??!
2 photos
Canon Pixma TS5160

Canon Pixma TS5160

MPN: TS5160BK
1.9 from 26 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.9

26 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.1 (22)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (23)
  • Ease of Use
    2.2 (22)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.3 (19)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    2.0 (21)
  • Reliability
    1.9 (20)
  • Printing Speed
    2.2 (21)
Previous
Next

AVOID LIKE PLAGUE?? Unfortunately i have to rate a single Positive star as there is no option for negatives

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Duncanp

DuncanpSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Constant issues with paper feed ruin this printer

published

Whilst the print quality seems good, constant failure of the paper feed ruin this printer. It worked on and off for the last year or so (we aren't massive users though) with constant paper feed errors it finally just stopped feeding the paper at all with every single paper feed leading to a jam even if you loaded just a single sheet of paper. I suspect the constant removal of paper jams wasnt good for an already fragile paper feed system. In addition the scanner rarely worked but concede im using a MAC so maybe thats a compatability issue i cant wholly blame Canon. This printer has proven to be a complete waste of money.

Purchased in January 2020 at Officeworks Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
GarfieldForPrimeMinister

GarfieldForPrimeMinisterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

ABSOLUTE RUBBISH

published

this is the most laborious printer that myself and several others who have tried to help me agree.

It has been a nightmare from the start.
Cant even just plug in printer cable to laptop and do it that way as not complying.

Purchased in February 2020 at Australia Post Offices for A$64.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma TS5160 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Harris Studley

Harris StudleyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Promising at the start....

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Gracie

Gracie

  • 9 reviews
  • 6 likes

Absolute junk

published

I've had this printer for three months and tonight it's stopped working
Jams for no reason and QR code tells me to take it fur a service
I don't have the receipt and can't be bothered fighting with Big W
DO NOT BUY THIS RUBBISH MACHINE

Purchased at Big W for A$90.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
RosieBella

RosieBellaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Terrible, waste of money!

published

After 3 weeks of light use both ink cartridges ran out, I replaced both cartridges following CANON instructions and now the printer won't print despite realigning etc.

Waste of time and money.

Purchased in August 2020 at Big W Online Store for A$65.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Mel

MelHobart, TAS

Save yourself the headache and don't purchase.

published

Says no paper in rear tray follow instructions to fix, still keeps saying this. Only used it twice. Sounds simple to fix if it actually worked. One of those occasions where it's better to just spend the extra money to save the headache.

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers

cheap and it shows

published

After 5 months of light use, this printer refused to turn on any more. In that time it also chewed through a large amount of ink.
The controls were difficult to use and some things could only be done through the on printer controls, not via the desktop controls.
Placing the power cord plug on a diagonal at the back of the printer made it difficult to plug firmly and any movement made it fall out.
The bottom tray feeder never worked.

Purchased in March 2020 at Big W for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Adie

AdieSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

It’s working well

published

I no longer need a large printer so after quite a search I ordered this one.
Setting up is complex. The instructions are in tiny pale grey print and I had to use a magnifier to read them. When I downloaded the disk image for MacOS and installed it I found a file list. The actual setup icon was hidden at the top of the window. OK until I made an error of one digit in the password of the router. Had to eject image and start Download again rather than go back and correct.

Still, I got there and was rewarded with a nice duplex printout of an email for my 89th birthday.
Canon needs a group of oldies to test its instructions.

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma TS5160 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Swapna

SwapnaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • Verified purchase

Terrible- Ink Cartridge is empty after 15 prints

published

I bought this 3 weeks ago, hardly took 15 prints and the color cartridge is showing empty.
The photo print quality is bad. Installation was easy because of the videos. Thanks

Purchased in July 2020 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Printing Speed
See all answers
Calvin

CalvinADELAIDE

  • 2 reviews

Reminds me of The Byrds

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$85.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

awful. wish I'd read these before buying

published

Turns off. Won't print unless I lift the cover first. Very time consuming to get anything to work, and when it does its prone to stops, starts, errors, paper jams. OOH, and then I have to lift the cover again to get any printed pages. Just awful. Needed a printer for work and study, but its causing so much extra stress I just want to throw it away.

Purchased in April 2020 at Big W for A$80.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
stevejjj

stevejjjHunter Region, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Aggravation - and waste of money, time, energy, ink and paper

published

After the first couple of months of working fine, the printer now hardly prints at all. Constant cleaning, nozzle realignment, etc - a complete waste of ink and paper. I'm furious at the time I've spent trying to get this thing to work.
Plus the wireless connection keeps needing to be reinstalled. The only reliable way to connect to my PC is by cable.

