??!
5 photos
Philips Avent 2-in-1 Healthy Baby Food Maker

Philips Avent 2-in-1 Healthy Baby Food Maker

SCF870/21, SCF860/21
3.7 from 124 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (4)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (4)
  • Safety
    4.0 (4)
Previous
Next
Dan

DanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 18 reviews
  • 7 likes

This is perfect! glad I purchase!

published

We purchase from a baby expo in 2019 for around $80 from memory.
I honestly love this product.. steams and it blends in one product and I find it easy to clean.
I think having this item has encourage me to cook for bubs instead of offering pouches.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Christal

ChristalSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

The Unit Is Collects Food And Water - Unable To Clean Properly

published

I bought this unit for my first child.. the steamer/blender is great, really worked, made great purees and the blender is powerful enough.

However, food and water gets caught in the bottom section, which can not be opened to clean properly. It takes ALOT of time (which you do not have when raising children), to clean to a safe level. When I contacted the technical team they told me to rinse water through the hole near the handle and everything should be fine.... The hole is about a millimetre... this is incredibly difficult, I have soaked the unit so many times but without the use of a brush to move the food, its very difficult to clean.. let alone get that dirty water out of the tiny hole... Not impressed. :(

Purchased in March 2018 for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
LarryP

LarryPSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Best blender out there

published

100% satisfied with the product. Been using Philips product since I was little.
It blends everything perfectly, never had a complain or funny noises or having to worry about repairs.

Purchased in March 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Used forCocktails, Juices and Smoothies
See all answers
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent

Hi Larry, great to hear you're happy with the combined steamer and blender. Many thanks for sharing your thoughts here!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Baby Food Makers

Find out how Philips Avent 2-in-1 Healthy Baby Food Maker compares to other Baby Food Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lidya L.

Lidya L.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Steamer does not turn on no matter how many times I have put the jar properly on the appliance.

published

Read the troubleshooting page and no matter how many times i put the jar properly on the appliance, it does not steam. Really really frustrating product. Meant to be smart with safety lock, but it just doesn't work properly.

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
RegularPumpingMom

RegularPumpingMomNSW

  • 6 reviews

What a time saver! must have for all moms!

published

This product is excellent for preparing baby food at home, quickly steams and blends food very smooth, perfect for baby’s early days discovering food.
I bought this ages ago for my first baby, and is still working perfectly for my second, truly I cannot survive without this combo.
It’s compact and very easy to clean which was my number one criteria for choosing this product, it has an inbuilt strainer so no need to have or wash extra utensils.

Date PurchasedDec 2011
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Sarena

SarenaSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Convenient but leaks water when steaming and hard to clean

published

Easy to use and great for steaming small batches of veggies and meats. However the opening where you pour water in doesn't close tightly so steam escapes, so I have to put something heavy over it to stop the steam from escaping. It's also hard to clean the edges inside the lid especially after steaming meat. It's more compact than the other steamer/blenders out there so it's easy to pack away and doesn't take up much bench space.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
3 comments
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Sarena
Sarena
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Sarah

SarahNorth Adelaide, South Australia 5032

  • 2 reviews

This has come in super handy not just blending but steamed too

published

This blender has been fantastic and works like magic. As we have two youngsters that need mashed food the steam function has really assisted making sure the food is also warm and super yummy. I've blended carrots & veggies along with a few different type of fruits which have all come out really smooth and nice

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Matt

MattBroom, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Steamer is ok but blending bad

published

Since buying this it doesn't blend food down very well always leaving bits in the blends food. The steaming is exelent and can save time having to put things into a pot and get down to softer. There also isn't very much options to finenes on the blades only getting the one

Date PurchasedAug 2017
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Eli

EliMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Don’t buy

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
6 comments
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Eli
Eli

Hi, I sent you my details within a day of you asking me, which was almost a month ago and nobody has contacted me yet.

Baby Food Makers

Find out how Philips Avent 2-in-1 Healthy Baby Food Maker compares to other Baby Food Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Juan Manuel

Juan ManuelSouthbank

  • 6 reviews

Convenient device.

published

I bought this item because I thought it was a good idea, as the size is very convenient, the price was accessible and it was what I was needing. very easy to operate, very effective and convenient, a good way to stop wasting food and create another healthy meal with left overs.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Coco83

Coco83Melbourne

  • 6 reviews

Amazing for time poor parents to provide nutritious meals for babies

published

Great product got loads of use but once buns moved to more meal based with servers ingredients I started using my thermomix more but was a life saver when I had babies starting solids. Only reason I didn’t give 5 stars as it does get food stains and is annoying to clean if doing meats as the seem to get stuck in the vents.

