Verified Customer

Brilliant 10 days in SA thanks to A4WD!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 16, 2019

On a last minute holiday, we were lucky enough to book a Toyota Prado with Australian 4WD Hire for 10 days of fun in South Australia. Paul, the local agent in Adelaide was super friendly and laid back which put as at ease right away, especially considering we had never been offroading in a 4WD.

The vehicle was as described and included everything we needed for bush camping. Make sure to check the condition of everything before leaving the depot and speak up if you think something is not in great condition and make a note of it. We didn't need to, but things can wear out and break while out and about so better to be sure.

We took the 4WD on unsealed roads - nothing too extreme, mainly gravel/sand/small rocks etc. and it performed great. Again as a first time offroader - we felt comfortable the entire time and did not doubt the car once.

We will be hiring with A4WD again and we'd highly recommend them if you're are looking for exciting outback adventure!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you Adam, We are very pleased to hear that we were able to make your holiday possible and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We are also glad to hear that you pla... read more »

Nedlands, Western Australia

Private message

Verified Customer

Excellent 4WD - Clean Equipment - Great Customer Service!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 15, 2019

Hi Maryna,

Thanks again for your excellent customer service! The Prado I rented from you over the last ten days was in perfect condition and it was a pleasure to drive. As you promised, all the equipment- truck, tent, refrigerator and camp gear were spotless. My daughter and I had a great trip which was due in large part to your Australian 4WD team. I will definitely be renting from you again.

Kind Regards,

Judd

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Hello Judd,

Thank you for you kind review, we are very pleased that you and your daughter enjoyed your trip and certainly look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure!

Verified Customer

What an incredible experience that was

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 14, 2019

Having arrived in WA with no idea what was in store, as soon as we entered the A4WD office we were made to feel at ease. An abundance of information and detailed walk through of the vehicles made us feel at ease right away.
It set the tone for our adventure in these new and well maintained off road vehicles and it proved to be an amazing experience for our family whilst on the road.

On return we did make a couple of superficial dents to the vehicles and we happily used our bond to ensure the damage was fixed for the next clients. These things can happen when on the road and so we budgeted for it accordingly.

these trucks are so well equipped but it definitely pays to check over all the equipment to make sure you have everything you need for this trip.

All in all we had an amazing experience travelling from Perth to Albany in these luxurious off road vehicles :D

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Richard, thank you very much for your business and support! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We also sincerely appre... read more »

Verified Customer

I will be soon again in Australia! 100% my car will be hired in Au. 4WD Hire!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 14, 2019

customer service was efficient, clear and fast.
bond payment was asked little late, but they took cash with no problem... so that was perfect for me.
The vehicle was not the same, but the one I got was better. (even if I wanted to have more fun with a manual gear...)
I hired the vehicle to go camping in Fraser island and other places, the vehicle and gear provided was more than enough and what I needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you Ricardo! We are very glad that enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment well suited to your needs. Thank you very much for your business and support, we look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure!!

Verified Customer

5 star review for 5 star service. Excellent throughout the process from beginning to end

5 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 07, 2019

1.) Customer service was fabulous from start to finish
2.) Bond was refunded within the timeframe they agreed to
3.) Vehicle was reliable, clean and with low KM's
4.) A once in a lifetime trip from ADL-PER and we will book with AU 4x4 again for the Coral Coast this year
Thanks to the whole team

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Hello Jon,
Thank you very much for your business, feedback and support, we are very glad you enjoyed your trip and that the service you received met your expectations.
We look forward to assisting you with your next 4WD trip!

Verified Customer

See you again next time!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Jan 07, 2019

Now that our holiday in Australia has finally ended I may say that our decision to rent a 4WD car from Australian 4WD Hire was a good one. I absolutely would choose this company again.

We hired the car in Alice Springs to drive via the West Macdonell ranges, Kings Canyon, Ayers Rock, Oodnadatta track and Arkaroola to Adelaide. We visited Palm Valley and did one excursion in Arkaroola where we really needed the 4WD and high clearance capacity.

We planned our trip from end of November till middle of December 2018. So when we first asked for a quotation without questioning from our side we directly got a reduced offer because we rented the car at the end of the season and they didn't calculate a one way fee. That was a fine start for us.

