3 photos
Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920
4.3 from 65 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Breville

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.8 (25)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (25)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (25)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (25)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (13)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.2 (20)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.6 (19)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Elioam
ElioamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Unreliable, Inconsistent & disappointing

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Harvey Norman for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Trevor S.
Trevor S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Machine won't last

published

Bought one in December 2016, repaired under warranty, the crashed in December 2019, liked the machine so bought another in December 2019, crashed under warranty after 15 months. Trying to get through to Breville is a joke and there response is waining in any form of customer service. Have now handed it over to Harvey Norman to handle. Been in for over 4 weeks now to be fixed...Is this normal.... NOPE. Done with any breville product. if you happy to spend the money for ok coffee for about 2 years of service from this machine, buy at your own risk.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sunshine and light
Sunshine and light
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Really good coffee

published

This machine is magic. It brings out all the mellow subtle flavours in the coffee. I have the smaller one (BES 870?) too and the difference from the same beans and water is noticeable. They are both good machines, but the dual boiler is outstanding.

Purchased at David Jones.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John
JohnGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

This is a toy.

published

After owning two Brevilles BES900 and a BES920 which I gave both away after a couple of years I decided to get a serious machine a Rocket Giotto. This is as good as cafe quality coffee that pumps out a seriously awesome coffee. Don’t waste your money at a machine you buy at an appliance store.

Purchased in January 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
David M
David MNgunnawal 2913, ACT
  • 3 reviews

De-scale, descale, repeat, repeat, repeat.

published

Purchased in July 2017 at David Jones Online Store for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Budget Coffee Machines, Bread Makers and Food Sealers

In quarantine and in need of fresh coffee, bread and longer lasting food? Read on for more information on kitchen appliances that won’t break the bank and help see you through self isolation during difficult times.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.27 Mar 2020
budget-coffee-machines-bread-makers-and-food-sealers

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
taz
tazHobart, TAS
  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Update after 3 years

published

Purchased in July 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Tim
TimMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 13 reviews
  • 15 likes

Used daily and always delivers a great coffee!

published

On our second unit now. First unit lasted years and then began to drip. I think a small o-ring leak up top directed steam onto the 2 main circuit boards. I have since repaired and use as a spare machine. Didnt really look after the first one but still lasted years and did a few 1000 cups!
Because this first unit was so good I replaced with the current model. Must say the new unit seems a little noiser but knocks out an awesome coffee. Smart Grinder is brilliant.

Purchased in January 2020 for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Nice coffee. Unreliable machine. Appalling service

published

Purchased in June 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Joseph
JosephSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Semi Auto Dual Boiler is best

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ali
Ali
  • 2 reviews

Poor quality, really bad customer service

published

This is the third machine I have had. First one made great coffee but leaked. So returned Second leaked so again returned. Third one started to leek shortly after I bought it but couldn't be bothered dealing with it again ( obviously poor workmanship/ design). This machine has always had a bit or trouble maintaining pressure and after de-scaling for the first time the de-scale indicator came on and would not go away even after a second descale. It also started being even worse at maintaining pressure particularly with a double shot.
Contacted customer support three times and no reply.

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,024.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Lana F.
Lana F.Richmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Awesome machine!

published

My husband absolutely love this machine after I bought it for his 45th birthday. The built quality is high up and its visually appealing to look at. It’s easy to clean and always makes delicious coffees

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
sharon49
sharon49Murrumbidgee Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

love the coffee this makes

published

We have had this machine for over 3 years now, it has had to be repaired twice but Breville supplied the parts free of charge even though it was out of warranty. I love the fact that it can be repaired and the ease at which you can make good coffee. This is a good buy and I would purchase another one of these again if I needed too

Purchased in January 2017 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Shadi
ShadiSydney, NSW
  • 5 reviews

Bought this coffee machine a few months ago o replace a Nespresso machine and it was the best decision made so far. Easy to operate. A little noisy when heating the milk with the steamer but overall great coffee machine.

