??!
2 photos
Exelpet SPOT-ON Flea Control for Cats and Kittens

Exelpet SPOT-ON Flea Control for Cats and Kittens

1.2 from 86 reviews

Reviews

1.2

86 reviews
5
(1)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(78)
Previous
Next
Gbanger

GbangerCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

Does nothing to eliminate fleas.

published

This product did nothing at all to eliminate or even reduce the number of fleas. It simply did nothing at all and was a total waste of money. Cat never got sick. I would advise people to never buy this product it is a total waste of time and again does absolutely nothing to treat fleas. At all.

Purchased at Woolworths for A$19.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects None
Pet TypeCat
See all answers
Breanna G.

Breanna G.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Don’t buy!!

published

Worst stuff on planet earth, Burnt my poor Ginger’s neck, my poor baby, I thought it burnt him straight away when I applied this. - And yes I was correct!! My cat Ginger had the worst diarrhoea ever since last night I applied this, hoping it will pass in the next 24 hours as he eating and drinking normally.
My poor baby.

I want a refund! This product should be taken off the shelf. Can not believe supermarkets sell this crap.

Purchased in April 2020 at Woolworths for A$19.50.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet TypeCat
See all answers
susan

susanSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Useless

published

Utterly useless. Eggs hatched now worse than before.
Wished I saw all reviews first. Family member said it was quite good. She was wrong.
Off to the vets for some decent flea treatment.
Will not buy again thats for sure

Purchased at IGA for A$18.00.

Side Effects None
Pet TypeCat
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Exelpet SPOT-ON Flea Control for Cats and Kittens compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Do not use

published

My cat fatty has white fur on the back of neck now and looks all burnt the poor bugger is so worn out she sitting There with her tongue out a little and panting we are doing everything possible to keep her calm her heart is racing so warning to everyone do not use this terrible product.

Purchased in November 2019 at Woolworths for A$16.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet TypeCat
See all answers
Sarah E.

Sarah E.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible Product

published

Used this on my cat and she became very upset. Lost her spark and friendliness. She's sick and still has fleas. Wish I'd checked these reviews before using this product. Never again.

Purchased in September 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for A$16.99.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet TypeCat
See all answers
Tab10

Tab10AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Dont Use This Product

published

Used it and next day noticed a bald patch where I had applied treatment on my 15 year old cat.
I should have realised something was wrong when she hid in her cubby all afternoon.
I am devastated. I have continued to bath her neck to remove this product but the damage has already been done.
Exelpet has a lot to answer to...especially now I have come across all of the other bad reports.

Purchased in June 2019.

Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet TypeCat
Dee66e

Dee66ePerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

DONT USE THIs PRODUCT!!

published

I applied the treatment exactly as directed. Our cat ended up with burns and loss of fur within hours. Washed off any product immediately.
Have always used Vet treatments but was short of time and noticed cats had fleas so I figured I would just get some Exelpet from the local Woolworths.
I agree with other reviews, this product should be immediately taken off the market as it seems that it is a common problem. It’s nasty and I feel so bad about using it and causing our fur baby harm.
Obviously we will never use this product ever again. Definitely worth sticking to vet products.

Purchased in September 2019 at Woolworths for A$16.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet TypeCat
See all answers

Terrible product

published

I put this on my cat this morning. She immediately started foaming at the mouth. She was extremely unhappy and running around the house shaking her head with foam flinging everywhere. I called Exelpet and they told me to wash it off, waste of money. I’ll stick with Revolution.

Purchased in August 2019 at Woolworths.

Side Effects Short-term illness
Pet TypeCat
Sharyn

SharynSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worrying wait

published

I applied then I Googled these reviews. I worried all night, monitored every body movement of my 14 year old 4.7 kg female Tonkinese. She went quiet, displayed the tongue and lip action that usually precedes vomiting but none occurred. Some normal behaviors but certainly off her usual spark and sass for over 24 hours. Spotted a live flea in the precise treatment area 12 hours after application.

Purchased in April 2019 at Woolworths Physical store.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects Personality change
Pet TypeCat
See all answers
Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Exelpet SPOT-ON Flea Control for Cats and Kittens compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
doctortrish

doctortrish

  • 2 reviews

Nothing inside!!

published

This is the third packet of Exelpet Spot-on for Flea Control that I have bought from Coles and there is nothing inside! The first time the packets were empty and the latest has no pipette in the plastic container inside. At $16 this is a rip-off!

