??!
1 photo
RentalCover.com

RentalCover.com

3.7 from 91 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.7

91 reviews
5
(55)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(25)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (49)
  • Transparency
    3.4 (44)
  • Customer Service
    3.2 (50)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (20), 1-2 weeks (7), 2-4 weeks (4), 3+ months (3) and 1-2 months (2)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (35) · No (5)
Previous
Next

No support

published

I never had response for my enquiries. I did not have to claim any accident, but simple admin queries after the purchase have never been answered (never got an email reply and they dont have any chat or phone number in the website). I imagine i would have a huge headache if i need to undertake any claiming. About half of price offered by the rental companies, but no guarantees i would have the service provided if needed.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Paul

PaulPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Easy comms and instant claim processing

published

First time taking out a policy with these guys. Was very cheap. Ended up blowing a tyre on a hire car and the whole claim was processed and in my bank account with 48 hours. Was genuinely shocked at the speed and level of service offered.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Daniel Walker

Daniel Walker

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Dreadful communication. Had to appeal to Australian Financial Complaints Authority to make them pay claim

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how RentalCover.com compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Fast easy claim process

published

Fast response to my first ever claim and was paid in full within a week. All contact was very friendly and I was thankful it was an easy process. I would definitely recommend.

Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Stephen

StephenRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • Verified customer

Good value for money

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Antonina

AntoninaPerth, WA

Highly recommended.

published

We went through three claims with the rental covers.
Great value for money.
Decent cost effective policy.
The claim process was flawless, quick and smooth.
Very helpful.
Would definitely use them again.
Thanks

Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Tassie Devil

Tassie DevilSouth East Queensland, QLD

No fuss claims processing and good value

published

Why would anyone use the insurance offered by the rental car companies? RentalCover is good value and my recent Claim was paid in 24 hours. Have used them three times.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
heidi

heidiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Slight scrape

published

Had a car park scrap we noticed on returning to our car .
Rentals . Com were so fast to process our claim and very helpful we will use again
Thankyou great service

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess and Other
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
steman

steman

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

Must have insurance.

published

Simple, cheap insurance that protects you, from what could only be described as overpriced repair costs, for extremely minor damage to rental vehicles.
Claim process could use some minor tweaking, but process only took a couple of days once I had all the paperwork. Have added it on a couple of rentals, but this was the first time I have made a claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how RentalCover.com compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Milan

MilanWestern Australia

Good value for money and excellent after sales service.

published

My claim was processed with ease and flawless even through the COVID19 shut down. They kept in contact throughout the claim whilst waiting for the car rental company to provide documents. This was the 1st time I bought this policy but will definitely purchase future insurance from rental.com.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Kerry

KerrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Really happy with Rentalcover.com

published

I thought the policy was decent value for money was a much more inclusive policy with a higher monetary coverage then rental car agencies. No hidden clauses and very fast professional processing and payout on my claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
  • Verified customer

Warning : cancellation fees !!!!

published

They charge cancellation fees whereas it is stated in the sell agreement that they don't. They say that they do that because of the covid19 but it is just a theft. They have lost a client and they will loose their reputation. What a shame.

Update : after several email exchanges I have been refunded

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Brian Tayler

Brian TaylerSouth East Queensland, QLD

Honest company and highly recommended

published

I had a minor accident with a rental car. The rental company felt so dishonest, charging every fee imaginable and the repair costs were not realistic. If I had paid 50% more than Rental Cover to insure with them, they would have found some way to avoid covering me in full. Rental Cover paid everything, quickly and in total.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Nate

NateVictoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified customer

Deceptive cancellation policy

published

I purchased a policy prior to the current COVID-19 situation. When the COVID-19 situation developed I decided to cancel my travel plans and the policy. Upon cancelling way before the car pickup date they wanted to charge me a $10 (AUD) fee for a $25 policy.

I was very surprised because a cancellation fee is not even mentioned in their own Terms and Conditions. They also make "Cancel at anytime" a big selling point on their homepage. I see this as incredibly deceptive and anti-consumer. I have already submitted a report to the ACCC.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Insurance cover is useless

published

I bought the insurance cover($110) when I booked a car from Rental cover. I came to know the insurance of supplier($43) was far cheaper than what rental cover has charged me. If I buy insurance from a supplier, I do not have to pay the excess($4200).

