??!
4 photos
Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

BES920 (Dual Boiler), BCG820 (Grinder)
4.3 from 188 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (18)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (17)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (15)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.2 (15)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.5 (14)
Previous
Next
Gerry

GerryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 20 likes

Great barista quality for around $1k

published

Purchased in April 2015 at Bing Lee Online store for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mary

MaryMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ok .... til it breaks! Again.

published

Makes good coffee. We unfortunately cracked the head and $450 later got it back. We were told this is due to overfilling. We have been super careful and 3 years later same issue. Again it would be $590 to fix. Decided to buy different brand. It was expensive machine so this is disappointing.

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Adrian f.

Adrian f.Sydney, NSW

Bad coffee 3 months into use.

published

Bought expresso maker from BingLee in April. Coffee was good at first. After 2 months, each cup of expresso gradually become twice as big, and thin. I tried different brands of coffee beans, grinds size, volume. Non seems to work.
I rang Breville 10 times over 3 days, listening to 'Your call is important to us...' for up to 10 minutes each, before I surrendered and left my phone number. Nobody seem to be care enough to call back for an discussion.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great machine, even after 4 years.

published

Purchased in October 2016 at Harvey Norman for $1,349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Peter

PeterPerth, WA

Limited life - If you purchase Get the extended warranty

published

I purchased the BES920 in Jan 2017 from Harvey Norman. I thought that it was fantastic producing cafe quality strong coffee. So I encouraged my brother and mother to also get one. Within a year the boiler broke and was fixed under warranty, I think that it should have been replaced. 2 years later (Jan 2020) out of warranty and boilers were totally gone. Repair man said it would cost more to fix. Seems my brother had the same issue and his boilers broke within 3 years also. No coincidence, repairman told him it's a common fault. For $1000 I expect more than 3 years of use. Really annoyed and disappointed. 4 yr extended warranty and all would be fine.
Produces great coffee but make sure you get the extended warranty.

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Cat

CatMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

machine stopped working just outside of warranty

published

Very disappointed. This machine was great, when it worked, up until a few months out of warranty. Now I have a $1200+ machine that is unusable, and i have to pay to get it fixed. Paying this much for a machine to last a couple of years is absurd, the quality should be much better than that but there are so many people posting stories of similar issues with this machine, Breville clearly have some quality issues to address. Will be getting the repair quoted and going to ACCC if i have to, to ensure that Breville cover the repair costs of their faulty product. Have also had quality issues with other Breville appliances, this is the last straw and i will NOT be buying Breville again.

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,224.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Doons

DoonsNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Impressed

published

I brought this machine as a clearance model(bes920) for $999, they’re now bep920, the difference is they’ve gone from 1700watt up to 2100 watt, no biggie because I brought solely on the reviews for the older model.. I’ve had it a week And so far absolutely love every bit of this machine, heats up quick, makes great consistent coffee and the frother is better than I expected (that was important for me).. Can’t fault it and will give a update in due time.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Adrian G

Adrian GSydney, NSW

Captain Reliable

published

I've had this for a couple of years now I think, never misses a beat, primarily used to grind to make cold brew. I probably use it once every month or two and it faithfully works every time.
So, why review now? Well, I was looking up this to recommend for a friend and thought I best also contribute as a long time owner as I use this site a lot myself when looking to buy appliances.
Cheers.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $299.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Ian E.

Ian E.

  • 2 reviews

Awesome machine, perfect cup

published

I bought the BES920 and Smart Grinder 3 years ago and it hasn’t missed a beat. It took a bit of playing with the grinder to get the best combination of time and grind for a great cup. It is probably due for a service as a couple of washers appear to have been worn, however after a few thousand cups of coffee, it is a total bargain. Having a dual boiler is great, I had a single boiler Delonghi model before this, and frankly it was crap. I can not recommend this high enough, it’s a bargain.

