4 photos
Canon Pixma MG2560

Canon Pixma MG2560

MPN: MG2560
2.3 from 137 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Printers in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Canon

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.8 (13)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    2.8 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.6 (14)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    2.0 (11)
  • Reliability
    1.7 (11)
  • Printing Speed
    2.4 (12)
Previous
Next
a_r_parker
a_r_parkerCentral West, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Big piece of rubbish returning for refund

published

Picks up non or all of the paper, software wont install correctly so no scanning function.
Returning for a refund tomorrow morning, don't waste your time and monies on this unit

Purchased in August 2021 at Australia Post Offices for $49.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Louella
LouellaSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great basic printer, copier, scanner

published

I have owned three of these printers over the years. The most recent two were bought on sale from the Good Guys for $15 each and both came with cord and printer ink! The first two lasted about 5 years each but eventually the paper grabbers (technical term) started playing up. I just installed my third one today. Easy. Prints, copies and scans really well. They have never jammed. Only fault I could find is that I could only scan one page at a time by laying it on the flatbed. But I wouldn't be surprised to learn that it can can do multiple pages - just need to read the instructions. I believe MG2560 discontinued now. Superceded by MG3060. Let's hope it is just as good.

Purchased for $15.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
travis.wruck
travis.wruck
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

worst printer ever made.

published

scanning is a joke printing is below average. not even worth it as a paper weight sucks i just wanna throw it against a wall over it

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kevin
KevinSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Horrible

published

This is the worst printer I have ever used. So difficult to change settings. Cannot even scan in pdf. When I went to rate it there was no 0 star option. The only good thing about this printer is that I'm going to throw it away.

Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma MG2560 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Yakka
YakkaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Canon MG SERIES.

published

Hello,i have owned 2 of the MG series, and i am annoyed at myself for not learning lessons from the first. The last MG2560 has been plagued with problems. You cant print once the black cartridge runs out, then when you replace that it will only print in Colour.You cannot manually overide settings. If i print off emails the left side is "cropped", not allowing the full page.I had a return sticker emailed to me and no mater what i tried the barcode will not read.Waste of money. Also often it will not delete a previous print Que, it tries to reprint prior documents although you delete them.I will step up and spend more on another brand.Honestly printers were better 15 years ago.Stephen Y.

Purchased in April 2019 at Officeworks for $60.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Canon Pixma MG 2540S Printer. Don't buy!!!

published

Absolutely unsatisfactory printer. I have bought 2 over the period of 1 year and both have stopped functioning within 6 months. I have 2 friends who had the exact experience as myself.
There is some issue with feeding the paper into the printer. It makes this clicking sound and you scan see the "flaps" moving back and forward very rapidly, so not feeding in the paper through.
The message you receive is there no paper, not true!
Under no circumstances buy this printer!!
Very dissatisfied customer.

Purchased in January 2020 at Lulu for $40.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Emma
EmmaSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Got this on sale and am very happy with it

published

Have had this for a while now and have not had any major issues with it (like many printers I've had in the past!) If you have an issues just press the Stop button for about 10 seconds and it resets it.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Stella123
Stella123North Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

MG 2560 is worst printer I have ever bought.

published

I bought this printer from my local Betta store when I urgently needed to print some documents because my previous printer had died. Not having a cable was no problem as I already owned one. However right from the first printing it had trouble with the paper feed but as I really needed a printer I coaxed it to work. And from that time on there has been an ongoing problem with the paper feed. Now the printer has gone one better and frozen in the middle of photocopying and refuses to work at all, nor be repaired using the onscreen repair manual. As for print quality, I didn't really get many copies out of it before it completely died. So it will be a new printer for me as this one is going in the bin!

Purchased in March 2020 at Betta Home Living.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Katherine
KatherineSoutheast, SA

Just bought this Canon MG2560

published

Have only just setup this MG2560 and it works a treat. Was given good instructions from the seller including the fact that it did not come with a USB cable but had one on hand. I noticed all the negative reviews and most were to the effect that it did not come with a USB cable - cant they read or don't they look at what they are buying. To get a printer for $50 is amazing when you consider it had to be designed,manufactured,sent on a container ship from wherever,sent to the wholesaler,retailer and everybody had to have a profit - all for 50 bucks - a round of beers cost more than that. Some people don,t know when theyre well off.
Great printer Canon keep the good work up.

Purchased in June 2020 for $50.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma MG2560 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave
Dave
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Idiots at Canon

published

Bought the printer - just cheap and easy to do infrequent work

Got out of the box and installed only to find it needs a USB A to B cable. Which isn’t supplied

And I don’t have one

Absolutely stupid. Will never buy canon again

Purchased in June 2020 at Betta Home Living for $60.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
annoyedcustomer
annoyedcustomerSouth East Queensland, QLD

bad labelling!!!

published

why the hell would you sell a product without the required cable and presume people already should have it. your customer care is terrible, boycott cannon. never buying from again and telling all my friends to avoid this company.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Never ever buy this printer

published

I have bought several of these printers over the last few years, I bought them whilst they were cheap and no other reason. When they work they work well, however after a few months maybe 6 or 12, they start showing ERROR codes, the last one I remember was 5100. It matters not tho because it would appear that the software is just not compatible with Windows 10.

Purchased in April 2019 at Big W for $35.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma MG2560 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
very upset girl
very upset girlSouth East Queensland, QLD

NO USB CABLE

published

Why on gods green earth would an item be sold without the equipment it needs to work? This was a total waste of time and money. SO ANGRYYYYY and very UPSET.

Purchased in May 2020 at Kmart for $39.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Day
DaySydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

It's great !

published

Great printer was easy to install.
Colour is good.Very happy with it so far .. it did print a couple of blank pages but not a big issue for me.
It's noisy but doesn't bother me.
Perfect for my needs.

Purchased in May 2020 at Big W Retail Stores for $39.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bobby
BobbyHunter Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

good for the price

published

Purchased a floor model that had no cable, no CD, no ink cartridges and no box that they come in. Bought cartridges and connected to my computer with no real problems. Had the connecting cable all he rest was on line. Works better then I expected both printer and scanner, only miss the wifi.

Purchased in April 2020 at Big W for $19.20.

Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

john
johnasked

how to scan a document on pixma mg 2560 ?

2 answers
a_r_parker
a_r_parker

John, the best trick is to return it to place of purchase as we did and buy another brand that works not like our Canon.
Cheers

john
john

MINE WAS a "gift" from a friend.

Erik
Erikasked

does this printer work with lenovo chromebook?

No answers
frank
frankasked

can I scan a document with a Canon MG2560 printer?

No answers
See all Canon Pixma MG2560 questions

Get an answer from our members and Canon representatives

Details

CategoryPrinters
Price (RRP) $59.00
Printer TypeInkjet
Multifunction FeaturesCopier and Scanner
Two-sided PrintingNo
Maximum Paper SizeA5
Print Speed 8 ppm
Printing Resolution4800 x 600dpi
Scanning Resolution600 x 1200dpi
Dimensions 145 x 426 x 306 mm
Weight3.5 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Replaced byCanon Pixma MG3560
ManualDownload manual and manual 2
Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 04960999976112
  • MPN: MG2560

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.