2 photos
Canon Pixma TS5160

Canon Pixma TS5160

MPN: TS5160BK
1.9 from 35 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Printers in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Canon

Reviews

1.9
35 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.1 (30)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (32)
  • Ease of Use
    2.2 (30)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.3 (27)
  • Ink Cartridge Longevity
    2.1 (29)
  • Reliability
    1.9 (28)
  • Printing Speed
    2.3 (29)
Previous
Next

Disappointed in engineering and reliability.

published

Terrible printer. most unreliable printer I have owned. Fault5100 constantly. Bought HP mid 90s which was poor and switched to canon, great printers, lasted years. I would think this is my 4th canon printer, absolute rubbish.

Purchased in March 2020 at Big W for $50.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Traf
TrafAU
  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good printers should reliably work: this one doesnt

published

Dissatisfied with this printer with minimal use. Worst Canon injet experienced I think this is number 4. Canon print App problematic and connections with phone problematic. Wont buy a Canon again. Very disappointed.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
purplebevie
purplebevieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 7 reviews

Flimsy and not worth the money

published

Purchased in August 2021 at Big W Online Store for $79.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vanderhope
VanderhopeLismore
  • 22 reviews
  • 24 likes

Deranged - don't waste your money no matter how inexpensive it is.

published

This printer constantly presents with error codes, won't print from the loaded tray, and essentially comes up with every excuse why it shouldn't print!
The paper auto select doesn't work and it won't even print direct from the internet - you have to save it to your computer.
It also chews through the ink cartridges which are more expensive than the printer.
The worst printer I have ever had and may as well be chewed up in a recycling machine.
The printer is only 2 months old and has been a total waste of money.

Purchased in June 2021 for $60.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma TS5160 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

GREAT LITTLE PRINTER!

published

Had this printer for a year now and its never missed a beat! Its a printer thats cheaper than the ink god knows what some people expect. Maybe the problem with this printer is the operators writing these crap reviews

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman for $80.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Julie A.
Julie A.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Rubbish...DONT BUY

published

Loading paper is rubbish. Tells you the size of paper in the cartidge is incorrect but it isn't. Terribly slow. Mine is 3 months old. Told it was a great printer from the fellow at Good Guys. What a joke. Waste of money. It's going in the bin

Purchased in February 2021 at The Good Guys for $70.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
arabinda
arabindaAU
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

CANON PRIXMA TS5160 PRINTER SET-UP

published

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
Maz
MazSydney, NSW

Battled with this Lemon for a year. Print is good but slow, clunky and unreliable.

published

I bought this computer at the beginning of covid and there were few available so I settled for this one. Hopeless from the beginning. Hard to set up and whilst the printing is fine, it is clunky and unreliable. Easy clear face but can't load much paper. I am forever getting errors but can find nothing wrong. Then it works itself quite nicely. So frustrating and time wasting. The ink goes in a flash. I have battled with this printer for a year now and I can't wait to replace it. That's very soon. Had a previous Printer by Canon which was ok but - never again. A poor model. Choose something else.

Purchased in March 2020 for $99.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
chooky1975
chooky1975Adelaide, South Australia
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Least functional printer I've ever purchased

published

Very slow to start up and connect to the PC, and often gives errors regarding paper size or tray, when there is no error. Is quite often "offline" but the troubleshooting suggests it is online. And I have no idea how to connect the scanner. Very disappointed and frustrated.

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $99.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma TS5160 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

AVOID LIKE PLAGUE?? Unfortunately i have to rate a single Positive star as there is no option for negatives

published

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Duncanp
DuncanpSydney, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Constant issues with paper feed ruin this printer

published

Whilst the print quality seems good, constant failure of the paper feed ruin this printer. It worked on and off for the last year or so (we aren't massive users though) with constant paper feed errors it finally just stopped feeding the paper at all with every single paper feed leading to a jam even if you loaded just a single sheet of paper. I suspect the constant removal of paper jams wasnt good for an already fragile paper feed system. In addition the scanner rarely worked but concede im using a MAC so maybe thats a compatability issue i cant wholly blame Canon. This printer has proven to be a complete waste of money.

Purchased in January 2020 at Officeworks Physical store.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
GarfieldForPrimeMinister
GarfieldForPrimeMinisterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

ABSOLUTE RUBBISH

published

this is the most laborious printer that myself and several others who have tried to help me agree.

It has been a nightmare from the start.
Cant even just plug in printer cable to laptop and do it that way as not complying.

Purchased in February 2020 at Australia Post Offices for $64.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Printers

Find out how Canon Pixma TS5160 compares to other Printers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Harris Studley
Harris StudleyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Promising at the start....

published

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gracie
Gracie
  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Absolute junk

published

I've had this printer for three months and tonight it's stopped working
Jams for no reason and QR code tells me to take it fur a service
I don't have the receipt and can't be bothered fighting with Big W
DO NOT BUY THIS RUBBISH MACHINE

Purchased at Big W for $90.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RosieBella
RosieBellaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 4 reviews

Terrible, waste of money!

published

After 3 weeks of light use both ink cartridges ran out, I replaced both cartridges following CANON instructions and now the printer won't print despite realigning etc.

Waste of time and money.

Purchased in August 2020 at Big W Online Store for $65.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Marie
Marieasked

Is this printer compatible with Windows 11 OS ?

2 answers
fino
fino

I was very disappointed with the printer. The error message continuously came up. I’d turn it off and try again many times till the printer would not have the error. I persisted till the supplied cartridge ran out. I then decided to buy another black cartridge, I think giving canon a chance as I’d had great service previously. And all I can say now is, it working fine, I believe it was the cartridge causing the problem. I still wish you good luck, it is a bottom end priced printer, but I do think canon make a good product “normally” for the price. I am using windows I was very disappointed with the printer. The error message continuously came up. I’d turn it off and try again many times till the printer would not have the error. I persisted till the supplied cartridge ran out. I then decided to buy another black cartridge, I think giving canon a chance as I’d had great service previously. And all I can say now is, it working fine, I believe it was the cartridge causing the problem. I still wish you good luck, it is a bottom end priced printer, but I do think canon make a good product “normally” for the price. I am using windows 11

Marie
Marie

Thanks for your experience of this printer. I'll take it on board to consider buying this model. Was your experience when setting up the printer for the first time?

Sue
Sueasked

I have a current model iMac (OS 11 BigSur and need only a scanner that would be compatible. Is this Scanner compatible?

2 answers
Vanderhope
Vanderhope

I also have a Mac Pro. but the Canon temperamental both in printer and scanner mode. Scanned documents also present like a dim, fussy photo - not a crisp, clear page.

Sue
Sue

Ican't seem to find anybody in ythe Scanner industry to advise which unit to try so i'm at a bit of a loss. The printer i have is working perfectly well and i have plenty of tone as well so i don't want to get a new printer. do you have an idea what scanner might work with the BigSur?

Jim B
Jim Basked

I keep getting error out of paper even though the tray has plenty of paper . Ho do I fix the error.

No answers
See all Canon Pixma TS5160 questions

Get an answer from our members and Canon representatives

Details

CategoryPrinters
Price (RRP) $98.00
Printer TypeInkjet
Multifunction FeaturesCopier and Scanner
Two-sided PrintingYes
Wireless OptionsWi-Fi
Maximum Paper SizeA4
Print Speed 13 ppm
Printing Resolution4800 x 1200dpi
Scanning Resolution1200 x 2400dpi
Dimensions 147 x 425 x 315 mm
Weight6.5 kg
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 4549292090772
  • MPN: TS5160BK

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.