7 photos
Bayer Advocate
2.4 from 232 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Heart & Intestinal Wormers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Bayer? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

High gloss kitchen doors ruined due to this product burning when dogs shake even when dry!

published

The product burns high gloss kitchen doors when the dogs shake (even days after treatment applied as instructions). Ruined kitchen! Imagine What does it do to dog skin? Very upset

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased at Vet.

Incentivised Review No
Noele
NoeleGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Will not use Advocate again!!

published

I have just searched online for known reactions to Advocate Flea & Worm treatment and am horrified at the stories here. My cat has been vomiting and has been off his food. Also trembling as if he has a fever. I will take him to the vet in the morning if he is still alive!!

Purchased in March 2020 for $49.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
AAA
AAASydney, NSW

A big FAT ZERO

published

Trying to do my best by my new Kitten and giving him a trusted brand.
Poor wee thing spewed his ring out.
I thought it was the "user" i.e. me.. but after reading the rest of these reviews, my mindset changed.
Never again.

Purchased in July 2021.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Chloe
ChloeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worked in 12 hours!!

published

my 3 month old kitten hasn’t reacted badly at all. was hesitant due to the lack of good reviews however i followed the instructions and no fleas to be seen! i did also purchase a flea brush as she had quite a few when she came home, and i brushed out a lot after the treatment. woke up the next day and gave her a brush with the flea brush, no fleas. no scratching, but i’ve been finding dead fleas on her bed.. gross! but so worth it.

Purchased in June 2021 for $60.00.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Heart & Intestinal Wormers

Find out how Bayer Advocate compares to other Heart & Intestinal Wormers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Don't use Advocate on your Cats

published

Purchased in May 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Cat
N Z.
N Z.Sydney, NSW

Do not buy this EVER

published

Gave it to my 3 year old large cat he immediately became lethargic and withdrawn, shaking his head and squinting, no appetite either.
Wish I had checked reviews first, 2.4 stars says it all..
Avoid at all costs!
Clearly this stuff is toxic!
Shame on the vets who are pushing this product.

Purchased in June 2021 for $52.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Raewynew
RaewynewPort Macquarie
  • 6 reviews

Worst product do not use

published

After using this product for 13 years I had issues in November last year to which Bayer took no responsibility, this month used same product my furboy has lost fur skin rash bleeding

Purchased in November 2020 for $83.00.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Cat
Karen
KarenPerth, WA

The terrible unbelievable side effects of Advocate

published

This was placed between his shoulders blades as recommended. Few hours later his skin was red raw all his legs swelled up like balloons and his head and the back of his neck also swelled up to the point he looked like something out of a horror movie. He was in a bad way to the point my local vet thought his skin was going to peel off. I bought this from the same vet I had to take him back to. They will be submitting a report to the advocate drug company

Purchased in April 2021 for $80.00.

Incentivised Review No
Pet Type Dog

This poisoned my dog

published

48 hours after the first dose and my jack russell has laboured breathing, tremors, vomiting & extreme lethargy: this is poisonous and should never be given to any animal. It should come with a huge warning that says this is worse than the thing it claims to fix. Absolutely horrific

Purchased in April 2021 at Direct Vet Supplies for $11.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Heart & Intestinal Wormers

Find out how Bayer Advocate compares to other Heart & Intestinal Wormers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Dangerous - do not use on your cat

published

a couple of hours after the application, my cat started losing hair. at first i thought he had been scratching, but then i realised he was shedding entire patches of hair, and his skin was totally red. The treatment burned his skin and now my cat has a huge patch without hair on his neck, around 5cm diameter. Do not use this treatment, it is obviously very toxic and dangerous

Purchased in April 2021.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
4/5

Will never ever use again

published

My little Shihtzu had been to the vets with suspected bronchitis, the vet recommended using Advocate to prevent lung worm. I foolishly bought some and put it on the back of her neck the next morning. The following 6 days after she had a seizure when she walked up the stairs or down and when she went for a walk. I thought we was going to lose her, she would collapse onto her side, scream and put her head right back, I had to pick her up and comfort her. Its now 11 days later and she hasn't had another seizure for 6 days, I'm praying it has worked through her system. I have read so many reports like this, why is this lethal medicine still being sold.

