??!
2 photos
Philips Clock Radio AJ3232B/79

Philips Clock Radio AJ3232B/79

MPN: AJ3232B
2.0 from 21 reviews

Far too hard to use

I bought one radio 10 months ago, set it up, liked it a lot, bought another for the spare room ... then realised the downsides. I also agree with the bulk of reviews: it looks nice and the adjustable brightness is great. It is however ridiculously complicated and difficult to set (single use buttons would be a vast step forward).

A particular gripe is the ease of losing the selected station (ie returning from 101.3 to 88.1 FM) when trying to turn it off, by holding the button down for just the wrong amount of time. I have invested hours (truly) trying to set the pre-programmed stations but I've never managed to make that function work satisfactorily.

I would also prefer it if the alarm function radio remained on for an hour, but that's a minor gripe compared with the complexity and ease of inadvertently disrupting one's preferences issues.

To cap it off I paid NZD70 for the second radio - never again. I had so much respect for Philips electronics, but at a minimum I am reading reviews carefully before buying again.

1 comment
Hi Chris, many thanks for sharing your experiences here. We regret hearing you weren't very satisfied with the user-friendliness in adjusting the settings of the alarm clock. It's good to know you were happy with the first model you had initially, though. For us, your feedback is very valuable, as we're always trying to improve our products. Again, thanks for contributing and for sharing your suggestions. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Took it back after one day

+ Nice big display that can be dimmed at night.

- Display unfortunately constantly blinks which I found very irritating and made me return the clock after one night. Very difficult to set time and alarm. Only 12h clock.

1 comment
Hi there, Tina. Thank you for leaving your comment here. We're sorry to hear about your experience with the clock just after one night. If you'd like to get in contact with our colleagues, please feel free to via 1300 363 391 (AU) or 0800 658 224 (NZ). Thank you again and hope you have a good rest of your day. Kind Regards, The Philips Australia Team

Promotional products

I unfortunately will no longer purchase any Philips Products, due to their neglect of promotional material, namely cash back deals. Original Receipts are lost and customers told that a copy or originals were never received. Great way for Philips to turn a dollar at the expense of honest consumers. DON'T TRUST THEIR CASH BACK DEALS

5 comments
Hi there, Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences here. We regret hearing that you did not have the best of experiences, though. Of course, this is not supposed to happen, so we'd like to see what we can do to help out. To do that, it'd be great if you could share your email address and phone number via private message, so we can ask our team of specialists to get in touch with you about this. Alternatively, you can also try contacting our colleagues yourself via 1300 363 391. We're hoping that the matter will be resolved shortly! Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamMy number is 0448 822 442Hello Hendo, thanks for sharing your phone number with us. Unfortunately, we will be needing your email address for this as well, and would you please send us a private message with your details? And for your own privacy, you may want to consider deleting your phone number from your post above. Hoping to hear from you. Kind regards, the Philips Australia Team

Should have read the reviews

The time on the clock stays 'set' for a few days, sometimes a couple of weeks, then I have to turn it off in the hope the 'dashes' reappear for me to reset it. I purchased the clock/radio from Big W, but unfortunately for me, I can't find my receipt and am unable to return it.

3 comments
Hello Shirley, Thank you for taking the time to write down your experiences with your Clock Radio. We regret hearing that it's causing you some troubles though. Please reach out to our colleagues at 1300 363 391. They will be able to investigate what happens exactly. Thank you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamHello Philips. I bought it for the 'big digit clock display'...(I don't use the radio), but it keeps having to be reset more often than not. It has it's good points though, easy to read clock display and easy to set time.Thanks for your reply, Shirley. We would like to see what we can do to help you in regards to the resets, and would you please give us a call on the above mentioned number? We'd be happy to look into it for you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

PHILIPS AJ3232B Clock / Radio / Alarm

Seemed to be a logical answer as I had a Philips clock radio that was so easy to use and lasted for 15 years easily...that was the Philips AJ 3920.
This current model, the AJ3232B, however is just rubbish.
I agree with points in both Positive and Negative feedbacks I've read.

Small footprint, larger numeral but doesn't light up the whole room....GOOD points.

Extremely poor instructions, baffling control buttons, below average radio quality, an Alarm that is impossible to find any button to turn it off...and it gets louder and louder ...all TERRIBLE points.
I have to keep the whole thing turned off at the power point unless absolutely needed...so what's the point of having it.
I hate this clock radio so much.....What the hell was philips thinking to approve this rubbish.

