??!

Reviews

(253)
(9)
(7)
(15)
(133)
  • Transparency
    3.3 (36)
  • Customer Service
    3.0 (33)
  • Coverage Type
    • Home & Contents (1)
  • Loan TypeVariable Rate (16) · Fixed Rate (8) · Split (3)
  • Application Process
    3.0 (29)
  • Timeliness
    2.8 (29)
  • Loan used for
    • First Home (12)
    • Refinancing (5)
    • Second Home (5)
    • Home Construction (2)
    • Renovation (1)
    • Investment Property (1)
  • Loan Term26.867 years (15)
  • Online Tools
    2.8 (12)
Fordtl50

Fordtl50Geelong

  • 5 reviews

Would not recommend!!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan Start DateJune 2015
Loan used forRefinancing
See all answers

Completely useless

published

Had two brokers through the process of getting a home loan, completely useless went to Bankwest and all done in 4 days approved.

I would not recomend Rams to anyone. Unless they want to waste time.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateMarch 2020
Loan used forSecond Home
See all answers
Unhappy

UnhappyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Worst experience ever!

published

We got a home loan through Rams in 2018. Once we added the construction part to it they were completely hopeless and extremely unprofessional.
As we went to settle on our new home they advised us of an almost $25,000 shortfall. Money we also paid for our driveway and landscaping had “disappeared”.
They can give no explanation as to how this happened.
We had to come up with additional funds as Rams would do nothing to help us.
We have gotten lawyers involved and now going to court and making complaints to the Australian financial complaints.
The lack of care and empathy showed from RAMS is absolutely disgusting.
We can’t even get a phone call returned.
I’d strongly recommend never banking with RAMS.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forSecond Home
See all answers
Finance

Find out how RAMS compares to other Finance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PandaMelb

PandaMelbGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Lack of customer service!

published

Recently I had really bad experience with this company. I am their long term customer. Their customer service team is lack of responsibility nowadays. They are Not helpful even I have submitted an URGENT request. They are trying to delay my HL request and keep the high interest rate! Find another home loan lender if you can. Stay away from RAMS!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeSplit
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers

Cancelling home and contents insurance

published

Home and contents insurance was good to begin with, but when the insurance was up for renewal I got a better deal elsewhere, so I rang Rams to cancel which they said they cancelled. 3 Months later still taking money out monthly despite insurance being cancelled.

Coverage TypeHome & Contents
Property TypeHouse
Claim MadeNo
John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Bad Start but Can't Fault Now

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2019
Loan used forHome Construction
See all answers
marius laynes

marius laynesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Hidden costs and average service

published

You will pay a yearly fee for the remainder of the loan and that on top of the interest charged by westpack, better deals out there dont be fooled by the sheep

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeSplit
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers
Emily

Emily

  • 5 reviews

Worst service and hidden costs!

published

Rams have hidden solicitor costs when you try to refinance from them, because they have high interest rates of course. The solicitor costs are $1000-$2000 BUT they don't tell you how much when you sign up. In the contract/fees and charges schedule, it just says exit fee 295 and any legal fees. Kim Dao is one of the loan managers and avoid her! She is a manipulative and dishonest sales person!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers
Inzy C.

Inzy C.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Absolutely terrible service at Parramatta

published

Went in around December last year (December 2018) and the James took so long just to submit my application to head office claiming he was busy. They are a franchise and can not see what is happening at head office.

The settlement was around Feb and was hoping this would happen before Christmas closure but he had sat with my file for around 3 weeks. Cancelled my application and went with different lender. The other lender was so much better and efficient.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers
Finance

Find out how RAMS compares to other Finance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
A McDonald

A McDonaldMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Excellent customer service

published

I applied for a home loan with RAMS and met with Darren from Southern Vales office. As I was doing a construction loan there were some delays and challenges throughout the process (nothing to do with RAMS, and everything to do with the builders etc) and Darren was patient and professional throughout the whole process.

Darren provided me with all the information I could possibly need, and made the loan side of things stress free. Would definitely recommend RAMS at Southern Vales to anyone needing a home loan.

