3 photos
Bosch Random Orbit Sander

Bosch Random Orbit Sander

PEX 400 AE, PEX 300 AE, PEX 270 AE, AdvancedOrbit 18
2.6 from 42 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Orbital Sanders in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Bosch Power Tools

Pros

  • Completes large jobs efficiently

  • Easy to control

  • Wide range of speed control

Cons

  • Can throw discs before they're worn out

  • Ineffective dust collection system

Reviews

Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Mick
MickHobart, TAS

First random orbital sander I've owned.

published

I bought my PEX 400 about 15 years ago to sand a plywood dinghy and although it hasn't had a great deal of work since I have kept using it, no issues with Velcro on the backing plate, the little dust filter clogs quickly and it has finally worn out a backing plate ( Velcro was still working). Pictures of replacement backing plates look different, extra ring of dust holes, I hope it works as well as the old one.

Incentivised Review No
jae k.
jae k.South East Queensland, QLD

I am happy with this model.

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse Retail Stores for $89.00.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Other Orbital Sanders

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Anastasios
AnastasiosGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Base plate stopped moving

published

Bought sander, after some light use, the base plate stopped moving but the motor turns over. Opened up the sander and it was pretty clean inside, the bearing was clean and functional. Very disappointed in this machine, hardly used , $150 down the drain. I'm baffled to why the base plate doesn't move or freezes when about to sand when pressure is applied to it. Spent hours investigating it by opening it up, and even if I find the faulty part, the expense of fixing it is not worth it- better to buy another brand

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for $150.00.

Incentivised Review No
Orbital Sanders

Find out how Bosch Random Orbit Sander compares to other Orbital Sanders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Monica
Monica
  • 2 reviews

Don’t buy this

published

Almost from new the sander threw the Velcro sanding pads off the head well before the abrasive wears out. Don’t expect a new head to help you, the pads will soon throw again. I resorted to gluing the pad on, which worked for a while. Now the whole head comes loose no matter how tightly you do up the Allen screw. Not throwing good money after bad, I’m cutting my losses and throwing it out.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No
Pete
PeteSydney, NSW

Throws discs

published

Like other reviewers I purchased this sander understanding it was a middle of the range Option but reasonably good. After three fairly small jobs undertaken in line with manufacturers recommendations for speed etc it now throws discs within minutes of commencing a sanding and they cannot be reattached. It makes it an expensive task as the sanding surface has plenty of life left in it but the attaching face fails.

Spend the extra and buy a better brand. You’ll be ahead in the long run.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $188.00.

Incentivised Review No
Connie
ConnieSydney, NSW

Terrible Sander with a massive dust bag issue

published

It’s a good Sander Absolutely but the dust bag comes off all the time!! And I am working in a workshop which means it’s super dusty!
It’s not acceptable at all! Very disappointed

Incentivised Review No
Mr Ocean
Mr OceanNelson
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Money making sander

published

Backing plate with nylon hook velcro is a designed to fail and have you buy new heads. Head gets hot due to friction (so don't press even a small amount !!) then the hooks change shape so the sanding discs don't stick and get thrown. I'll research and check the design more carefully before next purchase. Machine works fine when new head but doesn't last long. I'm on my 3rd and its getting expensive to run this machine. Unexpected.

Purchased for $200.00.

Incentivised Review No
Bosch Power Tools
GracieBosch Power Tools
Jack
Jack
  • 3 reviews

USELESS PIECE OF JUNK.

published

Purchased recently and used intermittently on very small jobs for fine work,I have other sheet sanders for large work,however when working with this thing{sander] the other day it just stopped working,I picked it up to start and no go,very unhappy with this as it was not cheap and has only lasted a short time on very light work,absolutely useless thing,thought Bosch was better than what I have paid for.

Purchased at Mitre 10 for $145.00.

Incentivised Review No
Bosch Power Tools
GracieBosch Power Tools

Other Orbital Sanders

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
suen
suenSydney, NSW
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Throws discs, hard to empty

published

Wish I'd read these reviews before I bought mine...
-Dust collection box is hard to remove and clean and sometimes pops off while you are sanding. ..and the o ring broke so I had to order another.
-The biggest problem is that it's been throwing discs since I bought it and now they don't adhere at all - this seems to be a common issue
-I'm ordering another backing plate now and will see whether this fixes it.
-If not then I will provide another update here and will never buy another Bosch power tool again. This one has major design flaws. Just goes to show that paying a premium doesn't automatically get you quality.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No
Bosch Power Tools
GracieBosch Power Tools
Orbital Sanders

Find out how Bosch Random Orbit Sander compares to other Orbital Sanders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ezshane
EzshaneCentral, SA
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awesome value sander

published

Purchased this sander for maintenance and repair work on hire products in my business. I needed something reliable and gutsy enough to get decent sized jobs done in good time. This sander has plenty of power and has a very clever anti-vibration system so the user doesn’t suffer the old pins and needles that some other ROS present. Totally recommended.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in June 2014 at Total Tools for $230.00.

