??!
3 photos
Bosch PKE645C14A / PKE645C17A

Bosch PKE645C14A / PKE645C17A

PKE645C17A and PKE645C14A
3.0 from 17 reviews

Great quality, looks very sleek! love cooking with this.

I bought this appliance over 6 months ago and not a single issue. It heats up very quickly and I like the safety feature of the lights staying on until it's completely cool. A bit fiddly to clean around the knobs sometimes, but otherwise very happy with this purchase, overall.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Hi SJM, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch PKE645C17A Cooktop, we're glad to hear that you're happy with your purchase. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

How disappointing - this used to be such a high end brand and so reliable.

I have had the Bosch PKE645C14A cooktop installed in my new house for 3 years and the largest element has just stopped working. The Bosch oven that was installed at the same time also had a fault 1 year ago - the cooling fan would keep running and not stop unless switched off at the mains. The minimum cost to get the cooktop repaired by Bosch will be $500. It is very disappointing that such a supposedly high end brand now appears to have more regular faults in its appliances - these products should last for at least 10 years without needing repair and a customer should have peace of mind that they have bought a great quality brand such as Bosch. The repair of one element may almost cost me half the price of buying a new cooktop.

Date PurchasedJun 2015
2 comments
Hi Corey, Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch PKE645C14A Cooktop and can appreciate your disappointment. Please contact us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.Thanks - however I'm living in Queenstown, New Zealand. I had contacted your Auckland office this morning and was told about the minimum $500 cost to repair the element on the cooktop.

I expected better from Bosch. This is just not good enough!

We bought this Bosch ceramic hotplate, PKE645C14A less than 5 years ago.
We chose Bosch because we thought it was a good brand. It was made in Germany.
There's only the two of us now, we are elderly and I don't even cook much.
Not like I overused the hotplate.
2 years ago 1 plate died and I have been managing just with 3 plates.
Now the 2nd plate has gone too, making it a bit awkward cooking a meal.
I have used various hotplates in my time but I have never come across one with such a short life span.
It would be almost cheaper to buy our food already cooked than to pay the cost of a new cooktop every few years.

Date PurchasedMay 2013

Good cook top

Bought this cooktop 2 weeks ago, installed 1week ago. So far so good. Took a bit of getting used to after using a single induction hot plate for 3 months( that's how long it took me to buy a new cooktop after my old chef one gave in). I have noticed it does mark very easily. After reading other reviews I hope to purchase the cerapol ceramic cleaner tomorrow and we will see how it goes. Lay out of hot plates more practical than they look. However have discovered the 2 med/large hot plates require very large not just medium sized bottoms on your pots. My cheaper saucepans have a better size base than my expensive ones, that is a bit disappointing. If the base doesn't cover the entire hot plate and I mean entire you will loose heat around the base, therefore wasting energy.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Hi Dawn, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the feedback about your Bosch PKE645C14A Cooktop, we’re glad to hear that you’re enjoying your appliance. If you have any future queries, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

How disappointing - I expected better !

Our Bosch PKE645C14A cooktop is exactly 4 years old, and the quote to repair it is more than the cost of buying a new one. Very disappointing ! This is the first time I have ever had to throw out a cooktop. This is a major appliance and should last at least 10- 15 years.

Date PurchasedDec 2013
1 comment
Hi Shelley, Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch PKE645C14A Cooktop. We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please send us an email at socialmedia.au@bshg.com, listing the problems you are having and quoting BSH3352 in the subject line. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Good!

I bought Bosch PKF645D17A when I moved into new house.
Before I used gas cook top and people said gas is better and fast to boil water but I don't think so. when boiling the water it's faster than gas cook top. I really like this cooktop and also made in Germany.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
Hi Jun, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback about your Bosch PKE645C17A Cooktop, we're glad to hear that you're enjoying the appliance. If you have any future queries, please feel free to call us on 1300 369 744. Regards, Bosch Home Australia.

Not Worth The Price!

Ceramic cooktop is very hard to clean. I seldom cook, but when I do, I always make sure to clean the cooktop with damp soft cloth to gently remove the residue. But, it does not matter, it is just so hard to get rid of it Not only that, but under the 2 year warranty, my stove started to beep and the setting changed from low to high, the stove top was very hot to touch and the digital reading went from '2', 'F', 'off' and 'H' consecutively for 5-10 minutes. I have tried to contact Bosch customer service several times today - waiting for awhile and got cut-off several times. Non-existing customer service - NOT happy at all and very disappointed!

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Bosch thought I was buying a product that would last

We purchased Bosch thinking good brand and it will last a long time, but we only got 5 years out of this cooktop and are very disappointed with it overall. Easily marks, hard to clean and now the element is gone in one burner (the one we use the least) and cant repair. Purchased in oct 2011

Date PurchasedSep 2011
1 comment
Hi Kay Hurst, Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch PKE645C14A cooktop and can appreciate your frustration. If we can be of any assistance to you, please feel free to contact us on 1300 369 744. Regards, BoschHomeAu

Expensive to repair

Thinking Bosch was top of the range we purchased this model of cooktop for my daughter four years ago. No one expects things to last for ever, but surely four years is ridiculous. It will now cost more to repair the cooktop than to purchase another. The next cooktop will DEFINITELY NOT be a Bosch

1 comment
Hi Ali T , Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch PKE645C14A / PKE645C17A Cooktop. We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please contact our After Sales Support team on 1300 369 744 during business hours. Regards, BoschHomeAu

This Bosch cooktop cannot last longer than 3 years, very expensive to repair.