The communication before we finally took over the car was very clear and informative and they were really sitting on top of things to prevent any surprises.
Due to language problems still one surprise occurred: unlike usual car renting agencies they asked for a security bond which is not - as we wrongly assumed in the beginning - a reservation on your credit card but an EFT of the total sum to them. So be aware that you have this sum available in real money!
After delivering the car back in Adelaide they were very fast to transfer the total amount back to us. So in total this procedure was unusual for us but is still working fine.

Different to other car companies they explicitly state that you may use the car more or less on any road that is mentioned on the Hema-map without all the exclusions that other car companies state (which seems to be more or less any gravel road that matters).

That gave us a lot of trust in that they believe in their cars and that their cars are suitable for their purposes. That was very important for us because at the end of the season with its already high temperatures you don't want to have a break down when even on the well-known Oodnadatta track no other car was coming along all day.

For us it was the first time to drive on off-road roads and we had to learn ourselves what is possible. With real 4WD, low range gear and hill down function we finally concluded that the car is able to do much more than we dared to do. A very relaxing thought. Especially the low range function is very important but is seemingly often disabled by other car companies as we heard.

Just before we took over the car (4WD Bush Camper Medium RTT) in Alice Springs we got the message that the rented car was not available due to an incident that had occurred earlier with it. Instead we got the bigger one (4WD Bush Camper Large RTT) for the same rate. From what we heard this was even the better choice if you want to go on an adventure so we didn't mind ;-)

The introduction to the car was short and we were glad we had read the information for off-road driving on their home page earlier and watched the video ´How to set up your rooftoptent´ on YouTube.
We didn't check if everything is in the emergency package which - looking back - was a fault of us because the shovel was missing. We didn't plan to drive through sand so it didn't matter after all, but still. We encountered this just when we delivered back the car. That late it is not possible to claim that the shovel was not in the package from the beginning on, obviously. Still the company did not make us pay for it!

In total we had a very fine holiday. Everything worked out and, again, we were glad to have choosen Australian 4WD Hire. We would do so again especially for a more serious off-road adventure the next time.

With kind regards,
Ellen & Heiko

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Hello Heiko, Thank you very much for your detailed review of your hire, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to outline your experience.
Thank you again for your business and support, we look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD adventure!

Verified Customer

Great trip, thanks to a great car!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 29, 2018

My experience with this company was good. I hired a Toyota Hillux for two months to travel from north Australia to south west Australia. The car was great (good condition, clean and what I expected and needed for the trip) and pick-up and drop-off went smoothly. The camping gear that came with the car was also of good quality. I really appreciated the tire pressure pump included in the recovery kit as I understand those are not always included by other companies. Finally, when I encountered two minor issues with the car the company's response was quick and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Hello Iris, Thank you very much for your review. It is great to heart that the vehicle was well suited to your needs and that any issues that you experienced were handled straight away. We certainl... read more »

Verified Customer

Great way to get off the beaten track

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2018

We are return customers of Australian 4wd Hire, as we like to get off the beaten tourist track and into the more remote parts of the country. We found booking and any question we had were handled quickly and efficiently. As was the bond repayment. Having most of the camping gear included is great for us coming from NZ. The pickup and drop off was also fast and efficient although there is quite alot of reading to do. Thanks to the team

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you very much for your continued business Andrew! We are pleased that you have enjoyed your trip and that everything was handled fast and efficiently and that the vehicle was well suited to y... read more »

Verified Customer

4WD RTT Camper was great

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2018

We had a great time in the outback, driving the 4WD RTT Camper along the Oodnadatta track. Pick up in Adelaide and drop off in Alice Springs were smooth and quick. The rooftop tent and the awnings were very functional and easy to open and close. Security bond was released without a fuss within a few hours of handing over the vehicle.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you very much for your review Kamal. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure!

Verified Customer

Amazing Family Holiday

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 21, 2018

We had a very pleasant experience, head office crew was the most attentive and ready to answer all of our questions before, during and after hire.

Supplying lots of pictures and links that made our preparation for the whole trip much easier. Agent in Perth was helpful and had a great knowledge about the area.

The whole camping style travel was new to us but we have really enjoyed it mostly because we were provided almost with everything that we needed for the trip.

Coming from overseas you cannot ask for a better package. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Hello Voit,

Thank you very much for your business, feedback and support, we are very glad you enjoyed your trip and look forward to assisting you with your next 4WD trip.

Verified Customer

Really smooth experience with all the support that we needed.

