??!
2 photos
Garmin DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

Garmin DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

MPN: 010-01680-42
2.5 from 14 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.5

14 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.8 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    2.0 (8)
  • Battery Life
    1.5 (6)
  • Route Choice
    1.8 (6)
  • GPS Location Accuracy
    2.7 (6)
Previous
Next
Engima2

Engima2Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Unit

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for $208.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Cant find home

published

I have lived at my current address for 13 years.When I enter my address,it replies that it cant be found.After 13 years and many map updates,It still cant find me.

Purchased in July 2019 at Canadian Tire for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
John Sowle

John SowleMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Terrible user features

published

Cannot remove direction banner, speed camera alert shrinks before reaching the camera. Cannot turn off school alerts or any of the other alerts, despite there being a setting to do so. FPS rate on camera gives jittery playback. Wish i had reviewed it before i bought it. I live near a school,and so does my girlfriend, so the school alerts go off, non stop even in the driveways.

Purchased in March 2020 for $495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DRCSydney

DRCSydneySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Garmin 51 LMT-S is not fit for purpose

published

I've had this Garmin for two years and tested it through much of Sydney, particularly in places I know well. It finds maddening routes from one place to another (eg back streets instead of direct routes); the pronunciation of street names is often ridiculous (eg River Road West is River Request); even on straightforward routes it does unnecessary diversions (eg heading south on Burns Bay Rd from Lane Cove to Drummoyne it takes me up the ramp to Church Street, Hunters Hill, then back down the ramp on the southern side to rejoin the main road). It has to be one of the worst products I've ever purchased.

Purchased in February 2018 at Johnny Appleseed GPS Physical store for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Duncan

DuncanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Absolutely the worst

published

Purchased in December 2015 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
David L.

David L.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Piece of Junk

published

Purchased in September 2019 for $279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Complicated to setup and, apparently, no capacity for the "lifetime free maps updates"

published

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Chris May

Chris MayGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great reliable unit. But just tell yourself - it is only a GPS

published
MansfieldJohno

MansfieldJohnoNortheast, VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

Never get Lost Again

published

Best thing I have ever bought for the car. No more getting lost or searching thru maps and taking the wrong road. Easy to set up. With lifetime free maps. Comes with built in dash cam as well. Sooooo easy to use. Paid $170 on Ebay. Brand new unit. included free Garmin high speed multi charger. All with 12 months replacement warranty

GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Darryl

DarrylSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great for the price.

published

Great GPS with lots of extras. Speed check ... free lifetime maps ... easy to understand voices ... The interface is pleasant to look at ... It shows places to eat ... where to buy fuel ... so many extras to mention. The detailed maps are easy to follow. I paid under $200. Great value for money.

ThePeoplesChamp

ThePeoplesChampCanberra Central 2601, ACT

  • 20 reviews
  • 29 likes

A great gps let down by terrible update utility.

published

Purchased in May 2016 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
John13

John13Perth, WA

  • 47 reviews
  • 49 likes

Overrated and overstated with many hidden shortfalls.

published

Not worth it!

published

This is the 2nd Navman I've had in 3 months! Both have just died on me without any reason! Horrible product , never purchasing a Garmin again! Looks good but works horribly, maps arnt in date , hardly any signal strength , absolutely terrible! Will be going with tomtom or Navman next!

Darb

DarbCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent tool

published
See all Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S reviews

Questions & Answers

et20000

et20000asked

DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

just to be sure
Is Garmin Drivesmart 51 NT capable?
thanks

1 answer
MansfieldJohno
MansfieldJohno

By NT do you mean for Darwin and the rest of NT. If so. YES it is

Roland

Rolandasked

DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

Can UK maps be downloaded to this GPS?

1 answer
john wilson
john wilson

You can download maps of anywhere, UK, Europe, USA, onto a mini sd card and install it you can then switch between 2 setups in the gps home and elsewhere the reason for this the memory is not large enough , programing them just follow the prompts. Good luck.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S
CategoryGPS Navigation Systems
Price (RRP) $279.00
Screen Size 5"
Display TypeVGA
ConnectivityBluetooth
FeaturesFree Map Updates, MicroSD Slot and Voice Control
Battery Life1 hours
Dimensions 140 x 84 x 18 mm
Weight0.17 kg
Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S

Visit official website
  • MPN: 010-01680-42
  • GTIN12: 753759169961

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.