When I bought this cooktop (PKE645C14A) 3 years ago (2 years 11 months to be accurate), I have very high expectations because a lot of ppl saying Bosch is very reliable brand. The cooktop works okay, but just about to hit the 3 years mark (warranty is 2 years), one hotplate is dead. It cost me more than $350 to have a minimum fix. Yes, minimum. According to Bosch authorised repair technician, if replacing everything "needs to be replaced", the total cost will be equal to buy a brand new one (PKE645C17A). Are you kidding? Just fix one out of four hotplates, and it costs the same as a new cooktop??? I already paid the callout fee, I have no choice but to have a minimum fix (instead of paid 100 bucks with empty hand at the end). Bosch, this is your so called German technology??? I had enough. If it breaks up again, I will throw it in the bin straight away and go and buy other brands.

2 comments
Hi Homealone, Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch PKE645C14A Cooktop. We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please send us an email at socialmedia.au@bshg.com, listing the problems you are having and quoting BSH207047 in the subject line. Please include the model number (including variant) FD and serial number in your email, any supporting photos, your contact details and a copy of your Purchase Receipt so we can investigate further. Regards, BoschHomeAuI have contacted your after sale team and filled up the customer resolution form with supporting documents. Let's see what's the response.

Timed failure?

Bought a small new flat just over 3 years ago and it had BOSCH PKE645C14A installed by the builder. Just over 3 years later, it's out of warranty and two elements are no longer working. It's so close in cost to have them repaired and replacing the entire cooktop that I may as well replace it, but it won't be with a Bosch.....

1 comment
Hi FamilyMan, Thanks for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your Bosch PKE645C14A / PKE645C17A Cooktop. We'd like to help you investigate, so could you please send us an email at MEL-ASS-Management@bshg.com, listing the problems you are having and quoting BSH205923 in the subject line, or call our After Sales Support team on 1300 369 744 during business hours. Please include the model number (including variant) FD and serial number in your email, any supporting photos, your contact details and a copy of your Purchase Receipt so we can investigate further. Regards, BoschHomeAu

Bosch service1 star, appliances online 5 stars!

Am a BOSCH fan (have new double wall oven and food mixer) and after reading all the marvellous reviews about this cook top, purchased one from Appliancesonline to replace my old SMEG one (still working perfectly after about 20 years, just looked old). Delivered the next day, beautiful looking item, made in Germany, dropped exactly into my kitchen top where the old SMEG had been fitted and it was simply a case of the electrician disconnecting 3 wires from the SMEG and reattaching to the Bosch.

Switched on the back two rings and they heated up with amazing speed. Tried the front two- nothing! Checked the wiring, fuses etc all perfect. The manual is useless and nowhere could I find a problem solving site on Google.Spoke to Bosch service who said "switch it back on and wait 30 minutes, if nothing happens call back and we'll arrange for a service next week". Explained it was a brand new item that had never ever been used and was therefore dead on arrival so no need for service, just send a replacement - their response "speak to the retailer".

Spoke to Appliancesonline, they were most helpful and said they could deal with Bosch service for me or give me an immediate replacement. I opted for the latter.

So well done Appliancesonline, Bosch service.....what can I say?

PS Most retailers websites say this model has Child lock protection, it doesn't.

2 comments
Hi Dinodirect1, Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you were experiencing issues with your Bosch PKE645C14A / PKE645C17A cooktop and are glad to hear that these issues have now been resolved. We can appreciate your disappointment that our After Sales team recommended booking a service call for your cooktop, however these are complex appliances and unfortunately in the minority of cases if something goes wrong, we need to investigate the cause of these issues so we can determine the best course of repair. We understand that you have now received a replacement cooktop, however if we can be of any further assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact our After Sales Support team on 1300 368 339 during business hours. Regards, BoschHomeAuOut of curiosity I took the old SMEG cooktop apart as it was being disposed of and was amazed by it's simplicity. Just a few heating elements, connecting wires and what looked like a thermostat bar over the elements that was connected to the "still hot" light and I doubt that the Bosch one would be much different. My Bosch food mixer (made in Slovenia, not Germany) did not work on arrival either (the blender part). In all fairness to Bosch Service I contacted them and spoke to a young gentleman called Jacob and he must have spent at least 30 minutes going through everything, quite often referring to others in your department, to try to solve the problem, so you do have some very helpful people there. The problem turned out to be a safety switch that was sticking. Once this became unstuck" the machine has worked very well ever since. As I said I am a Bosch fan and am now very happy with all my Bosch appliances, double wall oven, food mixer and cook top.