1 comment
Hello Phil, thanks for taking your time to write this review. We like to get in touch to see if there something we can do to help. Please call our colleagues on the below number: 1300850633 Monday to Friday 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM EST Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Simple clock radio

This clock radio does what it says. I was concerned after reading reviews that I had bought a DUD (it was impulse buy). However, it was very easy to set up, as long as you read instructions for setting up alarm. No problems at all. Love the light settings. My last clock was like Blackpool Lights. Radio good and clear. Small footprint.
Very Happy so Far. Will upgrade to 5 starts if it continues to be good.

2 comments
Hi Rosie, Thank you for sharing your positive feedback here. We're happy to hear you're a fan of the clock radio. Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamI have to update my review now that I have had this for a few weeks and downgrade my rating. I agree with others the alarm system is annoying. I just want the radio to come on so that I can listen to it normally. I find it gets so loud I have to switch it off and then on again. The on off button also is very sensitive. If not pressed long enough it does not switch off and can be left inadvertently making a horrible low noise. I still love the large, dimmed night display. Doesn't feel like interrogation in middle of night. Apart from above it is fine.

Not a bad clock radio

Bought this clock yesterday, just for displaying time.
Too hard to use? I'm pretty sure people who think it is never used digital clock radios before, or they're just lazy. Setting them all up is almost the same. I set the time in a minute. Only feature missing is a 24hr time. A bit pricey for what it is though...

1 comment
Hey, Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback on the Philips AJ3232B/79. We're glad to hear the radio clock is meeting up to your expectations. If you have any questions, you can find us on Twitter or Facebook. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team.

Great footprint and big numbers that don't light up room at night

I bought this clock after spotting it when looking for something else. I agree with most of the negative feedback. Instructions poor and buttons not logical - especially if you don't realize the radio has to be off if you need to set the time. And to turn the radio off you have to press the power button for a few seconds. I don't know about the radio because I don't intend to use it. I got it for the small footprint and the large numbers. Traditional radio clocks take up too much space on a side table. This one is only a couple of inches deep. And the numbers are big so I don't have to find my reading glasses at night. And it dims right down so it doesn't light up the bedroom at night. So, Philips, I see you read these comments. Keep the shape of this clock. Just re-design the buttons, the operation and the instructions. You should be able to set the time if the radio is on. AND, the alarm buttons are way to small to find them to turn the alarm off. The Snooze button is big, but it is only for snooze. So if I can't find the alarm off button, and I only hit the snooze button, then while I'm down stairs getting ready to leave early, after 9 minutes, the alarm will be waking up the wife. But yes, I just bought it for the shape and the number size.

1 comment
Hi Rob, Thank you for your elaborate review on our clock radio. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. It's very helpful to us that you state both positive features and negative, as we're always trying to improve our products. Again, thank you for your feedback. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Worst Philips product ever

The ideas behind this product are great, but Philips should be ashamed to have their name associated with such a poorly-executed design. They should also be ashamed of the way they try to blame the user for all its shortcomings (example of this - the instructions tell you to move the product away from appliances that may be causing crackling in the sound - what they don't tell you is that the product itself produces crackling, which makes it impossible to get rid of all crackling unless you have an extremely strong radio signal). Despite the promotional claims, this product is NOT easy to use, and it is NOT possible to work out how to set it up without referring constantly to the instructions - even then, you have to use trial-and-error to work out what the instructions really mean). The AM radio function provides extremely poor sound performance. Unless you have a VERY strong AM signal, there is continual crackling. As others have pointed out, if you set the alarm to radio, you cannot set the volume - it just keeps ramping up to the maximum possible. Philips could have done a much better job - I have proven this by replacing the Philips product with a very similar one made by Audiosonic (the K-Mart brand! - model CR-228PL). The cheaper K-Mart product does everything the Philips one does, and it does it much, much better (in the exact same location). There is NO crackling produced by the product itself, and unlike the Philips product, it is just a pleasure to use.

3 comments
Hello, thanks for taking your time to write this review and we're sorry to hear about the difficulties that you have experienced. We like to get in touch and see if we can help you. Please call us on: Call us 1300 850 633 Mondays to Fridays: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm EST Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamI appreciate your concern, but I have already returned the product and obtained a refund for it. You may be interested to know that I bought it based on incorrect advice from Philips Consumer Care. As soon as I got the product home, it was clear that the advice I was given was wrong, and that the problems with the product were actually design issues that could not be corrected or worked-around by the user. However to be fair to Philips, I contacted Philips Consumer Care again, and the advice I got on the second occasion was no better than the first. For your information, I am a retired qualified professional electrical engineer with extensive experience regarding digital electronic product design and troubleshooting. My professional opinion is that this product is poorly designed, poorly documented, and poorly supported by your customer team. Based on this experience (which was not even close to meeting my expectations, let alone exceeding them) I will not be buying Philips products again.Thank you for getting back to us. This is very valuable feedback and again, we're sorry about the experience you've had with our radio. We appreciate this elaborate feedback and we take this to heart. If you have any other questions, please know that you can reach our to us via the provided channel. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Too hard to use

