??!
2 photos
Mirabella Genio B22 WW Wi-Fi Dim Bulb

Mirabella Genio B22 WW Wi-Fi Dim Bulb

2.9 from 21 reviews

Reviews

(7)
(1)
(2)
(4)
(7)
John

JohnSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Lasted 5 minutes

published

Bought this globe from Woolworths a couple of days ago. Downloaded the app and installed the globe today. Paired and woked great for about 5 minutes. Now it won't turn on at all
Tried resetting, tried the globe in a different socket, still won't turn on. Won't even turn on manually.
Can't take it back because I've lost the sales docket and Woolworths won't issue a refund without the docket.

Purchased in March 2020 at Woolworths Physical store for $14.00.

Tracy

TracySouth East Queensland, QLD

Amazing!!!!

published

Omg amazing, remote on my phone, has a dimmer and can set the lights on a timer, no more telling the kid to turn of the light, no more living like the stupid people that use there energy’s to turn off lights lol

Purchased in March 2020 at Kmart for $15.00.

Kate S.

Kate S.South East Queensland, QLD

Absoloute Garbage

published

Yes, Have a 2.4ghz Connection. No. Will not connect. Have tried both ways multiple times, Bulbs wont even emit their own signal when trying to pair the alternate way. The bulbs are a complete waste of money and as countless other reviewers have stated, there seems to be no attempt by Mirabella to solve this issue. Would have done the entire house IF the first bulbs purchased actually worked.

Purchased in March 2020 at Woolworths for $15.00.

Appliances

Find out how Mirabella Genio B22 WW Wi-Fi Dim Bulb compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mick

MickMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Cheap and Easy to setup

published

Have 3 of these now. Easy to set up. Takes less than a minute. Add another minute to setup a schedule. Can easily turn them on or off using the phone app when out and about.
Tempted to get the colour changing ones for mood lighting...

Purchased in March 2020 at Woolworths Physical store for $14.00.

steelpaw

steelpawSydney

  • 13 reviews

Annoying and useless

published

Wouldn't pair to 2.4 Ghz wifi, despite being in the same room as router. App couldn't find the lamp on auto-connect mode, and manual mode did not work either. I've tried six times, and it's going back tomorrow.

Purchased in February 2020 at Woolworths for $20.00.

Pamela

PamelaSouth Australia

  • 7 reviews

Cheap and nasty

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Kmart for $29.00.

Mr_Sonky

Mr_SonkyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Easy to set up and interfaces perfectly with Google home

published

Fairly easy to set up. Just download genio app and follow instructions (require series of turning light on and off). Once set up on genio, linking the genio app to google home was a breeze. Been controlling the light via Google home app ever since. Interfaces extremely well with Google home app. Able to dim and change colour (I bought the tunable white light, can switch from cool white to warm white) without ever having to open genio app.

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $17.50.

Nick Y.

Nick Y.Central Queensland, QLD

Easy set up

published

Just bought 2 of these at woolies, very easy set up, linked through google home.... Will definitely get more, on special at big w at the moment for 16 dollars.

Purchased in November 2019 at Woolworths for $20.00.

Nocky

NockySouth West, WA

  • 25 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not Bad for the price

published

I have 4 of these and found them easy to set up just make sure your phone or tablet are connected n 2.4 gig network and I set them up in the same room as my Router then moved them to where i wanted them, I had problems with the white only ones turning off and on randomly but exchanged them for colour and no problems, we also have 3 downlights, 2 plugs and a 3 metre strip and all work fine

Purchased in April 2019 at Kmart for $29.00.

Appliances

Find out how Mirabella Genio B22 WW Wi-Fi Dim Bulb compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Neville B.

Neville B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Dissapointed

published

I read reviews carefully and try to read between the lines this is the second smart light I have bought first one not this brand went ferrel turning on randomly removed it from it's power supply it does not turn on now this one's app keeps timing out makes me wonder why they call them smart

Purchased at Foodland for $20.00.

Belinda B.

