??!
10 photos
Bushman DC-L Series

Bushman DC-L Series

190L Top Mount, 285L Top Mount
4.9 from 10 reviews

Reviews

4.9

10 reviews
5
(9)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (8)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.6 (8)
  • Noise Level
    4.3 (7)
  • Internal Layout
    4.8 (4)
Previous
Next
Lyle Carter

Lyle CarterWheatbelt, WA

  • 2 reviews

Happy Happy Happy

published

Yes to all of the above, what the makers claim the unit to do it does. Our Bushman replaced an "evaKool lemon" which unfortunately didn't meet the grade. Bushman very quiet running, actually had to go outside to make sure it was operating. Has held it's temperature in hot conditions (35-40 deg) as stated in review

Purchased in February 2020 at DP REFRIDGERATION for A$1,995.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Lyle Carter
Lyle Carter

After having extreme problems and holiday turmoil with two other upright fridges in our off road van the Bushman has proven a lifesaver

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

best by far

published

Living off grid we have tried numerous fridges in the past and never thought we would find a fridge so efficient on power.
We have had friends visit and they also fell in love with the size and efficiency of this fridge and are now looking into purchasing one for them selves

Purchased in March 2020 for A$2,395.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Graeme Moore

Graeme MooreWestern Australia

very happy with our decision to replace our Waeco with the Bushman

published

I have placed temperature recorders in both the freeze and fridge compartments, also monitored power usage and I am happy with the temperature recorded and the power used in the mid 30's ambient. It is very stable.

One aspect I don't like is that the fridge doesn't have its own switch to turn it off. It means the main power supply to has to have a master switch installed or pull the circuit breaker / fuse in the supply line. This annoying and I believe a shortfall.

Would I recommend Bushman or purchase again? Yes

Purchased in December 2019 at Manufacturer.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Bushman DC-L Series compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John Briggs

John BriggsMurray Mallee, SA

So Good

published

I cant believe how big the freezer is compered to my old gas / 240 which was the same size externally.
This fridge has so much more room, if opening often it becomes hard to open (suction) which is not a deal breaker, just a comment.
The fridge works really well as in constant temp in the main compartment, the freezer is much much better than i thought it would be and leaves the old fridge for dead.

The only criticism i have is when turning the fridge off, the control dial is really hard to get on the off setting. As the fridge is hard wired into my houseboat its the only off point i have, maybe it will get easier but it just feels like the switch will break given the amount of pressure you need to turn off.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$2,395.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Lance F.

Lance F.Gippsland, VIC

dc190l in custom built caravan .

published

Was persuaded to buy Bushman DC190L for my Wallaroo van . Missus loves it, I love it . Robust hinges , firm seals , great vegetable crisper and froze my fish to a " crisp" in about a day in the freezer ! . And sooo quiet of a nightime !! . The door lock is a winner on rough roads as well . Nice one Bushman !! .

Purchased in October 2019 for A$1,800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

A bit disappointing at first!

published

Bought a DC285L and it must have had a faulty thermostat and wouldn't hold a steady temperature - but the Bushman guys were quick to replace it in a jiffy! Excellent communiation and fantastic service!

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 1 person(s)
See all answers
3 comments
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges
Ame
Ame
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

I agree with you Ame :)

Malcom

MalcomFar West, NSW

Only A Bushman Fridge

published

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges
Linda

LindaBraidwood

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Fantastic

published

Loving the fridge, running well on solar. Only thing it arrived with a dint in the door. Found after unwrapping plastic. Saving on gas now. Temperature is good on low settings.

Purchased in December 2018 for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Patch

PatchPort Lincoln

Best fridge around

published

Only uses 2 amps on 24 volts. Well less than 50% cycle.That is in winter/spring. I will measure power use over summer and post here. I still can’t believe a fridge of this size only needs this amount of power to run. Used in shack for weekends and holidays. Replaced a full size gas fridge that used 4 x 45 kg gas battles a year.
Shelving design excellent and having a big freezer section is a bonus. The staff at Bushmans were a pleasure to deal with, they know they have the best products so they don’t have to hard sell.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Bushman DC-L Series compares to other Top Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark Cerff

Mark CerffWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Perfect off grid fridge

published

Perfect for our off grid 12 volt set up. Can't believe how big the freezer is and freezes perfectly and so quiet when running,and users so little power for its size. It's as good as any 240 volt fridge I've owned. To operate as efficiently as it does on 12v Dc still blows me away

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Questions & Answers

Melissa J

Melissa Jasked

Bushman DC-L Series

We've just bought a 190 litre DC-L series & are using it in an off-grid house. It's freestanding in an open plan room with good cross breezes & ventilation, current ambient temp is approx 31 deg. What's the best number on the settings dial to start at? I don't want to turn it all the way to 7 if I don't need to.

1 answer
Linda
Linda

Maybe 5 if hot. We run fridge on 4 most days depends on how full fridge is. Freezer though is ok for meats and meals not ice cream and bread and milk. I dont know why!!!

H Rhodes

H Rhodesasked

DC190L-SS (Stainless Steel)

can you keep ice-cream in this fridge what is the max minus temp

3 answers
Linda
Linda

Freezer can go to -10. Ice cream doesn't stay hard. Did put a litre of milk on top of other frozen food, 3 weeks later not frozen BUT not off either!

Patch
Patch

My freezer temp is around the 13.5 when not being opened. Freezing of fish, red meat and ice is as good as you would want. I have had ice cream at the back of the freezer and it was ok, not rock hard but still frozen.

Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi, the freezer compartments in our DC upright fridges are calibrated to sit around -12º. This a a fine freezing temperature for short to medium term use. If you want to deep freeze things for long term storage you would need a deep freezer which can go to -18º to -2º. A deep freezer will use more power so they are not as well suited to mobile and offgrid low power situations. Thanks!

Aidan H.

Aidan H.asked

DC190L-SS (Stainless Steel)

What is the max power consumption in Amps at 12 volt of the 190 L. I am aware that consumption varies with amb temp and other factors

4 answers
Linda
Linda

Sorry we dont measure individual appliances. We only have a small solar system 4 panels.

Patch
Patch

Aidan, I have a 285L and the maximum reading I have was 2.4 amps at 24 volts which equates to 4.8 amps at 12 Volts

Mark Cerff
Mark Cerff

I have a 285L which draws 4 to 4.5 amps at 12 volts

Get an answer from our members and Bushman Fridges representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.