??!
4 photos
Sunbeam Pie Magic

Reviews

(67)
(13)
(9)
(7)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    4.3 (20)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (21)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (21)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (21)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Sandra W

Sandra W

  • 2 reviews

Pie cutter

published

Love my Pie Maker, took it away on a holiday recently, great easy meals from breakfast to dinner. Today I have cooked a delicious apple and pear filling all set to make dessert and can't find the pie cutter. I can't even find the dimensions of the circles so that I can make a shape to cut around. Have looked everywhere to see where I can buy the cutter to no avail. Help!

Sueg9

Sueg9South East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Makes great pies

published

I have had this pie maker for a year and so far wouldn't be without it. It is so forgiving and makes every pie look like a professional has made them. Easy to clean. Recipes in manual work well. I have no hesitation in recommending it.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

That's so wonderful to hear ! Thank you for your great feedback.

BK

BKMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not perfect !

published

I had huge expectations from this product but I am not really happy. The bottom of the pie burns off quickly in few mins while the top os still uncooked. I even tried starting from cold machine and line with paper cup but no help. The bottom turns black in 3-4 mins while the other part is still uncooked.

Purchased in November 2019 at Amazon for $69.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
BK
BK

Will Amazon take it back?

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello again,
Yes of course they do, please visit their returns and replacement page for easy replacement steps: https://www.amazon.com.au/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=201824330

Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Pie Magic compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bill42

Bill42South East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Great Pie Maker - sadly stopped working

published

I have had this product for around 2-3 years and found that with a little skill in cooking the right ingredients, you can make a great pie. I usually just make 2 pies at a time and it has been working a treat.
About 2-3 months ago I noticed the pie (s) on one side were not cooking on the top and I had to finish in the airfryer. Now it is not cooking on the top at all. The top gets hot but obviously not enough to cook the pastry. I am so disappointed as I think this is a great machine and saves so much time and electricity than using the oven.
I am tempted to buy another but will wait to hear any feedback from people who have had a similar problem.

Purchased in February 2017 for $69.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Bill42,
Thank you for your wonderful review. Please contact me directly with the your contact details (Full name, number, email and address). I'm sure we can get you cooking Delicious Sunbeam Pies again!

Bill42
Bill42

Hi
Thank you for your response. I have sent my details as requested bu Sunbeam message.

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Great the team will contact you shortly - Hope you enjoy your Sunbeam Pie Marker. Please do tag our socials with delicious picture!

Bottom of the pie cooker doesn't cook at all

published

Bought the traditional pie maker 3 days ago. Have used it twice. The bottom element doesn't work at all! Overcooked top and raw bottom. So disappointed as I wanted it to be a great product.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for $68.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Sad,
We're sorry to hear about your experience. The Sunbeam pie makers are a customer favourite so please do return it to the retailer you bought it from and request a replacement. I'm sure you will love it.

MaryMary

MaryMarySydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great

published

Despite the fact that I do not eat many pies, I actually have two pie makers. I brought a Kmart pie maker, but very soon realised it was too small to make pies with a decent amount of filling. I use the Kmart pie maker to make poached eggs which it does magnificently. I will probably use it for small sweet mince pies for Xmas too. On the flip side, I have actually found the Sunbeam to be too deep, and if using store brought pastry it can cost a bit of money in pasty sheets (especially if using expensive puff). I made some very nice chicken, broccoli and cheese pies a couple of times in the Sunbeam.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bing Lee for $70.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi MaryMary,
Thank you for your review.

LORRAINE

LORRAINEPerth, WA

LOVERLY AND CRUSTY

published

My first cook was chicken and leak pie and they turned out wonderful.
The pastry was nice and crispy which will put a personal identity to my pies.
my husband was delighted that these were like no other pie we had purchased. the only fault that i burnt my fingers when loading the pastry.

Purchased in October 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $69.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi LORRAINE,
Great to hear, happy cooking!!!

Norm P.