Purchased in March 2021 for $45.00.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Ruth Noname
Ruth NonameCentral, SA
  • 3 reviews

Terrible. Should be banned.

published

Applied Advocate blue as directed for 1st time on my 9 year-old English Staffy and 24 hours later he had diorrea, acting unhappy and the worst thing is he has come up in nasty red lumbs all over his head, shoulders and near his rear. He is ripping himself open from all the scratching so a trip to the Vet and now on antibiotics and steriods to help calm his skin and having to bath him every 2days in Demercare Pyohex shampoo. This product should be banned from sale and investigated. My dog is my life and this stuff has ruined it for the both of us but at least he is alive, I feel so sad for those whom have lost their pets due to this product. Purchased from Vetsupply online. 3 pack for 59.95 . 10/2/2021

Purchased in February 2021 for $59.95.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Heart & Intestinal Wormers

Find out how Bayer Advocate compares to other Heart & Intestinal Wormers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Lethal to certain dog breeds

published

Purchased in January 2021.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Death
Pet Type Dog

Omg never again!

published

Just used for the first time, dog shot into front room and shook himself.
I couldn't believe my eyes the leather on the sofa started melting where he had shook.
What does this do to a dogs skin if it melts leather within seconds.
I'm no panicking the dog will be ok and my partner doesn't kill me.

Purchased in January 2021.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Rosie
Rosie
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Do not buy this product. Severe reactions in dog.

published

Purchased at Petbarn.

Incentivised Review No
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet Type Dog

Questions & Answers

Tina W.
Tina W.asked
Advocate Orange (Small Cat)

Hiya i have got 5 cats i made the mistake in buying 6 kitten and 3 adults drops
I only have 1 kitten
So could i double up on the kitten drops on 1 of the adults over 4kgs or isnt it safe?

2 answers
Karen
Karen

Hi Tina
Don’t want to scare you but definitely not a good idea. this stuff is poisonous and in some cases can have a severe reaction to your cats skin when not used properly. Don’t take my word for it look it up under advocate reviews. Personally I will never use this product or anything similar ever again as my dog had terrible side effects to this. Anyway please look it up before you do anything and if you do use just keep an eye on your cats to make sure they don’t have a reaction to this stuff as it can burn there skin in some cases

Tina W.
Tina W.

Hiya karen thanx for your kind answer
Ive used this on my cats for many years without any problems at all luckly
Id heard simular horror stories about another brand (bob martin) doing what you said & i know personally it was administered to a few pets leading sadly to servere burns and sezures and sadly also death
I asked my vet about advocate he said if they have used it years it should be ok and on the adult cat to use the kitten one and if still scratching use it again 4 wks later to be safe as hes coming up 12 yrs old so may be over powering for him so better safe than sorry
Advocate is produced in 3 names advocate/advantage+ is the flea ect plus wormer on a script and advantage is just for fleas sold in shops
My cat is doing ok not showing any signes of anything bad and his scratching has already almost stopped thank heavens as he was making himself go bauld behind his ears so im hoping its doing the trick if not ill have to pop him to see the vet and get him checked over incase he needs a further treatment but i hope not
The vet just said monitor him for 12 hrs as thats how long it takes to go into there systems and its now been over 36 hours with no signs on any of them :-)
Best Wishes
Tina

Karen
Karenasked
Advocate

Hi
Since my dog was severely affected by Advocate I am now working with the vet who subscribed to us and at the same time had to try and fix him once I took him back after we applied it. They are making an adverse report to the drug company who makes this terrible product I am just wondering if all the people whose animals were affected are letting the suppliers know what product it is they are selling and how dangerous to animals it can be ?? I cannot believe it is still for sale especially when you look at the product reviews on it. Does not make sense to me AT ALL

2 answers
Linda S.
Linda S.