Purchased in August 2017 at Bing Lee for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Can't recommend enough!

published

Closest one can get to commercial in the home for under $1000aud. Really for an enthusiast or someone looking to become one. This machine provides the tools to get the most out of any bean

Purchased in January 2020 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Fred

Fred

  • 2 reviews

Great machine, excellent backup

published

I have had this machine for two years. It has given reliable service and has delivered consistently good shots. I have cyclists in the family - they drink triple shot macchiatoes. I prefer latte. All of us love the coffee. Customer service responded extremely well to my recent request to have the firmware reset after descaling.

Purchased in July 2018 at Myer for $999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ben

BenSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

Easy to use, difficult to master....

published

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Nat

Nat

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best value for a coffee grinder

published

Had been using a cheap grinder for coffee for 2 weeks. Always get inconsistent in grind size and poor extraction. So decided to get one of this grinder after research. So after using this grinder, my extraction is way more crema on top and tastes a lot better! Best buy

Purchased in April 2020 at Bing Lee Online store for $215.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Adman

Adman

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Highly capable and reasonably idiot-proof

published

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Bassa

BassaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

A Real Statement in Home Coffee Grinders

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Appliances

Find out how Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 compares to other Appliances

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Itisfunny

ItisfunnyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

4 years review you get what you paid for

published

Purchased in June 2016 at David Jones for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mason W.

Mason W.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 8 reviews

5 years later mostly Good but some Downsides

published

Purchased in August 2014 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,400.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville BCG820 (Grinder)
Steve

SteveRichmond-Tweed, NSW

WOW ... love this machine.

published

Just returned the second Sunbeam EM7100 within a week as neither of them produced enough steam power to produce micro foam, they only heated the milk, terribly underpowered, to get half decent espresso required a lot of fiddling with the settings. The Good Guys had this beauty marked down to $485.00. Straight out of the box it made a near perfect Latte macchiato without even trying, beautiful rich micro foam in under 20 secs, perfect temperature, rich espresso fabulous machine for a home domestic appliance. Highly recommend this machine if your not a coffee snob and just love a good coffee.

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for $485.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Sally M

Sally MSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great machine

published

Love the versatility of this machine. It makes great coffee and is easily adjust to make coffee to everyone's taste. I love the fact that I can make coffee and texturise milk at the same time.

Purchased in August 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Kerri5

Kerri5South East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic machine

published

This machine replaced my Oracle Touch and it was the best purchase I have made. It is consistent in the grinding and the draw of the coffee is perfect. You need to make sure that you put in good coffee - the rule is rubbish in rubbish out and that is true. Fresh beans grind perfectly and the after using a professional machine this machine is perfect.

Purchased in June 2018 at Joyce Mayne Physical store for $1,199.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Page 1 of 10

Questions & Answers

Paul L

Paul Lasked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

I complete a descale on my BES920 and the Descale Message remains on. Has been occuring for last 18 months or so. I descale every 2 to 3 months but no change

1 answer
Richo
Richo

Hey Paul, apologies if you've tried this but maybe reset your hardness setting. With machine off, hold down 1 cup button and turn on. reset should appear on display, hit menu to select and then set your hardness.

Steve B.

Steve B.asked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

Machine only heating to 72° then hovers around that temperature, have checked that the setting is still at 93° , tried unplugging for 60 minutes (as says somewhere in manual) .
Obviously can’t make a coffee at this temperature.

Any ideas please?

No answers
Steve B.

Steve B.asked

BES920 (Dual Boiler)

Not reaching above 72° ?.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Compare both Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820
CategoryAppliances and Coffee Grinders / RoastersAppliances and Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Pump Pressure15bar
Water Tank Capacity2.5L
Price (RRP) $299.95$1699.95
Number of Grind Settings60
Input Power165w2200w
Width160mm372mm
Height389mm377mm
Depth214mm404mm
Coffee Bean Capacity450g
Replaced byBreville Dynamic Duo BEP920Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920
Compare both Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820

  • MPN: 6098 and BES920
  • GTIN13: 9312432021937

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.