??!
5 photos
Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

NCV3, T1N, VS30
2.6 from 38 reviews

See the Best Vans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
3
1 star
19

Davo

DavoMoffat Beach

  • 4 reviews

Limp Mode

published

Purchased at Cricks maroochdore.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Drives Smooth, Costs Huge!!!

published

Purchased in January 2012 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers

paul

paulhowrah tasmania

  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Difficult to compare so inspect with a good mechanic.

published

Bought the 2011 313cdi campervan, medium WB high roof 6 speed manual 4 months ago.It had previously done 275,000 km. as a courier van, & mechanically is perfect.A slight patch of rust{near the sliding door} was the only disapointment-you should check that carefully. They can have a big range of safety features, from 1{driver only} airbag,, etc etc .If you put the VIN.into the Mercedes website, it will show the complete specs,so you know exactly what it has. Preferably have a good Merc or diesel mechanic check it over before buying.

Badge313CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Shanelovescraggly

Shanelovescraggly

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love my van

published

Use car to live in has high roof can stand up in it has so many hidden safety features like wind assist it brakes that side of car so you dont get blown all over place. Also esp and somthing that stops will spins lowers revs got stuck on gravel hill when first got it didnt no there was but to turn off so you could gun it up dirt hills spin wheels but mecedes literture doesnt tell you about all theses things you have to find out from forums and google and trail and error great van love it well built drives awsomely but only get about 12litres per 100kilometers which i dont thinks right for little4 cylinder 311cdi 2010

Badge311CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016

jack

jack

  • 2 reviews

Absolute p.o.s.a death trap.

published

fuel economy ok.but cant make use of it because it breaks down consistently.seatings good.driving position & glass ok.entry exits ok steering circle good.heating.air con good.my view on this vehicle is dont buy one ! You will go bankrupt paying dealers to delete codes that pop up for no reason but put the van into limp mode or worse into neutral in the middle of the road.merc benz should be sued!!!

Badge515CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Diversion

DiversionSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Which is best for Australia - Ducato or Sprinter?

published
Badge313CDI
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Tomislav

TomislavGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

If they`ve been crap,Ambulance wouldnt use them

published

450,000kms so far, goes and goes and goes...regular service and maintenance and No Headaches, I'm using it as a Owner-Driver 10-12 hours per day/5days per week.Great turning circle, breaks/stops like a Thunder, consumption is not the very BEST German part(Renault is more cheaper to run),drives like a luxury car, city, freeways..max speed(my personal160km/h),for some reason bulbs are going off very often, can recommend it for every kind of industrial work

Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2013

Jamie

Jamie

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

It’s Amazing!

published

I’ve had the 2016 Sprinter 513CDI for 12 Months. It drives like an absolute dream. My confidence in the brand has not been tested.
The oil was due to be changed at 30’000 km. Like any Diesel engine the oil gets dark and I changed it at 18’000. I like to keep on top of the preventative maintenance to avoid issues.
I’m not putting the vehicle under exhaustive commercial demands, rather it’s a motorhome. It comes in at 4.5 ton and has had to tackle some steep terrain, in both blistering hot and freezing cold conditions. I can’t fault it.
I’m not going to break any land speed records but for reliability it’s 10/10.

Badge513CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

perfect van, wouldnt buy anything else

published
Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012

New Mercedes Sprinter 4x4 Clunks like a Junker

published

my preordered optioned out $$$ 2016 sprinter 4x4 developed Terrible drivetrain clunk's after 10,000 kms
Took it in 3 times to 2 dealerships and was told it was normal after break in period by both dealerships including the regional sales manager because Mercedes engineering told them so over the phone.
Thanks a lot for the fuhk around! I feel like a whipped dog after this humiliating experience and tremendous waste of time, patience and money. And yes its that bad.

