??!
1 photo
Nissan Pulsar N16

Nissan Pulsar N16

4.0 from 61 reviews

Reviews

(21)
(30)
(5)
(2)
(3)


    Mick

    MickDarling Downs, QLD

    • 8 reviews
    • 1 like

    Nissan Junk

    published

    I bought a 2005 Nissan Pulsar last week with 140,168 klms on it. On the way home with it there were times it would stall and need to be restarted. This week it cant start and the compression is very low on all cylinders. What a complete piece of junk. I have always had Toyota in the past and this kind of problem will never exist with any Toyota that only has 140k on it.
    I should have known better from the problems with the Navara I had, never ever ever buy a Nissan......


    Nissan Pulsar N16 Review

    published

    Nisan Pulsar N16 year 2000 model
    Great little car has lasted 19 years to date and still running

    issues over 19 years

    cam crank sensors and rear sensor
    lights flickering
    key immobilser stopped but now working again just get a new key with a new transponder programmed to vehicle
    apart from that has been very reliable car
    Japanese cars are the best.

    BodySedan
    BadgeLX
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedMar 2003

    bsarah

    bsarah

    • 7 reviews

    Love this car!

    published

    I use my car everyday to drive to uni in frankston from berwick. ive had it serviced once since ive owned it (just over a year) and everything was absolutly perfect !! the mechanic said there was no issue with it at all, and it is such a smooth drive. it is an older version, however, its been perfect for me as i am a P plater.

    BodySedan
    BadgeLX
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedApr 2017
    Aussie Mum

    Aussie MumPerth, WA

    • 14 reviews
    • 4 likes

    Great car

    published

    I've had my Nissan Pulsar for about 12 years and it's still going strong. Ive had no major issues at all and it's never broken down. She has been a real little beauty as a run about car. Once I decide to update it I will be getting another Nissan no doubt.
    Own 2 nissan pulsars thus far.

    BodySedan
    BadgePlus
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedFeb 2004

    Andydawg

    AndydawgAustralia

    Reliable. Economical. Dedependable.

    published
    BodySedan
    BadgeTi
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedAug 2010

    Elsie

    ElsiePerth

    • 5 reviews
    • 1 like

    Great car

    published

    Bought it with a fair and decent price. Its really a great deal car. Been driving it for 5 MTHS , so far it has been good and great to drive . Loving it and would recommend if anyone looking for this car. Cheap, great and reliable for the model.

    BodySedan
    BadgeLX
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedSep 2017

    Elaine Glenie

    Elaine GlenieNortham, Western Australia

    Lovely little car. Perfect in traffic. Very fuel economical

    published

    Plenty of room back and front. Low running costs. User friendly controls
    Turns easily . Roomy boot, 4 door. Doors open wide enough to allow elderly people easy access tofront and rear doors.good sir conditioning and heat.ing. locks automatically if you foget to lock it. Duress button on key if in trouble.

    BodySedan
    BadgeST
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJun 2015

    Hoang

    HoangAdelaide

    • 3 reviews

    Reliable, efficient and cheap to maintain

    published

    I've always had a positive experience with Nissan Pulsars. Never had any major issues with it and when I get my car serviced, it costs almost next to nothing. The only downfall is that it has manual windows so if you like the convenience of pushing a button, then this may frustrate you a bit. I do believe there is a focus on the engine quality versus a fancy interior. If you want something that runs well, is reliable, efficient, cheap to maintain and don't mind that your car isn't super fancy then this is the car.

    BodySedan
    BadgeST
    Engine Size1.8L Petrol
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedApr 2013

    Echo441

    Echo441Newcastle

    • 2 reviews

    Great car for everyday commute.

    published

    I purchased a 2004 Pulsar N16 sedan in July last year and still use it daily with no mechanical faults at 180,000km. It has been fully serviced for its lifetime and have nothing major go wrong with it, just the regular tyres, battery and a couple of bulbs. It is a nice drive and gets me to and from work everyday and is good on fuel.

    BodySedan
    BadgeST
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJul 2016

    Great Car

    published

    great little big car. did use some oil, but after some long 1200km days driving hard it stopped using oil! reving a cars engine under load does many things, i have 240000km on the clock and does not cost me a dollar. i get 600km to a tank (50L) i have done 25000km in my car in 6months. great car for someone thats looking at buying a cheap car.

    BodySedan
    BadgeST
    Engine Size1.8L Petrol
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedJun 2016

    Marion

    MarionNSW, 2340

    Love my Nissan Pulsar

    published

    It has a well set out dashboard, there is more legroom than I had in my older Camry, even though it is an older model Nissan it will definitely do me as I doubt I'll ever be able to get another car.
    I get good fuel economy and the handling is very good.

    BodySedan
    BadgeST
    Engine Size2.0L Petrol
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedMar 2013

    Daniel

    Daniel

    • 6 reviews

    Super reliable, great little car

    published

    Have had an 05 Pulsar for 2 years, great little reliable vehicle. Never broken down on me. Boot is big for a hatch and plenty of space in the front seats, back seats are a little bit cramped. Drives really well and very enjoyable to drive. Get about 400-500km on a 50L tank.

