??!
3 photos
Breville Thermal Pro Stainless BEF500 / BEF560

Breville Thermal Pro Stainless BEF500 / BEF560

BEF500, BEF560
3.5 from 29 reviews

Reviews

(11)
(5)
(4)
(5)
(4)
Jan

JanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Breville Stainless Steel Thermal Pro electric frypan.

published

Very dissappointed in my new Breville Stainless Steel Thermal Pro electric Frypan. Followed instructions and cooking advice but everything sticks. We have even had food stick on simmer. Wish I could return to Breville and get my money back and buy a descent non stick.

Purchased in December 2019.

Doesn't meet expectations

published

We have 5 of these in our community and all have similar issues; feet fall off, uneven heat and the thermostat goes in the first year. Additionally, there are no replacement part options on the Breville site. We can't find a good quality SS unit anywhere.

Purchased in May 2018 for $150.00.

Countrylife71

Countrylife71Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews

Large, reliable and easy to clean

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Amazon for $120.00.

Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Breville Thermal Pro Stainless BEF500 / BEF560 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tana

TanaMaitland

  • 5 reviews

The worst Frypan I have ever bought

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Justin

JustinSunshine Coast

  • 2 reviews

When you think you are investing in quality...

published

$150 for an electric frying pan is at the higher end of the price bracket and so to have not 1 but 2 conk out with similar problems is frustrating. Part of the heating element stopped working twice so it will not heat the entire surface effectively. The temperature control dial no longer turns off the element - you have to turn it off at the power source. What's the point of that? Someone else mentioned the feet of the pan falling off - we found that the feet of the second (replacement for first faulty pan) pan we got cracked from heat of the pan itself. A disappointing product as it seems we will need a 3rd replacement.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Mischelle

Mischelle

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Feet falling off

published

Temperature control is poor and the feet fell off on one side basically as soon as I purchased it. Other than that it’s okay. I had another one for 15 years and never had a problem with it at all. I purchased this product from Myer in Penrith thinking it would be as good as the last one we had for years

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Sandie68

Sandie68AU

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great, but not my favourite product of this type

published

I had the Sunbeam Ellise and when it died I replaced it with the Breville because the Breville was a better price. Don't get me wrong, this is a good frypan, but it gets too hot. I am having to use it with the heat set one setting below what I think it should be. It's also a tiny bit bigger than the Sunbeam which means it doesn't fit in the dishwasher as easily.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
gottalove

gottaloveSydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews

Best electric frypan

published

I have owned a lot of different electric frypans and this is by far the best electric frypans I have ever owned
Nothing sticks to it, it heats really well and evenly
Dead easy to clean
Dead easy to use
I highly recommend it
There is nothing to hate about this frypan

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Sleepless in Brisbane

Sleepless in BrisbaneBrisbane

  • 16 reviews

BREVILLE! YOU'VE DONE IT AGAIN!!!

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Breville Thermal Pro Stainless BEF500 / BEF560 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sam

SamSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Rubbish

published

After having read negative reviews about the Sunbeam frypan I decided to purchase the trusted breville brand . Unfortunately it was very disappointing in performance. Great if you want to sear everything but when you buy an electric frypan you need a range of temperatures! No simmer or low temperature with this product... this rules out curries casseroles and anything else needing a lower temperature. It promised even heat distribution but let down in this regard too. I will be returning it because I am unable to use it for anything but searing steak or pan frying

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Rob L

Rob LSydney

control power lead only last 12 months

published

We rate the pan highly the only problem we are experiencing is we have to purchase a new lead annually. This is no fault of us users as we ensure the lead is not twisted and is positioned within the pan socket. We have had our pan for 2 & 1/2 years and have had to purchase two power leads since. Maybe when i purchase the next lead i should ask for an Aussie manufactured lead!

Date PurchasedMar 2015
DJH

DJHSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

The Best Fry Pan Ever

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
Val

ValSouthwest, VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Worst Fry Pan I have ever bought

published

The temperature control on this fry pan has never worked properly. It starts to heat as soon as the power is on at the wall, even though the control is on zero. It appears to be boiling or nothing with this model. Each time I used it I would wonder it the food would be burnt. I regret not taking it back to the shop when it was in warranty. Unfortunately, it went into the cupboard and stayed there until the warranty had run out. I see that it is a discontinued model. I can see why. This was not a cheap Fry Pan and it left me with the feeling that I will not be purchasing another Breville appliance.

Date PurchasedAug 2013
Darkfalz

DarkfalzCanbera

  • 17 reviews
  • 16 likes

It's a nice frypan, but I wish I'd gone non-stick.

published
Phil

PhilSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great stainless steel frypan, temperature control lets it down

published

I have had mine for a while and the stainless steel and size of fry pan is great however the temperature has been basically on or off since I purchased it. If I am cooking something with liquid I have to put twice as much in as it never stops boiling; I am lucky if the temperature light will go off in the lowest simmer setting. I usually have to turn the power switch off to get it to go off the boil. I regret not taking it back earlier because as a fry pan it is the perfect size and I find it easy to clean.

Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Breville Thermal Pro Stainless BEF500 / BEF560 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
NNN8487

NNN8487Sydney, NSW

  • 31 reviews

Fantastic first experience with stainless steel

published
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi NathanS - thanks for your comments. The Breville team

Tww

TwwOcean Grove

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Useless

published
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi TWW - please contact customer service if you would like to discuss further or are considering returning - 1300 139 798. Thanks, the Breville team

Friv08

Friv08SYDNEY, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent frypan for cooking food

published

I recently bought the Breville Thermal Pro Stainless Steel Frypan and am very happy with my purchase. It cooks food evenly and has a 25 year warranty on the base. Good quality appliance, except it is quite heavy. My meals are very delicious now. Bought it on sale at a great price!

1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Friv08 - thanks for your comments. The Breville team

Madardy

MadardyAU

  • 7 reviews

Had initial problems

published
1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Madardy - your feedback will be received by the design team. Thanks for taking time to comment. The Breville team

Winky

WinkyGold Coast

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Awesome product. Well worth the financial outlay.

published
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

kaydub

kaydubasked

Thermal Pro Stainless BEF500 / BEF560

what setting do i use to roast a small leg of lamb weighing 1.4 kilos

1 answer
Breville
BrevilleBreville

It would entirely depend on what type of result you were looking for. It would probably be best to saute the strips of lamb as the Thermal Pro does not have a roast function.

kaydub

kaydubasked

Thermal Pro Stainless BEF500 / BEF560

what setting do i use for roasting a small leg of lamb weighing 1.4 kilos?

1 answer
Countrylife71
Countrylife71

Read this article:
https://janeainslie.com/tag/using-an-electric-frying-pan-for-a-roast/

Lower setting on Breville would be somewhere between warm and simmer.

All the best!

Purple Granny

Purple Grannyasked

Thermal Pro Stainless BEF500 / BEF560

How do I stop food eg. eggs from sticking, I use plenty of oil & they still stick. Great for roasts but cant fry eggs. I have just purchased Breville Thermal Pro Stainless BEF560.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.