??!
8 photos
Renault Trafic

Renault Trafic

X82, X83.III, X83.I, X83.II
3.3 from 50 reviews

See the Best Vans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
18
4 star
11
3 star
4
2 star
2
1 star
15

Satisfied

published

I drive this van 70 to 100kms per day to and from work. Performs well, 7 litres Diesel per 100kms. 50,000kms to date and the only issue was that the rear power outlet never worked from day 1. I run many company vehicles but never thought I would own a Renault, totally happy todate.

Purchased for $34,500.00.


Waste of money

published

Purchased van in 2017 have had nothing but problems, Diesel particulate filter keeps blocking, apparently it's due to the way I drive.not sure what they mean but I drive to work site park van and then drive home the way I have been for the last 20 years with different vehicles and have never had a problem ( should have purchased another Nissan nivara) not sure how else to drive vehicle. Renault australia refused to fix under warranty but surprise surprise once I got consumer affairs involved they agreed to fix it.

Purchased in May 2017 for $35,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

HannesOosthuizen

HannesOosthuizenSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Crap car, worse service

published

Purchased in March 2018 for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
HannesOosthuizen
HannesOosthuizen

It still in the shop getting a new engine. About 2 months now. The first time was 1 month. 18% of the time I owned this car it was broken

These van are rubbish

published

Gearbox stiff in winter and will pqck in after 8 years, injectors fail and need to change all 4, really shocking how brutally cheap these vans are, how can thry get away with making and selling them.

Purchased in June 2017 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Big white elephant.

published

Overall cheap to run. Good luck on getting dealer and manufacturer back up on warranty issues near impossible. Had the wrong car delivered 3 times. Took 6 months and threatened court action to resolve. This vehicle has only 30000 klms on the clock 2016 model. At the moment interior grab handles are melting with the summer heat and renault dealer have implied I am responsible for this. Booking a service is a farce as they have a 6 week wait at the moment here in Brisbane south. Sliding door has dropped and the dealer has told me to stop using it so mutch. It must only be for decoration . A $45000.00 lemon. Thoroughly disgusted with the dealers and Renault Australia.

BadgeTech.
Engine Size$45000.00 lemon
LineL2 H2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
John
John

Dollar

DollarMid North Coast, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Excellent 2016 LWB

published
BadgedCi 140
Engine Size1.6L Twin-Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2016

The crew cab is concept , 5 seats and more room then a dual cab Ute in the back

published
BadgeDCI 140
Engine Size1.6L Twin-Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017

Andrew

AndrewShoalhaven

  • 3 reviews

Best work vehicle I’ve had in 20 yrs

published

Best business purchase I’ve made. Bought this new and now has over 140,000 kms, always loaded and towing heavy trailers most of the time. Never had any major issues. Never breaks down. Fantastic fuel economy. Never had gearbox issues (6 speed manual). Comfortable enough to use on weekends going to the shop. I have the long wheel base and drives like a car not a large van. I can not recommend this van highly enough. Even the price is fairly cheap for what you get. And the 2.0 diesel never feels under powered in any situation. Best work car I’ve ever owned and it’s been an asset to the business. I’d buy another one tomorrow without hesitation.

Badgedci115
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
Line0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2014

Paul

PaulGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Just a fantastic van

published

I purchased a swb trafic in sept 2016 and by nov 18 has not skipped a beat..and has done 129,000 km in that period..drove from Gold Coast to Goulburn and still had fuel left for approx another 100 km further..so fuel efficient it is amazing.. and very spacious to load all kitchen equipment for travelling. In fact it is one of the best cars i have ever purchased. Looking forward to the next one but will go for a LWB dual..i just love my trafic..service has been impeccable too.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.6L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Terrible van

published

I use this van for my business as a car detailer. It has my whole business on board and is a massive advert for me. It has been utterly horrendous and I will never purchase another. It has done under 40k and so far has had.. a new turbo, aircon condenser, fuel pump, master cylinder, gear link cables, radio, gearbox. It’s pathetic and so is the customer service.. please avoid even the dealers admit to them being problematic!

BadgeComfort
Engine Size1.6L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Chris Player

Chris PlayerSydney

  • 3 reviews

Good to drive, better looking than most vans

published

My van is used for my carpet cleaning business

After a minor prang, it took 3 months for replacement parts to arrive (sliding door and rear panel) from France. It was frustrating because the van looked like a half chewed minty and didn’t reflect well on my business.

Seems to be burning oil quickly, dipstick on low 5000km after first service. Despite getting it serviced at 15,000km and their recommended interval is 30,000km.

Doesn’t like going up steep driveways in forward motion. Vehicle wouldn’t get traction on front wheels and needed to be towed.

