3 photos
Advantage for Cats
2.5 from 55 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Tick & Flea Control Products in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Advantage? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Pip
PipSouth Australia
  • 30 reviews
  • 16 likes

Think Big Pharma Doesn't Apply to Pets? Think Again...

published

I’ve applied my second monthly treatment to my cat and he still has fleas. IT DOES NOT WORK!

Further to this I’ve just read some of the comments below and am shocked and disgusted that this poison is still on the market and being recommended by vets when it is clearly harming and killing peoples’ beloved pets. I can't believe this pharmaceutical corporation will not even issue a women a REFUND - they should be sued till they're out of business! Think Big Pharma doesn’t apply to pets? Think again.

Purchased in August 2021.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5

Do Not Use

published

After using Frontline for years I thought I would have a change. So bought Advantage and after giving it to my cats they became ill, foaming at the mouth and lethargic. I quickly washed off with mild soapy water. Do not give this to your cats it’s toxic.

Purchased in January 2021.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5

Worst thing I ever did

published

My cat has today died I put this product for the first time on my cat within hours she was walking and collapsing her breathing became very deep , had a vet visit with her age 15 they said her heart was very bad not the product, but my cat was playing with my little girl fine before I put this on her , I know this caused this

Purchased in January 2021 at The CPAP Clinic Physical store for $4.00.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Cat
Pam M
Pam MGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

skin irritation and bald patch...

published

Used this product a couple of times before I realised it was the reason for a nasty bald weepy patch on my cat's neck where I had applied it. I emailed the manufacturers with my proof of purchase, a photo of my cat's neck, expiry dates on the box and remaining vials and asked for a refund. They admitted that some cats do have a reaction to their product but would not refund my purchase price as I had purchased it through PetFrenzy on ebay. I did point out that where I purchased it did not change the harmful composition of the product and they should accept responsibility, but to no avail. Do not buy this product

  • Thumbnail

Purchased at EBAY - PETFRENZY for $48.47.

Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Pet Type Cat
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Advantage for Cats compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rr33
rr33
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Awful skin irritation and fur loss months later

published

I applied Advantage flea treatment to my large cat. He doesn’t usually need these treatments so it was his first application in about 5 years. Two months later he is still scratching at the application site with scabs and missing fur with the bald patch growing. This stuff is POISON- don’t put it on your animals. I deeply regret it.

Purchased in June 2020 at Direct Vet Supplies for $30.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5

Crap does not work

published

We bought advantageII This crap does not work!!!! used three viles on my cat within a month and guess what he STILL has fleas , since this site won't let me give no stars i have to give it one which it does NOT deserves.......save your money i paid over 50 bucks for mine , buy the cheap pet store brand at least it works

Purchased in July 2020 for $51.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
4/5
chez
chezSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 10 reviews
  • 5 likes

Does not work

published

This product does not work after adhering to the strict instructions to a tee my 17 week kitten has had her 3 treatments of this and she still has fleas, disgusted as this product is not cheap don't use it a waste of money

Purchased in March 2020 at Petbarn Physical store for $85.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
3/5
chez
chez

Update, just had my kitten desexed and vets said she still had fleas, Advantix when are you going to listen to consumers and not just keep taking there money for something that isn't working?

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next

made my cat very sick

published

24 hours after treatment cat lathargic, anorexic and diarreah. He has been poorley for a week. I took him to the vet and he had a raised temperature of 1 degree. Vet just gave him an anti inflamatory and said it was just a virus.

Purchased in March 2020 for $20.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Kirstjewel A.
Kirstjewel A.Southwest, VIC

Did absolutely nothing

published

I bought this and the one for large dogs. Neither worked!
$180 for nothing. Extremely disappointed as it offered no relief to my pets. Do not recommend at all! Waste of money.

Purchased in February 2020 at Pet Stock for $180.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Advantage for Cats compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Seddon1234
Seddon1234
  • 2 reviews

4 week kitten until 14 weeks.

published

Got kitten at 4 weeks infested with fleas on its face, around neck first treatment lasted 2 weeks due to bathing cat for faeces on fur (kittens cant clean this). Gave 2nd treatment, fleas gone. Forgot treating until 14 weeks old fleas reappear, one caution; not put oil on shoulder they can lick, put deep in fur at the base of the skull.

Purchased in September 2019 at Chemist King for $60.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
4/5

DOES NOT WORK!

published

I've been using Advantage 2 on both my dog and cats. Yes, it was applied correctly. I have watched the video, it was in the correct spot, directly on the skin. I vacuumed and pulled everything apart (multiple times) to do so, washed all pet bedding and blankets....and sprayed my house. I reapplied every few weeks for a few months. They still had so many fleas! What a waste of money! This is two years in a row I spent hundreds of dollars on Advantage 2, used it over several months, to end up resorting to flea baths and the Zodiak spray (with instant results) that cost about $60. This for all of my animals for the entire season.

Purchased in July 2019.

Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No

9 out of 10 cats ended up in emergency hospital....one died from Advantage.

published

I applied the Advantage to my cats as I have many times before. This time, within hours, several of them were salivating, convulsing and having respiratory difficulties. It resulted in 9 out of 10 of them going to the emergency vet within a 3 hr to 36 hour period. One passed. I have incurred over $8,000 in emergency vet charges and hospital bills due to this. Stay Away!!!!

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Cat
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Advantage for Cats compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Horrible Product, Horrible Bayer Customer Service.

published
Incentivised Review No
Pet Type Cat

Please be careful with older cats

published
Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death

Just doesn't get rid of flees

published

Bought large cat dose, purple type. She's had 2 doses in 5 weeks & still has flees. It simply doesn't work on her.

Purchased in April 2019.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5

Questions & Answers

Martha L.
Martha L.asked
for Cats

I have three cats I tried to keep advantage on them all summer stop for some reason I am getting bit by something please I wonder if they are mites I am getting bit by something what would you recommend because I do not have the money to take him to the vet?

No answers
novakkian
novakkianasked
for Cats

I accidentally gave my cat the larger dose of Aadvantage11. I dry-wiped as much as possible immediately
until most of the wet substance was almost gone. Did I do the right thing? I feel she still got some
med in her system but not enough to hurt her but I might be wrong

No answers
Ginge
Gingeasked
for Cats

I’ve just got a 7 week old kitten ... is it safe to use advantage to treat fleas as I’ve seen a few in her since she arrives today?

No answers
See all Advantage for Cats questions

Get an answer from our members

Advantage for Cats

Details

Compare both Advantage for Cats
CategoryTick & Flea Control ProductsTick & Flea Control Products
Application TypeTopicalTopical
Pet TypeCatCat
Reapplication PeriodMonthlyMonthly
Minimum Pet Age4 weeks4 weeks
Compare both Advantage for Cats
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.