Belinda B.Illawarra, NSW

very disappointed

published

I brought 3 bulbs tryin to set up and when on app it gets to 100% and says times out what a waste wish I saved my money has this happined to others or only me

Purchased in September 2019 at Woolworths for $30.00.

Louise S.

Louise S.Perth, WA

Disappointing to say the least

published

Bought at Kmart for grandson for christmas 2018 died in september 2019. Not good value for money. Had to use with smart phone wouldn't work at all with google play which is what we bought it to go with. Disappointing.

Purchased in December 2018 at Kmart Retail Stores.

Unable to connect to genio globe

published

Despite many hours of trying, I am unable to connect to the one "test" light bulb I bought. Is there a trick to it? I have flaming light, I "add device", enter password, and wait while the connection times out

Purchased in September 2019 at Woolworths for $30.00.

Matt

MattPeel, WA

  • 6 reviews

Mirabella Genio wifi RGB dimmable bulb

published

Cheap and disappointing quality with very short life span. I purchased three of these bulbs, set up was easy and worked fine for first few months, but two out of three died in less than six months, and the third one which is still working is actually in a room which we hardly use. Life span you would expect from LED bulbs is generally measured by years not months, but this is not true in in case of these bulbs, very disappointed with the quality.

Purchased in March 2019 at Kmart for $29.00.

CyberKingKong

CyberKingKongCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Cheap Product with a Painful Setup

published

I have been attempting to add this smart lighting into my 2.4 Ghz Wifi. The wifi was fine with another brand with no effort. I gave up and use this smart bulb as a dumb bulb. If you are about to buy these bulbs, please think twice. It is a pain on the neck.
.
However, I tried to do it again on another account. It failed once again. It took me nearly an hour to add only one light bulb into my smart home ecosystem.

Purchased in March 2019 at Kmart Online Store for $15.00.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Appliances

Find out how Mirabella Genio B22 WW Wi-Fi Dim Bulb compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible Product

published

Bought it at Kmart thinking $30 was ok. The set up is not as easy as they make it, once I got through it the light worked for about 2 hours after that it made a weird clicking noise and went blue. The bulb only seems to have to colours now, white and blue. What a waste of money!

Purchased in July 2019 at Kmart for $30.00.

Judy

JudyLaunceston, TAS

Great Ambience

published

I bought 2 coloured bulbs for lamps in my lounge. I love the soft colours which give the room great ambience. Not suitable if you want a bright light. Perfect.

David

DavidSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

I believe these bulbs represent fantastic value.

published

I have bought 3 of the coloured globes and am very impressed! When used in the colour mode, the brightness is suitable for no more than ambience. App is Great.

Daniel

DanielSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Disappointing brightness when using colours

published
Mhowell

MhowellNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Frustrating

published

We brought 6 of these wifi globes and found they are not easy to set up on either Mirabella app or Google Assistant we will not buy any more Genio globes bit will try Phillips Hue.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jill E

Jill Easked

M Mirabella Genio Bulb is scheduled, and is working fine on those hours. However, it also turns itself on without being scheduled to do so. How can I prevent this?

No answers
Andy T.

Andy T.asked

Bought 3 Genio smart bulbs 6 months ago. One has died and won't reconnect (tried many times but never fast flashes just stays dim blue). The other two (white not RGB) would randomly turn themselves on at night. Did the firmware update a few days ago, now much worse. Turned off manually at 10pm. Both switched themselves on again at 2am so turned them off then one again switched itself on at 4am. Done with the Genio so tried the TuyaSmart one, but it's exactly the same and the lights still turn on randomly. Will be binning the lot and buying some of the Aldi ones. Have used the itead smart plugs for 2 years and never had a problem.

4 answers
CyberKingKong
CyberKingKong

I think if you could afford Phillips Hue bulbs, that would spare you a headache. I think they last longer and easy to set up

Andy T.
Andy T.

I don't want another hub and buying overpriced bulbs isn't necessary. I believe the Genio bulbs and the servers used to control them have serious issues. If the bulbs are able to be turned on without the user doing anything it is very suspicious to me.

Lindsay B.
Lindsay B.

