failed to turn off
3. Dash lights (speedo tachometer lights) Failed to turn on when the ignition is turned on. The first time was two weeks after I purchased the vehicle. Waiting to book in for the second time. As I rarely drive at night, I am looking at approximately 30hrs between failures.
The side mirror housing on both sides has been replaced.
Very disappointed in these faults, which detracts from an overall good vehicle.

TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
John
John

Dash light was fixed. I presume it was a loose connection. The young fellow at the service counter would not explain what the problem was. (Canberra LDV distributer )
Overall still happy with the van.


VINIT

VINIT

  • 2 reviews
  • 12 likes

Every 4 to 6 months stuck on the road with big mechanical issue

published
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2016

Questions & Answers

Sree

Sreeasked

Hi my LDV v80 van has gear and transmission issues its just 57,000 on the clock. In the reviews I have seen others having the same issue. Did anyone complaint to Australia consumer law about this ?? How did you resolve this issue as it's costing heaps to get it fixed. ?? Is that a manufacturer defect??

3 answers
Rcw
Rcw

hi Sree,

Ours ended up having a faulty flywheel, as explained by the dealership the flywheel had play in it, LDV covered the cost of the flywheel and removal of the gearbox and labour, but we still had to pay for the clutch ($600 out of pocket) even though the clutch was most likely damaged due to the faulty flywheel. We did speak to Fair trading regarding this and they have advised this should be covered by the consumer guarantee and we are in process of following up on this. Best of luck mate it took a lot of pressure on LDV to have our repair partially covered by them, in my opinion they know there is issues but they won’t admit it.

Sree
Sree

Hi Rcw, who was your first point of contact and how did you even convince LDV to cover for gearbox removal and labour??

Eve
Eve

Hi Sree,
We were just saying how well ours has gone and then 2nd gear packed in! We have had our LDV for just over three years but it only has 69,000 on the clock. Taking it to the dealer this Wednesday to see what they can do. We have extended warranty - will keep you posted if interested?


Gordo Gold Coast

Gordo Gold Coastasked

Are the vehicles having gear shift problems all serviced at dealers?

2 answers
brownboy
brownboy

I have no gear shift problems 10,000 on the clock , the only real problem I have is the reverse gear shift lift and across when the cup holder is out, its in the way ! and difficult to engage otherwise the van is great

Not too bad
Not too bad

The LDV v80 comes in manual and Amt gearbox . The Amt is dual automatic or manual . The Amt will only change gear from reverse if you have foot on break . This is a little annoying if you reverse into traffic and want to make a quick take off. If you forget the break you need to stop , break, go back to neutral then re- engage drive . If you hit the accelerator with out lifting the foot off break quick enough the forward gear will disengage . You then need to lift the foot off the accelerator and press it again to regain power.


Pammy

Pammyasked

What would cause the cruise conttoll to turn off mid driving, have t60 ute cab chassy

1 answer
Gordo Gold Coast
Gordo Gold Coast

Cruise control should not turn off unless the driver accidentally touches the dash control or the brake or accelerator pedal. If any of these are touched then the cruise automatically is programmed to return control to the driver


Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryVans

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.