?
? !
4 photos
Bushman DC-X Series
4.8 from 139 reviews · View Statistics

Pros

  • Energy efficient

  • Compact design maximises storage space

  • Reviewers say it performs well in Australian summers

  • Perfect for mounting in boats and caravans.

Cons

  • Vertical design not suitable to throwing in the back of the car

  • Less portable than other fridges (requires installation)

Reviews

4.8

139 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.9 (130)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (130)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (130)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (127)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Matthew

MatthewSydney, NSW

great product

published

the 130 Ltr fridge is perfect for myself and my partner, it is easy to pack and keeps everything cold even when opening the door to get beers out of it all the time.
it is inside a well ventilated canopy and without soloar the battery can last upto 9days before needing to be charged again, but works very well with the solar connected no issues. we use it most weekend and it runs 24/7 havnt really turned it off since installing the fridge.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hey Matthew thanks for the detailed review. Hope you get many, many years of enjoyment and good times from your Bushman fridge. Tommy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Craig F.

Craig F.Perth, WA

This is awesome got it to replace my 3 way in a jayco eagle outback

published

Quiet and super cold super fast. It is the same size as the old 3 way that was in my Jayco Eagle but has heaps more internal space, almost double. It is really good on the batteries hardly any fluctuation on the volt meter when you turn it on and no problems running it for several days without worrying about needing to charge the battery.
Very happy now just have to find an excuse to buy another one.

Purchased in January 2021 for $1,349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Awesome news thanks Craig :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Brilliant Aussie made product

published

Lightweight for its size
Efficient
Easy to install
Would recommend them to anyone
Good price as well.
My wife loves the ease of accessibility now compared to a normal car fridge, no standing on your head to find anything....lol

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman DC-X Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good! Even after a scare.

published

Purchased 2nd hand from their factory. Initial use was good. 2nd time using i was worried since it almost ran non stop. It settled next day (it was chockers full)

Purchased in February 2021 for $1,200.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Thanks for the review Alex. Yes the fridges take longer to settle when chockers. Sometimes leaving a bit more space on the top shelf helps the cold air get down into the lower shelves too.

Alex P.
Alex P.

Beauty, thanks for the tip. (Might have to tell our family friends to get their own fridge next time)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

A great upgrade from the three way

published

Have been getting very frustrated with the inconsistency of the three way fridge in the van. Decided to bite the bullet and buy the Bushman. Its only been installed for a just over a week, but so far it is proving to be the best upgrade I've done. It holds a consistent temp, low battery use and very quiet while its running.

Purchased in March 2021 for $1,350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Fitted into our campervan

published

Very happy with our new fridge, we have had a chest type Bushman for years without an issue. I am sure the upright will be just as good in the campervan loving the freezer and interior light. Very happy with the power consumption running continuously with our 100 a/h lithium battery and solar panel without an issue.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Amazing 12v fridge.

published

I have had my Dc130-X for about 2months now.
It’s installed in a canopy in my ute,handles the heat and airflow fine.
Nice and easy to get to everything,keeps everything evenly cool,easy to clean so many pluses.

Purchased in January 2021 for $1,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Aussie T.

Aussie T.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great Fridge

published

Works great in extreme weather and handles the rough terrain when 4WD.
Very satisfied with power usage, it’s on 24/7 in the back of a Canopy which can get extremely hot and handles the conditions with ease.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Xain Pike

Xain PikeSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Good fridge but not perfect

published

-good ergonomic size that fits well
-easy to wire
-love the dual zone
-works well once you figure out the nuances
-good value price

-black finish causes it to heat up very quick if sun hits it
-freeze prone to frosting up
-storing items directly under the freeze section causes a drop in efficiency
-could use an inbuilt temperature gauge
-would be good to see both a left and right compressor mount option to offer flexibility for installs

Purchased in February 2021 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Xain, thank you for taking the timer to write a detailed review.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman DC-X Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CJB

CJBDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews

A really great fridge!

published

After installing this upright fridge in my camper van, I then ran it continuously on the 200AH battery (set at 2 deg) and it finally quit on the 7th day!!
It maintained the temp accurately and made ice cubes no probs.
It's also very quiet, so I'm very pleased with it.

