??!
2 photos
Mazda 3 BK

Mazda 3 BK (2004-2008)

4.2 from 84 reviews

Reviews

(46)
(21)
(9)
(2)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    4.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.4 (5)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (5)
  • Handling
    4.6 (5)
  • Braking
    4.0 (5)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.7 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (5)
  • Interior Design
    3.8 (5)
  • Boot Size
    4.2 (5)
  • Features
    3.6 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (4)
Phil

PhilGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 21 reviews

Great car, crap to work on.

published

Purchased in February 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
See all answers
Emma K

Emma KSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Such a great car

published

I use my car to get to and from university, its a great car and its the first car Ive bought, im glad I chose the Mazda 3 as it has everything I needed and its great on fuel which is really efficient for a student.

Purchased in January 2019 at Gumtree for $4,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

David Irv

David IrvWestern District, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Car has excellent driving comfort especially on long drives.

published

When driving the car for the first time it was so smooth in driving, the cost of running is very minimal which is excellent for the budget. Excellent car that is easy to park in busy streets.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Mazda 3 BK compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sara

SaraSydney, NSW

Trust lost!

published

Purchased in March 2016 for $26,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Жалолиддин А.

Жалолиддин А.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

It's okay, little bit sporty

published

It's actually very confusing car, I hated every second when I owned this car. It's 2006 year model Mazda 3 Neo
It didn't have cruise control and stereo controls
Suspension is veeery stiff, too much noise
Steering is way too heavy, i understand sporty handling should be heavy like bmws but engine is too slow to call this little car sporty

Purchased in September 2017 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Carl

CarlRosemeadow

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable

published

I use this on the highway quite abit
This is my everyday car I take to work
I service every 50,000 kilometers
I have never had an issue with this car it runs amazing
Out of a full tank I get about 550 - 700 kilometers
Definitely one of the best gear boxes I have driven especially out of a car that's over 10 years old.
Till this day it does not miss a beat.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Bev J

Bev J

  • 5 reviews

Very reliable car

published

I have had this car for 10 years and have never had any repairs done to it. It has never failed to start.it drives very well. Anyone wanting to buy a good reliable car..this is it. The Mazda is a safe reliable well built car and I have never felt the need to upgrade.

BodyHatch
BadgeNeo Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2008
Wayne

WayneCanberra

  • 5 reviews

Great car 350000km never had a problem

published

Great car hwy petrol use 6/7 lt per 100km love the car 350000 km still same parts never change anything car is very reliable lots of room for a small car. After 350000km still great to drive, no oil leaks uses 100mil of oil per 10000km service services cost very low threw local mechanic.

BodySedan
BadgeSP23
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2005
Phill G

Phill GAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

I have just purchased a 2007 Mazda 3 sp23 for my daughters 17th birthday what a great car plenty of power nice easy steering and a great looking car although it’s over ten years old it still has a very modern look and great features but no Bluetooth it is a little noisy on the road but for a first car I highly recommend the Mazda

BodySedan
BadgeSP23
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Cars

Find out how Mazda 3 BK compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Bullet proof, totally reliable car

published

I've had my Mazda 3 for nearly 2 years. It replaced a 2010 Honda civic which got written off due to someone making a right hand turn in front of me on a main road. My Mazda 3 had 138000 on the clock when I bought it, but as it was a one owner, serviced every 5000km, It was a very well looked after 10 year old car. For the past 21 months, it start first time, never broken down, never overheated. It's just totally reliable. I've done 20000km since I've had it, no thoughts of replacing it as, I have absolute confidence in its reliability. Sure other newer cars might suck less petrol. But for problem free motoring you cant beat this model Mazda 3.

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016
michimet

michimet

  • 12 reviews
  • 6 likes

Awesome

published

What a fantastic car. Turns on a dime, ever-reliable. Excellent fuel economy. Comfortable ride, great driving experience, and has the guts to go when you need it. I have had mine from brand new and still love it. Cruise control is extremely easy to use. Would not hesitate to buy another Mazda!!

BodySedan
BadgeNeo Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2008
mj5

mj5Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect vehicle for a family

published

We can't fault our Mazda in driving performance. and on road handling it can't be better. there is plenty of leg room in front back and it has a pull down arm rest in the centre that you can also pull down one or both back seats large objects, there is minimal noise, the reliability is next to none and running costs in petrol can give you up to 500 klm . Like everything mechanical it has to be looked after and serviced regularly for best performance it can give.