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 15, 2018

I booked a car to pickup in Cairns,use around lower Cape york and then drive back to Brisbane. The communications with the company were always very prompt, polite and friendly. The agents in Cairns were great and spent time going over everything with the car including tailoring the camping gear for the number of people we had and explaining how to use and setup the tents. The car was in good condition, was comfortable and the fridge was a great bonus. The agents in Brisbane were also friendly and the return was easy.

Australian 4WD seem to be one of only a few companies that allow people to go to remote outback locations and as such they have very extensive terms and conditions to cover usage of their vehicles. Make sure you read and understand them. I had questions and they answered them clearly and straight away. The bond was a payment up front to cover insurance excess but was returned within 2 days of returning the car and I had my bond paid back in full.
I haven't dealt with the company before, have no prior association with them and I run a small IT consultancy in northern NSW. My dealing with Australian 4WD hire was very professional and polite. They were easy to deal with and I would happily do business with them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you Michael! We are very happy that you have enjoyed your hire and that the vehicle and equipment were all well suited to your needs. We appreciate your business and support and look forward to assisting you in your next 4WD holiday!!

Verified Customer

Great car, friendly people, good service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 14, 2018

All communication with 4wd administration went over email, they were always correct and very quick to answer. At pick-up and drop-off everyone was very friendly. We had a big Toyota 4x4 which was great to drive and had everything you would expect.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Stijn, thank you very much for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs. We look forward to assisting on your next 4WD adventure.

Verified Customer

Great Trip!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 13, 2018

Just wanted to say thank you for providing reliable Hilux Camper RTT.

Complimentary camping gear was very handy.

We had a fantastic holiday on the West Coast.

Great service, great people, highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you Max, we certainly appreciate your recommendation and lookforward to assisting you on your next 4WD getaway!

Verified Customer

Great experience!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 12, 2018

Near new vehicle with almost everything that one need for camping. Agent in Perth was friendly and helpful, everything was explained. We didn’t have any troubles following the T&Cs which we found were reasonable, bond was refunded the next day. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

That is great to hear Sam! We always like to hear that our agents are friendly and helpful with customers and we are very glad you enjoyed your holiday. See you next time for your next 4WD holiday!

Nice 4WD experience in the outback

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 04, 2018

We hired a RTT vehicle for the trip Darwin to Adelaide, it was in perfect conditions and all the employees from Australian 4WD Hire were helpful and professional. We got the security bond back in 24h, to reccomend !

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you Fabio, we are very glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to helping you on your next 4WD adventure.

Thank you for your business and support.

Verified Customer

Equipment is great quality

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 29, 2018

Customer Service was fast at responding back.
Bond was handled in the time frame stated in their contract
Vehicle was what I expected when booking.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you very much for your review Michael, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that all of the equipment and the vehicle were well suited to your needs.
Thank you for your business and support!

Verified Customer

Amazing Vehicle

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 28, 2018

The car did everything we asked of it and more. We really tested it out over our almost 2 week trip, bring it on sand dunes, off roading and camping. The tent was really easy to set up, so much so that someone could do it on their own so having more than 1 person made it a breeze. The cooler in the back kept everything ice cold, which is vital to stay hydrated in the Australian sun. Overall, the car is amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you Rob, we are very glad that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs, and we sincerely hope you enjoyed your trip.

Verified Customer

Good communication and great service

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2018

Any queries I had with Australian 4WD Hire were answered promptly and in full. Pickup and drop off were smooth, with the guys at both Darwin and Melbourne being really helpful and clear on the equipment and vehicle. Bond and fuel were both refunded in full quicker than expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you Luke, we are very glad you enjoyed your hire and we are pleased to hear we were able to answer any questions you had.

We sincerely appreciate your business and support and look forward to helping with your next 4WD adventure.

Good experience

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 17, 2018

I must say that all people at the pickup and dropoff were very serious and correct. There was abolutly no problem with the timetable we had determinded . The car was well prepared , ready to go. We got even an upgrade , a larger car because there was a problem with the car we wanted th hire, without having to pay a supplement. On the Hwy and in the outback the Toyota Prado 4WD gave full satisfaction.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you very much Theo, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip. We look forward to assisting you on your next 4WD holiday.

