??!
1 photo
Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

MPN: DMRBWT955GL
4.0 from 23 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
4
2 star
1
1 star
2

Mefistofele

MefistofeleVictoria

  • 21 reviews
  • 28 likes
  • Verified purchase

Steep Learning Curve!

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Recording Quality
Software
Reliability
See all answers
2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Mefistofele, thank you for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback, we appreciate the great features you mention and the way you would like to see improvements for the product.

Mefistofele
Mefistofele

I would have liked the DVD player to be multi-zoned out-of-the-box!


Lou Symonds

Lou SymondsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Updated from my old Panasonic SD Twin Tuner

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $467.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Recording Quality
Software
Reliability
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Lou, thank you for the detailed positive feedback. It is great to see you have been able to see the upgrades from your old recorder. The 1 second start up is definitely a great feature for those last minute recordings.

jessieinnewy51

jessieinnewy51Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good Performer but slightly Over Priced by some retailers.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Jessie, thank you for providing such detailed feedback and information on how to setup the product. Great to see your good use of the operating instructions also!

Tattz

TattzAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Advertising Agencies Hate This Device

published
Date PurchasedSep 2018
4 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Paula, thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review on the product. Please contact our customer service team on 132600 if you would like assistance with the sync issue.

Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Tattz

bilnrobn

bilnrobnWestern Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

A great recorder, but some Manual info a bit sketchy

published

The straight forward stuff is well explained and easy to follow. I love it. However some instructions are a little hard to find or follow. Recording a programme on every Monday to Friday I know is possible, but have yet to discover how to set it. For the moment I'm working around that and my overall impression is favorable.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

  • Verified purchase

Three Tuners: the Way to Go

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Sandipooh

SandipoohSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 12 likes
  • Verified purchase

It works but overall disappointing for a premium priced product

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Peter K

Peter KTaree, NSW 2430

  • 15 reviews
  • 30 likes

Near perfection. Without something like this, watching commercial TV is plain impossible.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Roger H

Roger H

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Coming to terms with losing Tivo.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
mrpatto

mrpattoSydney

  • 15 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great when it works

published

I love this recorder when it works. With 3 HD tuners I never miss a show and can watch all my catch up without adds. I don't know if it's just my one but every few months I've had to reset it as it's stopped recording. As I said I love it but could work better.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Bumper

BumperMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Panasonic fantastic recorder.

published

This Panasonic DMR-BWT955 GL Blu-Ray Recorder is just great,it has 3 tuners which allows for more recording options, the editing feature is so good and easy to use, the up-scaling to 4K is also great, it produces a great 4K like picture. You can also set serial recording and so easy to setup from the TV guide feature.


Peter

PeterPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

This machine is almost perfect

published

Fantastic quality recordings, huge amount of recording space (2GB), plays Blu-Rays and region free DVDs. Recording through the Guide is so easy even Mon-Fri recordings. Can record three programmes at once. Be sure to update the firmware immediately on purchase, this solves a few problems recording through the Guide. Haven't tried 4K as my TV is not capable.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Thad

ThadRyde

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

If only it worked the way it should

published

The recorder does not always record the TV program from the TV guide. Selecting a TV program to record every week the unit will not record the TV programme if it does not obtain the information from the TV guide, which is often. The recorder has a problem obtaining (reading) current TV guide from the various TV channels. Also beware the recorder only up-scales to 4k which means it will not play 4k dvd's

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Gazzasbees

GazzasbeesAnna Bay

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellent unit and has not missed a beat so far

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Unable to do basic things

published

NOT a TIVO alternative. Can not pause live tv unless you are recording it. Can not pause a recording and watch another channel. Very bad control. To many basic hic ups to list. I believe that all the great reviews are submitted by Panasonic staff. Third Panasonic purchase. Tv is ok. Home theatre product the worst I have ever bought.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Gavin17

Gavin17Noosa Heads Qld

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

BEWARE - DOES NOT PLAY 4K DVD/VIDEOS - Despite 4K Badge!

published

Bought this unit and 4K OLED TV to watch 4K Videos as the clear BOLD 4K badging on the unit and tech data showed that it was 4K ...but it will not actually play 4K Videos as expected.....".cannot read this..."
I feel quite unimpressed by this deception and feel mislead by the Panasonic presentation and marketing information. Accordingly I cannot recommend it as a 4K device.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Briany

BrianyPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Can't live without it

published

Love the slick style and protection of the DVD player opening mechanism. Recording quality great with lots of options. Very reliable unit and it has NETFLIX

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Isaac

IsaacCairns

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Value for money, easy to use, 4K upscale

published

Wow this one exceeds my old Panasonic by far (DMR-BW880). Triple HD Tuner, 2TB hard drive which I can record 1000+ hours, 4K upscale, blu-ray recorder and media player. Record up to 3 channels and watch a disc at same time. Programming is easy with preview box in EPG. A must have for an all one one device.


maggiec

maggiec

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

It's early days but so far excellent.

published

We bought this a week ago so it's early days. Just some issues and maybe another reviewer can help me out. When we set a program to record, even if we don't choose the "Keyword" option, it records every repeat and every showing on every channel eg, ABC1, ABC2, etc. so you end up with 10 recordings. Also, maybe someone can tell me how to add time to the recording because a movie just squeaked in the other day and we got no credits. But apart from that I find it easy to navigate and a huge improvement on the last box we had which was a Topfield. When I've learned to drive it properly I'll report back. :)


emalee

emaleeSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified purchase

Disappointed

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

George Rusty R.

George Rusty R.asked

turned on my recorder dmr- bwt955 and the screen on the tv and the recorded programs went pink

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi George, please contact our customer service team on 132600 for further trouble shooting assistance.


RJBris.

RJBris.asked

When accessing SBS on-demand, some programs are unable to be accessed - error: videos could not be found.
This only applies on some programs, what can we do to rectify this? Do I need to uninstall the SBS-on demand app on the device and reinstall?

No answers

Colin B

Colin Basked

My Panasonic dmr-bwt955gl seems to have stopped converting files automatically from DR mode to the quality I choose when programming (usually LP) when it's in standby mode. It used to do this but hasn't done it now for about 3 weeks and as a consequence recordings are building up in DR mode and the HDD capacity is dropping rapidly. Also I can't copy recordings onto a DVD when they're in the DR mode.

I can manually make the recorder convert the files but it used to do this automatically.
Any help?
Also can you confirm if I want to copy recordings onto an external hard drive it has to have an external power source. Thanks.

2 answers
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Colin, it would be best to start with a factory reset, which you will find the instructions in the user manual. Please note it won't delete past recordings, but you will lose all future timer recordings. If this is unsuccessful, please contact our customer service team on 132600 for further assistance.
Yes you will need a hard drive with an external power supply to use with your recorder.

Colin B
Colin B

Thanks. I did a 'shipping' reset and the recorder is now converting files when in standby mode. One thing I've noticed now which is different is when I do a timer recording I have to select the file conversion I want every time. The default is none whereas previously the default was the one I mostly used which was DR - LP. I had a look in recording settings but I couldn't find anything about changing the default setting. It's not really a big deal, just means I have to press buttons a few more times for each timer recording I set up.


Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Details

CategorySet Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs
Price (RRP)$849
Tuners3
Internet ConnectivityWi-Fi
USB Ports2
Internal Storage2TB
Height70mm
Width430mm
Depth199mm

Visit official website - Download manual
  • GTIN13: 8887549581281
  • MPN: DMRBWT955GL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.