My bulbs are doing the exact same thing, turning on randomly at night at those times, and one of my colour bulbs is now a dim blue. Since the firmware update, the bulbs have not been working properly. Had no issues prior to the update.

Kerry

Kerryasked

I have 2 outside lights that turn on from same switch. I have paired on light but can’t do the other as it takes the pairing away from the first. Is there a way to do the both together?

3 answers
mel-t
mel-t

I think that you'll need to try pairing them separately. That means temporarily moving one of the globes to another light fitting, so that you can pair each of them individually. After they've both been paired, pop the one you moved back to where you want it. There should be a 'Smart' button or icon in the mobile app. Use that to create a 'Scenario' that will turn both of the lights on/off at the same time. (There *may* be a delay of a second between the two bulbs.) If that doesn't work, try contacting Mirabella on +61 3 9335 3633.

Good luck, and let me know how you go.

Kerry
Kerry

Perfect...worked a treat... big thank you..

digitaladvisor
digitaladvisor

Use a lamp with E27 socket. I use a board with the various sockets for programming smart bulbs with a clicker switch. These require second pulsing THREE TIMES and must be precise.

The Following Check points:
1. Use a lamp E27 socket with switch as control environment config for smart bulb
2. The timing is precise with three pulses with slight pause in between
3. WAIT at LEAST 1/2 minute for pulse quick flickering often called quick breathing or quick flickering
4. Your mobile MUST BE on the 2.4 Ghz Wifi band NOT 5 GHz
5. I used Generic Tuya the originating app of entire eco smart system. I have the Mirabella app as well. It is Tuya as is Connect by Bunnings, Smarter Life by Kogan, Arlec sold by bunnings and numerous China direct products labelled as Tuya or Smart Life.
6. Your router MUST be able deliver a CONSISTENT good WIFI signal to these smart WIFI devices! Some routers as they heat up lose there efficiency in WIFI signal. Rebooting your router really helps as it flushes the router IP tables and instigates the smart devices on reboot.
7. I have over 50 devices running on WIFI through my home. I have configured Routers as Access point as well. With over 30 smart bulbs I think I know something.
8. To give you some idea of your WIFI strength download this free app for Android and check your home WIFI from different parts of your home. The app is called: WIFIMan from Google Play
9. If you do not have the expertise to work out your wifi you need to get Computer guy to your home and debug your smart devices and your WIFI so thing run smoothly. This smart home stuff is going to be huge in the coming years.
10. That aside these bulbs do not seem a particularly at good signal response to given close proximity to the WIFI router.
11. Lights turning on are often caused by STATIC or power black-outs at night. The default for these light is light on after a drop in electricity continuity. I also have Capacitors on some bulbs. These are 400V 824J. They need to be installed bridging the light bulb socket and done by qualified ELECTRICIAN. Because these bulbs are low energy they can respond to static or electrical energy and turn on. The capacitor soaks up any subtle electrical spike or fluctuation at the light socket point.
There is really nothing wrong with Mirabella smart lights. Yes they made to a price point. But if your WIFI is weak or you live in a power fluctuating area then ANY smart product will give issues.

Contrary to others they do work with ALEXA and GOOGLE ASSISTANT. This is a Tuya Smart Eco System. Goto the internet and do your research and you will find these bulbs are incredible value for money.

Generally there are two types of bulb in "smartness" protocol. Ikea for example is Zigbee. Mirabella are WIFI as are dozens of others. Zigbee has its own drawbacks as well as it is a two layered protocol. WIFI to Zigbee and Zigbee to WIFI communication via a gateway or more commonly called a hub you purchase at additional cost.

I hope the above leads some to draw better conclusions about these EXCELLENT bulbs and be much fairer.

The configuration took me around 3 minutes to setup 2 white Mirabella Geneo Smart bulbs. Smart bulbs were purchased from Kmart & Woolworths over Xmas 2019.

Happy success for all. Hope this helps.

I do NOT work for Mirabella - I am just a Smart Home enthusiast.

Get an answer from our members and Kmart representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.