??!
1 photo
Onga PPP750 / PPP1100 / PPP1500

Onga PPP750 / PPP1100 / PPP1500

PPP1500, PPP1100, PPP750
1.0 from 12 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.0

12 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
Previous
Next
Leo

LeoSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Big Onga Dud....

published

Purchased this pump due to Australian and cheap price and in despite of its bad reviews. Works well, High noise level compared to previous pump. Seal rusted out after 14 months with maintained water quality. Decided not to replace seal for $75 bin and try another brand not on the cheap with a bit more warranty.

Purchased in August 2019 at Pool and Spa Warehouse Online store for $300.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
netmedic

netmedicDevonport

  • 17 reviews
  • 24 likes

Poor quality components, although looks the part, I had 2 of these fail, each after just a year of intermittent use.

published

These pumps look sturdy but I got through 2 of them in 2 years due to cheap Chinese bearings in the electric motor which started squealing after a few months of light intermittent use. Lucky for me I know about motors so I changed the bearings for decent Toyo types and have had no problems for the past year since doing this on both pumps. Chinese bearings are $5 a pair and Toyo $10-12. It looks like the accountants have taken charge at Onga/Pentair and thrown out the engineers. AVOID these pumps. Although well designed, they are very expensive considering the shortcuts taken with the manufacture.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brent

Brent

  • 2 reviews

Buy another pump, or suffer!

published

Worst company ever. Both Pentair pumps broke 1st year. 2nd one I have been following service and repair because they keep issuing it to a repair centre miles away (originally on the Gold Coast, even though I explicitly stated to the agent which address/city we were in!)

Been following for 5 month, and in that time they have NEVER phoned me back (I always have had to call them back when they failed each time), followed up, or followed up their service center to see if repairs get done.

In summary, their pumps suck, their service is nothing short of abysmal, and they don't care at all about the customer. Buy a different brand pump, or be prepared to suffer unnecessary pain in the event it is faulty (which in my case was 2/2).

Purchased in January 2018 for $800.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Water Pumps

Find out how Onga PPP750 / PPP1100 / PPP1500 compares to other Water Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
disappointed

disappointed

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Onga pool pumps

published

This is the second Onga pool pump, 1st one lasted about 4 years, this one about 3 years.
Had a Barracuda which lasted about 8/9 years.
No more Onga pumps for me!

Purchased in July 2016.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geoffrey

GeoffreyBrisbane

Aussie made crapola!

published

Had a Onga pump professionally fitted 2 years ago. New pump had a strange noise so it was replaced within a week under warranty. 2 years and 1 week (2 yr warranty) the pump is making a loud screeching noise. On closer inspection underneath, there is a large rust stain at the housing join. Indicating a blown seal. Contacted ONGA - couldn’t care less. I’ve now referred to the ACCC as I don’t believe they are making a product fit for purpose. If I could select a zero I would. Do not waste your money on these pumps.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tarn M

Tarn MMurray bridge

Wouldn't buy one if it was the last pump on earth

published

I manage a large Agricultural Company that uses 48 of these pumps. Most of them have been installed for less than a year and so far 8 have seized after no more than 20 hours of use.
The business that supplied the pumps acknowledges that it is probably a manufacturing default that has been known to occur in another Onga pump model however Onga has denied the Warrantly claim on all but 1 pump.
Be warned.
I will be swapping to Davey.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not worth purchasing

published

I purchased this pool pump October 2014 & by January 2017 the capacitor needed replacing (which was covered by their warranty). Now it's September 2018 & the pump is leaking.
Contacted Onga & they advised that the seals had not been maintained - who services a pool pump?? Very disappointing, wont be buying another Onga.

Date PurchasedOct 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bezza

BezzaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Not fit for use

published

The Pump says it's suited for saltwater, but it is not, the shaft is coated in some material that wears off. I found out when it was pumping water out the housing. The shaft had rusted and swollen and that caused the seals to be ground out. Complete throw away. These pumps are engineered to only last so long I can tell you that. Im not buying another. The pump would have lasted if it were not for the cheap shaft.

Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Saccam

SaccamNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Forget it don't touch

published

Biggest piece of rubbish ever, don't touch them . Not even 12 months and the guts is gone started with grinding noises that got louder and not pumping effective , not worried about warranty, throwing it in the bin after I hit it with sledge hammer. Very disappointed. never buy onga anything ever again .

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Water Pumps

Find out how Onga PPP750 / PPP1100 / PPP1500 compares to other Water Pumps

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

ppp1500 onga pool pump

published

The pool pump I have is a onga ppp1500 it's leaking water ,I thought I had 3 years warranty but no, after 15 mths it's not covered for labour costs which is the dearest part.What a joke,these pumps are rubbish,don't buy them. Pentair the company that sells them were of no help, couldn't care less.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Michael H

Michael HMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 21 reviews
  • 26 likes

What a heap of crap

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
SquidKing

SquidKing

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

What a heap of Crap

published

This Onga pump came with the new pool we bought , Sold to us as a premium package it is noticeably noiser than 2 of my friends pool pumps . I am up to my 4th starting capacitor and this one is starting to fail too .
These pumps (I have 2 one on the solar heating ) will start backwards regularly and are very difficult to seal when the basket leaf basket is opened, meaning they drain when the pool pump shuts of and then have to pump from empty if you are not in the area when the pump starts .
Buy something else if you want a quiet reliable pump !!.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Manny K.

Manny K.asked

PPP1500

Am I able to insert and have emerged the pump in the water pond.
The pump is required to circulate the water from the water blade to the pond.
Please advise the cost,

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Onga PPP750 / PPP1100 / PPP1500

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.