Badge316CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

camshaft

camshaftdon't do facebook Brisbane, Mt Gravatt east 4122

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

CANBUS system the big headake. Does its own thing on a regular basis. Indicates errors that dont exi

published
Badge318CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2015

flatout

flatoutMontreal

Two engines in and two engines blown. What a joke.

published
Badge416CDI
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Camper

CamperAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Scary info

published

I am lucky to know a mechanic who works on the ambos for 20years. He said since merceedes put maintainance to 30.000 km, he’s seeing new motor replacements needed at round 300.000. A replacement motor cost is round $20,000

My merceedes sprinter 2011 - Yearly service 13.000 to 14.000 per year.
My sprinter with only 82000. Mechanic said “I have things going on mine van which he’d only ever seen in vans with much higher klms.” Now that’s scary thinking of what he’d said regarding motor.
2015
Several engine oil leaks - Merceedes Goldcoast fixed under warrenty.
2016
* Coolent - leak common place at fuel holder. Hard to see. Easy fix.
* 70,000 New Tyres (

Badge313CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012

stop building intimidating vehicles its sadistic for no reason other than conseet because its a merc

published

handles ok, interior ok, very bad sound system. can be a reliable vehicle if computer wasnt set up to drag you to the dealer every other day.your identification in badge section is for engineers not us! when working on these vehicle trying to tell the scanner what your working on is difficult.

Badge318CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012

Broke down again no one with knowledge to fix in akaska.

published

Driving fine. InterI or fine. Running cost good milage. This has been a money pit. Repair....repair. ...repair! Shame on mercedes and dodge. Resonator. Electrical. Transmission. Much more. Every trip was a tow. Every trip was hotels. The worst is the No one is experienced to fix it. Had to fly home from alaska and return and still not ready.

Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2009
Seamus

SeamusWollongong

  • 32 reviews

Man in Van for a Day

published
Badge313CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

We are finished with Mercedes - Benz Sprinters!!

published
Badge3l6cyl
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2015

The Best Discision I Ever Made In My Life

published

Second To None ,comfortable to drive big and high cargo compartment.It's like you're living in a different world.Handles heavy load pretty well.One good thing oil and filter change in every ten to fifteen thousand km instead of thirty thousand km's recommended by the dealer.When you look after it ie service in time, drive to the speed limit, road and weather condition it will in return reap you reward as far as running cost is concerned. Very reliable vehicle.

Badge316CDI ELWB
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014

Davo

DavoMoffat Beach

  • 4 reviews

We all though Mercedes Benz meant quality!!!!!!!!!!!!.

published
Badge316CDI ELWB
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2012
3 comments
Davo
Davo

Mercedes customers demand that firm (Mercedes Australia) come clean over Engine & Body faults. We demand you come clean!!!!.

Davo
Davo
Davo
Davo

Will

WillSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 11 likes

At 370,000km Plus 2010 Mercedes Sprinter 416 (906)

published
Badge416CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2010

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

alan

alanasked

Hi everyone
just wondering can i change out a rear axle from a 311 Mercedes sprinter to a 413 Mercedes sprinter what are the rules if any regarding this

No answers

Willie Bosman

Willie Bosmanasked

Interesting reading, I am considering buying one but out of the millions sold all over the world looks like those who bought second-hand lemons and installed secondhand motors all seem to collect in this one forum to shoot it down. One even invites only those who have problems to comment and then talks about 6 out of 275 that would recommend buying one? What do you expect? I think I would have a look at other forums too just to get a fair idea of how it really is. You cannot invite only those with problems to comment and then expect an average review. of all sprinters in the market some whom I have seen with more than a million km's on the clock still going strong. But it was interesting none the less.

2 answers
Davo
Davo

Hi Willie, I get thousands of calls about new Mercedes sprinter vans all over Australia just talk to your local courier they will tell you what is good and what is bad, I am taking Mercede to court right now, limp mode is a scam

Davo
Davo

If you buy one don't let Mercedes service it


Mikie

Mikieasked

As somebody currently weighing up whether or not to buy a 2nd hand (2011) 519 4x4 Sprinter, I am getting the feeling from the reviews so far that all Sprinters may well be best avoided?

2 answers
prayoub1
prayoub1

Avoid anything with a Urea injection system...(2009 and up) $3000 a year after 100k miles in just emissions repairs

Davo
Davo

Hi mikie
You need a deep wallet and there is little back up out there and Mercede will only take your money unless you have a good mechanic


Get an answer from our members and Mercedes-Benz representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.