??!
4 photos
Canon Pixma MG2560

Canon Pixma MG2560

2.3 from 133 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.8 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.3 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    2.8 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.7 (12)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    2.0 (10)
  • Reliability
    1.8 (10)
  • Printing Speed
    2.5 (10)
Previous
Next
Yakka

YakkaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Canon MG SERIES.

published

Hello,i have owned 2 of the MG series, and i am annoyed at myself for not learning lessons from the first. The last MG2560 has been plagued with problems. You cant print once the black cartridge runs out, then when you replace that it will only print in Colour.You cannot manually overide settings. If i print off emails the left side is "cropped", not allowing the full page.I had a return sticker emailed to me and no mater what i tried the barcode will not read.Waste of money. Also often it will not delete a previous print Que, it tries to reprint prior documents although you delete them.I will step up and spend more on another brand.Honestly printers were better 15 years ago.Stephen Y.

Purchased in April 2019 at Officeworks for A$60.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers

Canon Pixma MG 2540S Printer. Don't buy!!!

published

Absolutely unsatisfactory printer. I have bought 2 over the period of 1 year and both have stopped functioning within 6 months. I have 2 friends who had the exact experience as myself.
There is some issue with feeding the paper into the printer. It makes this clicking sound and you scan see the "flaps" moving back and forward very rapidly, so not feeding in the paper through.
The message you receive is there no paper, not true!
Under no circumstances buy this printer!!
Very dissatisfied customer.

Purchased in January 2020 at Lulu for A$40.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Emma

EmmaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Got this on sale and am very happy with it

published

Have had this for a while now and have not had any major issues with it (like many printers I've had in the past!) If you have an issues just press the Stop button for about 10 seconds and it resets it.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma MG2560 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stella123

Stella123North Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

MG 2560 is worst printer I have ever bought.

published

I bought this printer from my local Betta store when I urgently needed to print some documents because my previous printer had died. Not having a cable was no problem as I already owned one. However right from the first printing it had trouble with the paper feed but as I really needed a printer I coaxed it to work. And from that time on there has been an ongoing problem with the paper feed. Now the printer has gone one better and frozen in the middle of photocopying and refuses to work at all, nor be repaired using the onscreen repair manual. As for print quality, I didn't really get many copies out of it before it completely died. So it will be a new printer for me as this one is going in the bin!

Purchased in March 2020 at Betta Home Living.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Katherine

KatherineSoutheast, SA

Just bought this Canon MG2560

published

Have only just setup this MG2560 and it works a treat. Was given good instructions from the seller including the fact that it did not come with a USB cable but had one on hand. I noticed all the negative reviews and most were to the effect that it did not come with a USB cable - cant they read or don't they look at what they are buying. To get a printer for $50 is amazing when you consider it had to be designed,manufactured,sent on a container ship from wherever,sent to the wholesaler,retailer and everybody had to have a profit - all for 50 bucks - a round of beers cost more than that. Some people don,t know when theyre well off.
Great printer Canon keep the good work up.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Dave

Dave

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Idiots at Canon

published

Bought the printer - just cheap and easy to do infrequent work

Got out of the box and installed only to find it needs a USB A to B cable. Which isn’t supplied

And I don’t have one

Absolutely stupid. Will never buy canon again

Purchased in June 2020 at Betta Home Living for A$60.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
annoyedcustomer

annoyedcustomerSouth East Queensland, QLD

bad labelling!!!

published

why the hell would you sell a product without the required cable and presume people already should have it. your customer care is terrible, boycott cannon. never buying from again and telling all my friends to avoid this company.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers

Never ever buy this printer

published

I have bought several of these printers over the last few years, I bought them whilst they were cheap and no other reason. When they work they work well, however after a few months maybe 6 or 12, they start showing ERROR codes, the last one I remember was 5100. It matters not tho because it would appear that the software is just not compatible with Windows 10.

Purchased in April 2019 at Big W for A$35.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
very upset girl

very upset girlSouth East Queensland, QLD

NO USB CABLE

published

Why on gods green earth would an item be sold without the equipment it needs to work? This was a total waste of time and money. SO ANGRYYYYY and very UPSET.

Purchased in May 2020 at Kmart for A$39.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma MG2560 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Day

DaySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

It's great !

published

Great printer was easy to install.
Colour is good.Very happy with it so far .. it did print a couple of blank pages but not a big issue for me.
It's noisy but doesn't bother me.
Perfect for my needs.

Purchased in May 2020 at Big W Retail Stores for A$39.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Bobby

BobbyHunter Region, NSW

good for the price

published

Purchased a floor model that had no cable, no CD, no ink cartridges and no box that they come in. Bought cartridges and connected to my computer with no real problems. Had the connecting cable all he rest was on line. Works better then I expected both printer and scanner, only miss the wifi.

