??!
3 photos
Bayer Advantage for Cats

Bayer Advantage for Cats

Purple (Large Cats), Orange (Small Cats)
2.6 from 51 reviews

Reviews

2.6

51 reviews
5
(13)
4
(3)
3
(6)
2
(7)
1
(22)
Previous
Next
rr33

rr33

  • 3 reviews

Awful skin irritation and fur loss months later

published

I applied Advantage flea treatment to my large cat. He doesn’t usually need these treatments so it was his first application in about 5 years. Two months later he is still scratching at the application site with scabs and missing fur with the bald patch growing. This stuff is POISON- don’t put it on your animals. I deeply regret it.

Purchased in June 2020 at Direct Vet Supplies for A$30.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects Long-term illness
Pet TypeCat
See all answers

Crap does not work

published

We bought advantageII This crap does not work!!!! used three viles on my cat within a month and guess what he STILL has fleas , since this site won't let me give no stars i have to give it one which it does NOT deserves.......save your money i paid over 50 bucks for mine , buy the cheap pet store brand at least it works

Purchased in July 2020 for A$51.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects None
Pet TypeCat
See all answers
chez

chezSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Does not work

published

This product does not work after adhering to the strict instructions to a tee my 17 week kitten has had her 3 treatments of this and she still has fleas, disgusted as this product is not cheap don't use it a waste of money

Purchased in March 2020 at Petbarn Physical store for A$85.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects None
Pet TypeCat
See all answers
1 comment
chez
chez

Update, just had my kitten desexed and vets said she still had fleas, Advantix when are you going to listen to consumers and not just keep taking there money for something that isn't working?

Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Bayer Advantage for Cats compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

made my cat very sick

published

24 hours after treatment cat lathargic, anorexic and diarreah. He has been poorley for a week. I took him to the vet and he had a raised temperature of 1 degree. Vet just gave him an anti inflamatory and said it was just a virus.

Purchased in March 2020 for A$20.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects Short-term illness
Kirstjewel A.

Kirstjewel A.Southwest, VIC

Did absolutely nothing

published

I bought this and the one for large dogs. Neither worked!
$180 for nothing. Extremely disappointed as it offered no relief to my pets. Do not recommend at all! Waste of money.

Purchased in February 2020 at Pet Stock for A$180.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects None
Pet TypeCat
See all answers
Seddon1234

Seddon1234

  • 2 reviews

4 week kitten until 14 weeks.

published

Got kitten at 4 weeks infested with fleas on its face, around neck first treatment lasted 2 weeks due to bathing cat for faeces on fur (kittens cant clean this). Gave 2nd treatment, fleas gone. Forgot treating until 14 weeks old fleas reappear, one caution; not put oil on shoulder they can lick, put deep in fur at the base of the skull.

Purchased in September 2019 at Chemist King for A$60.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects None
Pet TypeCat
See all answers

DOES NOT WORK!

published

I've been using Advantage 2 on both my dog and cats. Yes, it was applied correctly. I have watched the video, it was in the correct spot, directly on the skin. I vacuumed and pulled everything apart (multiple times) to do so, washed all pet bedding and blankets....and sprayed my house. I reapplied every few weeks for a few months. They still had so many fleas! What a waste of money! This is two years in a row I spent hundreds of dollars on Advantage 2, used it over several months, to end up resorting to flea baths and the Zodiak spray (with instant results) that cost about $60. This for all of my animals for the entire season.

Purchased in July 2019.

Value for Money

9 out of 10 cats ended up in emergency hospital....one died from Advantage.

published

I applied the Advantage to my cats as I have many times before. This time, within hours, several of them were salivating, convulsing and having respiratory difficulties. It resulted in 9 out of 10 of them going to the emergency vet within a 3 hr to 36 hour period. One passed. I have incurred over $8,000 in emergency vet charges and hospital bills due to this. Stay Away!!!!

