??!
1 photo
RentalCover.com

RentalCover.com

3.8 from 70 reviews

See the Best Travel Insurance in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
43
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
19

Jerry Lek

Jerry LekPerth, WA

Excellent Service by Rentalcover.com

published

I was very impressed with the speed at which my car damage claim was processed by Rentalcover.com. A claim was submitted on Sunday and it was processed and approved on the following Monday. Reimbursement of my claim was processed almost immediately after my submission of bank details. Highly recommend for a peaceful mind when renting a car for your vacation.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Dan Kost

Dan KostMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Only insurance you need

published

Had a minor accident, other than having to gather up a lot of information ourselves from the chosen rental car company, the process was easy and the communication was effective.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAustralia
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Lisa

LisaQueensland

Highly Recommend

published

I discovered RentalCover and have used taken out cover many times these past 2 yrs. Last trip was first time claim and within 5 hrs of submitting online it was approve with payment in my bank 48hrs later.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Philip Magee

Philip MageeWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Hassle free & Prompt

published

On making a small claim. It was handled quickly and professional. Everything well automated. Couldn't believe how quick the money was in our bank. We would definitely use them again.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Highly recommend

published

On making a small claim. It was handled quickly and professional. Everything well automated. Couldnt believe how quick the money was in our bank. We would definitely use them again.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

draggy

draggySouth East Queensland, QLD

Claim approved, simple and fast.

published

I had an all-inclusive policy to cover my rental car. Had a puncture, paid a machanic to replace the tyre, then on returning the car the rental agency wanted to replace it again (because the brand of tyre wasn't the same..) so was charged by them as well. RentalCover refunded these expenses, within days. It was a pretty automated process, very simple and easy, barely took any time. This is really good, simple, all-inclusive cover that actually pays when you need it. 5 stars!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

davidp

davidpSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

No third party damage excess coverage when u r at fault

published

Rentalcover are cheap because they don't cover the third party damage excess. For example, you make a silly driving error in your rental car and run into a Ferrari causing $20K damage to the Ferrari (plus damage to your rental car). Typically, the rental car's most basic insurance covers third party damage, but has an excess of (say) $2500. That means the rental car company pays for $17.5K of damage, but asks you to pay the excess of $2500. If you take out Rentalcover insurance, they will not reimburse you for that $2500 excess. They do not cover third party damage! They do not disclose this on their 'quote' pages. As well, they are very difficult to contact. No phone numbers or email - just a chat service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationNew Zealand
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Terry

TerrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Many many ticks and just a couple bricks

published
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
  • Verified customer

Will not help you when you need it!!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Sydneykiwi

SydneykiwiSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

ambiguous insurance addition at booking.com

published

just booked a rental car for mexico and saw the full insurance option that seemed to be included in the total price of rental, so booked the car, and discovered 3 days later i have been charged an extra 100aud for 4 days cover. thought it was direct through Budget car rental. not so.. have since cancelled the extra cover and will do it directly at the counter.. no hassles , no mucking around with claims and receipts and unprofessional third party insurance companies, also most travel insurance cover most damages to rental cars anyway, why have 2 forms of insurance. a complete junk insurance setup. don't bother wouldn't recommend this scenario to anyone

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Brian

BrianSouth East Queensland, QLD

Automated service with very impersonal non user friendly service.

published

For the simplest of claims they kept sending automated emails asking for information that had been provided if someone had taken the time to look at it. Aim to tire you with their process so you would give up.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationNew Zealand
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Great service and good deal

published

Was involved in an accident where someone hit me on the bumper at a junction. Paid the excess to the rental company first, and claimed from rentalcover. Claim process took 2-3weeks

DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks

Dan

DanPerth, WA

Happy with Rental Cover

published

When renting a car in the US I damaged a tire when driving through a road construction site, and had to purchase a replacement. When I returned from overseas I put in a claim for the tire. Once I provided the required documentation I received reimbursement for the tire. The whole process was handled promptly and efficiently. I would use Rental Cover again and recommend them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Anne Gibson

Anne GibsonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Beware - these guys are total scammers!

published

You pay for Full Protection then when you get a scratch on the car and are charged 400 Euro by the crooked car company, you go to claim through Rental Cover and they say no, you've got to claim it through your Bank. So why do they charge a premium? Complete scammers and probably in cahoots with the dodgy car rental companies. Be very very careful!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Dannielle

DannielleSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

SCAM. Waste of time and money.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJune 2019
See all answers

Very Efficient.

published

Very Efficient. Claim approved within 24 hrs and paid the next day, Would definitely use again.
The claim process was very easy, I would much rather use Rentalcover than use the insurance that the car hire companies try and get you to by

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Excellent full cover

published

Rentalcover.com were very competitive regarding pricing. Very easy to arrange on the internet and can be setup to cover a time period with one or more cars as I did recently.
They also cover 4x4 vehicles.
They cover almost everything including windscreens, underbody and tyres.
Recently a stone chip in the windscreen was fully covered.
I can senserly recommend rentalcover.com
Thank, Theo

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationAustralia
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Anne

AnnePerth, WA

Great service

published

Had a chip on the front bumper of the car from Hertz Edinburgh airport after a month.
Got back to Australia and contacted this insurance company.
They gave me all the steps to fill in and I sent it off. Had to wait on my credit card statement to prove I had paid Hertz but as soon as I sent that 24 hours later they finalised the bill.
They put the money into my account straight away, So would not hesitate to use them again.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Senior
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

  • Verified customer

Stay away from these people -

published

Rented a car with cover. Two months after rental got charged AU6000-00 by Hertz. Rental cover has no one to speak to. Only a chat bot. We have no psperwork from Hertz.
Terribel

DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo

Worst company I have ever used scam

published

This company is by far the worst company I have ever had to deal with. They charged me 2 lots of cover and are impossible to get in touch with. This company has made the car 3 times the price of what it would have cost just to go to the car rental yourself and got a top of the line car. Still 3 days on and no response. The car rental app blame them they blame they car rental and no one takes responsibility and the customer ends up out of pocket every time. Please do not use this company you will regret it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAustralia
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Yoyo

Yoyoasked

Am I covered for insurance if I take insurance with rentalcover.com for pick up of car in Amsterdam and driving to Germany and returning to Amsterdam.

1 answer
Delio V.
Delio V.

The answer is “yes”, but be ready to produce a lot paperwork if you get into any kind of accident. Basically you have to pay upfront and then file a claim with the rentalcover. I personally recommend to get a insurance with the rental company.


Catherine S.

Catherine S.asked

Will Apollo accept RentalCover insurance to cover a Campervan?

1 answer
Mills
Mills

Sorry, don't know, ring Apollo and ask them.


tim w morrison

tim w morrisonasked

what is your telephone number ?

2 answers
tim w morrison
tim w morrison

i don't understand

tim w morrison
tim w morrison

what is your telephone number ?


Get an answer from our members and RentalCover.com representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.