??!

Reviews

4.2

34 reviews
5
(22)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(4)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (6)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.4 (5)
  • Handling
    5.0 (5)
  • Braking
    5.0 (6)
  • Suspension
    4.6 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (6)
  • Boot Size
    3.0 (6)
  • Features
    4.0 (6)
  • Comfort
    3.8 (6)
Previous
Next
Peter

PeterGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Battery continually goes flat

published

I look after a 2017 Mazda Mx5 (2 litre) and the battery goes flat continually after 2/3 week of non driving. The owner lives overseas and I drive it every 1-2 weeks. I had the car back to the dealer several times and they can't find a fault, and I can't complain about their service, which is excellent. It is on its third battery and the problem persists. The internet is full of concerns from other drivers with the same issue and I'm wondering if others have had the same issue and is there a know fix for it.
Apart from that its a fabulous little car.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Braking
See all answers

New toy

published

Just got new used nc on the weekend love it. This is the third Mx5 we have owned nb(2002) nc(2006) and now nc(2013)never had a problem with any of them .they are a great car for us older amateurs to play around with . Go and get one!

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Joe P.

Joe P.

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

325 km 1 month old and electric window broke

published

1 month old delivered Jan 2020-Mazda MX-5 RF GT top of the line- with 325km and the passenger window will not go up, broke first time used, unusable. Also the local Mazda dealer has absconded left town along with VW, Holden, and naturally Mazda (same dealer for 3 Manufacturers) and the nearest dealer is now 100kms. Very sorry this MX-5 was purchased. Waited 3 months to order and this MX-5 is a lemon.

Purchased in January 2020 for A$49,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2019
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Convertibles

Find out how Mazda MX-5 compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Best car i've ever owned!

published

Purchased in March 2007 at Mazda Dealers for A$47,650.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Adrian B.

Adrian B.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Miata is always the answer

published

I considered a lot of other cars before deciding to upgrade from my Mazda 3 to a 2016 Mazda MX5. Having had a '99 NB which I missed driving, I decided on the MX5. It was my daily driver, perfect for everything and a joy to drive. Sold it recently but can't wait to buy another one soon.

Purchased in May 2019 for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Stan

StanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Extremely pleased until...

published

Purchased in May 2017 at McGrath Mazda Liverpool for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Stan
Stan
Bob of gulf point

Bob of gulf pointMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 14 likes

Excellent. First convertible. What took me so long? (I had an RX-7 in 1980s)

published

Bought June 2018. NC hard top convertible, black. My second car but use it on club rallies. Great fun. Mostly along the coast with roof down. Cheap to service with a guy who raves one himself. Quick but not so powerful. Blue tooth, cruise control, wheel controls. Seven speaker Bose. Very reliable and quite cheap stuff interchangeable with other Mazda’s. Not unlike the two Mazda Sixes I’ve had. Any faults? I think the paint may be a bit soft cos there’s a few stone chips at fron end. Working thro them right now. Lights were clouded, fixed.

Purchased in June 2018 at Better Braces.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Martin

MartinVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Flat battery

published
BadgeRoadster GT
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Taldree

TaldreeQLD, 4220

  • 12 reviews
  • 14 likes

All they say it is

published
BadgeRoadster GT
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Convertibles

Find out how Mazda MX-5 compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

MarkGold Coast Qld

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

The real sports car

published

The Mazda MX5 has developed it's own unique DNA since the first NA model was launched over 25 years ago, small improvements in safety and driving dynamics have ensured the MX5 maintained it's true sports car credentials. I have owned my NC2 coupe for over 5 years, with regular services from my local Mazda dealer. This MX5 has never had any warranty or service issues, although I have not used it on a daily basis, I feel the MX5 is better suited for that pure driving experience.

BadgeRoaster Coupe
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
wildbill

wildbillorange nsw

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

2004 Mazda MX5 SE Turbo Edition

published
BadgeSE
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2011
Dr Cesar

Dr CesarBEELIAR, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 13 likes

I LOVE THIS SPORTS CAR!

published

FOUR STARS Engine/Drivetrain/Chassis! FOUR STARS Price, Packaging and Practicality! FOUR STARS Safety & Technology! FOUR STARS Behind the Wheel! FOUR STARS X-Factor!
What I like: FOUR STARS Braking and handling tweaks, FOUR STARS Stand-out styling cues, FOUR STARS Body-hugging seats. Not so much: TWO STARS Price relative to competitors, TWO STARS It could use more power, TWO STARS Tight headroom.

BadgeLimited Edition
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
sierra

sierra

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Sweet Old School Roadster

published
BadgeRoadster GT
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016
gweginoz

gweginozAdelaide

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Yes, you can be in love with a car!

published

Every single time I sit behind the wheel... I smile.
Pure bliss is what you feel when you drive it. No problems whatsoever so far.
This is my first convertible/roadster so I do not have much to compare it to but if you feel like buying a toy you can actually drive, buy that one!

BadgeSkycruise
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Guestguest

GuestguestAuckland

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best roadster convertable I ever owned.

published
BadgeClassic
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2000
Convertibles

Find out how Mazda MX-5 compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
My pug

My pugAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Everything you could want in a cheaper sports car

published
BadgeRoadster
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2009
bernii

berniicroydon

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Value for money

published

Car looks great. Feels great to drive. Retractable hardtop is down in 12 seconds. Very secure. Not the fastest car but very smooth. Sound system bose is superb. Leather seats still smells inside like new. Uses approx 9ltrs per 100ks. It has 4 cupholders! Last mx5 1999 had only one hidden one in console. Cruise control and control on steering wheel for radio is awesome. Lights look fantastic!

BadgeRoadster
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Brian

BrianWellington

  • 13 reviews
  • 25 likes

Comparing my Mk2 and Mk3 MX5's

published
Engine Size2.0L

spare parts

published

I have a 2014 mx5 which needs a new fuel pump and Mazda Australia has no spare fuel pump in Australia. The best they offer is a 3 week delivery from Japan. Interested to know if other people are experiencing similar unreasonable delays from Mazda Australia? I wish Mazda's sales brochure was more realistic about time delays for standard parts. I suggest the by-line should be Zoom Zoom (until you need a spare part).

Engine Size2.0L
1 comment
Brian
Brian

Three week wait is normal in NZ for MX5 parts, they all come from Japan.

MsJanette25

MsJanette25AU

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great car

published

Owned a 2006 hard top for 3 years and absolutely loved it. Can't wait for the new gen 4 version to release at next years Chicago Car Show in February.

Handling was great. Loved the styling and stereo system. Sat nav would have been nice. Maybe in the 2015 model.
Great cornering. Fast and nippy to drive.

TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0L
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Danny

Dannyasked

MX-5 NC (2005-2014)

The inside light doesnt work.isit the fuse or the bulb? How can you reduce the fuel consumption to drive it economically?

1 answer

Light can be fussy. Use 98 petrol and drive at 5000 tp 6500 rpm. If that’s too expensive get a Hyundai.

Ron Shee

Ron Sheeasked

MX-5

I have a 2006 mazda mx5. Is there any difference between a NC roadster and a NC coupe as there is a $220 difference in insurance premium between the two. Not sure to insure as a roadster or a coupe.

1 answer
ShariKa
ShariKa

The wiki page might answer that http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mazda_MX-5#Third_generation_.28NC.29 From what I can tell, there is a difference- I think soft-top vs hard-top (coupe).=?

Get an answer from our members

Other Convertibles

Previous
BMW M3

BMW M3

4.7
(15)
Audi TT

Audi TT

4.3
(12)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.