Purchased in May 2019 at Coles.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Side Effects None
Pet TypeCat
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

katja

katjaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Does NOT work and upset my cats

published

I strongly recommend this product be taken off the shelves. My cats (we have 4) are acting rather strangely after application. The fleas seem to have gotten worse and the cats are upset. Fortunately they do not seem ill, thank god for that but i will never use this product again. After reading many of the other reviews, i am shocked that it is still available in our 2 big supermarket chains. I will be visiting Petstock in a few weeks, because i can't put more poison in my pets right now. That could be really harmful. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

Purchased in April 2019 at Coles Supermarkets.

Side Effects Personality change
Pet TypeCat
Tash

Tash

  • 2 reviews

Burns around neck

published

I wish I had of read the reviews on this product before using it. I feel so bad I went the cheaper option and bought this from the supermarket. My poor cat has burns completely around her neck and lost all the fur in that area. I didn’t even notice her unusual vomiting was probably from this a couple of days later. Never again!

Did not kill the fleas expensive and useless

published

I would never use this again poor dogs still have fleas wth it cost $133 and did nothing very upset and disappointed with product

Fleas are worse than before!

published

Luckily my cats didn't get ill lots a lot of other people who have posted here, however the reason I googled it, is because one of our cats especially has more fleas than ever before.. and it was put on 6th Nov.. (11th Dec now) so that is enough time to take effect. So doesn't do squat to eliminate fleas... what a waste of money. Thank God they didn't get really ill like many other poor people cats did though.. poor puds puds..

Left Chemical Burns on our cat!!!

published

do not use this product our poor cat was itchy from fleas so we thought we'd help by putting this on her and it left a huge septic wound on her back and all her fur fell out there!!! shes all healed now and fur is finally growing back in but never again would we buy this. absolutely disgusting product that should be ripped from shelves.

Tick & Flea Control Products

Find out how Exelpet SPOT-ON Flea Control for Cats and Kittens compares to other Tick & Flea Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Complete waste of money fleas worse cat poorly

published

Didn’t make any difference to flea population & made cat sick. Will take her to the vet. Wish I never bought it. It shoukd be taken off the shelves. I want my money back & poor cat’s vet bill refunded. Don’t buy it. Disasterous.

deedee

deedeesydney

  • 36 reviews
  • 15 likes

Excellent product.

published

Have been using this on our 2 cats for about a decade with no issues at all. My only gripe is that the manufacturers no longer put the little reminder stickers in the box now which are use useful to put on the calendar. I use this product every 3 months on the cats without fail and have never had a flea problem with them once. Note: They are both indoor (night) and outdoor cats (day).

Kirby

KirbySYDNEY

Do not under any circumstances give this or any other Exelpet flea treatment to your pet.

published
Bob The Blender

Bob The BlenderSea Changeville, NSW

  • 37 reviews
  • 302 likes

BURP, FART and VOMIT

published

I have to agree with other reviewers on this one. The Mr's applied this poison to our burping and farting furball and within 2 hours, the poor thing was burping, farting and vomiting all over the place.
Probably made in China to actually eradicate the cat population !.

Ian T.

Ian T.

  • 3 reviews
  • 6 likes

Dangerous poison

published

Do not use this on your cat. We've only used it once on our cat and, within 24 hours, she was vomiting, dry-retching, nervous and restless, and developed cystitis for the first time ever. We were careful to place it where she wouldn't ingest it while washing, but the effects were immediate and lasted for a few weeks. For the first few days, we thought we might lose her. If you poison your cat this way, lactose free milk might help with keeping them hydrated. Don't ever use this though. I totally recommend both Revolution and Advocate.

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Emmanuel Z.

Emmanuel Z.asked

how much to use

1 answer
Breanna G.
Breanna G.

Don’t.
You will poison or potentially kill your cat.
Don’t use any of their products.

Kayla g

Kayla gasked

My American staffy weighs 25kgs how many tablets do I give her?

No answers
Mon

Monasked

Can you use I think on mice?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.