9 photos
Renault Kangoo

Renault Kangoo

X61.II, X76.I, X76.II, X61.I
3.0 from 23 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Renault? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (5)
  • Braking
    4.3 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.7 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (4)
  • Suspension
    3.8 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (4)
  • Handling
    3.8 (4)
  • Interior Design
    3.3 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (4)
  • Comfort
    2.5 (4)
  • Features
    3.0 (4)
Previous
Next
Phillip C.
Phillip C.
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Manual gearbox 1.6 5 speed express model with decent seats.

published

Good on petrol and easy to drive. Good ride quality and great seats. So far very reliable. Well equipped with decent a/c with climate control, great cubbyholes and very good design rear door. 1.6 motor is adequate power although I wouldn't mind a bit more especially when using the air conditioning and a bit of a load. Motor tho is flexible and doesn't mind From low revs.. plus it's a van so it doesn't get driven like a sports car. Good finish overall and so far easy to service. Had cheap tyres when I bought it and decent Continentals transformed the noise level and the ride and handling. Is a good drive now..

Purchased in May 2020 for $7,000.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5

Terrible for daily use

published

This is one of the least comfortable cars i´ve been. Unfortunately I used for work (i work as a delivery driver) and my back has started hurting because the clotch pedal is not hidraulic and is very stiff. The chushion seats feel very cheap, your back will notice. They also don´t have almost any type of grip so be careful when doing roundabouts! Lol.

Overall a notable bad experience with renault.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Troyp
TroypGosford
  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

Daily work van with minor issues

published

This is a commercial car just out of warrenty used for getting deliveries from a to b
The car is used daily and other then some poor quality issues is doing ok.
The car is serviced as per log book or just prior to keep it in top shape.
I had a fuel issue that was repaired under warrenty

I see the underbody cover has started deteriating only done 60k

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Angiepants
AngiepantsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 13 reviews
  • 11 likes

badly designed

published

Purchased in July 2019 for $9,500.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Vans

Find out how Renault Kangoo compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Guenther Z.
Guenther Z.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

ABS Issue on 2016 Renault Kangoo Maxi , Service performance very questionable

published

Purchased in September 2016.

Incentivised Review No
Year2016
renolike
renolikebournemouth

Why did you bother!

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.2L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2018
Mal
MalGoulburn

Renault Kangoo - an impressive small van.

published

The Renault Kangoo - a joyfully French take on a small commercial vehicle.
The Kangoo is a likeable, economical and car-like van with character.
There is a range of options and accessories available to tailor the design as you wish.
At home in urban areas, the Kangoo is also excellent on highway trips.

BadgeCompact
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.2L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Peter L
Peter LDoreen VIC 3754
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent choice of work vehicle

published

My perfect work van,120K trouble free. Comfortable/Quite ride for long rural to short city driving. Great access to your cargo or tools of trade. Useful clearance for underground car parking even with roof racks fitted. Aftermarket rear air suspension easily fitted at low cost. Running expenses low stick to original Continental tyres as good for 50k +. Will definitely trade in for same again.

P.S. Speed limiter ideally suited for inner city 40K zones

BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size1.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Terrible experience and big mistake on buying this van

published
Badgexxx
Wheelbasexxxxxx
Engine Sizexxxxxxx
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015
Vans

Find out how Renault Kangoo compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Horst
HorstKatoomba

Cooling system

published
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Horst
Horst
Nick
NickSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not highly recommended

published
BadgeRenault Kangoo
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Maxi Crew is excellent

published

This is the perfect mini van for my business needs as sometimes I carry things and other times people. The manual is better as you have more control. I love this car. It has all the modern comforts but not the hassle of a big van. I can park in shopping centres.......van owners you know what I mean.

BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size1.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Vans

Find out how Renault Kangoo compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Anthony
AnthonySydney, Australia
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little van.

published

Purchased in August 2016 for $28,000.00.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
ferkemall
ferkemallpoole
  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Too complex to maintain

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic
ferkemall
ferkemall
Barnyardgambler
Barnyardgambler
  • 5 reviews
  • 14 likes

Not for tall drivers.

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic

Questions & Answers

Kieran B.
Kieran B.asked
Kangoo X61.II (2013-2021)

What are the service intervals for a timing belt on a 1.6lt petrol ?

No answers
Joshua P.
Joshua P.asked
Kangoo X61.II (2013-2021)

hi I am looking at buying a Renault kangoo 2018 SWB EDC f61 phase 2. after reading some reviews here I don't know if I should get one, it is used and has about 92,000 km on the car.

I am just wondering if the van is any good or have you run into problems with these vans?

2 answers
Phillip C.
Phillip C.

Hi. Have a Kangoo 1.6 manual and was just saying to a friend that it was a great idea buying it...has been a pearl. Great design but it was in a good condition with a new clutch and cambelt...best thing I did thou was to put good continental tyres on it...transformed the ride, noise and handling.. has been 100 per cent reliable. new gearlever leather was the only repair that was a necessary thing to do. Just check for oil leaks esp gearbox...Can be a problem if the drive shaft seals are leaking or perished...possibly empty gearbox of oil if left long enough...Cheers

Joshua P.
Joshua P.

thanks for the tips

Billy B.
Billy B.asked
Kangoo

Thoughts on the kangoo being an all rounder - work car tuggerah to Sydney every week day .. then camper when over work lol

I like the caddy but the reviews on it are scary!

2 answers
Robyn W.
Robyn W.

I have 2019 model Kangoo diesel auto from Hilton Gosford. At 17000 kms had a new gear selector unit installed in March and still have problem with Reverse being so sloppy that a 4mm play puts it in N or P.
No help from Gosford dealer so working with Newcastle. It’s a no from me.

Billy B.
Billy B.

Thanks I dodged it in the end

See all Renault Kangoo questions

Get an answer from our members

Renault Kangoo

Details

Compare all 4 Renault Kangoo
CategoryVansVansVansVans
Release dateJan 2013Jan 2004Jan 2007Jan 2010
Discontinuation dateDec 2007Dec 2010Dec 2013
Replaced byRenault Kangoo X76.IIRenault Kangoo X61.IRenault Kangoo X61.II
Compare all 4 Renault Kangoo

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.