??!
1 photo
Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL

MPN: DMRBWT955GL
3.6 from 32 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (10)
  • Recording Quality
    4.1 (7)
  • Software
    2.9 (8)
  • Reliability
    3.1 (8)
Previous
Next

I found it a good machine ( I would have added a half a star, if I could)

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Monty, Thank you for your great feedback regrading our DVD-recorders and i will certainly pass on your feedback around the lack In/out puts to our engineering department for feature consideration.

Thank you

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian A

Ian ASouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

I have 3 three Panasonic PVR's...ranging from 500g - 1T - 2T (3 Tuners)

published

My progressive buying has been from $2000 - $900 whilst the weight and build quality has changed...my love of these machines hasn't wavered. The 3T machine (around 5years old) the first of its kind, is used everyday...wonderful friend! It has 'Never' let me down...

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Richard Ulkowski

Richard UlkowskiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews

ABSOLUTE RUBBISH!! DO NOY BUY PANASONIC!!!

published

Useless piece of crap and no answers from Panasonic technicians having reached out several times...avoid all all costs!!! Save time, money and your personal mental well-being and buy a different “reputable” brand with aftercare!!!

Purchased in December 2018 at JB Hi-Fi for $895.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
lou

lousydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

DMRBWT955GL - transfer of data

published

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
org8

org8-

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Depends on what you want it for!

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
M P.

M P.

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

I'd give a negative score if I could

published

Panasonic still sell this quite expensive and seemingly high featured dvr, but they have not updated its now very old network apps. The browser does not support the https protocols used almost exclusively now on the internet. This means you can not even update to a different browser using play store as play store will not accept login from an insecure, ie http, browser. So I can't get any of the catch up tv channels that want a user login because they too want https . This expensive pvr has other bad features. I regret ever buying this pvr and will never buy another Panasonic product again, and I'm happy to tell everyone what I think of Panasonic's contempt for its customers. The are many cheaper, better pvrs.

Purchased in July 2018 for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mz1

mz1melbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified purchase

Way overpriced

published

Sometimes when I set it to record programs it just flashes the red "rec1" constantly rather than actually records but the really annoying thing is the blu-ray player will not put out any volume on blu-ray series. No problem on blu-ray movies but nothing for the series. Picture, no sound. I've called Panasonic about this and they "helpfully" got me to turn the unit off and on about a dozen times and then suggested I take it to a Panasonic tech who is miles away from me. Useless! So, yeah, one of the main reasons I bought this unit and it doesn't even work. Won't be buying Panasonic again.

Purchased in May 2019 at eBay for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi MZ, sorry we couldn't assist you but it does sound like the product has developed a fault. If you aren't able to take the unit into the service agent, perhaps you can post it to them.

mz1
mz1

You must see how redundant that is. It's done this since I bought it. When did it have its chance to "develop a fault"? And who's going to pay for the postage etc...?

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian Anderson .

Ian Anderson .Florey 2615, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Disappointed in this unit especially as it cost so much and it's only two weeks old.

published

The most annoying feature on this unit, (apart from the cost) is that when you are using YouTube, ABC iView and other internet streams the picture appears to be shrunken or cropped with a surrounding black border of 2-3 cm depending on the size of TV screen. Mine is 40"/100cm. My $50 Roku box works so much better and I'll probably keep using it.

Purchased in November 2019 at JB Hifi Home for $669.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Graeme B.

Graeme B.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Hopeless for managing a video library

published

Purchased in November 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mefistofele

MefistofeleVictoria

  • 25 reviews
  • 31 likes
  • Verified purchase

Steep Learning Curve!

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Mefistofele, thank you for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback, we appreciate the great features you mention and the way you would like to see improvements for the product.

Mefistofele
Mefistofele

I would have liked the DVD player to be multi-zoned out-of-the-box!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lou Symonds

Lou SymondsMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Updated from my old Panasonic SD Twin Tuner

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $467.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Lou, thank you for the detailed positive feedback. It is great to see you have been able to see the upgrades from your old recorder. The 1 second start up is definitely a great feature for those last minute recordings.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jessieinnewy51

jessieinnewy51Hunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good Performer but slightly Over Priced by some retailers.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Jessie, thank you for providing such detailed feedback and information on how to setup the product. Great to see your good use of the operating instructions also!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tattz

TattzAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Advertising Agencies Hate This Device

published
Date PurchasedSept 2018
4 comments
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Paula, thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review on the product. Please contact our customer service team on 132600 if you would like assistance with the sync issue.

Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Tattz
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bilnrobn

bilnrobnWestern Australia

  • 8 reviews
  • 10 likes

A great recorder, but some Manual info a bit sketchy

published

The straight forward stuff is well explained and easy to follow. I love it. However some instructions are a little hard to find or follow. Recording a programme on every Monday to Friday I know is possible, but have yet to discover how to set it. For the moment I'm working around that and my overall impression is favorable.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
  • Verified purchase

Three Tuners: the Way to Go

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Find out how Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL compares to other Set Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sandipooh

SandipoohSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 14 likes
  • Verified purchase

It works but overall disappointing for a premium priced product

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter K

Peter KTaree, NSW 2430

  • 17 reviews
  • 33 likes

Near perfection. Without something like this, watching commercial TV is plain impossible.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Roger H

Roger H

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Coming to terms with losing Tivo.

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mrpatto

mrpattoSydney

  • 16 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great when it works

published

I love this recorder when it works. With 3 HD tuners I never miss a show and can watch all my catch up without adds. I don't know if it's just my one but every few months I've had to reset it as it's stopped recording. As I said I love it but could work better.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bumper

BumperMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Panasonic fantastic recorder.

published

This Panasonic DMR-BWT955 GL Blu-Ray Recorder is just great,it has 3 tuners which allows for more recording options, the editing feature is so good and easy to use, the up-scaling to 4K is also great, it produces a great 4K like picture. You can also set serial recording and so easy to setup from the TV guide feature.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Moz

Mozasked

After setting and recording a Timer Recording, It still shows as a Timer Recording that is still recording. On the left most column the recording Red Circle is shown.
I cannot delete it, a message says "Cannot delete, Timer recording is in progress".
This recording was made 5 months ago.
I can now only have 2 not 3 recordings made at once.
I cannot change settings "while a recording is in progress"
How can i delete this Timer recording.

3 answers
Monty
Monty

Have you tried 'watching' the program that is being recorded. Press "stop" & following the prompts i.e. "do you wish to stop recording?" Press "yes". This usually solves the problem for me.
You can also try the following: go to "program check" on the remote. find the 'program' which is being recorded you wish to delete/stop. Hold down the Red button (not the REC button) on the remote until the red circle turns grey & then delete the program. Hope this helps.

Moz
Moz

Program was deleted after it was watched months ago.
It was then that i attempted to delete it, 2 other Timer Programmes were able to be deleted.
The red button only greys the clock symbol next to the Red Circle.
The Red Circle is always there, as if a recording is in progress, when it is not.

Other info :
The Space column has a ! in it, the info button provides the following :
Timer recording is not active
! Some part or all of programme may not be recorded.

Thank You for your help, any other ideas Please.

Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Moz, please give us a call on 132600 and the team will be able to assist you.

Thanks

DTWL

DTWLasked

Can not read or play 4K Blu-ray movies on Panasonic Blu-ray Disc recorder BWT955. Please advise

2 answers
Ian A
Ian A

No....the reference to 4K is upscaling to lift the quality...to play 4K video you need Ultra HD, mine is a standalone machine, whereas my recorders are HD with upscaling...
So Blu-Ray is fine, just not 4K. Hope this helps.

DTWL
DTWL

Thanks Ian

DTWL

DTWLasked

The BWT955 will not read / play 4K Blu-ray movies. It's give the following message " Can not read disc". Please advise. Thanks Davy

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi DTWL, for assistance can you please call our customer service team on 132600 and they will assist you.

Thanks

See all Panasonic DMR-BWT955GL questions

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

Details

CategorySet Top Boxes / PVRs / DVRs
Price (RRP)$849
Tuners3
Internet ConnectivityWi-Fi
USB Ports2
Internal Storage2TB
Height70mm
Width430mm
Depth199mm
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 8887549581281
  • MPN: DMRBWT955GL

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.