Purchased in April 2020 at Big W for A$19.20.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Printing Speed
See all answers
Peter

PeterMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cant use

published

I needed to purchase some urgent docs, so I race out grab a new printer and go home to connect and print.
WRONG - It's cant wirelessly connect and there's no cable supplied...............
I can't believe that any company could supply and item such as a printer that is inoperable.
VERY DISAPPOINTED........the stores are now closed and i have an early flight meaning those urgent docs wont be printed.

Purchased in February 2020 at Kmart for A$59.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Gplv33

Gplv33Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Unit was supplied with defective black ink catridge.

published

Purchased from Big-W Arndale SA. Easy to set up and connect but you need your own USB cable as none is supplied. Unable to test print quality as the driver showed the black ink tank supplied with the unit to be empty. Looked like it had just dried out. Replacement ink at $52 would cost more than the printer itself at $36. Will return the unit.

Purchased in February 2020 at Big W for A$36.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
See all answers
Elisa

ElisaNorthern Region, NSW

Hard to connect!!

published

No USB cable. Yes it was stated in the box but should have easier way to connect even without USB cable. The online manual doesn’t help much. CD doesn’t help too when you don’t have CD player

Purchased in January 2020 at Australia Post Offices for A$45.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Scottie

ScottieCentral Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Junk pile

published

Bought this after boxing day sale. Wasted hours trying to connect to wifi as called salesperson who told me usb cable was not necessary as you only had to push 2 buttons at the same time to get wifi. What a load of rubbish. Now have to travel 65ks to the shop to get a usb cable. What a ripoff, that they don't include it and increase the price. Would not recommend at all

Purchased in January 2020 at Noel Leeming Physical store for A$19.99.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma MG2560 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Carl

CarlDarling Downs, QLD

Cheap and easy to use.

published

Purchased this off Joyce Mayne for over $20. Was informed it did not come with a USB cable which was no problem as I had quite a few at home.
Very easy to set up and the print quality was excellent. As previously stated here, the replacement cartridges are very expensive, so when my cartridges ran out I simply went back to Joyce Mayne and paid $20 for another Canon MG2560 which, again, came with cartridges.

Purchased in December 2018 at Joyce Mayne for A$22.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Sam

SamSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

love it

published

very good printer it prints fast very good the best you should buy and it does cost must money if you thinking off buying one its good does jam every one get one I love it I buy it for my kids and they like it its good good good

Date PurchasedJan 2019
Stoney81

Stoney81

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Doesn't come with USB B to A cable

published

I am yet to use the printer as it doesn't come with everything needed to get started. The side of the box does state in small print that the USB cable is not included. However, it does not say that there is absolutely no way to connect the printer without it. Extremely poor form. Hopefully, once I have found someone with the correct cable and get set up I have a quality budget printer.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
QuratulAin

QuratulAinAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Canon Pixma MG2560

published

I bought this to replace an old printer. Works perfectly fine. Not expensive but prints good quality documents and easy to use as well. Came with the ink cartridge as well and good thing is it only has two cartridges. Software suite is a good versatile collection of user friendly options. Overall a very good device for the price we pay for.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Bill Hill

Bill HillTownsville

Good for the price

published

It was cheap at the post office. On the top of the box it said 'USB cable not included', on the side of the box it said ;USB cable not included', the list of contents on the outside of the box did not show a USB cable. I was not surprised to not find one. Set up was easy, print quality is good and it is good value. Bit of a pain to be liited to one copy at a time when not connected to the computer.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Page 1 of 7

Questions & Answers

Ronald Brown

Ronald Brownasked

My Canon Pixma MG2560 printer/scanner (fine cartridge type) has operated ok for about a year but now makes a very loud clattering noise as it pulls paper through the printing process. The green start button light also flashes as this is happening?

No answers
Ronald Brown

Ronald Brownasked

My Canon pixma mg2560 printer/scanner makes a very loud clattering noise as it pulls paper through during the printing process. This has only happened recently, it had a smooth low noise level printing sound previously?

No answers
Dulcie R.

Dulcie R.asked

My new MG2560 has directions for MG2500 - are they compatible?

1 answer
Ron J.
Ron J.

MG2500 will mean MG2500 series. OK for MG2560

Get an answer from our members and Canon representatives

Details

CategoryPrinters
Price (RRP) A$40.00
Printer TypeInkjet
Multifunction FeaturesCopier and Scanner
Two-sided PrintingNo
Maximum Paper SizeA4
Print Speed 8 ppm
Printing Resolution4800 x 600dpi
Scanning Resolution600 x 1200dpi
Dimensions 145 x 426 x 306 mm
Weight3.5 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Replaced byCanon Pixma MG3560
ManualDownload manual

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 04960999976112

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.