5 photos
Tesla Model S

Tesla Model S (2013-2021)

Also referred to as: Tesla Model S 2020 and Tesla Model S 2022. Performance, Long Range
3.9 from 8 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electric Cars in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Tesla? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

3.9
8 reviews
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (3)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (3)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (3)
  • Braking
    4.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (2)
  • Handling
    3.7 (3)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (3)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (3)
  • Comfort
    3.7 (3)
  • Features
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
JoH
JoHSydney, NSW
  • 12 reviews
  • 26 likes

Excellent performance, welcome to the future.

published

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
DAVIDB
DAVIDBGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 30 reviews
  • 23 likes

Just not good enough

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Art48
Art48AU
  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Likely to be the last car we'll ever buy. Perhaps a Rivian after this...

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $85,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Electric Cars

Find out how Tesla Model S compares to other Electric Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Louis
LouisSouth Yarra

I regret buying this car.

published

Tesla is unable to support its cars. My car was involved in a minor accident requiring a rear panel to be repaired. Apart from the horrendous cost of the repair, there is only one Tesla repairer in Melbourne. The repairer informed me that a minimum of 5 weeks was required before the car could be booked in. The car is now waiting at the repairer for a part (from China) and will by the time the part arrives have been at the repairer for 4-5 weeks.

Badge60
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Rain
RainTownsville
  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Very impressing auto pilot

published

High performance! Handling has auto steer! Low noise! Very reliable and good! It is also very cheap to run, as it only uses electricity! This is over all a very good car. However, the range of the charge is not very great. There is also not that many superchargers around the city.

BadgeP100D
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2017

Related Articles

Previous

Our Latest Expert Car Reviews

A complete list of all our most recent car reviews by our resident car expert. Every review has both a detailed article and an accompanying video, so you can find out all the specs and then see them in action. Whether you're looking for a family car, a 4X4, or a performance vehicle, we cover everything in the Australian market.

Cameron S.
Cameron S.12 Jan 2021
our-latest-expert-car-reviews
Next
Janita
JanitaMelbourne
  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best car I've ever had by far

published

This was a massive purchase for my husband and I and one we don't regret a bit. What is there to say other than going electric is something you will not regret! I was a bit concerned pre-purchase about charging and distance but it has not been an issue once, and we travel decent distances often. The interior and exterior are sleek and beautiful and inside is so comfortable. Absolutely love this car!

Badge75
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Beardy Bonce
Beardy BonceSydney, NSW
  • 20 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great Performance, questionable overall build quality

published

Purchased as a Hire Car, so this machine has clocked up the KMs over the past few months.
+ Performance is great, Quick...very Quick!, Charge time (Super chargers) is very quick, good KM range, boot space is impressive, driving position is good, great styling (akin to a Jag or maeserati) , easy to drive.
- panel gaps and quality of paint is inconsistent, availability of parts, 21" wheels (look good but easy to scuff).

This car is interesting to drive and a peak into the future

Badge90D
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2016
superquickelectric
superquickelectricAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

Like Flying A Spaceship!

published

Questions & Answers

Robert
Robertasked
Model S (2013-2021)

I see the car is fast, but what about braking. I just googled "Tesla brake failure" sorry im out i dont want to die in a fire ball

1 answer
DAVIDB
DAVIDB

Perhaps if you focused on current relavant accident data and statics rather than waste your time with rediculous Google search for starters. Go and drive one first, you will find it stops as is expected of a performance vehicle. It is possible to die in a fire ball in any vehicle, get over it.

wilsr
wilsrasked
Model S (2013-2021)

Have any of you the model S with the all glass roof? I am too late to get the metal roofed model and I am concerned about the strength and durability of the roof and also the effect of harsh Australian sun pouring in - do you suffer from this with heat and or burn?

No answers
peter atherton
peter athertonasked
Model S (2013-2021)

I am looking to buy my wife a Tesla model S, can someone tell me what they think i have had a few bad experiences buying new cars?

1 answer
Beardy Bonce
Beardy Bonce

The first question I'd ask is what are you looking for when buying a Tesla and what will the car be used for.

Professionally I drive both the Model S and Model X Teslas on a regular basis.

The Model S's that I drive are the P90D (with ludicrous mode) and the 90D (with out).

The battery range on both the Model S cars i drive is up to 400kms ( the heavier your right foot and the more gizmo's you have specced and on will reduce this).
I'm not sure where you are located but in Sydney there are 5 (soon to be 6) Super Chargers at the Tesla show room in St leonards. The star casino no longer has super chargers. Some shopping centres have electric charging points ....these are not as quick as the super chargers but will get you out of trouble. Tesla now encourage customers to home charge ( installing a phase 3 system is preferred).

The Model S is pretty good for passenger space and comfort and can carry upto 5 ( driver plus 4). Boot space is great and front trunk (no engine remember) is also pretty generous. 2-3 suitcases are not a problem.

Build quality is OK... panel gaps etc can differ/ not be uniform and paint quality seems a bit thin. Internally the finish is quite luxurious but not up to E class or 7 series standards in my opinion..... there are a lot of plastic components used.

Parts... most are readily available locally.

Dealerships.... More Ford than Porsche in manner id say....they are very relaxed.

Performance.... this all depends on the battery and performance options chosen....the P90D is seriously quick!

Options...choose carefully....especially wheel options....bigger wheels= firmer ride and more chance of gutter rash.

There are a growing number of Models S's on the pre-loved market....these will likely have the free charging for life benefit ( cars ordered before mid Jan 2017 qualified for this) which could be an advantage. That said, ive noticed a number of these hang around for a while....perhaps its price related or general infrastructure related ?

I would suggest you and your wife test drive, if possible/available, a number of different model S specs ( to get a feel for options etc), ask pointy questions at the dealership and talk to owners/drivers that are charging their cars at the dealership.

Hope this helps :)

Get an answer from our members

Tesla Model S (2013-2021)

Details

Compare both Tesla Model S (2013-2021)
CategorySedans and Electric CarsSedans and Electric Cars
Starting Price $123,500$142,300
TransmissionAutomaticAutomatic
Drive TypeAll Wheel Drive (AWD)All Wheel Drive (AWD)
Fuel TypeElectricElectric
Wheels19" Alloy19" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars
Fuel Consumption0 L/100km0 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 0 L0 L
Max Power330kW330kW
Max Torque1000Nm1000Nm
Country of ManufactureUSAUSA
Manufacturer Warranty4 year(s)4 year(s)
Release dateAug 2014Aug 2014
Compare both Tesla Model S (2013-2021)
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.