??!
8 photos
Renault Trafic

Renault Trafic

X82, X83.III, X83.I, X83.II
3.1 from 57 reviews

Reviews

3.1

57 reviews
5
(19)
4
(12)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(20)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.3 (10)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.7 (9)
  • Handling
    2.3 (9)
  • Braking
    2.3 (9)
  • Suspension
    2.6 (9)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.8 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.6 (9)
  • Interior Design
    2.9 (9)
  • Boot Size
    3.1 (9)
  • Features
    2.3 (9)
  • Comfort
    3.2 (9)
Previous
Next
Gordon

GordonPerth, WA

Back to the dealer again

published
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
ash

ashboonooroo qld

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

don't buy one

published

Purchased in October 2018 for A$34,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Curlzbean

CurlzbeanPerth, WA

Trafic x82 lwb

published

Just done over 50000kms without any problems, used as a daily driver and campervan for holidays. Amazing fuel economy for long distance drives and sits easily on 110km/h. Very comfortable suspension and seating, difficult to fault.

Purchased in March 2018 for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Vans

Find out how Renault Trafic compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not very reliable

published

Purchased in February 2017 at Renault for A$37,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Nezz

NezzSydney, NSW

Waste of money steer clear of the trafic

published

Purchased in June 2019 at Renault for A$38,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Vic Fkiaras

Vic FkiarasGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

I bought a bamboo green lemon

published

Purchased in June 2016 for A$32,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Tmiller1079

Tmiller1079Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Generally great can - a few quirks

published

Purchased in February 2017 at Essendon Renault for A$40,574.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Satisfied

published

I drive this van 70 to 100kms per day to and from work. Performs well, 7 litres Diesel per 100kms. 50,000kms to date and the only issue was that the rear power outlet never worked from day 1. I run many company vehicles but never thought I would own a Renault, totally happy todate.

Purchased for A$34,500.00.

Waste of money

published

Purchased van in 2017 have had nothing but problems, Diesel particulate filter keeps blocking, apparently it's due to the way I drive.not sure what they mean but I drive to work site park van and then drive home the way I have been for the last 20 years with different vehicles and have never had a problem ( should have purchased another Nissan nivara) not sure how else to drive vehicle. Renault australia refused to fix under warranty but surprise surprise once I got consumer affairs involved they agreed to fix it.

Purchased in May 2017 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Vans

Find out how Renault Trafic compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
HannesOosthuizen

HannesOosthuizenSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Crap car, worse service

published

Purchased in March 2018 for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment

It still in the shop getting a new engine. About 2 months now. The first time was 1 month. 18% of the time I owned this car it was broken

These van are rubbish

published

Gearbox stiff in winter and will pqck in after 8 years, injectors fail and need to change all 4, really shocking how brutally cheap these vans are, how can thry get away with making and selling them.

Purchased in June 2017 for A$4,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2011
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
John

JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Big white elephant.

published

Overall cheap to run. Good luck on getting dealer and manufacturer back up on warranty issues near impossible. Had the wrong car delivered 3 times. Took 6 months and threatened court action to resolve. This vehicle has only 30000 klms on the clock 2016 model. At the moment interior grab handles are melting with the summer heat and renault dealer have implied I am responsible for this. Booking a service is a farce as they have a 6 week wait at the moment here in Brisbane south. Sliding door has dropped and the dealer has told me to stop using it so mutch. It must only be for decoration . A $45000.00 lemon. Thoroughly disgusted with the dealers and Renault Australia.

BadgeTech.
Engine Size$45000.00 lemon
LineL2 H2
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
John
John
Dollar

DollarMid North Coast, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent 2016 LWB

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The crew cab is concept , 5 seats and more room then a dual cab Ute in the back

published
BadgeDCI 140
Engine Size1.6L Twin-Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Andrew H.

