2 photos
Garmin DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

Garmin DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

MPN: 010-01680-42
2.4 from 15 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best GPS Navigation Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Garmin? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

2.4
15 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    1.9 (9)
  • Battery Life
    1.5 (6)
  • Route Choice
    1.6 (7)
  • GPS Location Accuracy
    2.7 (6)
Previous
Next
Corey
CoreyAspley
  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes

Navigation and customer service is very disappointing

published

Purchased in October 2018 for $420.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Engima2
Engima2Metropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Unit

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for $208.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Cant find home

published

I have lived at my current address for 13 years.When I enter my address,it replies that it cant be found.After 13 years and many map updates,It still cant find me.

Purchased in July 2019 at Canadian Tire for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John Sowle
John SowleMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Terrible user features

published

Cannot remove direction banner, speed camera alert shrinks before reaching the camera. Cannot turn off school alerts or any of the other alerts, despite there being a setting to do so. FPS rate on camera gives jittery playback. Wish i had reviewed it before i bought it. I live near a school,and so does my girlfriend, so the school alerts go off, non stop even in the driveways.

Purchased in March 2020 for $495.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
DRCSydney
DRCSydneySydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Garmin 51 LMT-S is not fit for purpose

published

I've had this Garmin for two years and tested it through much of Sydney, particularly in places I know well. It finds maddening routes from one place to another (eg back streets instead of direct routes); the pronunciation of street names is often ridiculous (eg River Road West is River Request); even on straightforward routes it does unnecessary diversions (eg heading south on Burns Bay Rd from Lane Cove to Drummoyne it takes me up the ramp to Church Street, Hunters Hill, then back down the ramp on the southern side to rejoin the main road). It has to be one of the worst products I've ever purchased.

Purchased in February 2018 at Johnny Appleseed GPS Physical store for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Duncan
DuncanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely the worst

published

Purchased in December 2015 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
David L.
David L.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Piece of Junk

published

Purchased in September 2019 for $279.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Complicated to setup and, apparently, no capacity for the "lifetime free maps updates"

published

Purchased in September 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Chris May
Chris MayGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 9 reviews
  • 15 likes

Great reliable unit. But just tell yourself - it is only a GPS

published
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MansfieldJohno
MansfieldJohnoNortheast, VIC
  • 22 reviews
  • 18 likes

Never get Lost Again

published

Best thing I have ever bought for the car. No more getting lost or searching thru maps and taking the wrong road. Easy to set up. With lifetime free maps. Comes with built in dash cam as well. Sooooo easy to use. Paid $170 on Ebay. Brand new unit. included free Garmin high speed multi charger. All with 12 months replacement warranty

Darryl
DarrylSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great for the price.

published

Great GPS with lots of extras. Speed check ... free lifetime maps ... easy to understand voices ... The interface is pleasant to look at ... It shows places to eat ... where to buy fuel ... so many extras to mention. The detailed maps are easy to follow. I paid under $200. Great value for money.

ThePeoplesChamp
ThePeoplesChampCanberra Central 2601, ACT
  • 20 reviews
  • 29 likes

Garmin DriveSmart 51 LMT is unreliable garbage.

published

Purchased in May 2016 for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
John13
John13Perth, WA
  • 57 reviews
  • 57 likes

Overrated and overstated with many hidden shortfalls.

published

Not worth it!

published

This is the 2nd Navman I've had in 3 months! Both have just died on me without any reason! Horrible product , never purchasing a Garmin again! Looks good but works horribly, maps arnt in date , hardly any signal strength , absolutely terrible! Will be going with tomtom or Navman next!

Darb
DarbCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Excellent tool

published
GPS Navigation Systems

Find out how Garmin DriveSmart 51 LMT-S compares to other GPS Navigation Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
See all Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S reviews

Questions & Answers

gordon hayes
gordon hayesasked
DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

where is the clock

2 answers
Engima2
Engima2

On mine, its down the bottom on the RHS..

gordon hayes
gordon hayes

thanks for the reply but it is not on mine what about voice directions

et20000
et20000asked
DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

just to be sure
Is Garmin Drivesmart 51 NT capable?
thanks

1 answer
MansfieldJohno
MansfieldJohno

By NT do you mean for Darwin and the rest of NT. If so. YES it is

Roland
Rolandasked
DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

Can UK maps be downloaded to this GPS?

1 answer
john wilson
john wilson

You can download maps of anywhere, UK, Europe, USA, onto a mini sd card and install it you can then switch between 2 setups in the gps home and elsewhere the reason for this the memory is not large enough , programing them just follow the prompts. Good luck.

See all Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S questions

Get an answer from our members

Garmin DriveSmart 51 LMT-S

Details

Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S
CategoryGPS Navigation Systems
Price (RRP) $279.00
Screen Size 5"
Display TypeVGA
ConnectivityBluetooth
FeaturesFree Map Updates, MicroSD Slot and Voice Control
Battery Life1 hours
Dimensions 140 x 84 x 18 mm
Weight0.17 kg
Compare both Garmin DriveSmart 51 / 61 LMT-S
Visit official website
  • MPN: 010-01680-42
  • GTIN12: 753759169961

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.