??!
4 photos
Bushman DC-X Series
4.8 from 33 reviews

Pros

  • Energy efficient

  • Compact design maximises storage space

  • Reviewers say it performs well in Australian summers

  • Perfect for mounting in boats and caravans.

Cons

  • Vertical design not suitable to throwing in the back of the car

  • Less portable than other fridges (requires installation)

Reviews

4.8

33 reviews
5
(29)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
  • Build Quality
    4.6 (26)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (26)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (26)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (26)
Previous
Next
sam f

sam fRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great fridge

published

Easy replacement for the old dometic 3 way
40 litres more capacity and kept everything nice and cold with just a solar panel and 150amphour battery
This fridge doesn’t need to be level to work either

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Keith Barnes

Keith BarnesWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

DC130-X review

published

The Fridge was easy to install in our Caravan. Work well in high heat conditions. Doesn’t use to much power. A 120 watt solar panel seems to be able to keep the Batteries charged.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$1,299.00.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

good quality and space

published

copes very well, very good space and shelving design, fir more into it then my old previous fridge which was 10 l larger
cools very good in also very hot weather conditions
main fridge on my boat
runs very economically

Purchased in January 2020 for A$1,299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman DC-X Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Carolyn DeGaris

Carolyn DeGarisGippsland, VIC

So far so good

published

I purchased to fit into my horse float. It was delivered quickly. Only down side was the fitting brackets, they are designed for the exact sized hole, not for retrofits

Purchased in November 2019 for A$1,199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Angele J

Angele JGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Bushman 12v fridge

published

Great fridge, quiet, lots of functional space and handling the humidity well. On board boat fridge gets regularcuse and handles all conditions. Nothing but good things to say about it.

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Kevin McCarthy

Kevin McCarthySydney, NSW

Does Exactly what it's suposed to do

published

Used as main caravan fridge and free camping. Keeps a very stable constant temp and the compressor cycles a lot but seems low stress and trues consumes a lot less power than our old competitor brand compressor fridge. Quality is exceptional and the valy=ue for money was unbelievable.

Purchased in February 2020 at Always on Sale for A$1,160.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Tim Haden

Tim HadenWimmera, VIC

Research pays off

published

its interior space is very well laid out; its door lock is very convenient; its cooling works without freezing vegies even in very hot conditions; its motor is quiet; the freezer compartment is clever with its magnetic grip

Purchased in November 2019 at bushman for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

No drip tray under freezer compartment constantly has water at bottom of fridge. Quite noisy when running

published

Keeps items cold
Fridge used in remote cabin with solar system quite noisy when running
Power usage is ok
Annoying that water drips from freezer and creates puddle at bottom of fridge no drip tray under freezer compartment
Made Overseas not a Australian product which was the reason I purchased believing it was made in Australia

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Ollie

OllieGoulburn Valley, VIC

A vast improvement on my past chest type fridge freezer. Excellent performance.

published

Fridge used in high 30 deg heat. Performs excellently. Very quiet with low battery usage. Great product.installed permanently in my Ute canopy and used for camping. Should have purchased it years ago. Very happy customer.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$1,299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman DC-X Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Crew Caravans

Crew CaravansSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great product! Efficiently Built for Australian Climate!

published

We are a caravan manufacturer here in QLD and take pride in our builds and use only the best! Bushman have produced a great product that is efficient and a nice simple design. Great work Bushman!

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Jeremy W.

Jeremy W.Northeast, VIC

Perfect camping fridge to keep the beer cold!

published

Purchased in February 2020 at bushman.com.au for A$1,299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

hans z

hans z

  • 2 reviews

great fridge, good fit

published

easy to fit into same location as old fridge with minor cabinet work. works great in the heat with very little current draw, it also allows me to travel long distances and keep the fridge running on the move keeping things nice and cold.

Purchased in January 2020 at on line for A$1,299.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

FLIPPA

FLIPPA

  • 2 reviews

Should have bought it earlier.

published

Great product. Easy to fit. Looks good. Fast delivery. Very disseptive as it holds so much. Freezer looks small but very deep. Pack it properly you have heaps. Love it.

