??!
5 photos
The Renovator Multi Tool

The Renovator Multi Tool

Deluxe kit, Mega Kit and Standard kit
1.9 from 62 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
6
2 star
7
1 star
39

Keith Frauenfelder

Keith FrauenfelderMurray Region, NSW

Looks good

published

purchased this from BIG W when they stocked this kit, when't to use it for only the third time last
week and it ceased to operate, rang the number where you advertise your ladders,the person
whom I spoke with could only quote the warranty terms when i asked if they are still available said it was
a discontinued item, have the whole kit without anything to power it,and no chance to replace or
repair the unit at a reasonable price

Purchased in June 2014 at Big W Retail Stores for $133.00.


Tony

TonyLaunceston, TAS

The multitool is awesome

published

When used properly the uses for this tool are wide and varied. The projects I have used it for were made easier by the versatility of this tool which I have used for carpentry when I had to build a frame to screw Gyprock to on the walls of my house. It is also very handy for cutting aluminium sheet. Tony.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
abbey

abbeyBrisbane Q'land Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Wish I'd never bought it.

published

The vibration tool never worked properly. First a small spring washer fell off so got a new one & then a spring fell out. I do not know where it came from & cannot use it anymore. Was a complete waste of money especially for a Pensioner. It is now out of warranty.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Waste of money

published

Had this multi tool product from Renovator..looks good on tv but in real world very cheap use of material...gets worn out in few use..highly recommended not to buy renovator brand...also bought roller kit for painting...easyier to use normal roller kit..which cost only $10... also disappointing result...Buy trusted brand like Makita or Bosch..

Date PurchasedMar 2015

Junk

published

Got one given to me so far it only blinks red and green light it won’t work at all just rubbish don’t want it it’s made of poor plastics and accessories just look cheap quality put it together to use the small chuck bolt wouldn’t release the attachment lol just hope they can get a refund don’t want it replaced.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Rubbish

published

Bought 2 yrs ago for a xmas present from high st tv..warranty not explained on length..apparently only 1yr...now selling with additional warranty with extra cost. Used 3 times...now motor keeps cutting out. Unable to use...unable to return...high st not interested..no where in UK to repair. Made in China/New Zealand. Wasted £130

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Kevin

KevinBathurst

Terrible Service

published

Website advertises "phone our service team for accessories & parts" I need a replacement oscillating washer for my renovator which is completely useless without it and was told to search eBay or Amazon which advertised no parts - pathetic after sales service not interested once they have your money will not deal with them again

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Kevin
Kevin

I have found that other similar products provide after sales service and spare parts shop around before wasting money on a renovator


High pressure sales

published

I rang just to find a price for the drill kit, they wanted to know all my details including the type of credit card I own (I said no). I was eventually put through to a salesperson and Wow, talk about high pressure sales, he wouldn’t stop! I said I had only rung to find the cost and he started questioning me and became quite agitated. When I said I wouldn’t buy it just yet he laughed and me and hung up abruptly. I will never buy any product from this company!!!! Shame on you Renovator, high pressure sales take advantage of those who are easily pushed, and then I read these real reviews and it appears your product is rubbish too : (

Date PurchasedJul 2018
sparky

sparkyNew South Wales

  • 7 reviews
  • 14 likes

Does it all drill bits - what a heap of rubbish

published

The Does it all Drill bits do not perform anything like shown on the TV. Stainless steel absolutely destroys them (they melt the tip off and the shaft melts with it), they eventually manage to wear their way (not drill) through other metals, completely useless on cured concrete, work OK on soft brick and mortar (which is all I use them for now), I could chew through wood faster and I have not been game to even try them on glass. Some of the points are not centered so the bits vibrate a lot.

I have not tried to claim the destroyed bits under warranty as I do not want the same garbage again.

Definitely would not recommend this product unless you like wasting your money.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Kev

KevWellington

The renovator not as good as the add shows

published

Bought it as the tv advert at Mitre 10 showed it could do all sorts of things , well the vibration from it made my hands go numb after a while, the tools on the end would continuously go loose as the screw would come undone. Bought the delux set at a huge cost they go blunt very easily, wont cut nails or pipe, cheap and nasty for the expense. The pads for sanding fall off after about 5 minute, completely useless for this. Cutting wood caused the product to burn and or turn brown only good for putting in sockets for power. Lasted a long time over the 2 years and did some hard blunt work, went to use it this morning and dead. Go for a cheaper version as its not worth the cost , wont be buying from this crowd againt .