Purchased in March 2021 for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Wow 7 days is brilliant - we're happy to know you're pleased with your fridge :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
troy rambo

troy rambo

  • 2 reviews

Perfect fit for my canopy.

published

Great fit for my canopy, it’s easy to access, keeps everything cold and the little freezer is super handy. I found it quite easy to swap the door from left to right opening and the installation kit gives it a nice finish.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2021 for $1,299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Great fridge, very efficient

published

Great fridge, very efficient. Spacious inside, the little freezer works very well, handy feature many other brands do not offer. Very quite too. Perfect for the caravan. Would recommend this product

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Terry and Annette Clark

Terry and Annette ClarkSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect size for the canopy

published

So far the fridge stands up perfectly to the heat in the canopy .Drinks are cold food is keeping well. Doesnt seem to use a lot of power. And much lighter than a fridge on a slide.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Guys, let us know if we can assist with anything down the track. Tommy

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Great fridge

published

Gets cool very quickly and is very quiet.
Seems to be very efficient. Much more internal space than our old 3 way fridge.
Fitted perfectly in the old fridge cavity.
Was very easy to install.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Thanks for the review Lance :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Don't leave home without it

published

During COVID lockdown we replaced our ageing Electrolux absorption fridge with a Bushman DC130X and wished we made the change many years earlier. It has operated in 35 to 40 degree temperatures and displays no issues. Low battery draw and a cold ice cream at the end of the day is true testament to how good this product is.

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hey Richard thank you for writing a review - much appreciated

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman DC-X Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Exceptional product

published

Great fridge, looks good. Very impressed with ease of installation with the fridge box & fridge into my 4wd canopy. Working well since installation, can't wait to take it on a decent trip. Wife loves the much larger space & ease to organise. Australian made & own, WELL DONE BUSHMAN

Purchased in February 2021 for $1,449.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Fridge in slide on camp box.

published

Just set the fridge up in my camping box on the back of my Ute. It’s light 19 kgs it’s got plenty of room. Can take a two lt milk bottle standing. I’ve had no problem with power usage. It’s very efficient. The front door opening is great and it was well priced. I’ve been living from it for two weeks now and found it brilliant. Beets the top load fridge by miles. Very happy camper.

Purchased in December 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Cheers for the review, Tommy. BUSHMAN

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

sorbrum

sorbrumBendigo

  • 4 reviews

Very nice

published

Very good compact fridge . Well made lots of room inside. Fits well in caravan. Quick delivery and helpfull staff. It runs very quietly and works very well on battery system.

Purchased in January 2021 for $1,495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Just what I was hoping for

published

Easy to fit and very functional.

Only a small amount of cabinet required to be removed to replace the inefficient three way Electrolux RM2330

The Bushman is super quiet and I’m only sure it’s working because the beer and food is cold, and the nice light comes on. And my temp gauge tells me!

It’s maintained 4°C as expected on about half setting and power use is minimal and easily maintained with my 250W panel and 200 amp hour of Renogy lithium.

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hey Tim. Glad to hear all is going well. Your 200Ah lithium will run this fridge easy. Tommy.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Great little fridge

published

Installed in our mhome replacing absorption fridge, easy to install and appears to be working good,seems to cycle more than i thought it would but have only used it a few times. Runs quiet and seems to get to temp reasonably quickly. Going on hols for 2-3 wekks next month, will get a better veiw of it then.

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Johnny F.

Johnny F.asked

DC50-X

My freezer box is getting ice on the outside of the freezer box & a thick layer of ice on the inside.
John

2 answers
Craig F.
Craig F.

If your getting an ice build up it can be from the fridge not sealing properly so check the door seal if they are ok it could have something to do with what you have in your fridge excess moisture can only come from the air or off your foods.

Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Johnny, if you flip an email to info@bushman.com.au we can send you a little troubleshooting guide which talks about ice build up.

Gary S.

Gary S.asked

DC-X Series

Hi we recently purchased a BushmanDC-x Series Fridge off you and did not receive a tax invoice. Could please send a invoice out. Our reference - INV-34623 /. Your reference- 45679
Please send tax invoice to
Peerless Constructions
65 Knight St Maffra 3860 (g.sapkin@bigpond.com)

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Hi Gary, just sent to you now :)

Mark G.