Loan used forHome Construction
Joseph

Joseph

  • 3 reviews

Cant access my money

published

Rams savings ATM limit is at 1000 bucks a day not negotiable can not change that and can't withdraw on any Westpac or st George so pretty much useless saving account if you wanna access your money.

Transparency
Yolande

YolandeDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Horrendous

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateAugust 2019
Loan used forSecond Home
See all answers
Mish

MishSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Can get the loan but systems and customer service are terrible. Avoid!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers
Gary P

Gary PMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Rams Southern Vales....Excellent!

published

In establishing my home loan Darren at Southern Vales service was fantastic. He understood exactly what I required was efficient, prompt and thoroughly knew his product. All I had to do was provide relevant documentation when requested, he took care of the rest. I have and will continue to recommend Darren to anyone I know looking for a home loan. Cheers Darren

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2019
Loan used forRefinancing
See all answers
Elena B.

Elena B.

  • 3 reviews

Don’t bother going with RAMS

published

We sent all documents to RAMS Ballarat to assess our borrowing capacity and got no reply whatsoever. With this attitude to clients, I can only imagine what would happen if we proceed with getting the actual loan.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
See all answers
Finance

Find out how RAMS compares to other Finance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Undies

UndiesSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Dropping behind on savings rates.

published

They used to be at the top of the pile with savings rates, but now dropping behind. In this environment of low rates punishing savers, people will jump ship to another bank for an extra 0.25%...why not...no loyalty anymore, and it only takes a few minutes to set up a new bank account. I had $400K with them only 12 months ago....now my account with them has 0.75 cents.

Fay D.

Fay D.Tasmania

  • 14 reviews

BEWARE

published

They are middle men don't care about truth I wouldn't trust them at all no integrity. They don't do appropriate checks are connected to Westpac who was named in banking royal commission

Thank you Esther Chan for your professionalism, efficiencies and delivering on promise!

published

We got the run around from lenders and brokers that gave the hard sell but with nothing to snow for except empty promises. We were so very fortunate and blessed to be assigned to Esther - who finalised our loan so quickly and so thoroughly. Nothing was too much trouble and we’ve never had better service anywhere. Esther is also genuinely and highly committed to her job so we had the best representation. We’d definitely be recommending her to everyone we know! Thank you Esther!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateSeptember 2019
Loan used forRenovation
See all answers

Horrible Customer Service - Consumer be aware

published

I agree with you [name removed], RAMS Home Loan service is absolute disgrace. I first enquired about the break cost in March. By July, they doubled break cost amount and by the time I had settlement and sold my place, their break fee cost was triple of what RAMS quoted in March. I based my decision to sell based on the quote provided. Contacted the customer service and they couldn't even provide whole sales interest rate. I will never use RAMS again and I do not recommend anyone to use RAMS. I will take this matter to the ombudsman.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Loan TypeFixed Rate
Loan Start DateFebruary 2016
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers
Daphne

DaphneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Thank You Ron Mcbean From Rams Arundel, Gold Coast

published

We got turned away by 2 banks......at the point we almost gave up we saw a banner outside RAMS office that says "if bank says no, call RAMS", and so we did, and thank God for that!!! We met Ron McBean at the RAMS office and we immediately knew he is going to get us there. He was ruthless and will not stop until he found a bank that will give us the loan. We were able to text him, email him, call him and he was always available for us. He expedited our loan approval process so that we did not have to move in a temporary rental in between. A real human touch, Ron is an example why we need mortgage broker. Thank you Ron!

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers
Page 1 of 21

Questions & Answers

Robyn

Robynasked

Do you do landlord insurance in HOme Hill 4806

No answers
Rod

Rodasked

Why does RAMS take 24 to 48 hours to send out a statement? My bank Commonwealth does it immediatly. RAMS wants me to save with them but cannot act like a savings bank.

No answers
Aling L

Aling Lasked

How can I get a discharge form from RAMs, I have been called couple time to 13 RAMs, feel so bad.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and RAMS representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.