2 photos
Haier HFZ-175

Haier HFZ-175

MPNs: 2727 and HFZ175
4.3 from 11 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Upright Freezers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Haier

Pros

  • Reversible door

  • Eco-friendly

  • Temperature control

Cons

  • 2-star energy rating

Reviews

4.3
11 reviews
5
(6)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Previous
Next
Roy
RoyVictoria

Not Reliable

published

I bought this unit in Aug 2019. A month ago, it started defrosting intermittently. The service technician came out and found it was a thermostat issue and has ordered the parts for it. Luckily it was just within the 2 year warranty window. Likely literally 2 months before it ends. Now it is super unreliable and everything in the freezer was ruined when it decided to defrost itself entirely again. After almost 3 weeks, I called them up to check on the status and they can’t give an eta. I’ve bought dedicated freezers before and have never had an issue. So don’t buy, save yourself some grief.

Purchased in August 2019 at Mr Appliance Online store for $414.00.

Incentivised Review No
hangry grapes
hangry grapes
  • 4 reviews
  • Verified

Love it

published

Bought this pre covid lock down from Harvey Norman at 425.
Multiple shelves okay size (slightly on the small side but reasonable size).
Most importantly its transparent so i could see what its inside easily.
Doesnt have ice crystal. Stands vertically at good height.

I'd much prefer vertical freezers as can store / access food easily. Bottom shelve accessible by little kids if want snack.

Compared to a chest freezer, which everything is stack deep and i forget what i have!

Elise
EliseMaroochydore
  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great family freezer

published

We bought this freezer as we needed more space for pre made meals. So far it’s been great, you can fit heaps in each draw and it keeps items really cold. Also good for chilling down beers. The draws stop items from falling out and it’s frost free. So far so good.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
fairy_glitter
fairy_glitterNSW, 2260
  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

GREAT FREEZER

published

i purchased this freezer for my son 4 months ago and he loves it compared to freezers in the past.
It keeps everything frozen and the see through pull out drawers are very strong.
I would recommend this product for anybody wishing for extra freezer space and it fits nicely in the laundry.

Date PurchasedSept 2017
Upright Freezers

Find out how Haier HFZ-175 compares to other Upright Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Erwin
Erwin
  • 2 reviews

perfect

published

nice Freezer and work perfect,very quiet and excellent size in my shop.value for money invest.
The only thing not satisfaction is the freezer do not have Defrost function. never use the brand Haier before
but After this and more experience for finder they all tell me the Haier is the great choice for the save money and get not really bad quality. compare to Hisense and other brand you pay more get lower quality or same.Why not Take this one save money for other.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Debbie
DebbieJoondalup
  • 2 reviews

Very Stylish and Practable.

published

Our fridge freezer didn't hold enough. I cook up extra meals to keep and freeze. This unit is a excellent size, have put in garage (as no room in house) and it fits and looks so stylish and tidy. Everyone has commented on space in drawers. Had chest freezer before but was always having to rearrange to keep older meals on top. So easy to shuffle things around now. Love this freezer.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Sootori
SootoriMolong
  • 2 reviews

Fantastic - But! Shame it's not Auto Defrost.

published

I have had this freezer for 1 year and 8 months and I am very pleased with it. It is so much better than my chest freezer. So easy to find items and I assign similar types of products to each drawer and put a sticker on the front. EXAMPLES: Meat - Vegetables - Sweets, Deserts, Butter etc. The unit is very quiet and I have the temp setting on Normal, but winter time it only needs to be maybe halfway down to minimum. I would advise people to manually defrost during winter months, EVERY YEAR. I did not do that and found the top drawer was partly stuck because of ice build-up, the other day, so now I have to defrost on this hot summer day. This freezer is definitely good value for money.

Date PurchasedJune 2015

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
MAE
MAESouthwest, VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it!

published

I bought this freezer as a family of 5 the freezer in our fridge was not big enough; we have now had it for 6 months and it is great.
Excellent size - not too big, but seems to hold a lot!
Access is excellent, one because it is upright, and two the storage drawers are a great size.
It is quiet, no noise.
I had never heard of the brand Haier, but after research (from Product Review) it seemed the best value for money.
We purchased it from appliance online, whose service from start to finish was excellent!

Date PurchasedApr 2016
David J. Mallett
David J. MallettMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 33 reviews
  • 15 likes
  • Verified

Love the upright storage, no longer searching through buried frozen goods.

published

Quiet, very easy to use and clean and to see what is stored in the drawers.

The upright storage removes the need to search though buried frozen goods compared to out last chest freezer and being upright requires less floor space.

Only fault is the plastic/perspex drawers, that are thin and I suspect from past /perspex drawers, won't take much weight or excessive force before they crack.

Also only 2.5 Energy Rating.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Upright Freezers

Find out how Haier HFZ-175 compares to other Upright Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GG
GGSydney, NSW
  • 15 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Perfect size

published

Researched this for some time and have been quite impressed with this upright freezer. Perfect size for garage and enought room for all our needs. Got a great deal from appliancesonline. (See my other review) and its so quiet cant even tell its on until you open door and see its working great on middle setting.

  • Verified

Haier HFZ175 Upright freezer

published

Had it for 4 months. No problems. Quiet. For a low cost freezer there is no lighting and no door alarm. Clear drawers can be assisted by wiping shampoo over it and then wiped dry (technique from keeping swimming goggles from fogging). Not frost-free but no indication need to defrost anytime soon.

Questions & Answers

Jim
Jimasked

how do i defrost this HFZ 175 freezer please, it clogs above the top drawer, other than that issue it is a great freezer.

thank you

No answers
Kev D.
Kev D.asked

Bought new 175ltr freezer. Stopped working after 1 month. Unplug to let oool down then plug in and it goes again. The compressor gets extremely hot.
Has anyone heard of this problem?

1 answer
Azize Y.
Azize Y.

There's many out there looking for answers, some have found them in the comments section of Youtube videos.

Marrianne A
Marrianne Aasked

I just purchased a Haier upright freezer model HFZ175 and find the compressor seems to be continously running. Temp is set to normal and small amount of frozen food in it at the moment. Is this normal?

No answers
See all Haier HFZ-175 questions

Get an answer from our members and Haier representatives

Details

With 6 spacious transparent drawers and a compact design, the excellent Haier 175L Vertical Freezer is a great value and environmentally friendly option for anyone wanting to conserve space in the family home.

Features

Easy access by design: Easily accessible drawers to help you organise items within your freezer

Flexibility in your kitchen: With Reversible Door option, choose whether you want your freezer to open to the left or the right

Recessed handle design: Subtle recessed handle for a streamlined and stylish finish

Environmentally-friendly: This Haier freezer uses the R600A refrigerant; a greener option for the environment, with a shorter life in the atmosphere and less impact on global warming.

Temperature Control: Ensure your freezer doesn’t become clogged with ice, with the convenient external mechanical temperature control function.

Spacious Storage: This Haier Vertical Freezer boasts a huge 175 litres of storage space - enough for 6 separate deep transparent drawers - giving you plenty of room to stow your frozen goods.

CategoryUpright Freezers
TypeUpright Freezers
Price (RRP) $549
Capacity175L
Energy Rating2
Height1435mm
Depth580mm
Width550mm
Visit official website
  • MPN: 2727 and HFZ175

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.