??!
1 photo
Nissan Pulsar N16

Nissan Pulsar N16 (2000-2005)

4.0 from 61 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next
Mick

MickDarling Downs, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nissan Junk

published

I bought a 2005 Nissan Pulsar last week with 140,168 klms on it. On the way home with it there were times it would stall and need to be restarted. This week it cant start and the compression is very low on all cylinders. What a complete piece of junk. I have always had Toyota in the past and this kind of problem will never exist with any Toyota that only has 140k on it.
I should have known better from the problems with the Navara I had, never ever ever buy a Nissan......

Nissan Pulsar N16 Review

published

Nisan Pulsar N16 year 2000 model
Great little car has lasted 19 years to date and still running

issues over 19 years

cam crank sensors and rear sensor
lights flickering
key immobilser stopped but now working again just get a new key with a new transponder programmed to vehicle
apart from that has been very reliable car
Japanese cars are the best.

BodySedan
BadgeLX
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2003
bsarah

bsarah

  • 7 reviews

Love this car!

published

I use my car everyday to drive to uni in frankston from berwick. ive had it serviced once since ive owned it (just over a year) and everything was absolutly perfect !! the mechanic said there was no issue with it at all, and it is such a smooth drive. it is an older version, however, its been perfect for me as i am a P plater.

BodySedan
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Cars

Find out how Nissan Pulsar N16 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Aussie Mum

Aussie MumPerth, WA

  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great car

published

I've had my Nissan Pulsar for about 12 years and it's still going strong. Ive had no major issues at all and it's never broken down. She has been a real little beauty as a run about car. Once I decide to update it I will be getting another Nissan no doubt.
Own 2 nissan pulsars thus far.

BodySedan
BadgePlus
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2004
Andydawg

AndydawgAustralia

Reliable. Economical. Dedependable.

published
BodySedan
BadgeTi
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2010
Elsie

ElsiePerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Bought it with a fair and decent price. Its really a great deal car. Been driving it for 5 MTHS , so far it has been good and great to drive . Loving it and would recommend if anyone looking for this car. Cheap, great and reliable for the model.

BodySedan
BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2017
Elaine Glenie

Elaine GlenieNortham, Western Australia

Lovely little car. Perfect in traffic. Very fuel economical

published

Plenty of room back and front. Low running costs. User friendly controls
Turns easily . Roomy boot, 4 door. Doors open wide enough to allow elderly people easy access tofront and rear doors.good sir conditioning and heat.ing. locks automatically if you foget to lock it. Duress button on key if in trouble.

BodySedan
BadgeST
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Hoang

HoangAdelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Reliable, efficient and cheap to maintain

published

I've always had a positive experience with Nissan Pulsars. Never had any major issues with it and when I get my car serviced, it costs almost next to nothing. The only downfall is that it has manual windows so if you like the convenience of pushing a button, then this may frustrate you a bit. I do believe there is a focus on the engine quality versus a fancy interior. If you want something that runs well, is reliable, efficient, cheap to maintain and don't mind that your car isn't super fancy then this is the car.

BodySedan
BadgeST
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Echo441

Echo441Newcastle

  • 2 reviews

Great car for everyday commute.

published

I purchased a 2004 Pulsar N16 sedan in July last year and still use it daily with no mechanical faults at 180,000km. It has been fully serviced for its lifetime and have nothing major go wrong with it, just the regular tyres, battery and a couple of bulbs. It is a nice drive and gets me to and from work everyday and is good on fuel.

BodySedan
BadgeST
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Cars

Find out how Nissan Pulsar N16 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great Car

published

great little big car. did use some oil, but after some long 1200km days driving hard it stopped using oil! reving a cars engine under load does many things, i have 240000km on the clock and does not cost me a dollar. i get 600km to a tank (50L) i have done 25000km in my car in 6months. great car for someone thats looking at buying a cheap car.

BodySedan
BadgeST
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Marion

MarionNSW, 2340

Love my Nissan Pulsar

published

It has a well set out dashboard, there is more legroom than I had in my older Camry, even though it is an older model Nissan it will definitely do me as I doubt I'll ever be able to get another car.
I get good fuel economy and the handling is very good.

BodySedan
BadgeST
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Daniel

Daniel

  • 6 reviews

Super reliable, great little car

published

Have had an 05 Pulsar for 2 years, great little reliable vehicle. Never broken down on me. Boot is big for a hatch and plenty of space in the front seats, back seats are a little bit cramped. Drives really well and very enjoyable to drive. Get about 400-500km on a 50L tank.

The only problem is that I find the drivers seat a bit uncomfortable, have not been able to position it correctly. If I have a drive longer then an hour then I often get a sore back. The headrests tilt forward and are a little weird too. Could probably be fixed by someone who knows how to position seats or by replacing.

