5 photos
Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2021)

Also referred to as: Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 2020 and Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 2022. NCV3, T1N, VS30
2.6 from 44 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Mercedes-Benz? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.8 (8)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (8)
  • Braking
    3.6 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (7)
  • Suspension
    3.5 (6)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.4 (7)
  • Handling
    3.7 (6)
  • Interior Design
    3.3 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (7)
  • Features
    3.3 (6)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Shell D.
Shell D.Peel, WA

Love this van

published

*heaps of power
*easy gears
*lwb n high roof is great
*heaps of legroom in front of cab
*very easy to drive considering its 6.5metres long
* driven daily
* if service n look after great vehicle

Purchased in January 2020 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Darren G.
Darren G.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Tronic transmission

published

What a POS. Every 100-120k these gearboxes just collapse. Do transmission specialists want to touch them because they are a Cee You Next Tuesday of a gearbox. Average cost of repair (quoted on phone by Mercedes) $3000-$4000. Trying to find someone who will swap out the auto-tronic gearbox for a clutch and shift 5 or 6 speed box. At least you know that around $50k-75k you swap out the clutch kit for a set price. These horrible gearboxes are only still used by Renault. We bought this Winnebago Sprinter not that long ago. Should have done our homework a little better. If you're thinking of buying one of these don't buy an automatic. A nightmare waiting to happen is how I'd describe the design.

Purchased in March 2019 for $65,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Kurt B.
Kurt B.South East Queensland, QLD

Mercedes Warranty Disappointment

published

Purchased in October 2020.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Michael
MichaelWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Fabulous Truck

published

We bought this truck from a dealer because it was a cancelled sale with specials. Wow what a deal. I could sell it now one year later for at least another $12,000 [going by the 2nd hand market prices]. It has been a god send to our business and the powerful V6 just keeps on thundering along. We absolutely love it and are really grateful. Our Ops Manager is from the UK where he said they had several of these in service and they ran constantly all over UK. He cannot speak highly enough of the job they do.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin
MartinSouth East Queensland, QLD

Mercedes Sprinter Van

published

My god, I have never had as much trouble with a vehicle in all my life . Ihave spent $$$$ and $$$$$ when the computer said this was wrong, you'd replace that then something else would show. In the end Mercedes still couldn't get it to start and after all the money I have spent says it now needs a engine rebuild. You expect more from a vehicle that has done 300k kilometres. Stay away from this brand.

Purchased in February 2016 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Tim
TimKatoomba
  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Mercedes-benz.. do you really want one? - review of 3 brand new sprinter vans below..

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Davo
DavoMoffat Beach
  • 4 reviews
  • 25 likes

Limp Mode

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Cricks maroochdore.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next

Drives Smooth, Costs Huge!!!

published

Purchased in January 2012 at Mercedes-Benz Dealers.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
paul
paulhowrah tasmania
  • 17 reviews
  • 34 likes

Difficult to compare so inspect with a good mechanic.

published

Bought the 2011 313cdi campervan, medium WB high roof 6 speed manual 4 months ago.It had previously done 275,000 km. as a courier van, & mechanically is perfect.A slight patch of rust{near the sliding door} was the only disapointment-you should check that carefully. They can have a big range of safety features, from 1{driver only} airbag,, etc etc .If you put the VIN.into the Mercedes website, it will show the complete specs,so you know exactly what it has. Preferably have a good Merc or diesel mechanic check it over before buying.

Badge313CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shanelovescraggly
Shanelovescraggly
  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love my van

published

Use car to live in has high roof can stand up in it has so many hidden safety features like wind assist it brakes that side of car so you dont get blown all over place. Also esp and somthing that stops will spins lowers revs got stuck on gravel hill when first got it didnt no there was but to turn off so you could gun it up dirt hills spin wheels but mecedes literture doesnt tell you about all theses things you have to find out from forums and google and trail and error great van love it well built drives awsomely but only get about 12litres per 100kilometers which i dont thinks right for little4 cylinder 311cdi 2010

Badge311CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
jack
jack
  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Absolute p.o.s.a death trap.

published

fuel economy ok.but cant make use of it because it breaks down consistently.seatings good.driving position & glass ok.entry exits ok steering circle good.heating.air con good.my view on this vehicle is dont buy one ! You will go bankrupt paying dealers to delete codes that pop up for no reason but put the van into limp mode or worse into neutral in the middle of the road.merc benz should be sued!!!

