??!
1 photo
Bosch AHM-38-G

Bosch AHM-38-G

3.5 from 12 reviews

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

3.5

12 reviews
5
(4)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (6)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.2 (5)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.8 (5)
  • Safety
    4.6 (5)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    1.3 (3)
Previous
Next

Terrible

published

Cogs inside the wheels that move the cutting blades are made of plastic. Mine broke down within one year of very light usage. I only have a tiny lawn behind the house. Avoid like the plague...

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
Caro

CaroMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews

Wrong Choice

published

Purchased for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Paul

PaulSydney, NSW

Awesome mower once set-up correctly

published

Bought yesterday lawn looks awesome today. Out of the box set-up is about 10 mins but make sure you fine-tune it. Start with setting the rear roller to the highest point possible. Then use the 2 blade adjusters to bring the reel blade down until it is barely touching the base plate.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$138.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Power Tools
GracieBosch Power Tools

Hey Paul,
Thanks for your review on our lawn mower! We always appreciate feedback on our products so thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on the AHM-38-G. Have a great day!

Manual Lawn Mowers

Find out how Bosch AHM-38-G compares to other Manual Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave

DaveSouthwest, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for it's built purpose

published

$149 AUD at Mitre 10. I bought this mower to cut about 60 m2 of Buffalo turf. I have a powered mower for my other 1000m2. I am saying this because a push mower is built for a purpose. Small area, soft, short grass. The Bosch AHM 38G does this to my satisfaction. Downside, I have had to bend the catcher brackets to stop the catch falling off.

Purchased in December 2019 at Mitre 10 for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
balmainbug

balmainbugSYDNEY

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

rubbish product rubbish service

published

Bought the mower. 4 weeks later plastic tightening bolt broke. Height adjuster kept dropping to lowest setting whenever it started cutting so it gouged a hole in the lawn. This is on level easy cutting small piece of lawn.
Phoned Bosch. No refund and no repair - you have to return it to the shop for a repair. 5 weeks after the shop phoned Bosch they said no refund allowed and it cant be sent back and that they would send a rep. 5 weeks and nothing.
Bosch really dont care and the product is rubbish.
3 weeks ago I went to Bunnings and bought a Victor at a lower price. the quality is excellent. It does the job perfectly. And if I have a problem I could return it with no questions asked. Ive learnt a lesson in life!

Purchased in April 2019 at Mitre 10 for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Adam L

Adam LGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Awesome mower

published

Bought this mower as the reviews about the Victa one were horrible. Very pleased I made this choice. I have Kikayu grass and it was about 20cm tall, this thing mulched through it easily.

I'm looking forward to giving this about whirl next week.

So far it's awesome!

Purchased in March 2019 at Mitre 10 for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Jo B

Jo BMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Good and simple to use

published

This is a simple and easy to use lawn mower that is great for smaller back yards. The catcher is great for smaller lawns and although it needa to be emptied several times, the mechanism is simplen and easy to use. Having said this, we don't tend to use the catcher and prefer to leave clippings on the law.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
emgee

emgeeAU

  • 2 reviews

Happy

published

I bought this mower after going through 3 electric ones. I have two small grassed areas.
I agree with everything I've read here. Your lawn needs to be even and not too long.
Im 62 and managed to get it together just fine and the effort involved in mowing is quite minimal.
You just have to actually push the mower and remember that it doesnt cut backwards only when you move forward.
It's great to just wheel out of the garden shed and run over the grass. Easy peasy. My lawn is looking better as well because it's not cutting too low. The heat really gets to me in summer so that's a test Im still waiting on.
But so far so good and I'm really happy with my purchase.
Awesome for the environment too! Back to basics =)

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Mick

MickToowoomba

Good mower if it is used for what it was designed to do.

published

This mower works well if adjusted correctly. Start on the highest setting other wise it will just bog itself in the long grass. Check that your roller blade is adjusted so that it evenly, (just), scapes against the cutting edge. Remember - this mower is a trimming machine designed to just clip the top of the grass. If your grass is long, cut it first with a motorised mower and then use the Bosch to keep the grass trimmed to the desired height. Give the moving parts a dose of CRC after each use to keep it lubricated and protect from corrosion.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Manual Lawn Mowers

Find out how Bosch AHM-38-G compares to other Manual Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris P

Chris PSydney

  • 55 reviews
  • 22 likes

It's okay

published

I bought this mower to mow a relatively small yard. Assembly was pretty easy outside of the last part, which his the roller and where it can vary the height. I gave it a big test as our lawn had not been mowed for four weeks and I almost broke this mower on the first go. It's been easier now that the grass is relatively short. I have noticed that the roller portion gets unbalanced/unlevel when I use it and it can cause part of the mower to dig into the grass. It does the job, I just wish it did it a bit better.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Diem

DiemAdelaide

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Mow often and it’s wonderful

published

Affordable and great for smaller areas of lawn. It cuts well and is really easy to use on SHORT grass. You do have to mow often to ensure the machine cuts easily. If the grass is left to grow out- it is a nightmare to use. In summer I have to mow weekly to keep it at bay or I’m in for a very decent workout trying to push it just a couple of meters.

Date PurchasedJan 2013
Ian Gardner

Ian GardnerMaleny, Queensland

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent lawn mower.

published

Knowing how these mowers work I find this does its job extremely well if the operator knows the machine and how to use it - it is common sense really!

Questions & Answers

Peter D

Peter Dasked

I agree great mower. I have had mine for 6 years. The metal parts keep going. However the cam area of the small plastic cog wheels ( yellow and green - code PA6?) that drive the blades have worn down and I am looking for a replacement? Can these be ordered online somewhere?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Power Tools representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.