Just what we wanted

We recently decided to update our 20 yr old Blanco cooktop because only one element has been working for the 5 yrs we have owned the property. Having purchased a Bosch dishwasher six months ago we decided we wanted Bosch for our oven and cooktop too. We purchased the PKE645C17A and couldn't be happier. It heats very quickly and doesn't boil over. Is a nice looking cooktop as well! Perfect for the price!

1 comment
Dear Sez, Thanks for your positive review. We're delighted to hear that you're happy with your Bosch Dishwasher and that it has prompted you to purchase the Bosch PKE645C14A / PKE645C17A Cooktop. If you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact our After Sales Support team on 1300 368 339 during business hours. Regards, BoschHomeAu

Best product for the price

I have had this cooktop for 6 months. When I first bought it, like the reviewer below I was concerned by the marks. But using the correct cleaning products ( cerapol - available in supermarkets ) and a bit of determined buffing with that product - all marks have come off. I bought this cooktop as it was the cheapest Bosch cooktop and we were on a tight budget. It has EXCEEDED all expectations.
The dial is extremely accurate and 8 or 9 will give you a rapid boil to almost rival a kettle.
The huge PLUS where this has it all over a GAS cooktop is that a pot on 2 can be left for hours. It will cook a casserole to perfection with no burning, and you can melt chocolate in a pan without a double boiler on level 2. It also makes a superb Béchamel. There is not that level of control with gas. Also if a pot boils over, unlike some induction, it does not shut off.
I also like that it has knobs not silly finger sliding controls. They are simple to use and hopefully less likely to stop working.
This is a great value cooktop for an amazing price.

1 comment
Dear Cheffanie, Thanks for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback about your Bosch PKE645C14A / PKE645C17A Cooktop. We're delighted to hear that you are more than happy with the performance and functionality of your cooktop. If you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact our After Sales Support team on 1300 368 339 during business hours. Regards, BoschHomeAu

Like the product. Bought it couple of weeks ago. But disappointed with discolouration marks appearin

SO far I like everything about that cooktop.
However after using the same two hotplates I noticed discolouration spots straight after using them.
I followed the Manual and always lifted pans rather than sliding them. Also used only a wet cloth to clean them.
I hope there is a way to get rid of them. I only used the cooktop a handful of times and am worried what happens to its look after I use it more often. :(
I like the look of the cooktop, the speed with which the hotplates warm up. Also multiple selections on teh knobs.
Discolourations spots which appeared straight after the first use.

1 comment
Hi Emma, Thanks so much for your review, although you say there are a couple of issues - we really appreciate your feedback. In relation discolouration marks - other customers who have experienced similarly resilient stains recommend a product called Cerapol Ceramic Glass Cooktop Cleaner. You can read more about this product here: http://www.hillmark.com.au/products/Cerapol.aspx If you are still having issues - please do not hesitate to get in touch with us. Regards, BoschHomeAu

Very good; clever use of cooktop space

Our cooktop carked it recently, and we needed a new one fast! Of the many, we liked the look of this one because of the way the burners were laid out. You could use a large and small pot in the back easily. We also have a Bosch dishwasher and are very happy with it.

Agree it heats quickly; we also like the old fashioned knobs. Most now have "touch" interfaces, which seem gimmicky and and inefficient way to control temperature. We do a lot of cooking and want quick, precise control. Not to mention the cost to replace touch controls if they fail.
Layout of burners makes good use of the space; knob controls.

1 comment
Hi, Thank you for your feedback - we really appreciate it. If you require assistance or information, please do not hesitate to call us on 1300 368 339 during EST business hours. Thanks BoschHomeAU

Love this cooktop!

Heats fast, good control over level of heat, easy to clean, smart looking and knobs come off so easy to clean around them.
Very quick to heat up! Does everything I want it to do.
Does mark easily, but this is the second ceramic cooktop I have had and it appears that is the case with this surface anyway.

3 comments
I have had this cooktop for all of 2 weeks. Use the correct pans suggested and two of the rings have marked...very odd. Hopefully Bosch can resolve this problem. The cooktop is easy to use and love using it. Heats quickly and easy to clean. love it.How has this cook top been since you purchased in 2010. Have/ Did you had many problems with it? Am considering purchasing one for my new kitchen. Thanks.Still love this cooktop. Have not any problems with it at all.

Questions & Answers

I have cut out dimensions of a fisher and paykel stove which I want to replace (of 490 x 560). Will the PKE645C17A fit in to that space? The width, depth and height of the existing F&P stove are 578mm x 511mm x 60mm. Will it fit??
1 answer
Hi Cheryl, Thanks for your question regarding the Bosch PKE645C17A Cooktop. As per installation instructions and product specifications this model cooktop fits a cut out of (WxD) 560 x 490-500mm If you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Service team on 1300 369 744 during business hours. Regards, BoschHomeAu

Details

PKE645C17APKE645C14A
Weight8kg8kg
Cutout Depth490mm500mm
Cutout Width560mm560mm
Cutout Height5151
Elements44
Control PositionSideSide
Width583mm576mm
Depth513mm

Visit official website - Download manual

Similar listings