??!
7 photos
Volkswagen Caddy

Volkswagen Caddy

2K.I, 2K.II, Mk.4
2.8 from 43 reviews

Reviews

2.8

43 reviews
5
(8)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(9)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (3)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.3 (3)
  • Handling
    4.3 (3)
  • Braking
    5.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    3.7 (3)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Features
    3.3 (3)
  • Comfort
    4.7 (3)
Previous
Next
Ted

Ted

  • 21 reviews
  • 37 likes

Great work car

published

Great car for work, 2.0TDI is responsive and powerful enough for around town. DSG works well and you easily adapt to it. Short wheel base but still plenty of room in the back. 2019 model year so it has Apple CarPlay/android Auto. Been perfectly reliable with zero faults in 50,000km.
My only gripe tho is when you have barn doors, you can’t get the reverse camera unless you ask VW to put one in after you take delivery of it, but saying that, the reverse camera once added is high resolution and looks just like the other VW cameras.

Purchased in June 2019 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$33,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sean W

Sean WSydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 3 likes

Don't buy a manual

published

Purchased in May 2018 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Catherine

CatherinePerth

  • 2 reviews

I loved my Caddy better than any other car I have owned

published

Purchased in April 2008 at John Hughes Car Sales.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Caddy compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

VW Caddy Maxi Life TDi250 1.6L Diesel DSG - Limp Mode Instant Loss of Power Dangerous, Serious Safet

published
BadgeTDI250
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionDSG
Date PurchasedMay 2011
Naomi

NaomiMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great van!

published
BadgeTDI250 BlueMOTION Maxi
Engine Size1.6L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Rob H.

Rob H.

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Caddy Maxi Crewvan is GREAT

published
BadgeTSI175 Maxi
Engine Size1.2L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Jonny I

Jonny IAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

10 years ownership... Let the trouble begin

published

Being a tradie, this van gets a beating. Has been reliable till now. The dam bulb out light on dash is constantly on with all bulbs working, starter motor recently replaced, clutch recently replaced, turbo diaphragm replaced, glow plugs replaced, left hand side ball joint replaced, front and rear brakes pads replaced and new battery. After 10 years and bought brand new with 215,000km on the clock now with constant start stop its been a great overall.
Steer away from the DSG and petrol models. You need to maintain these vans and they will give you years of trouble free motoring

BadgeHey
Engine Size1.9
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2009
Matthewdean

Matthewdeansydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great durable car

published

Handles well, driving for 3 months now. At first I found it quite difficult to get used to after driving small sedans but overall it's been great.

Excellent fuel economy, averaging about 800 - 1000km per tank at this rate, some highway driving but it's definiltey a great feature.

Servicing seems reasonable considering European. I have friends who drive the same car and have complained about expensive prices.

Overall a good car and I would recommend.

BadgeTDI250
Engine Size1.6L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2017
JAM

JAMSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Perfect work van but not without its quirks.

published
BadgeTDI250 Maxi
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Caddy compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cjr

Cjrmelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

very poor service

published

Driving diesel caddy, lost power, took car to dealer in Springvale road, and from then on things just went from bad to terrible. They quoted for the repair $800.00 said yes go ahead, receive phone call "sorry not fixed" another looong period of time, receive phone call "it is going to cost $8,000.00 to fix" I read into that they have no idea what is wrong. Ask why so dear? Had to pay for the first repair that did not fix car. Be very careful when dealing with them, get written quote and make sure they know what they are doing. I am very wary of Volkswagen products. The caddy had been serviced on time every time. be careful

BadgeTDI250
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2011
CARPET CLEANER

CARPET CLEANERMACQUARIE

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Great to HORRIBLE to own

published
BadgeTDI250 Maxi
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2010
1 comment
CARPET CLEANER
CARPET CLEANER

Update,at 2 years Renault still running perfectly, The Caddy is still on stands BUT i've got all the necessary parts from the UK at 1/4 to 1/2 the price they are in Australia. Hoping to have it back on the road soon......?

kid

kidAddis Ababa

over heat

published

it is only 50,000 km since we bought but it shows over heat we can not mange it can u suggest me something that i can change or anything else i tried to change the thermostat and no solution what next step can we take the ruining cost is also high the power is nor related with its volume of capacity to cray on

Badgeowner
Engine Size1.2L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2012
Neil

NeilGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Don't buy VW

published

Save your self the hassle, don't buy VW. Just spent $9430 for a new gearbox. Purchased the van in April at 100,00km 4 months later the 7 speed gearbox failed. According to VW this is a reasonable time frame for the gearbox to fail and their are no recognised faults with the gearbox. I suggest the fools at VW Google, VW gearboxes, they may learn that are a disaster . VW Australia are the worst.
Can't be bothered writing any more just avoid VW.

BadgeTDI250 Trendline
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2016
peter

petersydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

the good, the bad, the downright fugly

published
Badgecaddy 1.6
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual

Good van, great to drive, excellent on fuel but!

published
BadgeTSI160 Runner SE
Engine Size1.2L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Caddy compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Another radiator failure

published
BadgeTSI175
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionManual

VW Caddy POS

published

I have a 2010 built-2011 complied VW Caddy 1.6 TDCi, bought it second hand with 3600km on it and it didnt take long to see why the previous owners got rid of it.
So far its had 4 new injectors, ECU, rear suspension bump stops fell out and ive lost count of how many times its gone in to limp mode and taken back to VW for gear box issues.
It only has 36500km on it now (in 4 years)
My wife runs a busines from home and had a Transit van, but when the Twins came along we needed something i could put the kids in and my wife could still work out of, the Caddy suited.
Now the cars run out of Warranty im to scared of it.
Terrible car people STAY AWAY

BadgeTDI250 Comfortline
Engine Size1.6L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic

Happy so far fingers crossed

published

I bought my Vw caddy 2010 Tdi 3 years ago, no problems thus far not sure if it's because I have 1.9 diesel motor or not, but I think the 1.6 petrol is the problem. Would like to hear more comments from the diesel owners to what problems to look out for cheers about the clutch some people just don't know how to drive manual, vow is very touchy. Cheers

Badge0
Engine Size1.9L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Chris V

Chris VCanberra

VW 30 edition whistling side mirror

published

Pretty with overall performance but I have had the same problem as others with the side mirror at highway speeds. I have found placing a strip of gaffer tape across and below the mirror cuts the noise. It looks cheap and daggy but does seem to work.

kristielee

kristielee

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome Car.. Cheap on fuel and carry's alot

published

Love this caddy I have a diesel man 2012 model and it has helped me so much moving house, transporting things.. I love it.

TransmissionManual
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Pamir I.

Pamir I.asked

Caddy

how to fill transmision oil on my 2012 caddy

No answers
Johan K.

Johan K.asked

Caddy

Hi there, I'm driving a 2012 caddy 2.0tdi with 75000ks on the clock and there is a whining sound comes from the diesel injector pump. Any advice is much appreciated.

1 answer
Catherine
Catherine

Take to a mechanic! Low kilometres for it to be a major problem but you never know.

Stu N.

Stu N.asked

Caddy

2009 vw caddy auto.
Drives fine but sometimes when put in reverse it wont go and dash lights come on. ????

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Other Vans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.