1 photo
Hyundai 1000W Power Station HPS-1100

Hyundai 1000W Power Station HPS-1100

3.0 from 6 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Generators in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Hyundai

Reviews

3.0
6 reviews
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Fluidic Ice
Fluidic IceSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Failed on the first use

published

I honestly wanted to love this power station due to its sleek design, well known brand and it featured a good number of inputs and outputs... but unfortunately it wasn't meant to be. On the first use after charging it to 100% I plugged it into my small refrigerator (pulls 450w surge, 80w average). After about 40 minutes there was a strong burning smell coming from the unit but it still appeared to be functioning and was still powering the fridge. However I later found out that it could no longer be charged by AC or solar. Because it's such a heavy object, returning it was also a pain and the seller (Outbax) didn't make the process easy due to their lack of communication and ignoring my requests for a refund for the return shipping costs.

Purchased in September 2020 at Outbax for $2,000.00.

Incentivised Review No
Kate S.
Kate S.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified

Expected better considering the cost.

published

Cost almost $1000. Bought around Oct 2020. Within a few months it would only charge to 78%. Tried fully discharging, no change. Now, less than 12 months old and won't charge at all. Not looking forward to the returns process, as the place I bought it from had very poor service to begin with, taking an extra 6 months to get the cables to me.

Purchased in October 2020 at Outbax for $999.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Generators

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
poc
pocSydney, NSW
  • Verified

after 4 month, battery now cannot get it fully charged

published

Just bought HPS-1100, ordered on 11th of Dec 2020, picked up from post office on 23th of Dec 2020. At the beginning it works fine. but now (14th of March 2021) the battery won't fully charged. It always shows 79% and I have charged for one week without using it.

The LCD display is fine. when I use it, the battery percentage will drop to 74%, 73%, which is normal. But looks like the battery can only charge up to 79%. (now becomes 74% after one day charge... doesn't look good).

Spend over AU$2000 for something can't last for 4 month???

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in December 2020 at Outbax for $2,399.00.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

art
artWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 15 reviews
  • 9 likes

Needs flattening to 0% before you charge

published

Apparently the Battery Management System needs a 0% battery to re-set, despite the manual saying not to do this as it may damage the battery. Have used it on an induction plate by reducing the power to around 800w max, & a toaster but cannot yet find an electric kettle under 1200w. Next test will be a microwave so again can adjust the power. Used it at our "covid cabin", cooked a full breakfast for 2 whilst using a fan, used about 20% only. Have charged with solar, it has a built in regulator, takes a while to register but works well with a solar mat.
All in all a very well thought out machine with a good build quality/finish.

Purchased in November 2020 at outbax for $1,999.00.

Incentivised Review No
Generators

Find out how Hyundai 1000W Power Station HPS-1100 compares to other Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
business user
business userMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Feature packed

published

Has all of the features most people would be looking for and build quality looks excellent.
Will follow up this post once I've tested it on a variety of devices in a week or so

Purchased in February 2020 at Outbax for $2,199.00.

Incentivised Review No
Amelia B.
Amelia B.
  • 2 reviews

Fantastic power station... runs like a dream!

published

Bought this for our 30ft motor home. As well as medical backup power we need at home. Haven’t taken it outdoors yet due to the lockdowns. However we did try it on several products and it’s been reliable. Build quality is impressive and the finish looks nice.
Great fast service from the website. I do recommend this to anyone looking for a power station or even a generator replacement. This replaces our Yamaha.

Questions & Answers

Grace D.
Grace D.asked

Hi the AC outputs do not work on my Hyundai 600w portable power station. I plugged in a small fridge and I’m guessing it exceeded the power limit. The power display went up and then back down to zero and has never worked again since! Is there a reset feature? I live in The Gambia and bought this product in the UK, are there any technicians based in Gambia? Please help

No answers
Doug K.
Doug K.asked

Can you charge and discharge at the same time with solar or mains?

2 answers
poc
poc

You can charge with AC cable input, while the solar panel is connecting and charging the power station. Meanwhile, you can turn on the power station and output the power for your devices.

Moreover, one time I accidently plug in solar panel on AC input, and it can still charge the power station. (Maybe it is not recommended though).

FYI: At the time I am answering this question, my HPS-1100 cannot charge more than 64%.

art
art

According to some users on YouTube you can charge & discharge simultaneously, in principal !
However, there is a definite problem with the BMS on units supplied to Australia via Outbax. Although the manual says not to flatten the battery in fact this is the only way to achieve a 100% charge. Mine initially stopped at 68% & now will not exceed 75% after flattening. Furthermore, the LCD panel now does not show charging from the solar MaxRay supplied, even though it is actually charging, ,albeit at a very slow/inefficient rate even under QLD sun,
Another unit achieved 100% but then went "dead" with zero display or even accepting a charge, definitely a dodgy batch, which is disappointing considering it is a Hyundai product. Back to the Yamaha !!

Saul M.
Saul M.asked

Can you leave it plugged in all the time....ie will it enter a "float charge" or will it cook the battery?

No answers
See all Hyundai 1000W Power Station HPS-1100 questions

Get an answer from our members and Hyundai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.