??!

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
64
4 star
12
3 star
9
2 star
6
1 star
5

LORRAINE

LORRAINEPerth, WA

LOVERLY AND CRUSTY

published

My first cook was chicken and leak pie and they turned out wonderful.
The pastry was nice and crispy which will put a personal identity to my pies.
my husband was delighted that these were like no other pie we had purchased. the only fault that i burnt my fingers when loading the pastry.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi LORRAINE,
Great to hear, happy cooking!!!


Norm P.

Norm P.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Under cooked tips on pies

published

Purchased the pie maker on the 20th opened it up today the 26th used as per instructions only 1/2 cup of filling waited for the light to say it was ready. The results where far from satisfactory bottom was cooked on the outside inside was soggy and the tops where uncooked see photo? Decided to take back to store as this one is obliviously faulty. Store salesman when shown the photos said “looks like the top element not working. Can not fault Harvey norman store excellent service will update on new pie maker and results later

Purchased in August 2019 for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Sharonf

SharonfHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic!!

published

Was tired of wasting left overs so now I reinvent them into pies! Last night we had lamb baked dinner pies. I just cut everything up, put it in a frypan, thickened it with the left over gravy, popped it between puff pasty and 15 minutes later a great quick dinner. I made 12 and freezed 6 for lunches. The machine is great to use, comes with a double sided pastry cutter for top and bottom cut outs of pastry and wipes clean! I love it and the pies are a perfect size. No more wasted left overs in my house, my best purchase all winter! Tonight the family are having chicken vindaloo and rice pies. Fantastic investment!!

Purchased in June 2019 at Big W for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sharonf
Thanks for your great review! Glad to see you are creative with your pies. There is a little book you can download called 101 Great Pie Ideas. See what you think. Kind regards Sunbeam

col

colMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Can't go wrong with pastry

published

Great product! Son and family vegan and use regularly. Introduced friend to who loves it also, then mine bought through flybuy. Sons Harvey Norman for $69 jb also have shop around as can be very expensive..easy to use..large pastry base so join pieces no biggy. Cutters included freeze leftovers to use is up to your imagination. Recipes everywhere, wipe clean. Warm to use and in 10 minutes done..note to self save receipts

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
col
col

Thanks


NothappyJan

NothappyJanRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 10 likes

Seems like a good idea...NOT!

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Carol

CarolIllawarra, NSW

Purchased what I thought was the best pie maker on the market only to have it blow up after 5 WEEKS!! Made in China!

published

Have only tried pies to date!
Finished pies are very good and taste is all in the pie mix. Have not attempted any recipes from the booklet! Love the depth of actual pie!

Purchased in July 2019 at Myers for $79.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Carol,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. These are great little units. Sorry to hear of your PM4800 no longer functioning. Please return it the to store of purchase for a replacement. Kind Regards Sunbeam


t18

t18Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 26 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great for eggs.

published

Pies are east to make. Normally just put some chicken and leek into the frying pan, a pack of frozen pastry works fine and done in no time. Wish they were a bit bigger, but just make 2 instead of 1. Really good for fast dinner when we are running out of time during the week. Discovered that they make great eggs aswell. Crack an egg into the pie hole, close the lid and come back a few minutes later. They work perfectly and save having to clean up a frying pan. Quick breckie!

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi t18,
Thanks so much for the great review. Your idea to use eggs is fantastic. Enjoy!
Kind regards, Sunbeam


Shanice

Shanice

  • 7 reviews

Recommened 100%

published

An amazing piece of machinery. If your contemplating getting one just do it, it makes perfect pies, as someone who doesnt eat pies I really enjoy my home made ones now, stores easy and the cable wraps back up it the base. Easy to clean I usually just wipe over with a damp cloth while its still warm.

Purchased in August 2018 at Catch for $65.92.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Shanice,
Thanks so much for the great review. There is a book you can down load called 101 Great Ideas for extra inspiration and creativity. Enjoy!
Kind regards, Sunbeam

Michael Moxon

Michael MoxonSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Perfect Pies every time

published

Every pie i make in this comes out perfect.
I use shop bought puff pastry and put whatever left over ingredients i have from previous meals in it.
Butter chicken Pies, Nacho Mince Pies, Apple Pies and lots more.
I am very happy with this purchase and two of my friends have subsequently purchased the same pie makers.

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W for $70.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Michael Moxon,
Thanks for the great review!
Kind Regards Sunbeam

Love this throughout winter especially during footy season

published

I have used the pie maker for 5.5 years and made hundreds of pies. I freeze them in batches and reheat them in my air fryer. Great for using up left overs as well.

Purchased in June 2013 at Kmart Retail Stores for $29.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Helen, very happy to hear!!


Karin

KarinNortheast, VIC

Love this Pie Maker BUT would love to see a gadget that you can push down the pastry without using your fingers.

published

Cooks beautifully. Love that you can basically cook anything in it apart from soup lol. Would love to see Sunbeam bring out a gadget that you can push the pastry down without having to use your fingers. Would have given the extra star if this was included.

Purchased in October 2017 for $79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Karin,
Thank you for the great review. Well noted with your suggestion of a p'pastry pusher/moulder' and I will be passing this on to our product team.


Jane C.

Jane C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Love this Pie Maker!!!

published

Bought pie maker 2 weeks ago and wished it was available 45 years ago when first married. So far have made chicken & leek pies, apple & blackberry, and bacon, whole egg & baked bean pies. 15 minutes cooking and perfect pastry each time. Thanks for a great product!