Incentivised Review No
magicrobot
magicrobot
  • 15 reviews
  • 9 likes

This sander sands like a boss

published

I bought a new Ryobi sander specifically for this large job i had to do - sanding 5 light years of cornice glue off an entire ceiling off a sprawling house that we were going to put another ceiling straight over top of. Anyway the Ryobi died after a couples of hours so I drove straight to Bunnings and replaced it with the Bosch. OMG unbelievable difference, the Bosch ripped through the old cornice glue like it was made from meringue cake base. The discs do come off every now and then which is a bit annoying, but weirdly for me they were coming off when the sanding discs were ready to change. The filter seems to work well but the design is crap for getting it on and off (hence the 4 stars)
I would buy another in a heartbeat

Purchased in June 2018.

Incentivised Review No
DIY-Type-Person
DIY-Type-PersonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Throws Discs

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $89.00.

Incentivised Review No
JohnnyRamrod
JohnnyRamrod
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great for what it is...

published

This is a decent little sander. Not high end, but not a high end price so that's ok. As a working sander, it really does that. It works. I have almost no issue with it. Solid performer. Highly recommend, provided one thing... You better not be too worried about how the dust catching system functions. Because basically it doesn't. The thing falls off with the slightest bump, but it's ok because it pretty much never caught the dust.

I'm still fine with it - i just use it outside and use a mask. Something I do for most work, so no issue for me. So I still rate it a 4 star for price etc - just know what you are buying.

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
keith
keithperth
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

failed speed contoller

published

after a couple of times using this model the speed controller failed and the machine would not run lower than half speed, then it failed altogether, replacement part is $44 from https://www.toolspareparts.com.au/bosch-pex-300-ae-3603ca3040-spare-parts.html I should have returned at the first instance of failure but you know what its like just wanting to get the job done and move onto other bits so did not follow up on warranty, wish I had, also the dust catcher is pretty much useless, now replaced with Ryobi, so far so good.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Other Orbital Sanders

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Bad customer service.

published

Go to Bosch Australia try to get spare parts cant order through them what a joke think may have to use different manufacturer didn't mind the tools but if you cant get help from them what's the point cant order through dealer as the cost of replacing the sanding pads all the time gets to dear with dealer mark up and takes to long to get part in.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
Orbital Sanders

Find out how Bosch Random Orbit Sander compares to other Orbital Sanders

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Reuben W.
Reuben W.asked
PEX 270 AE

Dust is not going into filter why?

No answers
steve stark
steve starkasked
Random Orbit Sander

where in brisbane can i buy replacement pad for pex300 ae sander

1 answer
suen
suen

Ask Bunnings to place a special order for you. I'm just about to replace mine for the second time. Total pain.

DRT
DRTasked
Random Orbit Sander

WHY does the dust collector keep falling off. There doesn't seem to be anything there to keep it over the o-ring.

2 answers
DIY-Type-Person
DIY-Type-Person

My sander has a very tight-fitting dust collector, but it appears to rely only on a long neck with a few bumps on the end to hold it in place. Because of the wrap-around sides of the collector, it is difficult to ensure that it fits over the o-ring without distorting or displacing it. I twist it from side to side slightly until it is seated. If it starts to wear, or if it was not made with a tight fit, then it would easily fall off.

suen
suen

Mine falls off too, particularly at high speed. Bad design.

See all Bosch Random Orbit Sander questions

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Power Tools representatives

Bosch Random Orbit Sander

Details

Features:

  • The Bosch Random Orbit Sander has a 370W motor that gives it the power to deliver fine finishes on medium and large work surfaces.
  • It has variable speed control which lets you choose the perfect speed for the job you’re doing and the material you’re sanding.
  • The power tool has an ergonomic design that lets you work horizontally, vertically, and overhead, giving it the versatility needed for all kinds of jobs.
  • It can perform both sanding and polishing, both for flat and curved surfaces, so you can use the same tool throughout your whole restoration job.
  • It’s suitable for working on wood, plaster, painted, polished, and varnished surfaces.
  • The sander can go from 4,000 to 26,000 oscillations per minute.

What did reviewers think of the Bosch Random Orbit Sander?

Reviews were well and truly mixed about Bosch’s random orbital sander. Among the positive feedback, the sanding tool’s power output and variable speed control was praised, with reviewers saying that it helped them get medium to large-sized jobs done in a relatively short amount of time.

The sander’s stability was also appreciated, with reviewers noting that it was easy to control and reasonably lightweight.

A notable pain point among negative reviews had to do with the discs, with some reviewers staying that the sander threw them off the head well before they had worn out - this made using the tool inconvenient and costly for them.

Another pain point was that the dust collection system was ineffective - reviewers said it didn’t catch much dust, and frequently fell off the tool.

Compare all 4 Bosch Random Orbit Sander
Bosch PEX 270 AE
  • Discontinued

Bosch PEX 270 AE

1.0
(2)
CategoryOrbital SandersOrbital SandersOrbital SandersOrbital Sanders
Price (RRP) $95.00$160.00$135.00
FeaturesDust Collection and Variable SpeedDust Collection and Variable SpeedCordless and Dust Collection
RPM (speed)12,000 RPM10,600 RPM
Sanding Plate Diameter125 mm125 mm125 mm
Power270 W370 W
Weight1.5 kg1.4 kg
Orbit Diameter4 mm5 mm3.2 mm
Colour / FinishGreenGreenGreenGreen
Release dateMar 2010Mar 2010Mar 2010
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 4 Bosch Random Orbit Sander
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.