Mark G.asked

DC130-X

Hi I have a dc130-x and it doesn’t ever seem to stop running I have the fridge full of food and drinks and have it on setting 7 and it continuously runs but I thought it was meant to get up to temp then turn off then once it drops temp it switches back on could someone please help me with this. also the fridge is working as it should be but just doesn’t switch off

4 answers
Alex P.
Alex P.

Hey mate, I have the same fridge. Drop the temp to about 4ish. 7 is way to cold.
When you load the fridge really full, you'll notice the fridge will basically run almost no stop for two days until it cools everything, including itself.
To help this, turn the fridge on a full day before leaving and cool anything you're taking away in the home fridge. I noticed my fridge did the same, on the second use and was worried something was wrong. Midday, 2nd day away, fridge started to switch itself regularly like it should, the only difference I could put it down too was it was way more loaded this time then the first. Good luck

Mark G.
Mark G.

Awesome thanks mate I have just turned it down to 4 and I’ll see how it goes overnight and tomorrow I have only turned it on since Friday afternoon

Bushman Fridges
Tommy_BUSHMANBushman Fridges

Thanks Alex, great practical advice.
As a super low power fridge (less than a light bulb), you do need to work with it.
The other issue with setting 7 - ice will build up really quickly on the freezer, this in turn insulates the cooling element and the fridge doesn't cool very well - so the compressor runs even longer, which cause more ice... It's a bit like the Lion King, not the circle of life, but "the circle of ice".
Cheers, Tommny. BUSHMAN.

See all Bushman DC-X Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Bushman Fridges representatives

Bushman DC-X Series

Details

The Bushman DC-X Series has been voted Australia’s best series of 12v and 24v caravan and camping fridges in 2020.

Designed specifically for off-grid living and mobile situations, these handy portable fridges are hardy in the hot Australian climate. This makes them ideal for using as caravan fridges, camping fridges, or even on a boat.

Features:

  • Dual-zone fridges and freezers, make them suitable for cooling a wide range of food and drinks
  • Suitable for both freestanding and built-in use, using a supplied mounting kit
  • Available in 50L, 65L, 85L or 130L capacities, allowing you to cater to unique space requirements
  • Can be powered by either a 12V or 24V battery, or alternatively connected to mains electricity via a power adaptor
  • A low power DC compressor requires less power usage, making these fridges energy efficient.

Praise points for the Bushman DC-X Series:

  • While these fridges are less portable than others of their kind (as they’re also designed for built-in use), reviewers praised their compact design, which still affords a generous amount of storage space.
  • Reviewers also appreciated the low power consumption and energy-efficient performance, no matter how high the mercury on the barometer rises.
  • Bushman products are also known for quick and helpful customer service. These fridges come with a three-year warranty.

2021 ProductReview Awards logo

The Bushman DC-X Series makes this reliable brand the proud winner of two 2021 Awards for Best Portable Fridge (the Bushman Original Series took home the other prize.

Along the same lines of the Bushman Original Series, the Bushman DC-X Series of portable fridges was most valued for its ease of use and solid build quality.

Compare all 4 Bushman DC-X Series
Bushman Fridges DC50-X
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020

Bushman Fridges DC50-X

5.0
(4)
Bushman Fridges DC65-X
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020

Bushman Fridges DC65-X

4.8
(16)
Bushman Fridges DC85-X
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020

Bushman Fridges DC85-X

4.9
(58)
Bushman Fridges DC130-X
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020

Bushman Fridges DC130-X

4.8
(60)
CategoryPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) $1,149.00$1,199.00$1,399.00$1,549.00
Type Dual Zone Fridge + FreezerDual Zone Fridge + FreezerDual Zone Fridge + FreezerDual Zone Fridge + Freezer
Capacity50L65L85L130L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter)Car (Cigarette Lighter)Car (Cigarette Lighter)Car (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall Outlet
FeaturesInterior LightInterior LightInterior Light and Reversible Lid
Weight16.4 kg22 kg26 kg
Dimensions 530 x 385 x 490 mm525 x 450 x 515 mm625 x 475 x 550 mm750 x 525 x 550 mm
Construction MaterialStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Compare all 4 Bushman DC-X Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.