Date PurchasedOct 2015

George

GeorgeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 12 likes

Useless! Don’t waste your money.

published

These spanners are made from cheap soft unhardened steel. They break easily. My first use was to try one on a tow ball nut (it was brand new towball and the nut wasn’t seized or overly tight). Anyway the spanner fell apart in my hands after only a quarter turn!

Also don’t be fooled by the fake 5 star reviews from the TV marketing “review sites”...they are stacked with ridiculously fake positive reviews. You’ll be very sorry if you purchase this spanner set. Totally useless!

Date PurchasedMar 2018

David Briese

David Brieseray12031924@gmail.com

  • 12 reviews
  • 12 likes

Was advertised to use on toe ball but was no better than tow ball spanner bitter grip sliped?

published

Not good does not grip slips as normal tow ball spanner better. As states can use on a toe ball to tighten or loosen but it slips as mi toe ball spanner better as tried it several time but still no better.

Date PurchasedMar 1998

Lou S

Lou SBerwick

Price of product is unexpectedly high.

published

Cost of the "special offer" was $329.95 - very expensive. I rang after seeing "special offer" on TV. Postage and handling is $29.95 - so the tool cost is $300. This is the "normal" kit + the "special offer" of the second set of 4 spanners. Don't know if the quality is good or bad, but at $300 - I find that a bit pricey. If the kit was closer to $100, maybe, but not $300.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Had to cancel order 2 months later

published

Ordered the better grip in November and was assured items would arrive by Christmas, cancelled order after 6 weeks as item had not arrived. Customer service very hard to contact.
Said item not available by saw it later still advertised on tv.
Rang customer service many times, very frustrating
Very

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Lou

Lou

  • 3 reviews
  • 15 likes

Better grip? Than what?

published

This tool is compared to shifter spanner in the tele ads, which is a butcher mechanic tool at best. You will never get it in a space where you need a socket or ring spanner. None of the examples would be seriously tight, or "completely rounded". Read the other reviews

Date PurchasedJul 2017

great tool, poor backup

published

This is a great and handy tool, have had it for many years. have been trying to buy replacement parts for months now and the backup service is an absolute joke. you cannot order parts online, they give you a number that is for sales only, then transfers you to someone that has no idea, takes your details and never rings you back. quicker to buy a more off the shelf reputable brand that supports its product.

Date PurchasedJun 2006

Rubbish

published

First purchase, used once and it broke. Took it back, got a replacement, second use it broke, completely dead. I have stored it in the only place suitable, the bin. Both units also got so hot to the touch that it was dangerous. Cheap product would never buy renovator brand anything again.

Date PurchasedMar 2014

Absolute waste of money

published

First 5 minutes 6 mms collect fell to pieces so now unusable going to try and get a refund tomorrow. My advice is to not buy this tool you can not buy parts for it either.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Chinese junk...

published

Speed changes when it wants, accessories are awful quality and dangerous, terrible to control, used twice now binned, do not buy this. There's a reason why shops don't stock this. Delete shopping channels from your tv and buy a brand name you recognise, this product is awful and dangerous.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

andyw1966

andyw1966Melbourne

crap

published

was bought as a present used twice broke bits total rubbish don't waste your money look for any other tool that stands up to working harder wish I could return it as waste of money cant buy any spares for it total crap tbh mum wasted her cash forsure. company never returns emails

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Raul Allan G.

Raul Allan G.asked

Is that just becoz you cannot face up to the fact that your product is really an INFERIOR and SUBSTANDARD design? And INCOMPETENT in Performance? And cannot meet the customers' expectations?
Based on the majority of product reviews that i just read?
C'mon! Be REASONABLE!

No answers

Daniel H.

Daniel H.asked

does it cut tiles

1 answer
Keith Frauenfelder
Keith Frauenfelder

Sorry my unit lasted 30 minutes then the motor ceased to work, after sales service did not exist
with those oversees people.


Pranesh K.

Pranesh K.asked

The Renovator Standard kit

I lhave twist a saw renovator and it's flashing green and it's doesn't on tried to do what the manual says but still not helping what should I do?

1 answer
Keith Frauenfelder
Keith Frauenfelder

Sorry I am unable to answer your question, my unit only worked for about 15 minutes
and the motor stopped and melted the speed switch, out of warranty, rang to find if could be repaired
they were not interested and said goodbye.


Get an answer from our members and TVSN (TV Shopping Network) representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.