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Debden
Debden
  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Thought my previous Sunbeam Cafe series was good, this beats it hands down

published

Purchased in May 2020 for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jie Yan
Jie YanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Great combo for cafe quality coffees at home!

published

Still going strong after so many years, with regular cleaning and descaling its been working a treat. Had to get it serviced once for one faulty actuator but we've definitely got our money out of it. The smart grinder is easy to clean and hasn't required a service at all.

Makes excellent coffee at home. The tamp is average so invest in a better one.

Incentivised Review No
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

steffan v.
steffan v.asked
Dynamic Duo BEP920

Please explain. Looking at prices.
Breville Dynamic Duo Coffee Machine and Grinder - Stainless Steel
1699
Breville The Dual Boiler Coffee Machine - Black Sesame 1249
Breville The Smart Grinder Pro - Stainless Steel 299
I called Harvey norman. They reckon its Breville pricing ......

Second question
Is there any machine coming close to these specs and pricing?
I would like to be able to make 4 coffees without having to wait to let the machine cool down after doing the milk. Thank you so much for your answer.

2 answers
taz
taz

Hi, I can't comment on the pricing sorry. When we bought ours there was a big variation in the same model between different colours. One of the good features of dual boiler machines is that you can brew and froth at the same time. I had no trouble churning out coffees non stop for guests with mine. My main issue with the Breville machine was that it wasn't reliable. I have replaced mine with an Expobar dual boiler and a MACAP grinder. If you are prepared to spend the extra money (double at least) to upgrade you will get a much more solid machine, that can be maintained and will produce stunning coffees. There are dozens of brands in this range including Expobar, Lelit, ECM etc, etc.
In my view Breville produce a pretty good machine for the price point.

David M
David M

It's seller pricing, That's Harvey Norman speak, justifying their prices. I bought the Duo with grinder for around $1200 from David Jones three and a half years ago when Choice showed the RRP at almost $1600 (stainless). Apart from the persistent claim it needs descaling (I'm about to give it its fifth or sixth descale since the notification came on), it has been very reliable. And it just keeps on churning out coffee as needed. You should be able to use an internet buyer comparison by putting the model name and number into a search to find the best price.

Elizabeth
Elizabethasked
Dynamic Duo BEP920BKS (Black Sesame)

What is the real difference between the two coffee machines: Breville Dual Boiler BES920 and the Dynamic duo dual boiler BEP920 except the fact the second model comes with the grinder (worth $280) and power: 1700W v 2200W?
The price difference is significant: BES920: $999, BEP920: $1599.

No answers
Elizabeth
Elizabethasked
Dynamic Duo BEP920CRN (Cranberry Red)

What is the difference between the Dynamic Duo dual boiler BEP920 coffee machine and the Dual boiler BES920 apart from watts and the fact that BEP is sold with the grinder?

1 answer
Andrew L.
Andrew L.

Exactly the same machine. One with a grinder, one without. Both 1700Watts

See all Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920

Details

Compare all 3 Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $1,899.95$1,899.95$1,899.95
Pump Pressure15 bar15 bar15 bar
Input Power2,200 W2,200 W2,200 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNoNo
Water Tank Capacity2.5 L2.5 L2.5 L
Dimensions 646 x 476 x 461 mm646 x 476 x 461 mm646 x 476 x 461 mm
Weight13.6 kg13.6 kg13.6 kg
FeaturesDisplay PanelDisplay PanelDisplay Panel
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderStandalone Grinder IncludedStandalone Grinder IncludedStandalone Grinder Included
Coffee Bean Capacity280 g280 g280 g
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishBrushed Stainless SteelBlack SesameCranberry Red
Release dateOct 2015Oct 2015Oct 2015
Compare all 3 Breville Dynamic Duo BEP920
Visit official website
  • MPN: 6925 and 6938

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.