7 photos
Bushman DC-X Series

Bushman DC-X Series

DC85-X, DC130-X, DC65-X, DC50-X (See All)
4.9 from 266 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Bushman Fridges

Pros

Energy efficient
Compact design maximises storage space
Reviewers say it performs well in Australian summers
Perfect for mounting in boats and caravans.

Cons

Vertical design not suitable to throwing in the back of the car
Less portable than other fridges (requires installation)

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (250)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (250)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (249)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (244)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (64)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Ferg
FergMid North Coast, NSW

Does a brilliant job.

published

Installed in aluminium canopy on back of Ford Ranger Ute. Keeps drinks and food at about 2 degrees. Runs of the spare battery in canopy for over 2 days without starting car or putting out solar panels.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2022 for $1,495.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Hi Ferg, thanks for writing a review. All the best :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Georgia Brentanos
Georgia BrentanosSouth East Queensland, QLD

Best purchase ever

published

Have had no issues whatsoever, been camping multiple times since I got it and it hasn’t let me down. So much space! I was worried an upright would be a mistake but now I don’t think I could go back.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2022.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Hi Georgia, we're happy to hear you like your new fridge. Hope you get many great camping trips. Tommy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pete
PeteCentral, SA
  • 2 reviews

Great fridge

published

Great fridge love it being upright instead of the engel where you pile everything in on top quiet mounted it in back of the ute canopy no problem very happy

Purchased in February 2022 for $1,650.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Thank you Pete - enjoy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

DaveL
DaveLIllawarra, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Better than replacement brand

published

This fridge appears to have more usable space, is quieter and uses less power than our previous brand of fridge. Very happy with it in our caravan and would recommend it to replace an older brand.

Purchased in March 2022 at Bushmans online.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Thanks DaveL :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Caravan Fridges

Find out how Bushman DC-X Series compares to other Caravan Fridges

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Awesome fridge

published

I originally bought the Dominic 85 L stand up right and was shocking bits broke and was efficient. Bought this and is awesome highly recommend and service was great too.

Purchased in March 2022 at Bushmans.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Thanks Ben - very happy to read your review :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Very happy with this fridge!

published

Quality is great, took out one of the shelves to create more room, freezer is a good size. Overall very happy with this fridge and would recommend to other people.

Purchased in February 2022 for $1,450.

Incentivised Review No
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Thanks Anna!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best 65 lt fridge on the market.

published

A very efficient fridge, looks fantastic and well made. Fits into the Rhino slide on camper perfectly. Easy acess to food and beverages. The service by Steve at Bushmans in Research Vic was outstanding.

Purchased in February 2022.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Thanks Peter, we love the Rhino campers too, great setup. Tommy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2022!

Whether you love or loathe being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of over 9,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Avleen M.
Avleen M.14 Dec 2021
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2022
Next
Raul G.
Raul G.Perth, WA

Excellent Fridge! Super Service

published

We have had our DC85 for 2 months now. We have installed it into the rear of the Prado and it hasn't missed a beat. Excellent low power consumption. Freezer compartment freezes quickly and the rest of the fridge is Perfectly cold. Sales team were fantastic!

Purchased in March 2022.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Great to hear! Thanks Raul

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Doug O
Doug OSouth East Queensland, QLD

This is cool, great fridge

published

Fits nicely in the back of the ute, very energy efficient and quiet.
Would recommend to anyone looking for an upright fridge.
So easy to get food and drinks out of, you can actually see what's in your fridge.
Mounting brackets would be handy for securing into the ute.

Purchased in February 2022.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Hi Doug, thanks for the review and your feedback. Much appreciated. BUSHMAN

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Caravan Fridges

Find out how Bushman DC-X Series compares to other Caravan Fridges

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maree
MareeGippsland, VIC
  • 5 reviews

Perfect little fridge

published

Love my bushman’s fridge perfect size and looks amazing. When I ordered it delivery was was quick. Looking forward to using it this weekend for the first time. Easy to install as well.

Purchased in March 2022.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Thanks Maree

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

This fridge is amazing. No problems at all.

published

Uses very little power and yhe only issue is my beers get too cold!! But turn it down a notch or two and it's perfect. Highly recommended. The 3 year warranty bri g's piece of mi d but I honestly believe I'll never need it.

  • Thumbnail
Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
3/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Thanks Tim, enjoy your cold beers -

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

TopShelf
TopShelfPerth, WA

Awesome little tardis fridge

published

Needed a replacement for my power hungry inconsistent 3 way fridge. This is better than I was expecting, same overall size but I can fit an extra 30 litres in it! And draws sooo much less power.