Norm P.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Under cooked tips on pies

published

Purchased the pie maker on the 20th opened it up today the 26th used as per instructions only 1/2 cup of filling waited for the light to say it was ready. The results where far from satisfactory bottom was cooked on the outside inside was soggy and the tops where uncooked see photo? Decided to take back to store as this one is obliviously faulty. Store salesman when shown the photos said “looks like the top element not working. Can not fault Harvey norman store excellent service will update on new pie maker and results later

Purchased in August 2019 for $69.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Sharonf

SharonfHunter Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic!!

published

Was tired of wasting left overs so now I reinvent them into pies! Last night we had lamb baked dinner pies. I just cut everything up, put it in a frypan, thickened it with the left over gravy, popped it between puff pasty and 15 minutes later a great quick dinner. I made 12 and freezed 6 for lunches. The machine is great to use, comes with a double sided pastry cutter for top and bottom cut outs of pastry and wipes clean! I love it and the pies are a perfect size. No more wasted left overs in my house, my best purchase all winter! Tonight the family are having chicken vindaloo and rice pies. Fantastic investment!!

Purchased in June 2019 at Big W for $69.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Sharonf
Thanks for your great review! Glad to see you are creative with your pies. There is a little book you can download called 101 Great Pie Ideas. See what you think. Kind regards Sunbeam

Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Pie Magic compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
col

colMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Can't go wrong with pastry

published

Great product! Son and family vegan and use regularly. Introduced friend to who loves it also, then mine bought through flybuy. Sons Harvey Norman for $69 jb also have shop around as can be very expensive..easy to use..large pastry base so join pieces no biggy. Cutters included freeze leftovers to use is up to your imagination. Recipes everywhere, wipe clean. Warm to use and in 10 minutes done..note to self save receipts

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $69.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
col
col

Thanks

NothappyJan

NothappyJanRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 10 likes

Seems like a good idea...NOT!

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W for $69.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Carol

CarolIllawarra, NSW

Purchased what I thought was the best pie maker on the market only to have it blow up after 5 WEEKS!! Made in China!

published

Have only tried pies to date!
Finished pies are very good and taste is all in the pie mix. Have not attempted any recipes from the booklet! Love the depth of actual pie!

Purchased in July 2019 at Myers for $79.99.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Carol,
Thank you for contacting Sunbeam. These are great little units. Sorry to hear of your PM4800 no longer functioning. Please return it the to store of purchase for a replacement. Kind Regards Sunbeam

t18

t18Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 26 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great for eggs.

published

Pies are east to make. Normally just put some chicken and leek into the frying pan, a pack of frozen pastry works fine and done in no time. Wish they were a bit bigger, but just make 2 instead of 1. Really good for fast dinner when we are running out of time during the week. Discovered that they make great eggs aswell. Crack an egg into the pie hole, close the lid and come back a few minutes later. They work perfectly and save having to clean up a frying pan. Quick breckie!

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi t18,
Thanks so much for the great review. Your idea to use eggs is fantastic. Enjoy!
Kind regards, Sunbeam

Shanice

Shanice

  • 7 reviews

Recommened 100%

published

An amazing piece of machinery. If your contemplating getting one just do it, it makes perfect pies, as someone who doesnt eat pies I really enjoy my home made ones now, stores easy and the cable wraps back up it the base. Easy to clean I usually just wipe over with a damp cloth while its still warm.

Purchased in August 2018 at Catch for $65.92.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Shanice,
Thanks so much for the great review. There is a book you can down load called 101 Great Ideas for extra inspiration and creativity. Enjoy!
Kind regards, Sunbeam

Michael Moxon

Michael MoxonSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Perfect Pies every time

published

Every pie i make in this comes out perfect.
I use shop bought puff pastry and put whatever left over ingredients i have from previous meals in it.
Butter chicken Pies, Nacho Mince Pies, Apple Pies and lots more.
I am very happy with this purchase and two of my friends have subsequently purchased the same pie makers.