Verified Customer

Love Australian 4wd Hire and team

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 16, 2018

We drove over 4000km and used hired equipment during the trip from Darwin to Adelaide. Me and my travel mates are extremely satisfied with the vehicle we have got and service we have been provided in. Since the very beginning communication with Australian 4wd team was very easy and precise. We got all details and useful information in advance. The car was well maintained, equipped with high quality camping stuff, much better than expected. Bond/security is being refunded to us with no issues. The vehicle we had was with ground tent and exactly what we needed while our trip thru Australian Outback. Customer service and quality definitely above expectation !!! Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Australian 4WD Hire Official

Thank you Ania, we are very glad you enjoyed your trip and that the vehicle and equipment were well suited to your needs! We love to hear that customers have been able to visit some wonderful place... read more »

1 of 7 pages


Questions & Answers

I am a bit concerned about having to pay 2500 dollars on pick up for the vehicle. Does anyone know if this is a common practice and any tips to ensuring that we get this money back?

Emlen asked on Sep 13, 2018

Answer this

Hello Emlen,

Thank you for your question.
If you are referring to the security bond, all off-road hire companies require a bond to be held whilst the vehicle is on hire.
As you would understand any one who hires wants their vehicle (which are sometimes in excess of $70k-$80k) back in one piece.
There are different options for the amount to be paid as a bond, depending on the level of liability you wish to take on.
If you refer to our terms and conditions it provides the full breakdown of the options available and the different costs.
Thank you, we look forward to doing business with you.

Has anyone challenged their legal right to issue fines to customers for things like driving at night, or "speeding" ?

Paul asked on Jun 30, 2018

Answer this

Hello Paul,

I think you are a bit mistaken, as we do not issue fines to customers for speeding or night driving.

As an off-road 4WD supplier, that allows customers to travel to highly remote areas Australia wide, we do have certain conditions surrounding the use of the vehicle.

Breaching these conditions will cause excessive wear and tear to the vehicle and will put customers at high risk of serious damage and injury, therefore breaching these conditions may incur additional charges to hire.

Our terms and conditions have been drafted by top, corporate legal specialists, in accordance with Australian Consumer Law(ACL), local and traffic laws, as well as all Australian Consumer Protection Regulations.

Our T&C's are regularly reviewed to ensure consistent, unwavering compliance so that we can ensure we are always providing the most fair service to our customers, and preserving the genuine interests of our business.

Hi Paul.
They cannot (and are not) issuing fines per se, as they are not a prescribed person under the Road Safety/Transport Act of the relevant state or territory. It appears however that they are attempting to use contractual law.

On checking the ACCC's 'Unfair Contract Terms' guide, it says in part;

'However, even if a contract contains terms that favour the consumer, such favourable terms may not counterbalance an unfair term if the consumer is unaware of them. Examples include implied terms, or terms hidden in fine print, in a schedule or in another document, or written in legalese. This may result in an information imbalance in favour of the business.'

'In considering the contract as a whole, a court will often need to balance the legitimate commercial interests of the business against the detriment the term would cause to a consumer if it were enforced.'

I have not read their terms and conditions as I have no interest in hiring a 4wd however if the fine print does in fact state that insurance does not cover 'wear and tear' (as such) on a vehicle which has been primarily designed to be used off road and for extended periods and is advertised in that way, there may be a case to answer.

It appears to me that for the company to obtain full comprehensive insurance on these vehicles for use as advertised, it would be extremely costly, so maybe they are supplementing the cost by putting these clauses in their contract. This may not be morally or ethically correct, but may be legally correct...... we'll just have to wait and see.

It will be very interesting to see what the ACCC and the Courts decide and whether a precedent is set.

Paul thank god for Tim Nicholls MP, Clayfield who highlighted the sneaky tricks this Company is getting up to. He was quoted again today in an article by the Gold Coast Bulletin apparently there are more than 70 people caught up in this. A4WD have used tracking software developed for car thefts in South Africa (CTrack) to claim it is accurate enough to know the speed a car is travelling. It would never hold up in a court of law. Given that the company fines between $500 and $5000 for speeding (claiming it is wear and tear charge under their contract) it is in fact a penalty as there is no connection between the charge and the wear and tear claimed. But who is going to fight it? It costs up to $20k just to get to court. It would need someone with deep pockets who wants to waste their money on challenging them. Remember they have your money already. It is futile trying to take them on. That should be the job of the ACCC to protect Consumers - but they are doing nothing. Have a look at the Europcar Case and make up your own mind.