Side Effects Death
Pet TypeCat

Horrible Product, Horrible Bayer Customer Service.

published
Pet TypeCat
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Bayer Advantage for Cats compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Please be careful with older cats

published
Side Effects Death

Just doesn't get rid of flees

published

Bought large cat dose, purple type. She's had 2 doses in 5 weeks & still has flees. It simply doesn't work on her.

Purchased in April 2019.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects None
Pet TypeCat
See all answers

Packets were empty when opened

published

If $$$$ packet only 2 were full others were empty. I returned it to the vet. They said it’s such a small dosage you probably see it when administered - but I know they were empty.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$72.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects None
Pet TypeCat
See all answers

My heart is broken, I believe this product killed my kitty

published

Every since I place this product on my cat, my kitty wasn’t the same vomiting , foaming from the mouth seem depress dihrea hiding etc . my vet. Gave him antibiotics and meds for nausea he seem to be fine but then started to get sicker now has passed . Please!!!! EVERYONE be sure of doing your research on these flea products before placing on your baby , bc Im sick to my stomach knowing I’m his care taker / his mum and I thought I was doing the right thing turns out I wasn’t . Now my pooka is gone .

Beware of this product

published
Amy

AmyGibbsboro

Don't Waste Your Money!

published

Although my cats had no negative reaction to this product, it doesn't work AT ALL. I bought a few of the 6 pack Advantage for cats over 9 lbs. I've been putting it on them every week and they still have fleas.I am a clean person. I've been vacuuming daily, washing blankets, bedding,and towels constantly, and brushing the cats about every 2-3 days.This product does not work.I'm extremely unhappy because I spent 160$ on it, thinking I'd have about a years supply but I'm almost out. I will not be buying more of this specific product and would suggest you don't waste your money.

Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Bayer Advantage for Cats compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cath 161

Cath 161MORAYFIELD

  • 2 reviews

Gets rid of fleas but has unwanted side effects.

published
rmlb

rmlbNew Britain

Use with Caution

published

I purchased the Advantage II for my two indoor cats after using Frontline for many years because I thought it might be a better choice. A day after applying it on both my cats my female vomited a few times during the night and by the next day her eyes were swollen and red and her ears were bright crimson red. I immediately took her to the vet. He gave her a cortisone shot and cortisone medication to take for a week. He felt she might have ingested it somehow. The next morning she was notably better. I can not recommend this product after this experience nor will I be purchasing it again.

Beware!!! Cat killer!!!

published

Bought 6mo. supply of advII large cat (13yo healthy 13lb cat). 1st dose, 2 days later cat acting strange not eating/drinking lethargic. Vet tests inconvlusive $500 hole in pocket. Didn't think anything about flea med causing her behavior. She gets better. 2nd dose a month and 1/2 later. Same symptoms appear, but worse. Added confusion/uncoordination/vomiting. Vet visit again. Conclusion, organ failure due to poisioning. this product, these heartless, and any company selling their product. A call to them will result in their denial and getting hung up on. There's a special place in Hell for these and anyone like em.

Tiarni

TiarniBeerwah Qld

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Cat amazing

published

This is great for my cat enjoy giving it to my cat my cat loves this product would not say a bad thing about this cat product

Danni

Danni

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Works alright but fleas work up an immunity after awhile

published

This actually worked really well for my cat up until a couple of months ago. I live in a unit and two of my neighbors use this also. Seems the fleas have built up an immunity to it though which I expected would happen after awhile. Will definitely go back to using it soon, hopefully by then it will work against our fleas again. Didn't affect my fur baby at all, he doesn't like the smell though as it is quite strong. As for all the negative reviews IT IS POISONOUS! DON'T LET YOUR CAT LICK IT!

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Ginge

Gingeasked

Advantage for Cats

I’ve just got a 7 week old kitten ... is it safe to use advantage to treat fleas as I’ve seen a few in her since she arrives today?

No answers
Sue Q.

Sue Q.asked

Advantage for Cats Orange (Small Cats)

Can I use the small cat doseon a 4.8 pound cat?

No answers
Deborah M.

Deborah M.asked

Advantage for Cats

Did they change the smell of advantage 11? Got some online and smells like flowers and i dont remember it smelling like that.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.