Purchased in July 2019 at Big W for $70.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Michael Moxon,
Thanks for the great review!
Kind Regards Sunbeam

Novelty / Snack Makers

Find out how Sunbeam Pie Magic compares to other Novelty / Snack Makers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love this throughout winter especially during footy season

published

I have used the pie maker for 5.5 years and made hundreds of pies. I freeze them in batches and reheat them in my air fryer. Great for using up left overs as well.

Purchased in June 2013 at Kmart Retail Stores for $29.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Helen, very happy to hear!!

Karin

KarinNortheast, VIC

Love this Pie Maker BUT would love to see a gadget that you can push down the pastry without using your fingers.

published

Cooks beautifully. Love that you can basically cook anything in it apart from soup lol. Would love to see Sunbeam bring out a gadget that you can push the pastry down without having to use your fingers. Would have given the extra star if this was included.

Purchased in October 2017 for $79.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Karin,
Thank you for the great review. Well noted with your suggestion of a p'pastry pusher/moulder' and I will be passing this on to our product team.

Jane C.

Jane C.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Love this Pie Maker!!!

published

Bought pie maker 2 weeks ago and wished it was available 45 years ago when first married. So far have made chicken & leek pies, apple & blackberry, and bacon, whole egg & baked bean pies. 15 minutes cooking and perfect pastry each time. Thanks for a great product!

Purchased in April 2019 at Big W Modbury, South Australia for $69.95.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Jane C, thank you for sharing that, lovely to read!!!

Love it!

published

This is my second Sunbeam pie maker, I also have the smaller 4 up machine. I've made all sorts of pies, cakes, mini pizza's, quiche, and even zucchini slice in this pie maker. Love the larger size, easy to use, and clean. *Season* the pie maker before the first use, and you'll never have any problems with food sticking, and no need to oil the machine ever again.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman Appliances Physical Store for $69.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Anne,
Thank you for the great review, we really appreciate it!

Dave

DaveSydney

  • 21 reviews

Not great

published

I had the one before and was good but seriously 1 whole sheet of short crust for the bottom and then you need to try and stick the rest together to make the second were you guys on acid or what.I can see why breville are so far in front of you guys with appliances IE specially there coffee machines.Please get back to your great applications in cooking please.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $59.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Dave,
Thank you for your feedback. We certainly be be forwarding it on to out design and technology teams.

Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Liz

Lizasked

Pie Magic PM4800 (Traditional Size 4 Up)

Hi
Do you wait till the ready light is on before you start assembling pies
Or start when warm up light is on
My first attempt found the pastry (store bought) a bit tough and crisp not puffed
Thanks. Liz

1 answer
Sueg9
Sueg9

You should wait till the ready light is on. Best pastry to use is a short crust for the bottom and a puff pastry for the top.

Daisym123

Daisym123asked

Pie Magic PM4800 (Traditional Size 4 Up)

I have the 4 Up pie maker. Can I use the machine and make only 2 x pies or does it have to be 4? Do not wish to damage the machine. Many thanks,

1 answer
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Daisym123,
Yes, you can make just two pies. You don't need to use all four.

Kay

Kayasked

Pie Magic PM4800 (Traditional Size 4 Up)

what is the diameter of the top of the pie

3 answers
Bill42
Bill42

120 mm for the PM4800. The 2 Up is slightly smaller at 105 mm and has a shallower dish. I find the 2 Up is great for one person as the pies are smaller and I can eat 2 (and it is quicker). On the other hand, the 4 Up are larger pies and the better choice if you want to feed more than one person.

Kay
Kay

Thank you Bill I appreciate you taking the trouble to answer me I am getting one for Xmas and am looking forward to better shaped pies than I can make by hand.

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Thank you Bill42 for the information...

Kay, you can find more about the pie maker in the manual linked here: https://www.sunbeam.com.au/Root/Specifications/InstructionBooklet/PM4800_17EM2.pdf

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.