Badge515CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Diversion
DiversionSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Which is best for Australia - Ducato or Sprinter?

published
Badge313CDI
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Vans

Find out how Mercedes-Benz Sprinter compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tomislav
TomislavGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

If they`ve been crap,Ambulance wouldnt use them

published

450,000kms so far, goes and goes and goes...regular service and maintenance and No Headaches, I'm using it as a Owner-Driver 10-12 hours per day/5days per week.Great turning circle, breaks/stops like a Thunder, consumption is not the very BEST German part(Renault is more cheaper to run),drives like a luxury car, city, freeways..max speed(my personal160km/h),for some reason bulbs are going off very often, can recommend it for every kind of industrial work

Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2013
Jamie
JamieSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

It’s Amazing!

published

I’ve had the 2016 Sprinter 513CDI for 12 Months. It drives like an absolute dream. My confidence in the brand has not been tested.
The oil was due to be changed at 30’000 km. Like any Diesel engine the oil gets dark and I changed it at 18’000. I like to keep on top of the preventative maintenance to avoid issues.
I’m not putting the vehicle under exhaustive commercial demands, rather it’s a motorhome. It comes in at 4.5 ton and has had to tackle some steep terrain, in both blistering hot and freezing cold conditions. I can’t fault it.
I’m not going to break any land speed records but for reliability it’s 10/10.

Badge513CDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017

perfect van, wouldnt buy anything else

published
Badge316CDI
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2012

Questions & Answers

martin
martinasked
Sprinter (2006-2021)

21 reviews above are ng for automatic transmissions
Is auto still a problem ? And would a manual be a better choice for reliability in a motorhome

3 answers
Darren G.
Darren G.

YES! You will thank yourself in the long run. The automatic boxes give out with little prior notice. If you can find one get the workshop manual off ebay in a disc form (about $10) then look at the exploded view of the automatic gearbox compared to the manual. The auto when they fail are expensive as hell to fix. Manuals will run like the engine if treated well. All you'll need is the usual clutch replacement when needed which a normal mechanic can do. The autos need to be taken into a Mercedes-Benz service centre. It actually works out cheaper. Don't even bother searching for a local mechanic to work on the auto. You will end up getting ripped off. We took it to a place in North Ringwood on Dorset Rd. I won't name and shame the guy (even though he deserves it). Quoted over $9000.00 and would give no guaranteeon his work. We took it to Mercedes-Benz in Berwick under half the price with a 3yr or 50,000km guarantee on the gearbox.

Shell D.
Shell D.

Loved the manual

martin
martin

THANKS ...will look for manual transmission gearbox!! did merc dealership say if the auto gearbox problem was quality issue (usa built ) or design
ie service must be strictly adhered to?.....most blogs indicate hi mileage approx 1000000 miles and over

Reuben
Reubenasked
Sprinter T1N (1995-2006)

Hi there,
I have a 1999 Sprinter with a 2.9L diesel engine and 5 speed manual gearbox.The turn signals were working fine then all of a sudden stopped so did the hazards. Can someone please tell me where is the flasher relay located so I can test/replace it. I had a look under the steering colum(where the fuses are)and under the driver's seat with no luck.
Much appreciated.

No answers
Darren G.
Darren G.asked
Sprinter T1N (1995-2006)

Anybody know where in Melbourne I can get the automatic transmission changed to a manual box? I've been told that around 100-120k the automatic system craps out. As Ours Has. Mercedes-Benz Berwick were great. A fair price and guaranteed work. HALF the price quoted by a rip-off mechanic from Ringwood North in Dorset Road. If anybody looks up mercedes repair and thinks of using this guy...DON'T. He treats you like a personal ATM.

No answers
See all Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2021) questions

Get an answer from our members

Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2021)

Details

Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2021)
CategoryVansVansVans
Release dateFeb 2018Jan 1995Jan 2006
Discontinuation dateDec 2006Jan 2018
Compare all 3 Mercedes-Benz Sprinter (2006-2021)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.