??!
8 photos
Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5

Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 (2017-2020)

Also referred to as: Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 2019 and Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 2021. Hatchback, Wagon
4.5 from 45 reviews

Reviews

4.5

45 reviews
5
(31)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (14)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (14)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.7 (13)
  • Handling
    4.8 (12)
  • Braking
    4.9 (12)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.6 (13)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (13)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (12)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (12)
  • Features
    4.5 (12)
  • Comfort
    4.5 (13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
John J.

John J.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Best car ever owned

published

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
James

JamesSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

The car is amazing. The dealer experience not so much.

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Volkswagen Dealers for A$55,100.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2020
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Harry S.

Harry S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Perfect, high milage car

published

Had this baby for about two years now. Had a prang and panel easily fixed by the beater. Great for roadtrips, a full tank I can get over 1,000km of highway driving.

Cons: Only negative is it takes 95 fuel. Service through dealer kind of expensive but can use any other centre for decent price

Purchased in May 2018 at VW dealer for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GeeJay

GeeJaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Servicing intervals

published

I’m an old bloke. Use my My 7.5 110tsi golf regularly and am pedantic about regular servicing.
Am I not reading the book correctly? There doesn’t appear to be advice on when to change fluids like brake and coolant, and I can’t find when the timing belt should be replaced.
VW advise to have the timing belt replaced at recommended interval. What are the recommended intervals? Does anyone know?
I think it’s naughty of VW not to give this info. A timing belt failure for example, can have catastrophic results.

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
See all answers
Nel

NelGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Comfortable car

published

This is my second VW golf. I traded in my old VW golf when the odometer read 220,000 kms. The car is very comfortable to drive and I feel the car is safe as well. Good size for me. I have trouble finding just the right size for me with other brands. Went test driving Merc B series, Volvo V40 but still liked golf the best.

Purchased in September 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Comfort
See all answers
carfan84

carfan84

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car - Issues with DSG though

published

Excellent size car, lots of space. Drives and handles really well. Some plastic parts eg vents can break easily. Very comfortable seats and good vision. Fuel consumption averages about 7L/100kms. 4.5 stars - would be 5 if not for DSG issues.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Kaz

KazGeelong

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great Pereformance with practicality

published

The VW Golf R Wagon is the perfect family car with great performance. I've had mine for 6 months now and have zero complaints. It's got plenty of space for my two kids in the back. The car packs loads of technology (i.e. digital cockpit, apple carplay, safety tech).

Purchased in September 2019 for A$55,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
JessC

JessCSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent little car

published

Bigger than it looks, spacious, comfortable to drive in and very responsive. This is my second Golf and it has out performed the previous 2016 model so far. Good design and is an excellent car.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$30,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
grnow

grnowSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 8 likes

Brilliant car - great perceived quality

published

After 9 years with Tiguan TSI, it was time to upgrade/downgrade to a Golf. We were happy with the Tiguan, but didnt need the AWD and wanted something more economical.
The Golf is practical, fuel efficient, safe, quick, comfortable and a great perceived quality (everything just feels good quality). And when it comes with 5 years warranty, it just sealed the deal for us.
The service cost is more than a Toyota Corolla, but at least we do not need to visit the service centre every 10,000km

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ray

Raymelbourne

  • 15 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great small car

published

looks professional, smart and trended. great performance with a turbo engine and fuel-saving stop-start technology. the most important, it has 5 stars safety rating. you can feel the difference from the Korean car by closing the doors.

Purchased in June 2018 for A$25,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Grumpy

GrumpySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car, poor manufacturer backup

published

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Aj A.

Aj A.South East Queensland, QLD

Should have bought this in the first place

published

Purchased in August 2018.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Dmac

DmacSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Slow off the mark

published
  • +1

Purchased in August 2017 for A$34,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
zknight

zknightSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 30 reviews
  • 28 likes

European car built for Europe

published

Purchased in April 2019 for A$47,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
WeWantValue

WeWantValue

  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

A bit below expectations for a 2018 car

published
BodyHatch
Badge103TSI Highline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedDec 2018
Cars

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk7.5 compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Donna P

Donna PNewcastle

My first VW Golf

published

I have been the owner of a golf comfortline since July and I must say it’s just a beautiful car. I have had a Mazda 3 and a Subaru Impreza in the past but the golf outdoes these 2 cars easily. The interior is a step up I feel from my past 2 cars although I have had manuals all my life so getting use to an automatic has been interesting. It drives lovely and super impressed with it.

BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJul 2018
duesseldorf67

duesseldorf67Sydney, NSW

  • 29 reviews
  • 23 likes

Das Auto

published
BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Jace Hall

Jace HallSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car !

published

Very impressed and this is such a great car to drive around especially the long trips I usually take! I was a little unsure with getting VW but was defiantly worth it !! Would purchase this car again if i had to. such an awesome little car to get around.

BodyHatch
Badge103TDI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJan 2014

My first German vehicle and I’m VERY impressed

published
BodyHatch
BadgeTrendline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Leo Podwaldien

Leo PodwaldienCanberra

  • 14 reviews
  • 10 likes

Grrrreat!

published

Upgraded from a 2016 Polo GTI to the Grid edition of the R (alacantra seats, analog dash) and I am very impressed. Much more space than the Polo, especially in the boot, and a real pleasure to drive. Very good performance yet can be tamed to be a comfortable commuter. I also got the driver assist pack and the sunroof, which both enhance the driving experience greatly. Only 1500 kms on the clock, so just broken in, but so far so good!

BodyHatch
BadgeR
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Page 1 of 3
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Maria

Mariaasked

Golf Mk7.5 (2017-2020)

I have recently bought a VW golf 2018 TSI. I was wondering if leaving on the park lights for over an hour or even overnight would considerably drain the battery?

1 answer
Dieter L.
Dieter L.

Yes deffinetly if you leave it overnight

Sal M

Sal Masked

Golf Mk7.5 (2017-2020)

wondering if anyone else has had oil leak issues? I bought a brand new 110TDi wagon late last year took in for a service and the noticed an oil leak from the main seal, took it back to get that fixed and while they had the transmission out they noticed another oil leak this time from the gear box seal....both covered under warranty however they couldn't get a new seal for the gear box so have to replace the whole gearbox instead.
This is not my first golf and i have never had an issue before but am now concerned at what else my be wrong???

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.