4 photos
Volkswagen Multivan

Volkswagen Multivan

T5.I, T5.II, T6
3.3 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Volkswagen? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.3 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (7)
  • Braking
    4.1 (7)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.1 (7)
  • Suspension
    3.3 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (7)
  • Handling
    3.9 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.3 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (7)
  • Features
    4.1 (7)
Previous
Next
Stephen S.
Stephen S.
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Never own another VW's/Audi again, I am done with the brand.

published

Had few VWs for last 10 years, from Golf TDI, R32,R36, Gti,Tiguan, Touareg ,T5.1. They all money pit, everything could goes wrong on all Volkswagen. Engine oil leaks rattling noise(weak oil pump), timing chain issues, waterpump issues, gateway module issues, ignition barrel stuck, central locking malfunction, window regulator, DPF Issues, EGR cooler using coolant, diesel injectors leaks, famously gearbox issues; VW S problems just like a list of features on a sales brouches; too much to go on the list. VAGs had well contributed to tow truck industries.

Purchased in August 2011 at Volkswagen Dealers for $68,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Mike
MikeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

keep away from this car and save your money

published

At first all the electrical luxuries looked great !!! i.e electric side doors where amazing then not long after the passenger side door began malfunctioning this model of vehicle 1. inherent electrical problems with no idea from VW to repair but just charge to have a look only. 2. engine issues in particular the cam as it wears out the valve stem cup in turn wear a hole in the irreparable head 3. vale seat wear we ended up scraping the car 3. suspension front steering arm with associated bushes. never again VW

Purchased for $20,000.00.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Alvin L.
Alvin L.North West, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect family car

published

Excellent 7 seater with full option to adjust and rearrange the seating inside the cabin. The rear seats can be flatten to become a day bed. The kids love it as the middle seats swivel around with child booster seat raise as an option. I wish it has more than 1 USB output as there are so many potential location to add USB outlet instead of cigarette plug outlet. Overall I am one happy customer as I have owned Tiguan 2012 until now without any major repair or faults.

Purchased in August 2019.

Year2018
Cheated
CheatedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Not fit for purpose design

published

The real issues with the Multivan is they have a practical shape and suit a large family but all of the electrical and mechanical systems are flawed. The engine has poor quality seals and will constantly leak from the rear main and camshaft cover plates the only way to fix it is to remove the gearbox, good luck finding a decent mechanical dealership that has the skills to fix the leaks. The gearbox has a genuine compatibility issue with the engine management system and will not last and will need to be rebuilt by an Automatic specialist and rebuilt based on the fact that if you get another 100,00 km for around a $ 5K rebuild you have done well,
Overall Volkswagen should get out of the Industry and take up golf

Purchased in February 2007 for $55,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Multivan compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Best vehicle we have had

published

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
bakingplumber
bakingplumbersydney
  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

Common sense gone out the window

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
binhbui
binhbuiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

A very well designed van

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $76,000.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5

Related Articles

Previous
Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
KayS
KaySNorth Western Region, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Modified for c6 quadriplegic

published

The work done to this vehicle was only possible due to how convenient the VW is.
With $110,000 in modifications onto a $50,000 van, words can not describe the ease of the process.
It is by far the MOST modifiable vehicle on the market, and I had searched high and low!

Purchased in July 2017 at Capital .

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Best ever bought so far

published

Use it for daily commuting . Excellant fuel economy.A pleasure to drive. Its not a sports car so pickup is slow( give the size). Cruze control drops the fuel consumption further . I would love to buy another( but they are not cheap), but from different dealer . Coasting feature is nice for saving fuel but breaking gives a tiny jerk. Missing is cup holder for middle seat which is quiet a pain. Having a window in back door is cool idea but should be electrical as kids cant open or close( sometimes even adults)

BadgeComfortline
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionDual-Clutch
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Multivan compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jon L
Jon LAdelaide
  • 2 reviews

Versatile but...

published

Great people mover with plenty of power for overtaking. Service issues +++ which was disappointing . Automatic doors were an issue (grinding noises) only fixed after many services with agent. Transmission failed recently after many ‘discussions’ with the agent (grinding noises with gear changes throughout the warranty period)- took it elsewhere. Still love it but would a buy another??

BadgeHighline
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionDual-Clutch
Date PurchasedJune 2010
Ed c
Ed cMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Courtesy van

published
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionDual-Clutch
Date PurchasedOct 2016
John
JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 12 reviews
  • 2 likes

Should have bought one ages ago

published
BadgeComfortline
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Vans

Find out how Volkswagen Multivan compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Heather
HeatherGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely love it

published

We got out 2016 plated VW Multi van June 2017
It has been the best purchase we ever made. We originally got it as my husband is a furniture maker so for work and future family.
So versatile with the different combinations of seating arrangements, taking them in and out and lying them completely flat. It has been so useful in moving furniture, buying big items etc.
We have since had a baby and it is fantastic I can fit everything in pram, bag, accessories and still have room and access to use all 7 seats. So easy to gey bubs in and out. The sliding doors make tight car spots easy.
We absolutely love it

BadgeComfortline
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Nic
NicSydney

Never again !

published
BadgeComfortline
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011
Max Ross
Max RossPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good so far however dont believe a word about it having " Differential Lock!"

published
BadgeComfortline
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionDual-Clutch
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Max Ross
Max Ross
Max Ross
Max Ross
Max Ross
Max Ross

Questions & Answers

Todd P.
Todd P.asked
Multivan

2014 vw Multivan T5 won’t start
with a constant ticking sound
Lights n remote alarm etc still working after I tried starting whilst tyre compressor in operation connected to 12volt input
Hopefully just a fuse or two blown ?
Thx n best

1 answer
Mike
Mike

The way you have provided the symptoms of the vehicle is very difficult to understand what is occuring.

Sam E.
Sam E.asked
Multivan

I have a2011 multivan,
I've put in a new motor
2 new turbos
New injectors
Pdf is clean light comes on all the time
Engine light comes on, I reset computer and then of for a while
This mainly happens when I put my foot down, and then goes into limp mode, I pull over turn off motor and restart, this clears lights and all is fine again for another short while..
Any suggestions?
Thanks Sam

3 answers
Alvin L.
Alvin L.

Not sure how much information will be helpful to you. If you mentioned that you have replace turbo or turbos, it might be the issue with boast control valve or VNT turbo for TDI engine. If turbo is not releasing the pressure fast enough or valve is sticking could potentially trigger the car into limp mode or lost of power. Bring it to someone who have professional scan tool to inspect or turbo specialist. Alternatively you can check YouTube for the trouble you are facing, maybe you are handy enough to play around with the turbo.

Mike
Mike

Sounds like your oxygen sensor, get a computer diagnosis first though . Good luck

Sam E.
Sam E.

Thanks I'll look into it

milko
milkoasked
Multivan T5.II (2010-2015)

side electric doors playing up,switches on dash flashing,left door will only open and close if the dash switch is continuously held

No answers
See all Volkswagen Multivan questions

Get an answer from our members

Volkswagen Multivan

Details

Compare all 3 Volkswagen Multivan
CategoryVansVansVans
Release dateJan 2015Jan 2004Jan 2010
Discontinuation dateDec 2010Dec 2015
Compare all 3 Volkswagen Multivan
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.