BodySedan
BadgeMazda 323 Protage'
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2003
Kathyp

KathypAU

  • 3 reviews

Perfect

published

I have had my Mazda 3 sedan for 7 years now, and I can honestly say it has been my best friend! It is always very reliable and gets me where I need to go and has never broken down on me. I drive a manual and it very simple to drive

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Rob

RobSydney

  • 4 reviews

Great Economical Car

published

This has been a great economical car over the years, cheap to run and absolutely no mechanical issues. I am an easy driver, but hate to admit it did not service the vehicle for 50,000 Kms, it still ran fine, and after that abuse it only needed a new fuel filter.
I would prefer if newer models had under steering wheel (leg) airbag.

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2008
Sarah

SarahTemora

  • 8 reviews

2005 sp23

published

I am currently still driving my Mazda 3 which I purchased when it was 5 years old. I have the SP23 model which is a bigger motor and speaker. I have been really happy with it as it's good on fuel and the boot space is quiet deceiving as you can fit quiet a bit in it. Great for a city driving car. I haven't had any problems with it so far.

BodyHatch
BadgeSP23
Engine Size2.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2010
Cars

Find out how Mazda 3 BK compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jdw

jdwmelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

fantastic, excellent, love mazda

published

bought my first car mazda 3 sport version, and even it is second hand, but the performance is so excellent , nice interior decoration, all functions control wheel, sporty dash board, even the space is not that large, specially the boot is slightly small, but it has really enough for me, around 8-10 L per km petrol consumption, really good. A full tank of oil could allow me to drive 650 km ish.

BodySedan
BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
teo

teoBundoora

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

it was perfect !

published

It was mazda 3 2005 NEO manual with bodykit and spoiler. I have bought it from a dealer month ago who has published it as Maxx Sport version. I went for a test drive and I liked it and bought it. However when it comes to put insurance on it company told me its not MAxx Sport but Neo which is way cheaper when it comes to sell. I returned the car and got my money back after 3 days. the car drives very well, not so much noise inside. Transmission shift is very good. can be a little bit expensive when it comes to major service time so check it before buy. the biggest con is there is no aux input on radio :( apart from that hips of power with a good handling.

Buy it secondhand if its not so over priced. It will run forever with good care.

BodySedan
BadgeNeo
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Angie

Angie

  • 3 reviews

Disgusting customer service with no compassion

published
BodySedan
BadgeNeo
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2010
Tezza c12

Tezza c12Scarborough

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very reliable car,cheap to run & fun to drive.

published

Having just sold my Fiat Ducaro 2 Tonne Van I just needed a small-medium sedan for my own personal use. My wife has had a Mazda 3 Neo new from 12/06. Absolutely brilliant little car! NEVER had a problem in 10 years (130K kms). Only used consumables : 1 set front disc pads, 2 batteries, 4 tyres. Annual service (every 10K). I decided to buy a 2007 Mazda SP23 sedan for $7800. 5 speed auto,heaps of power when required & only 95K kms. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

BodySedan
BadgeSP23
Engine Size2.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Pierson

Piersonmelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car all rounder!

published

I have been using a mazda 3 sedan 2008 for the last five months. It is a very good car in all categories. Great to drive, super reliable, never had any trouble, good engine, small enough for the city and big enough to head out for a road trip. Just like any other car it needs to be cared for of course. All in all, it is the cheapest and most reliable car on the market atm.

BodySedan
Badge.
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Page 1 of 5

See all Mazda 3 reviews

Questions & Answers

PAUL I.

PAUL I.asked

What type of fuel for a Mazda 3 2007 model

No answers
Gaye Y.

Gaye Y.asked

I have a 2008 mazda neo bk and just to know if it has a 6 cd stacker or just a single cd

1 answer
Emma K
Emma K

Mine has a 6 CD stacker

narelle c.

narelle c.asked

I was looking into buying a 2008 Mazda 3 Max 2008 but am a bit confused at what BK means and please let me know any reasons why I should not buy this car

1 answer
Andrew S.
Andrew S.

Hi Narelle BK is the series and the 2008 was the last of the first series. Be careful as these are over 10 years old many with high mileage. If you can find one with a great service record and low average per year then this is good. As always buy on condition.

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.