Purchased in February 2020 at On line for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

shayne a.

shayne a.South West, WA

Well done Bushman!

published

Am using every day in camper that I live in and have found it to be, Great quality, efficient and good layout. Very happy with the product and its quick and free delivery . Thanks Bushman

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

great upgrade

published

replaced 3 way dometic with dc130-x minor cabinet adjustments to fit but well worth the effort. Low power draw and impressive performance even on a day with internal van temperature of 45 degrees on setting 3 sits pretty much on 3 - 4 degrees. Freezer is small but use a 40ltr Engel as a freezer so is no concern

Purchased in January 2020 for A$1,250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how Bushman DC-X Series compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Troftas

Troftas

  • 2 reviews

Perfect

published

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Perfect fridge much better then a chest fridge in my hilux

published

Very happy with how it runs and how much power it draws. Using this fridge every day in my hilux has been a great improvement can’t wait for ice Blocks on hot summer days

Purchased in February 2019 for A$1,499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jeff Marriage

Jeff MarriageGippsland, VIC

Bit early 4 my reveiw

published

Have not ran fridge yet , Top skirt on mounting kit needed holes filed out for fitment , other wise all looks good . P.S world has got in the way and review arrived before job finished.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$1,300.00.

Build Quality

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Bruce Avery

Bruce AveryWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Replacement for 12V/240V

published

So far this fridge has been outstanding. Power consumption is just over half of our previous caravan compressor fridge. Climate since purchase has been mild, so can’t comment on QLD summer temps yet, but so far so good.

Purchased in September 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Simon Clegg

Simon CleggPilbara, WA

Bushman DC130X Caravan Fridge

published

Bought this fridge to replace a caravan 3 way dometic. Easy to retrofit, good finish and above all performed faultlessly throughout our extended trip. Highly recommended. Handled Kimberley climate well. Good sized freezer

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Review collected in partnership with Bushman Fridges

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

John B

John Basked

DC130-X

1. Can it run on 240v as well as 12-24v ( or does it need a voltage step down power adapter)
2. What is the Cu Ft ( or Litres) capacity of the Freezer compartment.
3. Does it have an interior light.
4. Is a freezer drip tray available (if not standard)

4 answers
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi John,
Some answers for your questions:
1. We now make Bushman DC fridges 12V/24 only. Since 240v battery chargers became 'smart", they also work as a DC power supply to the fridge through the battery circuit at the same time they float charge and maintain a battery bank. Here's a short article we have written that explains in a bit more detail: https://bushman.com.au/buying-guides/caravan-fridge-need-240v/
2. DC130-C freezer is approximately 6 litres.
3 Yes, warm white LED in 2020 models +.
4. We remove the drip tray for Australian weather as it was originally designed as a baffle to restrict cool air flow to the fridge compartment. This works in northern Europe, but not so well here. The cooling element will not drip in normal use. The only time it will drip is when you defrost the freezer with the fridge off and the door open.
Cheers, Tommy. BUSHMAN.

John B
John B

To Tommy Bushman, it’s disappointing to find that the freezer compartment is only 6 ltrs & only 1/2 way across. Most other brands are at least 10-12 ltrs & are the full with of the fridge.
My current Dometic 95ltr 3way fridge is 11 ltrs.- nearly TWICE the size of your 130 ltr.
Why do manufacturers always build what THEY want - & not to the customers needs?
AAAAaaaaahhhh!

Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi John, We would love to build a fridge for every customers needs, but they differ so much. If you need more freezer space, there are a few options for you. We have a 190 litre fridge with a 45 litre freezer, or you could use a chest freezer if you are limited for vertical height. We get lots of people asking us for fridges that are narrower, shorter, taller only fridge and even only freezer. If you have any other queries feel free to call us on 03 9437 0737 anytime. Cheers, Tommy. BUSHMAN.

Mick B.

Mick B.asked

DC85-X

Hi, i have bought a Bushman DC85-X for my camper. For the moment we only plan on using the camper on weekends and very occasionally 3-4 days. I only plan to purchase an AGM battery with no solar as of yet. And just use the running of the car to help charge the house battery. Anyway what size AGM do you recommend to buy to allow it to last up to 3 days with no solar?

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi Mick, the most important thing is having plenty of free air flow to the compressor area to get the heat out. For the AGM battery a minimum 130Ah. You could get 200Ah, but for this situation you are better off getting 130Ah and spending the extra dollars on some solar panels to keep the battery topped up. You can run your car alternator every second or third day, just check the battery level and the alternator output. Everyone has a different opinion on solar and batteries but as a rule of thumb has double the number of solar as batteries - E.g. 130Ah AGM batteries = approximately 260 Watts of solar.

Hans Z.

Hans Z.asked

DC-X Series

Does the dcx 130 litre fridge have a low voltage cut out

1 answer
Bushman Fridges
Bushman FridgesBushman Fridges

Hi Hans Z. Apologies just picked up your question. Based pm customer feedback we set the power cutout as low as possible to avoid the fridge turning of without you knowing. Cut out 10.4v

Get an answer from our members and Bushman Fridges representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.