??!

See the Best Convertible in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
19
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
3

Stan

StanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Extremely pleased until...

published

Purchased in May 2017 at McGrath Mazda Liverpool for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
Stan
Stan

Bob of gulf point

Bob of gulf pointMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 13 likes

Excellent. First convertible. What took me so long? (I had an RX-7 in 1980s)

published

Bought June 2018. NC hard top convertible, black. My second car but use it on club rallies. Great fun. Mostly along the coast with roof down. Cheap to service with a guy who raves one himself. Quick but not so powerful. Blue tooth, cruise control, wheel controls. Seven speaker Bose. Very reliable and quite cheap stuff interchangeable with other Mazda’s. Not unlike the two Mazda Sixes I’ve had. Any faults? I think the paint may be a bit soft cos there’s a few stone chips at fron end. Working thro them right now. Lights were clouded, fixed.

Purchased in June 2018 at Better Braces.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Martin

MartinVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Flat battery

published
BadgeRoadster GT
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Taldree

TaldreeQLD, 4220

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

All they say it is

published
BadgeRoadster GT
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Mark

MarkGold Coast Qld

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

The real sports car

published

The Mazda MX5 has developed it's own unique DNA since the first NA model was launched over 25 years ago, small improvements in safety and driving dynamics have ensured the MX5 maintained it's true sports car credentials. I have owned my NC2 coupe for over 5 years, with regular services from my local Mazda dealer. This MX5 has never had any warranty or service issues, although I have not used it on a daily basis, I feel the MX5 is better suited for that pure driving experience.

BadgeRoaster Coupe
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013

wildbill

wildbillorange nsw

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

2004 Mazda MX5 SE Turbo Edition

published
BadgeSE
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2011

Dr Cesar

Dr CesarBEELIAR, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

I LOVE THIS SPORTS CAR!

published

FOUR STARS Engine/Drivetrain/Chassis! FOUR STARS Price, Packaging and Practicality! FOUR STARS Safety & Technology! FOUR STARS Behind the Wheel! FOUR STARS X-Factor!
What I like: FOUR STARS Braking and handling tweaks, FOUR STARS Stand-out styling cues, FOUR STARS Body-hugging seats. Not so much: TWO STARS Price relative to competitors, TWO STARS It could use more power, TWO STARS Tight headroom.

BadgeLimited Edition
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

sierra

sierra

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Sweet Old School Roadster

published
BadgeRoadster GT
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016

gweginoz

gweginozAdelaide

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Yes, you can be in love with a car!

published

Every single time I sit behind the wheel... I smile.
Pure bliss is what you feel when you drive it. No problems whatsoever so far.
This is my first convertible/roadster so I do not have much to compare it to but if you feel like buying a toy you can actually drive, buy that one!

BadgeSkycruise
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Guestguest

GuestguestAuckland

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best roadster convertable I ever owned.

published
BadgeClassic
Engine Size1.5L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2000

My pug

My pugAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Everything you could want in a cheaper sports car

published
BadgeRoadster
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2009

bernii

berniicroydon

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Value for money

published

Car looks great. Feels great to drive. Retractable hardtop is down in 12 seconds. Very secure. Not the fastest car but very smooth. Sound system bose is superb. Leather seats still smells inside like new. Uses approx 9ltrs per 100ks. It has 4 cupholders! Last mx5 1999 had only one hidden one in console. Cruise control and control on steering wheel for radio is awesome. Lights look fantastic!

BadgeRoadster
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic

Brian

BrianWellington

  • 11 reviews
  • 22 likes

Comparing my Mk2 and Mk3 MX5's

published
Engine Size2.0L

spare parts

published

I have a 2014 mx5 which needs a new fuel pump and Mazda Australia has no spare fuel pump in Australia. The best they offer is a 3 week delivery from Japan. Interested to know if other people are experiencing similar unreasonable delays from Mazda Australia? I wish Mazda's sales brochure was more realistic about time delays for standard parts. I suggest the by-line should be Zoom Zoom (until you need a spare part).

Engine Size2.0L
1 comment
Brian
Brian

Three week wait is normal in NZ for MX5 parts, they all come from Japan.


MsJanette25

MsJanette25AU

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great car

published

Owned a 2006 hard top for 3 years and absolutely loved it. Can't wait for the new gen 4 version to release at next years Chicago Car Show in February.

Handling was great. Loved the styling and stereo system. Sat nav would have been nice. Maybe in the 2015 model.
Great cornering. Fast and nippy to drive.

TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.0L
deus_zeus

deus_zeusSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 7 likes

Brilliant affordable sports car

published
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual

Bailey

BaileySydney

Driving Nirvana

published
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
1 comment
dingodude
dingodude

Corbs13

Corbs13perth

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

M is for Magic

published

I have owned my MX 5 for 5 years and l have no hesitation in recommending the car - low maintence - but more importantly low maintence costs. I did have trouble with the passenger side head light constantly having to be replaced every 2 to 3 months (this was done at my local garage at a cost of $26 each time) until l took my car to a Mazda Service shop where they cleaned the light before installing a new bulb - the cost $15 and I have never had a problem since. Economical to run especially since l have 50kms to travel to work - 100kms round trip each day. In the 5 years i have had my Mazda, l have only had to replace the tyres and a battery... My next car will also be a Mazda MX5
Performance and economical

Engine Size2.0L

MX5 Lover

MX5 LoverMELBOURNE

Exactly what I was looking for!

published
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual

kkinninmont

kkinninmontAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent

published
Engine Size2.0L

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Danny

Dannyasked

MX-5 NC (2005-2014)

The inside light doesnt work.isit the fuse or the bulb? How can you reduce the fuel consumption to drive it economically?

1 answer
Bob of gulf point
Bob of gulf point

Light can be fussy. Use 98 petrol and drive at 5000 tp 6500 rpm. If that’s too expensive get a Hyundai.


Ron Shee

Ron Sheeasked

I have a 2006 mazda mx5. Is there any difference between a NC roadster and a NC coupe as there is a $220 difference in insurance premium between the two. Not sure to insure as a roadster or a coupe.

1 answer
ShariKa
ShariKa

The wiki page might answer that http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mazda_MX-5#Third_generation_.28NC.29 From what I can tell, there is a difference- I think soft-top vs hard-top (coupe).=?


Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.