??!
5 photos
Breville Hot Wok & Steam BEW820

Breville Hot Wok & Steam BEW820

MPN: BEW820
4.0 from 8 reviews

Reviews

4.0

8 reviews
5
(5)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Previous
Next
Rozzy

RozzySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great size and Versitile

published

After years of faithful service my 6L Breville wok finally showed its age by becoming not as non-stick as it was as a young wok. The 6L was discontinued and superseded. I had to buy the bigger 8L Breville Wok & Steam because I wanted to stay with the Breville brand.
The instructions opened my eyes to how to stir fry my meat correctly, how to steam my salmon and pork dumplings and other joys I intend to try asap.
This wok, with its extra capacity is going to be very useful for cooking when entertaining friends or minding the grandchildren.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman.

tim_patt

tim_pattLangwarrin

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Just as good as the old, plus a steamer, Win Win

published

i purchased the Breville wok over 12 years ago. It has only just started to malfunction. I purchased the new one yesterday and i have to say, it has not dissapointed. I love cooking stir frys and this wok makes it easy as pie.

I would highly recommned this product to anyone questioning if it will do what they want it to do.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Mefistofele

MefistofeleVictoria

  • 24 reviews
  • 2 likes

A great appliance that makes light wok of a stir-fry!

published

It's huge in comparison to the normal stove-top wok I've been using, but so much less mess is created by food remaining in the wok, rather than all over the stove-top.

Of course, as it's electrically heated and mounted on a stand, it is not designed to flip in the air to toss the food, so the use of plastic spoons/strainers is essential.

The intense heating element is fantastic and really creates sizzling food. So whilst I still prefer to eat Asian stir fry from a restaurant, the Breville Hot Wok helps me achieve a very palatable Caucasian version.

The stainless steel steaming colander is so large it will take a whole duck or more pork buns than you can poke a stick at. Another great Breville product to add to my collection!

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Electric Skillets and Woks

Find out how Breville Hot Wok & Steam BEW820 compares to other Electric Skillets and Woks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dj B

Dj BGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

It's either on or off

published

It's a damn bad woke, it has two settings burn everything or off.

Can't believe it can't have a variable temperature controller, it's logic is that of a toaster...

So you will either burn your food or undercook it. There is no simmer setting. I can't say I'm a fan of this product.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Tam

TamCairns, Queensland

  • 37 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Really great!

published

This wok is perfect, it makes the room smell like a Chinese restaurant after using it. Although very high heat it’s easy to use. It’s very large so you can cook up lots of veggies. I’m yet to use the steamer but I have used the other functions for other cooking like sauté where it also does a great job. It’s awkward taking it out and washing it due to the size but it’s a small price to pay for such ease of cooking with so many options. It’s really upped my cooking game and now we have regular tasty stir fries.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Rebecca

Rebecca

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing - much better than had hoped

published

Super happy with this purchase, leagues ahead of our last steamer. Large wok bowl for stir fry and a super big steamer for fish etc. This model has heating that carries up the side walls and gives even cooking even when cooking a large meal. No sign of the coating coming off. Well done Breville.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Terry

TerryAU

  • 2 reviews

Non stick coating only last for 8 months

published

I loved it and I use it carefully as the non-stick coating.
But it still coming off after 8 months used.
The problem is If you want the high heat for stir fly, how can the non-stick coating long last????
this wok just a joke.
Now it sitting in my kitchen and upsetting me.
=(

Date PurchasedDec 2015
2 comments
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Terry - please contact customer service to discuss options - 1300 139 798 (Mon to Fri). Thanks the Breville team

Terry
Terry

Contacted the team, and the answer is normal wear and tear. I use it once in a couple days and following the instruction menu to take care of the wok. Only last for 8 months. That's $20 a month. Think twice before buying it.

Madardy

MadardyAU

  • 7 reviews

Perfection

published

Wonderful!

I'm so happy with the purchase of my BEW820. It gets really hot and cooks evenly, I can finally cook authentic asian food like a pro! If you love to cook, you will enjoy cooking with this wok. I've even used it for pasta sauces for those times when I just want to do a quick meal. It is quite big so makes stirring noodles, pasta and numerous cups of rice a breeze. Be sure to use non stick friendly utensils for product longevity. Purchased it at Myer on sale.

1 comment
Breville
BrevilleBreville

Hi Madardy - Thanks for your comments. The Breville tem

Questions & Answers

Joy T.

Joy T.asked

Is the Breville Gourmet Wok EW30XL coated in Teflon? No one seems to be sure.

No answers
Jen

Jenasked

Well I was going to buy it, because it is advertised as stainless steel. But if it has Teflon inside then I won't be going near it. I would rather use a stainless steel skillet. Why on earth are companies still using non stick coatings especially Teflon and especially Breville???????

1 answer
Terry
Terry

you make me think a again why I give it a try.
The appearance of the wok is so professional and the inside wok are thick enough to hold the high heat.
So, the first few months, I was so happy and think it's a wonderful wok in the world.
I did worry about the Teflon coating but I believe in Breville (sorry, but I did) they won't selling a product over $150 if it cant last for a few years..............
what a waste of such good product

Cached

Cachedasked

Is it stainless steel or Teflon?

1 answer
Madardy
Madardy

Hi there, it's Teflon... Mine has held up really well as I'm really specific about the utensils we use on it. You will love it, it has transformed our weekly menu.

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.