However, after having an accident, I had to pay the excess as I did not buy insurance from a supplier and it was 4200 NZD. When I submitted a claim, it's been more than 2 weeks and the rental cover is saying they need to get the refund from the supplier, only then they can give me my money back.

I am literally begging for my own money from them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how RentalCover.com compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Leon68

Leon68Perth, WA

  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Trying to cancel

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Rob

RobSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Outstanding customer service

published

The claim was relatively easy to lodge, the communication in response was prompt and best of all the claim was paid in three days.
I would definitely use this service again

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Sonia

SoniaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Fantastic Handling of Claim

published

I would never have expected to have to make a claim, but when someone smashed into my hire car the service from RentalCover was really fantastic. Online process was straightforward. They followed up to make sure I submitted all documentation. The claim was paid in full within two days after I had. They delivered what they promised, and more in terms of service. I honestly couldn't ask for better in such a stressful situation.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Van X Huynh

Van X HuynhSydney, NSW

No support

published

No support. There is no phone contact number. When I send an email to RentalCover, I received a reply almost immediately but it looks like that I was talking with a machine instead of a human being. The money was taken out from my credit card almost immediately when I buy a policy but when I cancelled my policy and want my money back I have no one to talk to.

Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
  • Verified customer

Very bad!

published

Insurance was not valid at the car rental in Malta. No Support what so ever from Rentalcover.com. i did not get my money back. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

mic

micasked

RentalCover.com asks if your vehicle is a 4x4 or a car. Is a Mitsubishi AWD a 4x4 or a car?

No answers
Nat.B

Nat.Basked

Dose RentalCover.com have a email add i can contact them on? Im having problems claiming on their website: https://www.rentalcover.com

1 answer
Stephen
Stephen

Hi Nat.B
You could likely use the email that they used to correspond with me which was claims@rentalcover.com. Best if you reference your policy number in the subject line...
I also suggest that you persist with filling in their forms and provide all the information requested, My experience proves to me that there are good people on the other end, and it pays to be thorough.... Hope this helps....

Ryan Vines

Ryan Vinesasked

Hi,

I am looking at hiring a 4 wheel drive with a roof top camper in darwin and doing some off road driving (Gibb River Road). Judging by the website if I take a policy that covers both campervans and 4wd ill be fine as long as the Gibb River Road is one of the destinations allowed in the agreement with the rental company (RedSands Campers). Just want to make sure this is correct. Also want to confirm that the company RedSands Campers is covered under this policy.

Ryan Vines

2 answers
Kerry
Kerry

Hi Ryan, yes rental covers policy covering 4 wheel drive and campers is comprehensive as long as you stick to the roads that are mapped. I dont see why Red sands campers wouldn't be covered.

Milan
Milan

Hi Ryan,
We took out a Rentalcover policy for our rental12 seater Hiace whilst traveling in NZ in Feb this year and unfortunately had an accident. Rentalcover were very efficient and helpful with my claim. Just make sure you take as many photos of any damage.
Enjoy your trip.

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryTravel Insurance
Email Address agentsupport@rentalcover.com
24-Hour Phone Contact No
Online Live Chat No
UnderwriterAssetinsure
Maximum Age Covered 99 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance Not Included
Accidental DeathNot Included
Emergency DentalNot Included
Resumption of Journey Not Included
Hospital Cash AllowanceNot Included
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital ExpensesNot Included
Loss of IncomeNot Included
Permanent DisabilityNot Included
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash Not Included
Delayed Luggage Not Included
Credit Card FraudNot Included
Travel Documents / Passport Not Included
Maximum Single Item Limit Not Included
Luggage & Personal Effects Not Included
Ancillary
Rental Vehicle Excess Up to $100,000. $0 excess payable.
Motorbike / Moped Coverage Not Included
Domestic Pet Care Not Included
Special Activities Packages
GolfNot Included
CruiseNot Included
Adventure Not Included
Snow / SkiNot Included
Release dateJan 2014

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.