Overall though it's absolutely great, love driving this car.

BodyHatch
BadgeST-S
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014
chaau

chaauGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 29 reviews
  • 19 likes

Best car in terms of reliability

published

I owned a Nissan for ten years since brand new. I bought it in 2005. It was the last N16 model before Nissan briefly discontinued the model in Australia for a few years. I have never had issues with it except for a small water pump failure about 7 years on. Even with the faulty water pump I was able to drive it to my mechanic to have it replaced. $150 total repair cost for a car I had driven daily for 10 years. My mechanic loved my car so much that that he bought it from me to use as a courtesy car for his customers when I upgraded this Pulsar last year.

BodySedan
BadgeST-L
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2005
Jay P

Jay PBattaramulla

Really Good Family Car.

published

I have being using N16 almost 10 years. Exceed 220,000 KM. I have replace only disk break set and shock absober sets and some suspension parts. Similar very minor repairs. It is really a good car never disappointed me. I sold recently for a good value to upgrade for a change. Very steady car on the road at any condition. Very good ground clearance. Does about 9-10 KM L in the traffic and 13 KM L. There is a common failure in the dash board panel due to sun heat and some fault indication on the meter board. Out station.

BodySedan
Badge*****
TransmissionAutomatic
Dazza

DazzaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good car issue with c-locking

published

My keyless entry isn't working,the interior light dosent work on door nor does the the rear demister,checked all fuses,no fault found. Was getting 450k from a tank put neulon petrol additive went from 450-600k straight away. Replaced the starter motor last year. Not using a drop of oil yet,it's got 175k

BodySedan
BadgeQ
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
Cars

Find out how Nissan Pulsar N16 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MarkR51

MarkR51Shellharbour

Nissan N16 5 bolt gearbox conversion

published
BodySedan
BadgePlus
Engine Size1.6L Petrol
TransmissionManual
zyuadl

zyuadlAdelaide

2005 Manual ST burns lots of oil

published

Had a 2005 Pulsar sedan for 6 years. It drove well, and never missed a start. BUT it started burning lots of oil after 100k km, and became worse and worse after 150k (around 500mL every 700-800km). It seems that it is a common problem for Pulsar N16's QG18DE engine, which is susceptible to worn piston rings.

BodySedan
BadgeST

It's basically my child

published

I've got a 2005 N16 MY04 Nissan Pulsar ST, never missed a beat. Once it hit 100,000kms I had issues with the cam sensors and crank sensors. But, Nissan diagnosed the problem within 10 minutes and I bought the parts online and easily fitted them myself for bout $250. That's the worst that's happened to this baby and I've had it for almost 10 years now. This car has seen some things ha! I love it, reliable, solid and economical.

BodySedan
BadgeST

What is 'good' fuel economy for the Nissan Pulsar ST-L 2005 ????

published

I know the fuel tank is 50 litres but I just watch the fuel gauge move to empty far quicker than I would like to see! From my calculations I think it's only getting around 450 klms per tank.

Does that seem ok or normal? It is a manual 2005 model with low k's, has been well looked after by original owner. Happy with the car overall.... just bad fuel economy!

BodySedan
TransmissionManual
BadgeST-L
Alex Tsokas

Alex TsokasMelbourne, Victoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

2001 Nissan Pulsar

published

The best car ever very reliable with no problems far less than a ford ours has just been in smash but I will buy another the same. Highlly recomend it.

BodyHatch
Page 1 of 4
See all Nissan Pulsar reviews

Questions & Answers

jason r.

jason r.asked

Pulsar N16 (2000-2005)

I have a Nissan pulsar 2001 model that I'm buying off a friend who had a nasty gutter accident she hit the gutter pretty hard and now the front driver's side wheel touches the back of the front wheel arch what would be the problem and can it be fixed

No answers
jason r.

jason r.asked

Pulsar N16 (2000-2005)

I have a 2001 Nissan pulsar the front wheel driver's side hit the gutter he to go to pretty hard and now the back of the tyre hits touches the wheel arch what would be the problem and can I fix it

No answers
Toe

Toeasked

Pulsar N16 (2000-2005)

My Nissan Pulsar Q 2002 auto gets stuck in 1st gear after sitting at traffic lights, I have to pull over & turn it off & on & then it's fine. It happens randomly. Sometimes once a week & Sometimes twice a day. It has been well looked after & only has 120 000 kms on the clock

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 10 Nissan Pulsar
CategoryCars
Starting Price $25,990
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels16" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars
Fuel Consumption8.1 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power90kW @ 5600rpm
Max Torque163Nm @ 4400rpm
Country of ManufactureJapan
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2000
Discontinuation dateDec 2005
Compare all 10 Nissan Pulsar

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.