I purchased the AJ3232B 6 days ago, I am an older person who has used computers at an advanced level. The settings are difficult to understand. The manual that was downloaded from the Philips site is not user friendly. This is not an easy to view, simple to use clock radio. The clock time display continually flashes, this is an annoying function. I have taken the clock radio back to Harvey Norman and they have provided a full refund.

1 comment
Hi Michael, Thank you for providing us with your feedback on our clock radio. We're sorry to hear you're not satisfied with your purchase. We're not entirely sure if you have already brought back the clock radio to Harvey Norman and from what we understand from your review you have already had a look at the manual. Have you seen the Quick start guide as well? You'll be able to find the document here: http://philips.to/2qyagk8. Please know that even though this product didn't work out for you, we do appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Cannot set time

I have read the manual plenty of times and yet I follow the instructions, none of it happens, 2 seconds of pressing set time and some P02 shows up, I do not want P02, I want to set the bloody time, not some rubbish.

1 comment
Hi Andy, Thanks for contacting us. And when that shows up you can't press the HOUR and MIN buttons to set the time? Kind regards, The Philips Australia team

the worst

Received it as a present. I`ve only got a medical degree and the instructions way to hard for me. And the station preset does`t work. It`s going in the bin

1 comment
Hi Macca, we're sorry to hear about the difficulties you have experienced. We still like to get in touch and see if we can help you. Please contact us on: 1300 850 633 (if you are in Australia) Mondays to Fridays: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm EST Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Absolute RUBBISH

This product is neither user friendly or user responsive, it relies on multiple functions from every button and fails to do as commanded!! Avoid this product like the plague, we tried two and they were both the same - useless.

1 comment
Hi Alin, Thanks for the feedback regarding the user experience, we'll make sure to forward it to our product team for their future reference. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Incessant flashing lights

I only need this as a clock for grandchildren staying over so haven't tried alarm or radio - wish you could still buy just a simple alarm clock as I never use radio function!!! Mine came with no instructions but found them online & eventually managed to set time. Not happy about indicator lights flashing non-stop - hopefully kids won't think that's a problem

1 comment
Thanks for your message! Nice that your grandchildren stay over. We would like to provide you with a link to the support pages of the clock, if you have any other issues: http://bit.ly/2nxm75L. Please know that you can always find us here. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

What were they thinking?

I have had a few cheap, reliable clock-radios over the years, but this one stands out! I received it as a present and it took me a fruitless 20 mins to try and get the time on it. (Then I went to the on-line manual and did it in 5.) Its radio reception is easily worse than my current 10 yr old cheapie. Then I read the reviews on it and found out the price, and I felt my daughter got ripped off. Thankfully I was able to return it for a full refund. It looks good, but the functionality of it is poor. Also, who needs such big numbers, and the vertical eyes blinking at you all night?!

1 comment
Hello, We appreciate your feedback so thanks for sharing this review with us. We'd like to inform our product specialist about this. If you're located in Australia and have any other questions or remarks, please know you can contact us via the following number: 1300850633. We're also available 24/7 on Facebook and Twitter. Have a good day. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Good clock radio - meets my needs

Personally, I found this clock radio to be an excellent unit (but I seem to be in the minority). It is compact, well made and has very useful features.
I had no trouble setting the time, alarm or radio stations. The ability to change the brightness is good and I actually like the gradually increasing alarm volume. I have my radio set to Classic FM, so it's a peaceful way to wake up in the morning. The sound quality is also good for a clock radio.
The dual alarm is also handy as I can set one alarm for weekdays and the other for weekends if needed without having to reset it all the time.
Overall, I would recommend the Philips AJ3232B.

1 comment
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the clock radio. It looks like you've found a way to use all the features to your advantage. We're glad to see you like it so well and hope you'll keep waking up peacefully with the AJ3232B. :) Kind regards, The Philips Australia team

Wake up Philips

Rubbish as most of the reviews. Radio alarm just keeps getting louder and louder and cannot be adjusted. Wow that makes sense. Complex to use, needs to be dimmist to sleep at night then unreadable at day. Should of bought the lot cheaper alternative.

