??!
1 photo
Ozito HTE-550

Ozito HTE-550

3.4 from 15 reviews

See the Best Hedge Trimmers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
3

Roach

RoachMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love this. Easy to use and battery lasts around 20 minutes

published

Light weight and really easy to use. We usually find the battery lasts around 20 minutes.

Trims so easily our ten year old daughter has been able to use it. Only use on medium sized bushes/hedges.

Battery can be used in other Ozito products which makes it most cost effective. Whilst is Bunnings 'home brand' we find Ozito a great brand for a good price.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Dave

Dave

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Worth every cent

published

For the price you can’t go wrong with this trimmer. It cuts with ease and is not too heavy. The only thing you need to be careful of is that you don’t cut the cord however it is an electric trimmer. With the Ozito domestic guarantee I would not hesitate to purchase another one when this one retires.

Date PurchasedApr 2015
Merril

MerrilBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Love it!

published

I have a garden of natives and this trimmer chomps through the grevillias with ease. It cuts through good sized branches on my shrubs without a problem.The only issue I have is that I get trimming and forget about the cord. I can say it cuts through power cords like a knife through butter. Thank God for a reliable fuse box.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

bargain.

published

bought this hedge trimmer from homebase honestly what a bargain i have a large hedged garden and this trimmer did a great job its light and easy to manage great cutting blades honest cant fault it great price to far better than most hedge trimmers at twice the price total bargain i would give it more stars if i could.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Justin

JustinMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Does its job well for price.

published

We needed a cheap headge trimmer for one bush in our driveway. We didn't want to spend to much money as it's only one small bush every few months. The trimmer worked as expected and provided a nice trimmed bush. I wouldn't recommend this tool if you are doing alot of work with it all the time, but for what it is and the price, its not bad at all.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Don't know whats the fuss is about

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

XYZ

XYZSouth Australia

  • 3 reviews

Amazed

published

I am absolutely amazed at this hedge trimmer. I was not expecting much, considering it was so reasonably priced. I was going to be happy if it lasted for one seasons worth of hegetrimming, but it is still going strong. If it packs up, for that price I am quite happy to buy a new one. Its lightweight and easy to use. The only problem for me is that the plug keeps coming undone from the extension cord, must remember to tape it on next time.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

2 machines in 1 Week!

published

Bought one last week, used it today about 5min and it stopped, the trigger switch is jammed and will not pull in. I tried it on different points with no luck, went to Bunnings and swopped it for a new one, well, surprise, surprise, the new ones triger switch does not work, absolute rubbish.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Jared

JaredAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

Worked until the warranty ran out

published

Not worth 2 bob

published

Went for about 1 hour,light work,then would not work on extension lead but would work from power point,the wireing is not australian standard ,all these ozzitos 550 should be pulled from bunnings stores,ozzito did not care,bad bad do not buy.contacted jen from ozzito she said that funny we have never had any problems,that was a lie as the internet is full of bad reviews on the HTR-550


Cheap & unreliable

published

Used it just 4 times (40 min each time) and the engine packed it in. Last time it caused the circuit breaker to trip, and died after that.
I would not recommend this trimmer if you have extensive hedges to trim on a regular basis. I will be looking for a more robust model to do the job.


Fan disintergrated

published

This is a noisy and cheap trimmer that is able to do the job of trimming hedges. Unfortunately the electric motor packed it in after just over a year of use. I would not recommend this trimmer if you have extensive hedges to trim on a regular basis. I will be looking for a more robust model to do the job.
The Ozito HTR - 550 is inexpensive and will do the job on small hedges
The fan that cools the motor down disintegrated, the trimmer now makes an even bigger noise.


Wilburight

WilburightAdelaide

  • 37 reviews
  • 38 likes

Cheap, but it works fine.

published

Bought one from Bunnings on the basis of these reviews. As others have mentioned, it's inexpensive, and 'creaky' plastic casing makes it feel cheap and noisy for an electric trimmer, but it works just fine. It has slightly longer reach than the trimmer I was replacing, but its less robust construction meant it's lighter.
Inexpensive, long blade, light weight, handy rotating trigger handle, circular safety grip, and 2 year warranty. Added bonus - lighter but longer than our previous trimmer, so my wife is happy to use it while I hold the ladder ;)
Thin hard plastic casing seems fragile. Noisy at 99dB. Blade brake isn't as quick as advertised. Hanging hook/hole catches on thicker twigs. Cheap carbon brushes used will wear out.

2 comments
Wilburight
Wilburight
Wilburight
Wilburight

Good

published

only model to buy....longer blade, less bending....rotating handle
fantastic idea....replacement warranty....super price @ $60.00
been using 9 months regular basis .. totally recommend....probably if it goes a trimmer is a trimmer but the rotating handle puts in a different class
easy to use....light...does good clean job....inexpensive
wife not interested in this much fun

beebeegee

beebeegeeMelbourne, Vic

  • 110 reviews
  • 89 likes

Why Pay More When this works fine?

published
1 comment
nick4027
nick4027

Just got one.
It works well.

Questions & Answers

Keith Frost

Keith Frostasked

Hi,
Smoke coming from the motor.
Any suggesting
. Thanks

No answers

Lamb Chop

Lamb Chopasked

I replaced the blades on my OZITO HTR 550 and in the process, the internal pressure switches popped out. Which way do they go back in?

1 answer
beebeegee
beebeegee

Sorry, but not a clue. For future, anytime you take something apart it is good practice to take a photo of it beforehand.


Get an answer from our members and Ozito representatives

Details

CategoryHedge Trimmers
Power SourceElectric
Weight2.9kg
Price (RRP)$79
Blade Length450mm
Release dateJan 2010

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.