Other than that - comfortable drive, great looks and great size for my business

BadgedCi 140
Engine Size1.6L Twin-Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Do not purchase

published

I have had the Trafic since new in May 2017. The master clutch has been replaced 6 times, air bag sensor failed nd had to be replaced, then the air conditioner motor failed. Have just had to have my breaks replaced and was told that the rotors only have a life expectancy of 40,000kms. Dropped of the van to have breaks changed and has taken 5 days as the dealership doesn’t have any in stock.
They should not be allowed to sell this pos in Australia if they cannot perform to the Aussie conditions.
The dealership I purchased it from (Brian Hilton Gosford) is an absolute waste of time to deal with

DO NOT BUY A TRAFIC

BadgedCi 140
Engine Size1.6L Twin-Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Bella

BellaSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Always needing to replace parts.

published

Our last Renault needed to have the gearbox replaced and our current one is needing a new fuel sensor gauge which is going to be expensive since it is in the fuel tank and the part itself is $500-$600.
Our local dealership closed because they were sick of always fixing these vehicles and having the same people coming in regularly with issues.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
LineL1 H1
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012

expensive piece of trash

published
BadgeBase
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
LineL2 H1
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

They have gear box issues but I still love it

published
BadgedCi 90
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
LineL2 H1
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2012
Jesse

JesseSydeny

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Desperate

published
BadgeIntegral
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2015

This Renault Trafic has been nothing but trouble, don't go near it.

published
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.6L Twin-Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Unfortunately Not So Good

published
BadgedCi 140
Engine Size1.6L Twin-Turbo
LineL1 H1
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2015

Lame

LameSunshine coast

The absolute worst get the Hyundai Iload

published

Won't change gears so we have to get it into a dealer. can't get into a dealer untill a month away. If you're looking at a renault for business please stay sway as Renault Australia has no say when someone could see your car. we have low mileage $77000 and already looking at a possible $12000.00 plus the cost of being without our company vehicle. Had an independent mechanic look at it and he can't believe we are having mechanical failures like this so early on with such low mileage. The are too expensive and the service is too slow for your business to rely on such an investment/liability Will Keep updated.

BadgedCi 140
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Worst transmission of any vehicle I have driven in 30 years. Nothing but troubles

published
BadgedCi 90
Engine Size1.6L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Mick H

Mick Hasked

Hi, I have a 2013 renualt trafic LWB, it has just ticked over 75,000kms and have had to replace the starter motor. The mechanic noted the starter motor was covered in oil but couldn't find the source. Has anyone come across this issue before or suspect where the oil may be coming from? Thanks!

No answers

Blades

Bladesasked

Any one having radio problems?
Bought van new last year. Ever since new my radio would go to static noise only, when i turn my car on,this would happen few times a week, been back n forth to dealer for about 9 month prob took it in 10 times. Got worse every time i took it in.
It would go to static every time i start car, starting loosing it memories of stations, than gps memory start to go. Eventually they change to new head unit towards end of 1 year ownership.
Than it started again like i original got it.
It would go to static once a while, took back,now's its allmost every time i start car, last time changed the attenna mount,
Still same. I dont know if this will ever get fix. With all the down time the car is in renault... it be comming a burden... on my business. Renault sa very time bring it we have a look at it...

2 answers
HannesOosthuizen
HannesOosthuizen

My radio is fine. But my engine/clutch and harmonic balancer is not. It has been in the shop about 19-20 % of the time I have owned it. Serious drain on my business. I have $6k in cost while the peice of crap van has been in for warranty work. I had to buy another van just to go to work.

BTW the new engine and clutch prob would have cost me $15k if it happened 1 day after the warranty ended. And good luck getting the time of day from the dealer who sold it to me.

John
John

Had similar problems but with the blue tooth from van to phone
Drops out back to dealer but no luck. Also maps were out of date when vehicle was purchased new. Renault brisbane wanted $30 to update. Did it for nothing after contacting consumer affairs office of fair trading. Now the rear wiper arms fell off while driving. Will be going back to the new hiace when it is released Renault Australia do not give a toss on service once you purchase one. Also van now cronaclly pulls to the left
Back to Renault , they informed me they all do it and cannot do anything about it. Good luck with the radio issue I have had none.


Kyle M.

Kyle M.asked

the reviews im reading have turned me off buying the van, I have been excited for the upcoming test drives and was looking forward to purchasing..
I don't feel confident anymore as from what I have read the customer service is atrocious and dealerships have no respect or any urgency to have a vehicle back on the road efficiently..

why are these vans having such major issues so early on and furthermore why are these problems not rectified straight away?

5 answers
HannesOosthuizen
HannesOosthuizen

My traffic is still in the shop 2 months later. The first time was 1 month. Less than 17000km on it and 1 year old it's getting a new engine as we speak

Kyle M.
Kyle M.

Wow, that’s appalling I’m not sure how it’s even legal to do that to a customer. 1 year old.. all well and good if it’s under warranty but the van shouldn’t be in the shop for than a week.dod they provide a curtesy car?

HannesOosthuizen
HannesOosthuizen

9 weeks to have the engine replaced.


Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.