1 comment
Hi Terry, We regret to hear your thoughts about the radio alarm, although we do appreciate your honest opinion. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Kind regards, The Philips Australia team

Design flaws

I bought this clock radio as it was the last model on the shelves. Now I know why. It has a very large display but the quick start guide is written in minute text. It has a sleep function but if you wake up in the middle of the night, the sleep button is hard to find, defaults to volume 7 which is very loud completely ignoring the volume setting i left it on when I went to bed which was volume setting 2. The volume settin function is digital which means if one setting may be too louder and the next lower setting too soft—you can't adjust the volume setting continuously. The preset radio station function lists stations as P01, P02, P03 etc which means when you are scrolling through the stations to find the one you want you have to remember the P number the station is set too, rather than the station frequency number, which is cumbersome and non-intuitive. If you happen to prefer a 24 hour clock that's too bad—you're stuck with a 12 hour function. Setting up the radio is slow and cumbersome due to each button having two functions. The on switch is awkwardly placed, in the middle of the buttons, rather than at one end. Will be returning this clunker to the retailer.

1 comment
Hi there, Thank you so much for your elaborated feedback. Although we definitely not like to hear that you dislike the unit, we absolutely appreciate the fact you took the time to write down your experiences in such an elaborated way. Please know that your feedback, as dull as it may sound, is very valuable to us. Without messages like these it's much harder to improve our products. Considering your experiences, we can imagine you'll be returning the unit. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do for you to help you out. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Absolute rubbish

I bought a Philips AJ3232B/79 Digital dual alarm clock radio as a back-up when my Bush Horizon, at $88, clock radio also with dual alarm began failing to operate regularly after a couple of years use, so I have had first hand experience at comparing both radios.

Anyone thinking of purchasing the el-cheapo Philips radio at $39 – DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY -- it is built to a price and very poor quality. I rate it as ZERO out of 5 stars. The Philips directions on setting up and use are as clear as mud.

I spent 2 hours trying to set up the time etc (The Bush radio sets it automatically. The stations and alarms are far simpler to set up, with the station description written across the bottom of the screen and the Bush option of setting the alarms once, weekly or days ahead) before I carefully placed my brand new Philips radio back in its box and dispatched it to the rubbish bin.

Shame Philips shame. I wish I had read previous reviews before wasting my meagre pension money on your sadly lacking radio

3 comments
Hi Bretann, Thank you for your review. All feedback is very valuable to us, especially the negative ones as it helps us improving our products. We're sorry to read you seem unhappy with the device. The only thing we can advise you at this stage is to return it to your retailer to get a refund. Kind regards The Philips Australia TeamThanks for your response. It has been returned to you via my retailerYou're welcome, Bretann. Should you have any further questions or feedback, please feel free to reach out to us anytime. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

I'm an electronic technician and some spectrum network analysers are easier to use.....

The user interface on this is supremely poor to say the least.
Intuitive - it should be, but is def. not.... Obviously designed to use the least amount of buttons possible.
Radio sensitivity is very poor as has already been pointed out by the previous reviewer.
OK for a clock if you don't want to touch it after you've set the time....
Built to a low price - stay away.

2 comments
Hi there Phil, even though we're not really happy reading that you're not satisfied with our product, we still like to thank you for your feedback. If there's anything you'd like to discuss concerning this product, feel free to reach out to our team at 1300 850 633. Take care Phil. Kind regards, the Philips Australia team.Thanks, appreciate you responding.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

+Philips Official please advise whether it is true that the volume ascends for the "Radio Alarm" function? I cannot see that on the box and it seems very strange not to be able to set the volume as suggested in the reviews. That would be a deal breaker for me as I specifically want an AM radio model to gently acquaint me to the new day... and i would not want to get up first just to change a setting.
2 answers
Hi there, Thanks for your question. We found this in the muanual of the AJ3232B/79: "When the alarm sounds, volume increases gradually to the maximum alarm volume. You cannot adjust the alarm volume manually". So indeed it seems you cannot adjust the maximum volume of the alarm, but it does increase gradually. :) Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team.Can you please advise how gradually it rises? I.e. How long does it take to reach maximum ? And does it rise to highest volume too?

Is this a 24 hour clock or am I just unable to find the right buttons to press & set the time ?
2 answers
Hey Jack, it goes without saying that you should be able to set the time. Please have a look at the manual: http://philips.to/2bCar7c If things don't work out, do not hesitate to contact us at 1300 850 633 for further assistance. Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamIts a 12 hour clock. Mine set itself automatically once I plugged it in. If yours is 24 hrs you might have to play around with the buttons on top

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.