Andrew H.Shoalhaven

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Best work vehicle I’ve had in 20 yrs

published

Best business purchase I’ve made. Bought this new and now has over 140,000 kms, always loaded and towing heavy trailers most of the time. Never had any major issues. Never breaks down. Fantastic fuel economy. Never had gearbox issues (6 speed manual). Comfortable enough to use on weekends going to the shop. I have the long wheel base and drives like a car not a large van. I can not recommend this van highly enough. Even the price is fairly cheap for what you get. And the 2.0 diesel never feels under powered in any situation. Best work car I’ve ever owned and it’s been an asset to the business. I’d buy another one tomorrow without hesitation.

Badgedci115
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
Line0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2014
Vans

Find out how Renault Trafic compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Paul

PaulGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Just a fantastic van

published

I purchased a swb trafic in sept 2016 and by nov 18 has not skipped a beat..and has done 129,000 km in that period..drove from Gold Coast to Goulburn and still had fuel left for approx another 100 km further..so fuel efficient it is amazing.. and very spacious to load all kitchen equipment for travelling. In fact it is one of the best cars i have ever purchased. Looking forward to the next one but will go for a LWB dual..i just love my trafic..service has been impeccable too.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.6L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2016

Terrible van

published

I use this van for my business as a car detailer. It has my whole business on board and is a massive advert for me. It has been utterly horrendous and I will never purchase another. It has done under 40k and so far has had.. a new turbo, aircon condenser, fuel pump, master cylinder, gear link cables, radio, gearbox. It’s pathetic and so is the customer service.. please avoid even the dealers admit to them being problematic!

BadgeComfort
Engine Size1.6L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Chris Player

Chris PlayerSydney

  • 3 reviews

Good to drive, better looking than most vans

published

My van is used for my carpet cleaning business

After a minor prang, it took 3 months for replacement parts to arrive (sliding door and rear panel) from France. It was frustrating because the van looked like a half chewed minty and didn’t reflect well on my business.

Seems to be burning oil quickly, dipstick on low 5000km after first service. Despite getting it serviced at 15,000km and their recommended interval is 30,000km.

Doesn’t like going up steep driveways in forward motion. Vehicle wouldn’t get traction on front wheels and needed to be towed.

Other than that - comfortable drive, great looks and great size for my business

BadgedCi 140
Engine Size1.6L Twin-Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Do not purchase

published

I have had the Trafic since new in May 2017. The master clutch has been replaced 6 times, air bag sensor failed nd had to be replaced, then the air conditioner motor failed. Have just had to have my breaks replaced and was told that the rotors only have a life expectancy of 40,000kms. Dropped of the van to have breaks changed and has taken 5 days as the dealership doesn’t have any in stock.
They should not be allowed to sell this pos in Australia if they cannot perform to the Aussie conditions.
The dealership I purchased it from (Brian Hilton Gosford) is an absolute waste of time to deal with

DO NOT BUY A TRAFIC

BadgedCi 140
Engine Size1.6L Twin-Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Bella

BellaSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Always needing to replace parts.

published

Our last Renault needed to have the gearbox replaced and our current one is needing a new fuel sensor gauge which is going to be expensive since it is in the fuel tank and the part itself is $500-$600.
Our local dealership closed because they were sick of always fixing these vehicles and having the same people coming in regularly with issues.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
LineL1 H1
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Saeed S.

Saeed S.asked

Trafic X82 (2015-2020)

Renault traficx82 SwB85K is better or83 I bought in2019 and what is different between themand also what is the colour oyster grey Is can u send me the pic of this colour pls.

1 answer
Gordon
Gordon

Sorry can not answer that

Ken C.

Ken C.asked

Trafic

Has any other Traffic owners had trouble with the side doors going out of alignment.
Mine is a 2017

No answers
Marco D.

Marco D.asked

Trafic

Hi everyone, at the moment I'm about to buy a Renault Trafic (2012 or 2014), one of them have had their transmission replaced, the other one not yet but as it seems pretty jerky I worry the time to change might come for that one too, do all Renault Trafic of that version (2012-2014) have the same problem?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Vans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.