    The only problem is that I find the drivers seat a bit uncomfortable, have not been able to position it correctly. If I have a drive longer then an hour then I often get a sore back. The headrests tilt forward and are a little weird too. Could probably be fixed by someone who knows how to position seats or by replacing.

    Overall though it's absolutely great, love driving this car.

    BodyHatch
    BadgeST-S
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedMay 2014

    chaau

    chaauGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

    • 29 reviews

    Best car in terms of reliability

    published

    I owned a Nissan for ten years since brand new. I bought it in 2005. It was the last N16 model before Nissan briefly discontinued the model in Australia for a few years. I have never had issues with it except for a small water pump failure about 7 years on. Even with the faulty water pump I was able to drive it to my mechanic to have it replaced. $150 total repair cost for a car I had driven daily for 10 years. My mechanic loved my car so much that that he bought it from me to use as a courtesy car for his customers when I upgraded this Pulsar last year.

    BodySedan
    BadgeST-L
    Engine Size1.8L Petrol
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJun 2005

    Jay P

    Jay PBattaramulla

    Really Good Family Car.

    published

    I have being using N16 almost 10 years. Exceed 220,000 KM. I have replace only disk break set and shock absober sets and some suspension parts. Similar very minor repairs. It is really a good car never disappointed me. I sold recently for a good value to upgrade for a change. Very steady car on the road at any condition. Very good ground clearance. Does about 9-10 KM L in the traffic and 13 KM L. There is a common failure in the dash board panel due to sun heat and some fault indication on the meter board. Out station.

    BodySedan
    Badge*****
    TransmissionAutomatic

    Dazza

    DazzaSouth East Queensland, QLD

    • 6 reviews
    • 9 likes

    Good car issue with c-locking

    published

    My keyless entry isn't working,the interior light dosent work on door nor does the the rear demister,checked all fuses,no fault found. Was getting 450k from a tank put neulon petrol additive went from 450-600k straight away. Replaced the starter motor last year. Not using a drop of oil yet,it's got 175k

    BodySedan
    BadgeQ
    TransmissionManual
    Engine Size1.8L Petrol
    MarkR51

    MarkR51Shellharbour

    Nissan N16 5 bolt gearbox conversion

    published
    BodySedan
    BadgePlus
    Engine Size1.6L Petrol
    TransmissionManual

    zyuadl

    zyuadlAdelaide

    2005 Manual ST burns lots of oil

    published

    Had a 2005 Pulsar sedan for 6 years. It drove well, and never missed a start. BUT it started burning lots of oil after 100k km, and became worse and worse after 150k (around 500mL every 700-800km). It seems that it is a common problem for Pulsar N16's QG18DE engine, which is susceptible to worn piston rings.

    BodySedan
    BadgeST

    It's basically my child

    published

    I've got a 2005 N16 MY04 Nissan Pulsar ST, never missed a beat. Once it hit 100,000kms I had issues with the cam sensors and crank sensors. But, Nissan diagnosed the problem within 10 minutes and I bought the parts online and easily fitted them myself for bout $250. That's the worst that's happened to this baby and I've had it for almost 10 years now. This car has seen some things ha! I love it, reliable, solid and economical.

    BodySedan
    BadgeST

    What is 'good' fuel economy for the Nissan Pulsar ST-L 2005 ????

    published

    I know the fuel tank is 50 litres but I just watch the fuel gauge move to empty far quicker than I would like to see! From my calculations I think it's only getting around 450 klms per tank.

    Does that seem ok or normal? It is a manual 2005 model with low k's, has been well looked after by original owner. Happy with the car overall.... just bad fuel economy!

    BodySedan
    TransmissionManual
    BadgeST-L

    Alex Tsokas

    Alex TsokasMelbourne, Victoria

    • 3 reviews
    • 1 like

    2001 Nissan Pulsar

    published

    The best car ever very reliable with no problems far less than a ford ours has just been in smash but I will buy another the same. Highlly recomend it.

    BodyHatch

    Page 1 of 4

    See all Nissan Pulsar reviews

    Questions & Answers

    melissa t.

    melissa t.asked

    Front door speaker size

    No answers

    Vin S.

    Vin S.asked

    hi i have a nissan pulsar n16 2000 sedan 1.8L man i recently replaced rear drum shoes the problem is i can't get the drums back on , it has a self adjust on it but not the wheel with teeth which you adjust from rear hole of backing plate of the drums, instead it has a spring loaded flat plate with teeth and i have no idea how it works or adjust ive also replaced the wheel brake cylinders where a little oil has come out i know i need to bleed the brakes

    No answers

    Disgruntled

    Disgruntledasked

    Fuel issue, won't start. Where is the crank sensor located? Thanks Julie

    No answers

    Get an answer from our members and Nissan representatives

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.