Good morning Karen,
Firstly, I hope your dog is getting better with the help of your vet. Sadly for us our beautiful little dog had to be put to sleep, not solely because of Advocate, but after 3 weeks backwards and forwards to the vet they found she had cancer in her chest cavity, which kept filling up with fluid, it has been a very sad time. What made it more difficult was how she suffered after I had put this poison on her neck. The day after, I was upstairs, she came up the stairs and then all of a sudden her legs went, she started screaming and her head went right back. I was terrified for her, I picked her up straight away and cuddled and soothed her. This happened 5 more times over 4 days. When I told my vet, he dismissed it and said that it was licensed. At first I didn't know if it was some kind of panic attack as she had also lost her mum 3 weeks before, but the more I thought about it, it was definitely the Advocate that caused these neurological episodes. I have since been reading a lot about Bayer and after all the people that have died from their drugs and all the law suits they have had, they have no care for life, human or animal.
I hope your dog makes a full recovery.
Linda

Vanessa D.
Vanessa D.

Beetroot is very ill (shaking, laboured breathing, super lethargic) after the weekend at the vet since applying Advocate last Wednesday (it is now Monday). The vets refuse to admit that it is the Advocate (having given it with no warning label or verbal instructions). it is an absolute disgrace this poison is being sold as 'medicine'. the mass denial by vets is worse. Disgusting. I read that milk thistle and a lipid transfer may help but moxidectin has a half life of 30 days. it is a long road ahead. i hope she survives. 3 days after application is apparently the worst time (beetroot was vomiting & couldnt stand up, tremors, no bladder control). they have poisoned my little girl - and thousands of others. cant believe this is happening.

Barb
Barbasked
Advocate

Can you use dog advocate on cats. If not why?

2 answers
Ruth Noname
Ruth Noname

No. I'm not a Vet but as far as I know the medication is different for cats.

Dolly
Dolly

No. Advocate for dogs is toxic to cats.
Can use Advocate for cats instead.

See all Bayer Advocate questions

Get an answer from our members

Bayer Advocate

Details

Advocate for Dogs

This monthly topical or spot-on treatment safeguards dogs from adult fleas, ear mites, flea larvae, lice, hookworms, roundworms, whipworm, heartworm, sarcoptic mange and demodicosis. It can be used to treat dogs from 7 weeks of age.

There are 4 products for dogs: Green - for small dogs, Blue - for medium dogs, Red - for large dogs, and Grey - for extra large dogs.

Advocate for Cats

This monthly spot-on treatment for cats treats heartworm, roundworm, hookworms, lungworms, ear mites, adult fleas and flea larvae, and feline mange. It’s suitable for cats from 9 weeks old.

If you’re looking to protect your cat with Advocate, you have two options, depending on your cat’s size: Orange - for small cats, and Purple - for large cats.

Severe side effects

All of the Bayer Advocate parasite protection products have an overall rating that’s 2.6 stars or lower. Barely scraping a pass, there’s a reason for this. While there is a smaller fraction of reviewers who are happy with the product and its effectiveness, many reviewers were devastated when their beloved pets experienced extreme side effects after this product was applied to their fur.

This included severe scratching, lethargy, vomiting, shaking and tremors, loss of appetite and general distress. Often pets would try to shake the medication off their bodies immediately after application, and others who had become familiar with the monthly treatment would run and hide in an attempt to avoid it.

Compare all 6 Bayer Advocate
CategoryHeart & Intestinal Wormers and Tick & Flea Control ProductsHeart & Intestinal Wormers and Tick & Flea Control ProductsHeart & Intestinal Wormers and Tick & Flea Control ProductsHeart & Intestinal Wormers and Tick & Flea Control Products
Application TypeSpraySpraySpraySpray
Pet TypeDogDogDogDog
Reapplication PeriodMonthlyMonthlyMonthlyMonthly
Minimum Pet Age7 weeks7 weeks7 weeks7 weeks
Release dateDec 2006Dec 2006Dec 2006
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 6 Bayer Advocate

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.