Date PurchasedFeb 2012
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Manj

ManjSydney

Fault in product allows mould to grow in jug

published

I do not recommnend this product. There is a small hole at the bottom of the jug that allows food and water to enter an area that cannot be cleaned and mould to grow. Philips Advent customer service state this ius still safe to use as the mould does not directly touch the food but I dont think it is safe to wash mouldy appliances in the kitchen or to allow mould to grow on any kitchen appliance.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Denny

DennySydney

  • 8 reviews

Best baby food blender

published

Avent really did their job in providing utensils for baby. This steamer and blender is easy to use, easy to clean and the final food is in perfect texture! It really saves my time - I can just leave the food inside the steamer and come back to it later on with the food steamed into perfection.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Vivienne

VivienneWilliams Landing

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

The blades are sharp.

published

It does it work and is quite reliable. However when my mother in law washed it she had her fingers cut by the blades. I would hope the design of the blades are safer for cleaning. In general the function is good, but if there is a timer for the steaming function or blending function it could be better. Now we have to stand next to the machine in case it over cooked the food.

Date PurchasedJune 2017
Cherry

CherryBrisbane

  • 8 reviews

Amazing appliance

published

I love this appliance because it doesn't just help me make food for the bub but it also help me in making soups, pastas etc. One thing I am not happy about is the noise that this blender makes everytime i use it. Considering the price, I thought it was silent but it produces that sound. If you're not bothered by it, you can get this one.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Baby Food Makers

Find out how Philips Avent 2-in-1 Healthy Baby Food Maker compares to other Baby Food Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vanessa Yuen

Vanessa YuenSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good life start from it

published

I need sometime fresh juice every day. Before that I was using the Kmart combined steamer, it is not bad, my boyfriend get me a new one which philips agent combined steamer and blender, I like it so much, easy to clean and easy to use. It is not complicated.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Jamie

JamieIllawarra, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Excellent

published

Absolutely amazing product for mum with the new baby steam tip over blend. baby food is done so easy to use so easy to clean. it is a little bit noisy but what blender isn't. And it's just not for baby food you can use it with every day use making smoothies purees bananas fruit veggies meet perfectly I'm so happy with this product I've used it for both my babies Which are five years apart and it still going strong love Love love this product

Date PurchasedMay 2010
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent

Hi Jamie, that sounds wonderful! :) We love ❤️❤️❤️ this review and thanks again for your kind words.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Sam

SamSydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Life saver little machine

published

I bought this little magical machine only recently. It is amazing, very easy to prepare healthy meal for my baby. I wish I had it with my first 2 children would’ve saved myself a lot of money and effort in preparing. My only down side it needs regular cleaning but still life saver for mom of 3.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Erik

Erik

  • 4 reviews

Simple to use

published

It is a blender that does does everything a blender needs. Although it may look slightly ugly at first. But what gets the jobs done is what matter. Also steam do come out sometimes and can be quiet dangerous. I think Philips need to look more closely at the safety features.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Xuezhu

XuezhuSydney

  • 4 reviews

Easy to use and save my time

published

It’s easy to use and can save my time. If you look after your baby by yourself, it’s worth to have it. But the lid of it is hard to clean up. So the lid will look very dirty after a few times use which I think is a design defect of this product.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
1 comment
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Sally MacLeod

Sally MacLeodasked

2-in-1 Healthy Baby Food Maker SCF870/21

Just bought this and it makes such a high pitched noise which was really unpleasant. Definitely can’t make baby food while baby is asleep! Is this normal? If it is I’ll be sending it back

No answers
Jac C.

Jac C.asked

2-in-1 Healthy Baby Food Maker SCF870/21

Urgent need help, an I still used the steamer function??? I have lost the valve cp9169 of my 2-in-1 healthy baby food maker, can I still use my steamer without it??

1 answer
Philips Avent
Philips S.Philips Avent

Hi there, thanks for your question. We'd happily have our product team take a look at that. Feel free to reach out to us on Facebook and/or Twitter (@PhilipsCare) for further assistance. Alternatively, you can contact our support team by phone on: 1300 363 391.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

ADe

ADeasked

2-in-1 Healthy Baby Food Maker SCF870/21

Hi, my avent steamer blender has water inside the jar everytime it finish steaming. Is it normal? And is that water supposed to be blended with the food to produce puree? Or to throw away? Thank you

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Philips Avent representatives

Details

Compare both Philips Avent 2-in-1 Healthy Baby Food Maker
CategoryFood Steamers, Blenders and Baby Food MakersFood Processors, Food Steamers, Blenders and Baby Food Makers
Price (RRP) $219.95
Capacity0.45L
BPA FreeYes
Number of Speed Settings1
Colour / FinishWhite/Green
Dimensions 344 x 243 x 193 mm
Capacity0.45 L
Power400 W
ManualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare both Philips Avent 2-in-1 Healthy Baby Food Maker

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.