??!
4 photos
Volkswagen Multivan

Volkswagen Multivan

T6, T5.I and T5.II
3.5 from 35 reviews

See the Best Vans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
7
3 star
6
2 star
1
1 star
8

Best vehicle we have had

published

Purchased in July 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

bakingplumber

bakingplumbersydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Common sense gone out the window

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

binhbui

binhbuiGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

A very well designed van

published

Purchased in June 2017 for $76,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
KayS

KaySNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Modified for c6 quadriplegic

published

The work done to this vehicle was only possible due to how convenient the VW is.
With $110,000 in modifications onto a $50,000 van, words can not describe the ease of the process.
It is by far the MOST modifiable vehicle on the market, and I had searched high and low!

Purchased in July 2017 at Capital .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Best ever bought so far

published

Use it for daily commuting . Excellant fuel economy.A pleasure to drive. Its not a sports car so pickup is slow( give the size). Cruze control drops the fuel consumption further . I would love to buy another( but they are not cheap), but from different dealer . Coasting feature is nice for saving fuel but breaking gives a tiny jerk. Missing is cup holder for middle seat which is quiet a pain. Having a window in back door is cool idea but should be electrical as kids cant open or close( sometimes even adults)

BadgeComfortline
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionDual-Clutch
Date PurchasedJan 2018

Jon L

Jon LAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

Versatile but...

published

Great people mover with plenty of power for overtaking. Service issues +++ which was disappointing . Automatic doors were an issue (grinding noises) only fixed after many services with agent. Transmission failed recently after many ‘discussions’ with the agent (grinding noises with gear changes throughout the warranty period)- took it elsewhere. Still love it but would a buy another??

BadgeHighline
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionDual-Clutch
Date PurchasedJun 2010

Ed c

Ed cGold Coast

  • 6 reviews

Courtesy van

published
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionDual-Clutch
Date PurchasedOct 2016

John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Should have bought one ages ago

published
BadgeComfortline
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Heather

HeatherGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely love it

published

We got out 2016 plated VW Multi van June 2017
It has been the best purchase we ever made. We originally got it as my husband is a furniture maker so for work and future family.
So versatile with the different combinations of seating arrangements, taking them in and out and lying them completely flat. It has been so useful in moving furniture, buying big items etc.
We have since had a baby and it is fantastic I can fit everything in pram, bag, accessories and still have room and access to use all 7 seats. So easy to gey bubs in and out. The sliding doors make tight car spots easy.
We absolutely love it

BadgeComfortline
Engine Size3.2L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Nic

NicSydney

Never again !

published
BadgeComfortline
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2011

Max Ross

Max RossPerth W.A

  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good so far however dont believe a word about it having " Differential Lock!"

published
BadgeComfortline
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionDual-Clutch
Date PurchasedDec 2016
5 comments
Max Ross
Max Ross
Max Ross
Max Ross
Max Ross
Max Ross

good but disappointed by build quality

published
BadgeComfortline
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Dibbo

DibboSydney, NSW

Brilliant car sadly let down by electrical issues

published
BadgeTDI450 Generation Six
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionDual-Clutch
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Not happy

published

Bought a 2006 high line in 2009, last week the driver side sliding door came off the track, we had to cut the electric cable in order to get the door back into the track, further more the DGS gear box decided to pack it in. VW quoted $6k to replace the gear box with a second hand one!. I gave a rating of 3- whilst we are experiencing these mechanical issues after 10 years the van had been terrific prior. We test drove many other people movers however will be leasing a new "baseline" multivan comfortline (without the electric sliding doors) this time rather than buying it out right.

BadgeHighline
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2009

CJ

CJSydney

  • 4 reviews

Love the size. That's it!

published
BadgeComfortline
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2010
Oly

OlyBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Practical people mover, but let down by VW service

published
BadgeTDI400 Comfortline
Engine Size2.0L Bi-Turbo
TransmissionDual-Clutch
Date PurchasedOct 2012
2 comments
Oly
Oly
Oly
Oly

sick as a dog

sick as a dogMelbourne

What a shambles

published
BadgeTDI340 Comfortline
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic

Matt. M

Matt. MSydney

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

Amazing!

published
BadgeTDI400 Highline
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic

Great family car spoiled by high repairs and VW customer service

published

we thought a new multi van MY2010 was the family car of our dreams. Big, easy to drive, economical and looked like the van from scoobie doo. Several in warranty problems but post warranty spent $10k on repairs inc $1k on replacement ignition cyclinder. Have just sold and bought a Honda Odyssey. Loved the VW but not the problems.

BadgeTDI400 Highline
Engine Size2.0L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic

Most expensive Bomb I've ever owned!

published

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Keith Taylor

Keith Taylor asked

Multivan T5.I

Why VW have not had a recall on design faults in the T5 vans.. specifically the auto gearbox .. just cost me $11k to have it reconditioned which included a modified oil cooler cane relocated to the front of the radiator.. not designed for Australian conditions! and the the cheaply made tin exhaust manifold.. have they changed the part to something more suited like a cast iron one in newer models...
But we are dealing with a car company with low morals that falsified it’s exhaust emissions read outs.. be aware that VW is not a reputable company anymore.. as proven in the courts..

No answers

Katherine O.

Katherine O.asked

Hello
How often do the wheels need to be changed on the multivan?

1 answer
binhbui
binhbui

Why would you want to change the wheels? Unless the wheels are damaged, there is no need to change them. If you mean to rotate them around for even wear, my practice is every 12 months because I travel below average only 6,000km per year. Hope this helps.


Craig c

Craig casked

Where is the park brake in a automatic

1 answer
Jon L
Jon L

Hand brake is between front passenger seat and drivers seat. Conventional on the floor


Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

Details

Volkswagen Multivan T5.II
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Multivan T5.II

12 reviews
Volkswagen Multivan T5.I
  • Discontinued

Volkswagen Multivan T5.I

13 reviews
Volkswagen Multivan T6

Volkswagen Multivan T6

10 reviews
CategoryVansVansVans
Release dateJan 2010Jan 2004Jan 2015
Discontinuation dateDec 2015Dec 2010

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.