Purchased in October 2019 for A$79.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
rossann123

rossann123South East Queensland, QLD

  • 14 reviews
  • 18 likes

Stay Away - DO NOT BUY

published

If you want a complicated, pain in the a.. printer scanner then go for it. Unfortunately I bought mine about 6 weeks ago. Would happily burn it. Just to do a simple (HA!HA!) scan of either an image or a photo is a complete pain and i am just about ready to throw it in the bin. Not worth the bull. I googled it and found many others have similar problems.

Purchased in May 2020 at Kmart.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
John O

John OCentral Queensland, QLD

Useless printer switches itself off and often shows printer error.

published

Print quality is good.Very annoying as it switches itself off and has to be restarted when you print.Comes up with printer error that finally resets after pushing and poking everything.

Purchased in February 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$79.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma TS5160 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kim F

Kim F

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Great printer

published

Prints great, fantastic quality printing, easy to use, easy to set up on computer. Has a lcd screen on it which is useful. Happy with purchase and will continue buying Canon for printing needs

Purchased in March 2020 at Officeworks for A$72.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Robbie

RobbieSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Terrible, Not Even Worth The $35 Price Error I Bought It For

published

The Print quality is good, but that's only when it works and doesn't complain of a non-existent paper jams, 9/10 times the printer fails and complains of a jam. Avoid this rubbish at all costs, the print economy is poor, you would need both Color and Blank Ink Cartridges after ~100 pages.

Purchased in March 2020 for A$35.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Lydia R.

Lydia R.

  • 2 reviews

Good prints but slow and noisy

published

Bought this printer because I have never had a Canon one and this brand is usually quote good. But not this printer. The printing quality is pretty good, at least of documents, but it is so sloooooooow, it becomes ridiculous how long it hums, buzzes, moves parts, etc, before it actually starts printing. And if there are several documents to printer, make sure you got enough coffee. It is also very noisy and I wasn't using it after kids had gone to bed. There is a "quiet" mode but not by much.

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Stevo

StevoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Best printer for home I've had.

published

This is a home printer that was easy to setup and Bluetooth connect to my laptop. Print quality is good enough for me. I like the paper cassette as it is out of the way underneath so can be left there, not hanging out collecting dust. The LED screen is easy to see/read. Of course the ink provided is minimal so just purchasing now the XL cartridges, almost the cost of the printer. Build quality feels a bit light but nothings broken yet.

Purchased in November 2019 at BigW for A$72.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
KnowYourRights

KnowYourRightsCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 20 reviews
  • 13 likes
  • Verified purchase

Nice wireless printer

published

A competent printer and scanner for home use.

It provides good quality colour and black and white printing with double sided defaults. A nice touch. Minor quibbles, print quality is set to draft so you need to change it each time you want to get a good quality print. Also the paper holder has a cover and sits under the return tray meaning it is not quick and easy to reload paper. But if you print infrequently this is not a huge issue.

On the upside wireless connectivity to iPads and computers is excellent.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for A$69.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Ink Cartridge Longevity
Reliability
Printing Speed
See all answers
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Steven L.

Steven L.asked

Hi, is this ts5160 printer can print CD ? thanks

No answers
Mary

Maryasked

How do I get the printer to print the pages I want , from a article with several pages, and not have to print the whole lot? Thanks

1 answer
Erin
Erin

when the print dialog box comes up ther is an option to print 'all' or 'custom'. go into custom and select the pages you want, ie, 3-5 etc, it'll come up with a preview to make sure.

AUSTRALIAN OUTDOOR LIVIN

AUSTRALIAN OUTDOOR LIVINasked

Can someone tell me why my ts5160 prints terrible quality photos onto high gloss paper whether set on standard or high quality.After having Epson,Brother and others the prints have a matte look and very low clarity what am i doing wrong it is only 24 hrs old and the genuine ink that came with it help !!!!

1 answer
Kim F
Kim F

You need to change the paper type to photo paper gloss or whatever gloss type it is, this happened to me aswell but once I changed the paper type it works brilliantly

Get an answer from our members and Canon representatives

Details

CategoryPrinters
Price (RRP) A$79.00
Printer TypeInkjet
Multifunction FeaturesCopier and Scanner
Two-sided PrintingYes
Wireless OptionsWi-Fi
Maximum Paper SizeA4
Print Speed 13 ppm
Printing Resolution4800 x 1200dpi
Scanning Resolution1200 x 2400dpi
Dimensions 147 x 425 x 315 mm
Weight6.5 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 4549292090772
  • MPN: TS5160BK

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.