Purchased in April 2019 at Big W Modbury, South Australia for $69.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Jane C, thank you for sharing that, lovely to read!!!


Love it!

published

This is my second Sunbeam pie maker, I also have the smaller 4 up machine. I've made all sorts of pies, cakes, mini pizza's, quiche, and even zucchini slice in this pie maker. Love the larger size, easy to use, and clean. *Season* the pie maker before the first use, and you'll never have any problems with food sticking, and no need to oil the machine ever again.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Anne,
Thank you for the great review, we really appreciate it!


Dave

DaveSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 12 likes

Not great

published

I had the one before and was good but seriously 1 whole sheet of short crust for the bottom and then you need to try and stick the rest together to make the second were you guys on acid or what.I can see why breville are so far in front of you guys with appliances IE specially there coffee machines.Please get back to your great applications in cooking please.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $59.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Dave,
Thank you for your feedback. We certainly be be forwarding it on to out design and technology teams.

marion

marionWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

We are hooked, but now need the 4 up size!

published

Instant success. Started using the very good recipe booklet. Good results give you courage to experiment. The times given seem a bit too long for bought puff pastry, but pies, a darker shade of brown, are still delicious!
Wiping with a damp cloth is not always sufficient, as there are some fine angles in the shaping which effectively contains any small overflows. Worth the extra effort.

Two pie bases and two tops can be cut from one sheet of bought pastry if you are careful. But a slice of cheese for the top of the filling makes a delicious variation.

WARNING-- The 2 up size may be enough for one person. But two people will need the 4 up size because the pies are so varied an delicious!

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Marion, so happy you are enjoying using the Pie Maker, thank you for the review!

Wal

WalSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

A1 Pie Maker

published

The pie maker is so simple to use and clean. Saves heating up the oven. My husband just loves making all sorts of pies. Cannot fault this appliance. Comes with pastry cutter and recipes.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Wal.


Ian

IanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Just love it

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

HI, thank you for leaving us a review, we appreciate your time

Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Sounds great!


Great Pie Maker

published

Look i am very happy with my Sunbeam Pie Magic , So Easy to make a good pie .And Easy to clean . Some people just love to give bad feedback . Go get yourself a Sunbeam Pie Magic you will not be sorry . i got my Pie Maker second hand and i am very happy .

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Robert!


Shell

ShellBranxholm

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

So easy

published

Turn leftovers into tasty meals and snacks - great for quick quiches and bacon and eggs is a breeze. So easy to clean - just wipe with paper towel while warm. I don't even preheat it for pies if filling is already cooked because you just need to cook pastry and heat centre

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the positive review Shell!


Robin

RobinSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

We use this pie maker on a regular basis.

published

The small version of the pie maker is an adequate size for older people and makes two pies from one sheet of pastry unlike the four up larger size pie that only makes one pie from one sheet of store bought pastry. Terrific for leftover casseroles (beef, chicken, veggie etc).

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Robin, so many recipes to enjoy and make with the pie maker, thanks for the review!


Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Maurice B

Maurice Basked

Pie Magic PM4600 (Family Size)

Hi Sunbeam I have a Sunbeam pie maker that only takes one family size pie. I haven't used before and its still new just had it stored away for a number of years. How long do you think it will take to cook an apple pie in it? Maybe 20 minutes? I have discarded the box and instructions ages ago.

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Maurice B,
I would say around that time.
Make sure the top and bottom are browned and all should be great.


Christine Coombes

Christine Coombesasked

Hi, I won the pie magic, so wondering how I get covered for the warranty, also I love it so far, cooked tandoori chicken pies tonight, and they were great, and also apple pies, I am finding putting some baking paper in the bottom works well, so far so good, cheers Christine

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Christine Coombes,
Great question! If you do have any issues please call our 1300 881 861 number and we can assist further - even without a receipt. Kind Regards Sunbeam

Thank you


Christine Coombes

Christine Coombesasked

Hi, can tinned pie apple be used as a filling between store bought puff pastry, cheers Christine

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Christine Coombes,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. You sure can. It makes it easier and just as tasty!.
Kind regards
Sunbeam

I made the apple Pies, using the puff pastry, and put baking paper in the bottom, and I didn't preheat, I put the pastry on top of the baking paper, put a lot of apple in, and then basted with egg, put the top on, and basted that, and just turned it on, and about 20 mins later they we done, easier to put pastry in when it is not hot.....maybe something can be made different with them to allow for this, as I do find when it is preheated, it is fiddler to put pastry in, and it starts to cook before one has the filling in and lid on top......just a thought. cheers......the pies were yummo.


Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Details

Sunbeam Pie Magic PM4800 (Traditional Size 4 Up)

Sunbeam Pie Magic PM4800 (Traditional Size 4 Up)

81 reviews
Sunbeam Pie Magic PM4600 (Family Size)

Sunbeam Pie Magic PM4600 (Family Size)

1 review
Sunbeam Pie Magic PM4210 (Snack Size 2 Up)

Sunbeam Pie Magic PM4210 (Snack Size 2 Up)

11 reviews
Sunbeam Pie Magic PM040B
  • Discontinued

Sunbeam Pie Magic PM040B

2 reviews
CategoryNovelty / Snack MakersNovelty / Snack MakersNovelty / Snack MakersNovelty / Snack Makers
Price (RRP) $84.95$84.95$49.95
Release dateMay 2007May 2007May 2007
Replaced bySunbeam Pie Magic PM4800 (Traditional Size 4 Up)

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.