??!
9 photos
Renault Kangoo

Renault Kangoo

X61.II, X76.II, X76.I, X61.I
3.0 from 21 reviews

See the Best Vans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
4
1 star
5

Troyp

TroypGosford

  • 6 reviews

Daily work van with minor issues

published

This is a commercial car just out of warrenty used for getting deliveries from a to b
The car is used daily and other then some poor quality issues is doing ok.
The car is serviced as per log book or just prior to keep it in top shape.
I had a fuel issue that was repaired under warrenty

I see the underbody cover has started deteriating only done 60k

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
See all answers

Angiepants

AngiepantsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 13 reviews
  • 9 likes

badly designed

published

Purchased in July 2019 for $9,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Guenther Z.

Guenther Z.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

ABS Issue on 2016 Renault Kangoo Maxi , Service performance very questionable

published

Purchased in September 2016.

Year2016
renolike

renolikebournemouth

Why did you bother!

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.2L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Mal

MalGoulburn

Renault Kangoo - an impressive small van.

published

The Renault Kangoo - a joyfully French take on a small commercial vehicle.
The Kangoo is a likeable, economical and car-like van with character.
There is a range of options and accessories available to tailor the design as you wish.
At home in urban areas, the Kangoo is also excellent on highway trips.

BadgeCompact
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.2L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Peter L

Peter LDoreen VIC 3754

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent choice of work vehicle

published

My perfect work van,120K trouble free. Comfortable/Quite ride for long rural to short city driving. Great access to your cargo or tools of trade. Useful clearance for underground car parking even with roof racks fitted. Aftermarket rear air suspension easily fitted at low cost. Running expenses low stick to original Continental tyres as good for 50k +. Will definitely trade in for same again.

P.S. Speed limiter ideally suited for inner city 40K zones

BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size1.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Terrible experience and big mistake on buying this van

published
Badgexxx
Wheelbasexxxxxx
Engine Sizexxxxxxx
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Horst

HorstKatoomba

Cooling system

published
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Horst
Horst

Nick

Nick

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not highly recommended

published
BadgeRenault Kangoo
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Maxi Crew is excellent

published

This is the perfect mini van for my business needs as sometimes I carry things and other times people. The manual is better as you have more control. I love this car. It has all the modern comforts but not the hassle of a big van. I can park in shopping centres.......van owners you know what I mean.

BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size1.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Anthony

AnthonySydney, Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little van.

published
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size1.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016

ferkemall

ferkemallpoole

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Too complex to maintain

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
ferkemall
ferkemall

Barnyardgambler

Barnyardgambler

  • 5 reviews
  • 14 likes

Not for tall drivers.

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic

Avoid.

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic

oldguy60

oldguy60AU

  • 18 reviews

A Little Different But A Nice Experience

published
Engine Size1.5L Turbo
6 comments
alicerita
alicerita
Spent Sir
Spent Sir
oldguy60
oldguy60

Renault Kangoo Lemon

published

Beware: do not buy this car. I purchased a 2009 model and I used it in my cleaning business. It's done only 40,000 km but in that time I have changed a cylinder, starter motor, the entire air con system and all out of warranty. Roughly $6K of work. Now this week I am told the computer is broken which is another $2-3K. I bought it because it was the only auto van in market and was good price. Worse mistake ever and to rub salt into the wound Renault Australia that is run under Nissan could not give a toss about my concerns. French are good at wine, cheese and running away from wars. Cars. No. Disgrace.
Small
Cyclinder broken. Starter motor. Air con system.

TransmissionAutomatic
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L

Jamie the bee

Jamie the beeMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Cheapest option in class

published
Engine Size1.6L
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort

Andy Del

Andy DelSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great van, just lacking some more seats

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
Date PurchasedApr 2006
1 comment
baden
baden

I have had the exact same experience as Andy. looking forward to my next Kangoo. just love it. Baden.


Rotor

RotorPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Absolute load of rubbish

published

Rides as rough as guts Very noisy The automatic transmission is very poor with falling back to second gear at free way speeds engine light comes on and you have to shut the engine down and restart Replaced gearbox now its worse Had a Combo before this it wasn't great but at 200k km it drove better and more quietly than the Kangoo Eurotrash
It moved
Eurotrash enough said

TransmissionAutomatic
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
1 comment
notacarbuff
notacarbuff

unreliable, costly, total regret buying this car

published

2006 Kangoo Renault - bought brand new. I have replaced the alternator twice, fuel pump, starter motor and now the transmission. Also the paint is fading badly particulary on the roof and bonnet. It is very unreliable. Parts are difficult to source in Australia. No after sales service!!!!!!!! A nightmare to own
originally purchased as it was converted for a wheelchair car
Major mechanical problems.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.6L

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Tony

Tonyasked

Hi Guys. Can anyone help? I have a 2005 Renault Kangoo and the middle air vents on the dash do not open or close. I took the two vents out and see that the air flap is not connected to the centre black dial. Does anyone know how the flap connects to the control dial?
Thanks
Tony

No answers

Sharon Kong

Sharon Kongasked

Where is the transmission dip stick on a Renault kangoo 1.6L 2013
Thank you

1 answer
Guenther Z.
Guenther Z.

Mine is with a manual 6 speed gear box... Only the dip stick for the engine oil there.
A hint here. On some engines the engine oil settles down much slower than the usual 10 minutes given in the User Manual. If you top up on such an engine to max mark after 10 min ,
you will see its much above max mark next morning...
And this is bad....
Guenther


C Howard

C Howardasked

My Kangoo has a leak that seems to becoming down the inside of the dash and pooling on the passenger side floor? any ideas where the leak could be as I cannot find it.

2 answers
A.J.L.
A.J.L.

Heater core ? Is the fluid green and smells ? Leaves a white residue.

A.J.L.
A.J.L.

Could be the heater core leaking coolant. This is usually green or red and dries with white residue. Is the coolant level in the bottle slowly going down ? To check for the leak take for a run with the heater control fully open and check when left parked


Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.