Purchased in February 2022 at bushman for $1,645.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Hi TopShelf! So good to hear you are happy with your fridge. Those old 3-ways are very hungry on electricity. Cheers, Tommy.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Caravan Fridges

Find out how Bushman DC-X Series compares to other Caravan Fridges

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kingy
KingyCentral Queensland, QLD

Great fridge, great Aussie company.

published

Uses bugger all power, nice and quiet. Only bought it this year but already enjoying it's functionality. Freezer works a treat and if it were just a little bit bigger, would be perfect. Highly recommend!

Purchased in February 2022.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Hi Kingy thanks for your review and the feedback. A slightly bigger freezer is something we have been thinking about for a while now. Maybe next year... we'll see. Enjoy :) Tommy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Ash
Ash
  • 2 reviews

Awesome 12v fridge

published

The Bushman DC65-X is an absolute pleasure to use. It's a lot more convenient than other top load 12v fridges to use and it's Australian made what more could you ask for,

Purchased in January 2022 at Bushman fridges for $1,177.27.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Thanks Ash -

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Great fridge, will be returning

published

Will recommend mates for this fridge, great size inside and very light. Will definitely be coming to buy more of Bushman's products. Fridge is very affordable and makes entry into 4wding possible

Purchased in January 2022.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Hi Jeremy, awesome! Thanks for leaving a review. DC85-X is our goldilocks upright fridge for sure. Tommy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Questions & Answers

valentin p.
valentin p.asked
DC85-X

Hi!
I own a DC85-X and I put a thermometer in it and it doesn't feel like it always cools the same with the thermostat staying at the same setting (between 4 and 5). Sometimes the compressor starts when my thermometer indicates 4° and sometimes it does not start when it indicates 6/7° or stops running at this same temperature...
I have ice that accumulates quickly in the freezer part (10 days) and must defrost it each time while the door is well sealed (you hear the suction when you close it)...
What's happened to it?

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message
Emi Doolah
Emi Doolahasked
DC85-X

Hi, we have a new set up with our canopy. We have a 130 Ah Battery and it is powering our bushman’s 85L. How long many hours/days can we get before using a solar panel or having to start the car? We have used it twice now. However the fridge compressor is cutting out and it keeps flashing one light as it has low voltage but there the voltage meter is on 11.

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message
Sparksy
Sparksyasked
DC85-X

G’day Tommy. I was wondering if the gauge is set to zero, is this an “off” setting for the fridge? I am looking into having a switch installed for it but this might not be needed if the dial works the way I am thinking it will. Loving the fridge by the way.

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman FridgesSend a private message

Hi Sparksy, definitely install a switch for the fridge circuit. When the thermostat is on 0, the compressor is still receiving power, so an isolation switch for the fridge circuit is the best. Tommy

See all Bushman DC-X Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Bushman Fridges representatives

Bushman DC-X Series

Details

Features

Designed specifically for off-grid living and mobile situations, these handy portable fridges are hardy in the hot Australian climate. This makes them ideal for using as caravan fridges, camping fridges, or even on a boat.

  • The dual-zone capabo;oyu for these fridges and freezers makes them suitable for cooling a wide range of food and drinks.
  • Suitable for both freestanding and built-in use, using a supplied mounting kit.
  • Available in 50L, 65L, 85L or 130L capacities, allowing you to cater to unique space requirements.
  • Can be powered by either a 12V or 24V battery, or alternatively connected to mains electricity via a power adaptor.
  • A low power DC compressor requires less power usage, making these fridges energy efficient.

Points of praise for the Bushman DC-X Series

  • While these fridges are less portable than others of their kind (as they’re also designed for built-in use), reviewers praised their compact design, which still affords a generous amount of storage space.
  • Reviewers also appreciated the low power consumption and energy-efficient performance, no matter how high the mercury on the barometer rises.
  • Bushman products are also known for quick and helpful customer service. These fridges come with a three-year warranty.

ProductReview_2022 Awards_logo

This is pretty cool news for Bushman - this year, its DC-X Series wins Best Caravan Fridge for the third year in a row. The Bushman DC-X Series of portable fridges/freezers was most valued for how easy it was to use when out adventuring, as well as the simplicity of cleaning and maintenance.

Compare all 4 Bushman DC-X Series
Bushman Fridges DC50-X
  • Award Winner 2022
  • 2021
  • 2020

Bushman Fridges DC50-X

4.8
(11)
Bushman Fridges DC65-X
  • Award Winner 2022
  • 2021
  • 2020

Bushman Fridges DC65-X

4.9
(40)
Bushman Fridges DC85-X
  • Award Winner 2022
  • 2021
  • 2020

Bushman Fridges DC85-X

4.9
(121)
Bushman Fridges DC130-X
  • Award Winner 2022
  • 2021
  • 2020

Bushman Fridges DC130-X

4.8
(91)
CategoryCaravan FridgesCaravan FridgesCaravan FridgesCaravan Fridges
Price (RRP) $1,149.00$1,199.00$1,399.00$1,549.00
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Compare all 4 Bushman DC-X Series
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.